Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 1993 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1723 complaints filed for the 1993 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1993 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1993 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (76) Equipment (39) Other (41) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (24)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (148) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (137) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (12) Fuel System Gasoline (49) Power Train (183) Steering (67) Vehicle Speed Control (59)
Electrical System (166) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (72) Visibility (169)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (13) Suspension (175) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (788) Latches Locks Linkages (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 225
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: WHEEL AND HANDLE BAR

9/12/2014 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT'S HANDS BECAME STUCK TO THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT MANAGED TO RELEASE THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOTICED A DARK YELLOW GLUE OR PASTE LIKE SUBSTANCE COMING OUT OF THE SEAMS OF THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATED 10/30/14 UPDATED 4/27/2015

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/26/2013 - IRVINGTON, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS TURNED OFF SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE HAD SURPASSED THE STATUE OF LIMITATIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2012 - SAN JOSE, CA
HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. FIDDLED DESPERATELY WITH THE ON/OFF SWITCH & GOT THEM TO COME BACK ON. WENT OUT SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE NEXT 30 MINUTES ... DISCOVERED TURNING OFF AND BACK ON FIXED. SUSPECTED IT HAD TO DO WITH THE HEAT. OVER THE TWO MONTH, RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES AFTER DRIVING FOR 30 MINUTES OR SO. ALSO FOUND THAT USUALLY PRESSURE APPLIED TO THE SWITCH ITSELF AND JIGGLING WOULD BRING THEM BACK, AND DISCOVERED I COULD HOLD THE HIGH BEAMS ON. FINALLY SEARCHED HERE AND FOUND 98V009000, WHICH SEEMS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM. HAVE CONTACTED THE LOCAL DEALER ... BUT GAVE THEM RECALL 98S01 (FOUND ELSEWHERE WHEN LOOKING FOR REPLACEMENT PART WHEN I HAD DECIDED THAT IT MOST LIKELY WAS IN THE SWITCH).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: SWITCH

11/6/2012 - SAN JOSE, CA
HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. FIDDLED DESPERATELY WITH THE ON/OFF SWITCH & GOT THEM TO COME BACK ON. WENT OUT SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE NEXT 30 MINUTES ... DISCOVERED TURNING OFF AND BACK ON FIXED. SUSPECTED IT HAD TO DO WITH THE HEAT. OVER THE TWO MONTH, RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES AFTER DRIVING FOR 30 MINUTES OR SO. ALSO FOUND THAT USUALLY PRESSURE APPLIED TO THE SWITCH ITSELF AND JIGGLING WOULD BRING THEM BACK, AND DISCOVERED I COULD HOLD THE HIGH BEAMS ON. FINALLY SEARCHED HERE AND FOUND 98V009000, WHICH SEEMS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM. HAVE CONTACTED THE LOCAL DEALER ... BUT GAVE THEM RECALL 98S01 (FOUND ELSEWHERE WHEN LOOKING FOR REPLACEMENT PART WHEN I HAD DECIDED THAT IT MOST LIKELY WAS IN THE SWITCH).

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

12/8/2010 - RUTHERFORD, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH THE FRAME ON THE VEHICLE FRACTURED AND COMPLETELY SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE CAUSING HIM TO TEMPORARILY LOSE CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FRAME HAD CORRODED CAUSING IT TO SEPARATE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

3/1/2010 - RAVENNA, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT A WARNING. HE WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HE THEN TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT IT FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS THE TOWED TO HIS RESIDENCE WHERE HE NOTIFIED A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP CAUSED THE FAILURE. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 162036.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2008 - CLEVELAND, OH
I PULL IN THE DRIVEWAY IN MY 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OFF. I PULLED THE CAR IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE TO SEE HOW I COULD SHUT IT OFF. THE ENGINE STARTED TO ACCELERATE. AS IT WAS BUILDING RPM'S SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER NEATH THE CAR AND THE CAR STARTED TO SHAKE. I GOT OUT OF MY CAR TO LIFT THE HOOD TO PULL SOME WIRE TO DISCONNECT THE ENGINE. AS I STARED TO LIFT THE HOOD THE CAR TOOK OFF IN REVERSE AT A HIGH SPEED. IT WENT FIFTY FEET AND TURNED RIGHT HIT A ELECTRIC POLE AND SLAMMED INTO A HOUSE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CABLES

10/3/2008 - DOBBSFERRY, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH THROUGH THE TOLL PLAZA, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SLOW DOWN WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT EXITED OFF THE INTERSTATE AND APPROACHED A TRAFFIC LIGHT THIRTY SECONDS LATER. SHE NOTICED SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CABLE TO THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS STUCK. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT HAD NEVER USED THE CRUISE CONTROL BUTTON. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND ADVISED HER TO BRING IN THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, IT WAS ALREADY BEING REPAIRED BY HER MECHANIC. THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WAS STUCK WHICH CAUSED THE THROTTLE TO SATY OPEN. UPDATED 11/19/08.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2008 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
I BOUGHT MY 1993 FORD TAURUS 3 MONTHS AGO..IT HAS 59K ON IT...ONE WEEK AFTER BUYING IT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON..WHEN I APPROACHED THE DEALERSHIP THERE COMMENT WAS.."WELL THINGS GO WRONG DAILY WITH USED CARS..I DRIVE THE CAR FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES THEN THE LIGHT WILL COME ON. I HAVE CHANGED ALL THE SENSORS..HAD A TUNE UP..RADIATOR FLUSH..JUST TO MENTION A FEW THINGS...HAD NEW MOTOR MOUNTS PUT IN TOO..ALL OF WHICH HAS COST ME WELL OVER 700.00...I CALLED FORD WHEN I NOTICED THEY HAD A RECALL ON THE ELECTRICAL IN WHICH I WAS INFORMED THEY WOULDN'T DO A THING..I CAN ONLY DRIVE THIS CAR FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME BEFORE THE ENGINE STARTS SMELLING HOT..THOUGH WITH THE NEW THERMOSTAT IT NEVER REGISTERS ITS OVER HEATING..TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HAD A COMPUTER CHECK DONE..BUT WOULDN'T U KNOW LIGHT WOULDN'T COME ON SINCE IT WAS JUST SITTING. SEEMS IT ONLY COMES ON WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD..AGAIN TOLD THE DEALERSHIP...THEY KEEP SAYING MUST BE A CENSOR..WHICH SEEMS TO ME THEY KNEW THIS WHEN THE CAR WAS SOLD TO ME..YET DIDN'T DISCLOSE THAT PART..WHEN I PURCHASED IT. I WAS SOLD A LEMON..AND FORD WILL NOT HONOR THERE RECALLS ON IT..SO SEEMS IM DOOMED..IM ON DISABILITY AND CANT AFFORD ALL THESE REPAIRS BUT NO ONE SEEMS TO CARE..

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

7/9/2008 - NEW BERLIN, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE COIL SPRINGS AND STRUTS FAILED AND THE SWAY BAR WAS DAMAGED. PRIOR TO THIS INFORMATION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT END WAS LOWER THAN NORMAL. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 98I002000 (SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS) WAS REFERENCED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 225
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds