Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD RANGER - 1994 FORD RANGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 466 complaints filed for the 1994 FORD RANGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1994 FORD RANGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1994 FORD RANGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (51) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (61) Seat Belts (11) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (27) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (18) Suspension (35) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (58) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Parking Brake (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (83)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/31/2014 - PORTAGE, IN
JM AUTO SALES AT 12248 N. 600 E. DEMOTTE, IN 46310, SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, HE ASSURED ME THAT HE SERVICES ALL HIS VEHICLES BEFORE HE SELLS THEM BECAUSE HE WANTS HIS CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC HE TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, CENTER LINKS, WHEEL ALIGNMENT, AND EXHAUST FLANGE MANIFOLD, ITS UNFAIR FOR THIS BUSINESS TO SELL A VEHICLE THAT IS UNSAFE FOR THE ROAD, THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE UNSAFE AND DECEPTIVE ACTS AND PRACTICES ACT. IF HE SERVICES THE VEHICLE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THEM AND NOT PUT THEM FOR SALE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/31/2014 - PORTAGE, IN
JM AUTO SALES AT 12248 N. 600 E. DEMOTTE, IN 46310, SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, HE ASSURED ME THAT HE SERVICES ALL HIS VEHICLES BEFORE HE SELLS THEM BECAUSE HE WANTS HIS CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC HE TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, CENTER LINKS, WHEEL ALIGNMENT, AND EXHAUST FLANGE MANIFOLD, ITS UNFAIR FOR THIS BUSINESS TO SELL A VEHICLE THAT IS UNSAFE FOR THE ROAD, THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE UNSAFE AND DECEPTIVE ACTS AND PRACTICES ACT. IF HE SERVICES THE VEHICLE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THEM AND NOT PUT THEM FOR SALE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/17/2013 - CLARKS SUMMIT, PA
I LEFT MY TRUCK FOR INSPECTION ON 12/9/13. IT WOULD NOT INSPECT BECAUSE OF A SMALL LEAK IN ONE OF THE FLEXIBLE FUEL LINE CABLES THAT LEAD FROM THE MAIN FUEL LINE TO THE ENGINE. THIS PART WAS SUPPOSEDLY ON RECALL AT SOME PAST DATE. THE NHTSA RECALL IS #94V111001. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY CORRESPONDENCE ON THIS RECALL. UNFORTUNATELY, FORD INFORMS ME THAT THE PART IS DISCONTINUED, AND MY MECHANIC IS UNABLE TO FIND A REPLACEMENT PART ANYWHERE. I AM CURRENTLY TRYING TO FIND A MACHINE SHOP THAT CAN MAKE THE PART. MY QUESTION IS "DO I HAVE ANY OPTIONS THAT I COULD PURSUE AGAINST FORD".

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/16/2013 - CLEVELAND, OH
PURCHASED A VERY NICE 1994 FORD RANGER XLT WITH APPROX. 63,709 ORIGINAL MILES THE FRAME PERCHES AND LEAF SPRING PURCHASES ARE LIKE SWISS CHEESE THE SCALE ON THE FRAME IS TERRIBLE THE MECHANIC COULD NOT SAFELY PUT THIS TRUCK ON A LIFT LOOKS LIKE TRUCK UNDERNEATH WAS DIPPED IN RUST ANY INFORMATION OR REPLY WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

8/16/2013 - CLEVELAND, OH
PURCHASED A VERY NICE 1994 FORD RANGER XLT WITH APPROX. 63,709 ORIGINAL MILES THE FRAME PERCHES AND LEAF SPRING PURCHASES ARE LIKE SWISS CHEESE THE SCALE ON THE FRAME IS TERRIBLE THE MECHANIC COULD NOT SAFELY PUT THIS TRUCK ON A LIFT LOOKS LIKE TRUCK UNDERNEATH WAS DIPPED IN RUST ANY INFORMATION OR REPLY WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/10/2012 - BATAVIA, OH
PREMATURE SEVERE RUST ON UNDER BODY OF FRAME AND JUST ABOUT EVERY COMPONENT CONNECTED TO THE FRAME ITSELF, INCLUDING BODY MOUNTS, LEAF SPRING BRACKETS, STEERING COMPONENTS. WITHOUT PROPER KNOWLEDGE OF THIS ACTIVE AND AGGRESSIVE RUST CAN LEAD TO LOSS OF STEERING, CONTROL, AND SHIFTING LOADS AS REAR LEAF SPRING BRACKET HAS ALREADY FAILED AFTER HITTING A POTHOLE. BODY MOUNTS HAVE RUSTED LEAVING THE CAB WITH POTENTIAL TO FALL OFF, OR SHIFT DURING A SIMPLE DRIVING MANEUVER . FRAME HAS PANCAKES OF RUST FLAKING OFF AT THIS TIME IN IT'S AGE (NOW 18 YEARS). THIS IS A WELL KNOWN ISSUE TO INTERNET FORD TRUCK CLUB MEMBERS WITH SEVERE RUST THAT DIRECTLY AFFECTS THE SAFETY AND INTEGRITY OF THE FRAME AND IT'S COMPONENTS ATTACHED TO IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2012 - TULLAHOMA TN, TN
COMPLAINT: HIGH RISK OF ACCIDENT DUE TO ENGINE SHUT DOWN. SUBJECT: IGNITION MODULE SAFETY COMPLAINT. 6 OUT OF 7 BAD COMMENTS: PROBLEM: 1994 FORD RANGER PICKUP DIES FREQUENTLY AND SPORADICALLY AFTER IGNITION MODULE REPLACEMENT BY AUTO MECHANIC. FIRST 2 OEM MODULES FROM ADVANCE AUTO TEST BAD AT PARTS DEALER. THIRD MODULE IS FORD MOTOR CRAFT AND IS ASSUMED GOOD. SEVERAL NEW PARTS INSTALLED INCLUDING CRANK SENSOR, FUEL FILTER, FUEL RELAY, TIMING BELT, EEC (COMPUTER), WATER PUMP, EEC RELAY. SPORADIC DYING CONTINUES. FORD MODULE TESTED AT AUTO ZONE AND FAILS, BUT NEW AUTO ZONE DURALAST MODULE IS TESTED FOR COMPARISON AND PASSES. MECHANIC RETURNS MODULE AND ORDERS NEW ONE FROM ADVANCE AUTO. IT FAILS TEST IN STORE. MECHANIC ORDERS ANOTHER THAT PASSES AT ADVANCE BUT FAILS AT AUTO ZONE ON DURALAST TEST. I INSTALL MODULE AND IT FAILS A QUARTER MILE FROM HOUSE. MECHANIC GETS ANOTHER MOTOR CRAFT MODULE FROM FORD THAT PASSES AT ADVANCE AND FAILS AT AUTO ZONE. I DON'T INSTALL IT. THAT MAKES 4 OEM MODULES THAT FAILED AND 2 MOTOR CRAFT. FINALLY, I INSTALL AUTO ZONE MODULE THAT PASSED TEST AT AUTO ZONE. NO FAILURE FOR 4 DAYS AND COUNTING. LOCAL FORD DEALER TRIED TWICE TO FIND THE PROBLEM AFTER THE FIRST MOTOR CRAFT MODULE WAS INSTALLED AND DID NOT LOCATE THE PROBLEM. THEY DID NOT HAVE AN OUT OF VEHICLE ANALYZER. MY CONCLUSION: THERE IS A STRONG POSSIBILITY THAT OTHER PEOPLE WILL ENCOUNTER THE SAME PROBLEM. MY VEHICLE DIED ON THE ORDER OF SEVERAL DOZEN TIMES OVER A SIX MONTH PERIOD (ALMOST DAILY). LUCKILY I LIVE IN A RURAL AREA AND AM QUICK AT HITTING THE EMERGENCY BLINKER. AFTER AWHILE,I BOUGHT A USED CAR AND ONLY DROVE THE TRUCK TO TEST IT. SAFETY HAZARD: UNEXPECTED DYING ON BUSY HIGHWAY OR AT INTERSECTION COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. PLEASE LET ME KNOW THAT YOUR DOING SOMETHING. FORD WON'T.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/13/2012 - POCA , WV
I APPLIED MY BRAKE PEDAL AND IT WAS FINE ONE SECOND AND THEN LOST PRESSURE AND WENT TO THE FLOOR WITH A POPPING FEELING ON THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL AND THEN I TURN MY WHEEL INTO THE OTHER LANE TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME AND A CAR CAME FROM NO WHERE IN THE OTHER DIRECTION AND HIT MY 1994 RANGER ON THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL AND BEDSIDE .

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/1/2011 - CAPRON , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1994 FORD RANGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES WERE EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE HE NOTICED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE HARD FUEL LINE TO THE RADIATOR FAN, WHICH WAS BLOWING THE FUEL BACK UNDER THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

8/30/2011 - WEST CALDWELL, NJ
1994 FORD RANGER WITH FRAME ROT HIDDEN BY FRONT RIGHT COIL SPRING MOUNT , UNSAFE !

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds