Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD RANGER - 1994 FORD RANGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 467 complaints filed for the 1994 FORD RANGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1994 FORD RANGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1994 FORD RANGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (52) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (61) Seat Belts (11) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (27) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (18) Suspension (36) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (59) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Parking Brake (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (83)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

9/20/2014 - GLENDALE, AZ
FUZION TOURING TIRES P195/70R14 91T TREAD SEPARATING AT <14KMILES. I BOUGHT THIS SET OF TIRES AND RIMS USED FROM A FRIEND WHO HAD BOUGHT THE SET OF TIRES FROM ON ONLINE TIRE RETAILER, IN EARLY 2013 (TIRE DOT CODE JEFJ CAN 4412 MADE IN CHINA). THE RIMS AND TIRES WERE INSTALLED ON A 1994 FORD RANGER 2WD INITIALLY AND THEN ON MY 1994 FORD RANGER XLT 2WD. FRONT TWO TIRES BEGAN TO FEEL WOBBLY AND VIBRATE EXCESSIVELY. UPON INSPECTION, THE TIRES WERE DISFIGURED AND OUT OF ROUND. UPON CLOSER INSPECTION BOTH FRONT TIRES APPEARED AS IF THE INNER BELTS HAD PEAKED IN THE CENTER OF THE TIRE ON THE TREAD SURFACE (LIKE THE TREAD SURFACE HAD BEEN FOLDED AROUND THE PERIMETER OF THE TIRE), BUT NOT ALL THE WAY AROUND THE TIRES. THIS WAS THE OBVIOUS CAUSE OF THE VIBRATION. TIRES REPLACED AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. THE REPLACEMENT TIRES WERE PUT ON THE REAR AND THE TWO REMAINING FUZION TIRES WERE MOVED TO THE FRONT. A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER, ONE OF THE FUZION TIRES NOW ON THE FRONT REPEATED THE SAME PROBLEM I HAD WITH THE OTHER TWO. OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE TIRES FOR 3 OF 4 TO GO BAD IN EXACTLY THE SAME WAY WITH IN SUCH A CLOSE TIME RANGE. THE 4TH TIRE APPEARS TO BE OK, HOWEVER DUE TO THE PROBLEM WITH THE OTHER THREE, I AM REPLACING IT TOO. IF YOU HAVE THESE TIRES AND EXPERIENCE VIBRATION, IMMEDIATELY INVESTIGATE THE SHAPE OF THE TIRE TREAD SURFACE FOR DISFIGUREMENT - IF YOU FIND ANY, IMMEDIATELY REPLACE THE TIRE. I CAN PROVIDE PHOTOS AS NEEDED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/31/2014 - PORTAGE, IN
JM AUTO SALES AT 12248 N. 600 E. DEMOTTE, IN 46310, SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, HE ASSURED ME THAT HE SERVICES ALL HIS VEHICLES BEFORE HE SELLS THEM BECAUSE HE WANTS HIS CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC HE TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, CENTER LINKS, WHEEL ALIGNMENT, AND EXHAUST FLANGE MANIFOLD, ITS UNFAIR FOR THIS BUSINESS TO SELL A VEHICLE THAT IS UNSAFE FOR THE ROAD, THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE UNSAFE AND DECEPTIVE ACTS AND PRACTICES ACT. IF HE SERVICES THE VEHICLE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THEM AND NOT PUT THEM FOR SALE.

View Details

STEERING

3/31/2014 - PORTAGE, IN
JM AUTO SALES AT 12248 N. 600 E. DEMOTTE, IN 46310, SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, HE ASSURED ME THAT HE SERVICES ALL HIS VEHICLES BEFORE HE SELLS THEM BECAUSE HE WANTS HIS CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC HE TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, CENTER LINKS, WHEEL ALIGNMENT, AND EXHAUST FLANGE MANIFOLD, ITS UNFAIR FOR THIS BUSINESS TO SELL A VEHICLE THAT IS UNSAFE FOR THE ROAD, THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE UNSAFE AND DECEPTIVE ACTS AND PRACTICES ACT. IF HE SERVICES THE VEHICLE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THEM AND NOT PUT THEM FOR SALE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2014 - PORTAGE, IN
JM AUTO SALES AT 12248 N. 600 E. DEMOTTE, IN 46310, SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, HE ASSURED ME THAT HE SERVICES ALL HIS VEHICLES BEFORE HE SELLS THEM BECAUSE HE WANTS HIS CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC HE TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, CENTER LINKS, WHEEL ALIGNMENT, AND EXHAUST FLANGE MANIFOLD, ITS UNFAIR FOR THIS BUSINESS TO SELL A VEHICLE THAT IS UNSAFE FOR THE ROAD, THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE UNSAFE AND DECEPTIVE ACTS AND PRACTICES ACT. IF HE SERVICES THE VEHICLE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THEM AND NOT PUT THEM FOR SALE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/31/2014 - PORTAGE, IN
JM AUTO SALES AT 12248 N. 600 E. DEMOTTE, IN 46310, SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, HE ASSURED ME THAT HE SERVICES ALL HIS VEHICLES BEFORE HE SELLS THEM BECAUSE HE WANTS HIS CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC HE TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, CENTER LINKS, WHEEL ALIGNMENT, AND EXHAUST FLANGE MANIFOLD, ITS UNFAIR FOR THIS BUSINESS TO SELL A VEHICLE THAT IS UNSAFE FOR THE ROAD, THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE UNSAFE AND DECEPTIVE ACTS AND PRACTICES ACT. IF HE SERVICES THE VEHICLE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THEM AND NOT PUT THEM FOR SALE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/17/2013 - CLARKS SUMMIT, PA
I LEFT MY TRUCK FOR INSPECTION ON 12/9/13. IT WOULD NOT INSPECT BECAUSE OF A SMALL LEAK IN ONE OF THE FLEXIBLE FUEL LINE CABLES THAT LEAD FROM THE MAIN FUEL LINE TO THE ENGINE. THIS PART WAS SUPPOSEDLY ON RECALL AT SOME PAST DATE. THE NHTSA RECALL IS #94V111001. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY CORRESPONDENCE ON THIS RECALL. UNFORTUNATELY, FORD INFORMS ME THAT THE PART IS DISCONTINUED, AND MY MECHANIC IS UNABLE TO FIND A REPLACEMENT PART ANYWHERE. I AM CURRENTLY TRYING TO FIND A MACHINE SHOP THAT CAN MAKE THE PART. MY QUESTION IS "DO I HAVE ANY OPTIONS THAT I COULD PURSUE AGAINST FORD".

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

8/16/2013 - CLEVELAND, OH
PURCHASED A VERY NICE 1994 FORD RANGER XLT WITH APPROX. 63,709 ORIGINAL MILES THE FRAME PERCHES AND LEAF SPRING PURCHASES ARE LIKE SWISS CHEESE THE SCALE ON THE FRAME IS TERRIBLE THE MECHANIC COULD NOT SAFELY PUT THIS TRUCK ON A LIFT LOOKS LIKE TRUCK UNDERNEATH WAS DIPPED IN RUST ANY INFORMATION OR REPLY WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/16/2013 - CLEVELAND, OH
PURCHASED A VERY NICE 1994 FORD RANGER XLT WITH APPROX. 63,709 ORIGINAL MILES THE FRAME PERCHES AND LEAF SPRING PURCHASES ARE LIKE SWISS CHEESE THE SCALE ON THE FRAME IS TERRIBLE THE MECHANIC COULD NOT SAFELY PUT THIS TRUCK ON A LIFT LOOKS LIKE TRUCK UNDERNEATH WAS DIPPED IN RUST ANY INFORMATION OR REPLY WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/10/2012 - BATAVIA, OH
PREMATURE SEVERE RUST ON UNDER BODY OF FRAME AND JUST ABOUT EVERY COMPONENT CONNECTED TO THE FRAME ITSELF, INCLUDING BODY MOUNTS, LEAF SPRING BRACKETS, STEERING COMPONENTS. WITHOUT PROPER KNOWLEDGE OF THIS ACTIVE AND AGGRESSIVE RUST CAN LEAD TO LOSS OF STEERING, CONTROL, AND SHIFTING LOADS AS REAR LEAF SPRING BRACKET HAS ALREADY FAILED AFTER HITTING A POTHOLE. BODY MOUNTS HAVE RUSTED LEAVING THE CAB WITH POTENTIAL TO FALL OFF, OR SHIFT DURING A SIMPLE DRIVING MANEUVER . FRAME HAS PANCAKES OF RUST FLAKING OFF AT THIS TIME IN IT'S AGE (NOW 18 YEARS). THIS IS A WELL KNOWN ISSUE TO INTERNET FORD TRUCK CLUB MEMBERS WITH SEVERE RUST THAT DIRECTLY AFFECTS THE SAFETY AND INTEGRITY OF THE FRAME AND IT'S COMPONENTS ATTACHED TO IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2012 - TULLAHOMA TN, TN
COMPLAINT: HIGH RISK OF ACCIDENT DUE TO ENGINE SHUT DOWN. SUBJECT: IGNITION MODULE SAFETY COMPLAINT. 6 OUT OF 7 BAD COMMENTS: PROBLEM: 1994 FORD RANGER PICKUP DIES FREQUENTLY AND SPORADICALLY AFTER IGNITION MODULE REPLACEMENT BY AUTO MECHANIC. FIRST 2 OEM MODULES FROM ADVANCE AUTO TEST BAD AT PARTS DEALER. THIRD MODULE IS FORD MOTOR CRAFT AND IS ASSUMED GOOD. SEVERAL NEW PARTS INSTALLED INCLUDING CRANK SENSOR, FUEL FILTER, FUEL RELAY, TIMING BELT, EEC (COMPUTER), WATER PUMP, EEC RELAY. SPORADIC DYING CONTINUES. FORD MODULE TESTED AT AUTO ZONE AND FAILS, BUT NEW AUTO ZONE DURALAST MODULE IS TESTED FOR COMPARISON AND PASSES. MECHANIC RETURNS MODULE AND ORDERS NEW ONE FROM ADVANCE AUTO. IT FAILS TEST IN STORE. MECHANIC ORDERS ANOTHER THAT PASSES AT ADVANCE BUT FAILS AT AUTO ZONE ON DURALAST TEST. I INSTALL MODULE AND IT FAILS A QUARTER MILE FROM HOUSE. MECHANIC GETS ANOTHER MOTOR CRAFT MODULE FROM FORD THAT PASSES AT ADVANCE AND FAILS AT AUTO ZONE. I DON'T INSTALL IT. THAT MAKES 4 OEM MODULES THAT FAILED AND 2 MOTOR CRAFT. FINALLY, I INSTALL AUTO ZONE MODULE THAT PASSED TEST AT AUTO ZONE. NO FAILURE FOR 4 DAYS AND COUNTING. LOCAL FORD DEALER TRIED TWICE TO FIND THE PROBLEM AFTER THE FIRST MOTOR CRAFT MODULE WAS INSTALLED AND DID NOT LOCATE THE PROBLEM. THEY DID NOT HAVE AN OUT OF VEHICLE ANALYZER. MY CONCLUSION: THERE IS A STRONG POSSIBILITY THAT OTHER PEOPLE WILL ENCOUNTER THE SAME PROBLEM. MY VEHICLE DIED ON THE ORDER OF SEVERAL DOZEN TIMES OVER A SIX MONTH PERIOD (ALMOST DAILY). LUCKILY I LIVE IN A RURAL AREA AND AM QUICK AT HITTING THE EMERGENCY BLINKER. AFTER AWHILE,I BOUGHT A USED CAR AND ONLY DROVE THE TRUCK TO TEST IT. SAFETY HAZARD: UNEXPECTED DYING ON BUSY HIGHWAY OR AT INTERSECTION COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. PLEASE LET ME KNOW THAT YOUR DOING SOMETHING. FORD WON'T.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds