Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 999 complaints filed for the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (127) Equipment (51) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (18) Tires (7)
Child Seat (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (32) Service Brakes Air (6) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Communications (52) Exterior Lighting (34) Other (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (78) Visibility (84)
Electrical System (80) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (9) Steering (76) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (189) Power Train (161) Structure (35) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (198) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (17) Suspension (40)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 140
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/5/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE POURING DOWN RAIN WHEN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, I COULD HEAR THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR STILL GOING BUT THE WIPER ARMS WOULD NOT MOVE. WE HAD PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY BUT THERE WAS NOTHING AROUND FOR MILES. WE GOT BACK ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY SON WOULD PUSH THE WIPER ARM DOWN WHEN IT HAD WENT TO HIS SIDE SO WE COULD DRIVE A LITTLE FURTHER TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY IN AN OCCUPIED AREA. IT HAD STOPPED RAINING AND AS WE WERE DRIVING THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED ON US, IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP. MY MINIVAN HAD TO BE TOWED FROM A TOWN OVER 50 MILES FROM WHERE WE LIVE. I HAD MY CHILDREN IN THE MINIVAN WITH ME AND IT WAS A REALLY TERRIFYING ORDEAL.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/5/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE POURING DOWN RAIN WHEN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, I COULD HEAR THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR STILL GOING BUT THE WIPER ARMS WOULD NOT MOVE. WE HAD PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY BUT THERE WAS NOTHING AROUND FOR MILES. WE GOT BACK ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY SON WOULD PUSH THE WIPER ARM DOWN WHEN IT HAD WENT TO HIS SIDE SO WE COULD DRIVE A LITTLE FURTHER TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY IN AN OCCUPIED AREA. IT HAD STOPPED RAINING AND AS WE WERE DRIVING THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED ON US, IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP. MY MINIVAN HAD TO BE TOWED FROM A TOWN OVER 50 MILES FROM WHERE WE LIVE. I HAD MY CHILDREN IN THE MINIVAN WITH ME AND IT WAS A REALLY TERRIFYING ORDEAL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2012 - LYNNWOOD, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER A TOTAL OF SIX TIMES DUE TO THE RECURRING DETACHMENT OF THE SERPENTINE BELT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT WOULD DETACH WHENEVER THE WEATHER WAS RAINY OR IF IT BECAME WET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/9/2012 - GASTON , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 40-50 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND JERKED VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL TIRE FACILITY WHERE THE TIRES WERE REPLACED, BUT FAILURE WAS LOCATED AT THE FRONT MOTOR MOUNT CONNECTOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 137,308.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2011 - OAKRIDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT FUEL RAIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V268000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM). THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 230,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/2/2011 - KINGSTON, NH
REAR AXLE SPIT IN TWO WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH ON BACK ROAD, LUCKY NOT ON HIGHWAY. TIRES SLAMMED INTO WHEEL WELLS, CAUGHT ON FIRE ALMOST, LOTS OF SMOKE. COULD NOT CONTROL VEHICLE WELL, AND WENT OFF THE ROAD AT APPROX 25 MPH AND HIT A BUNCH OF SMALL TREES, INJURED BOTH KNEES, REFUSED AMBULANCE TRANSPORT. CAR WAS TOWED TO MY GARAGE AND AXLE REPLACED WITH JUNKYARD PART AND VEHICLE IS BACK ON THE ROAD. SCARY INCIDENT ,COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE OR FATAL IF THIS HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY INSTEAD OF A LOCAL ROAD. AXLE TUBE IS JUST THICK SHEET METAL, NOT REALLY AN IRON PIPE LIKE YOU WOULD THINK, VERY FLIMSY. HAVE NICE PICTURES IFYOU ARE INTERESTED. SHOULD RECALL THIS FLIMSY AXLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2011 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHEN COASTING THROUGH LEFT HAND TURNS ONLY ENGINE AND ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS SHUT OFF FOR 1 TO 4 SECONDS CAUSING POWER STEERING NOT TO WORK AND BRAKING REDUCED. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN WHEN ACCELERATING THROUGH LEFT TURNS OR COASTING THROUGH RIGHT HAND TURNS.

View Details

SEATS

4/1/2010 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
1996 CHRYLER TOWN AND COUNTRY SEAT BACK COLLAPSE IN REAR END COLLISION CAUSING CHILDREN IN SECOND ROW SEATS TO BE INJURED OR KILLED!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

7/14/2009 - INVERNESS, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT WOULD NOT REMAIN IN PLACE ON THE PULLEY IN HER VEHICLE. THE BELT HAS BEEN REPLACED AT LEAST THREE TIMES. THE CONTACT HAD TO REPLACE THE TENSION PULLEY AND THE WATER PUMP PULLEY TO KEEP THE SERPENTINE BELT SECURE. THERE ARE ONLY TWO BELTS LEFT TO BE REPLACED AND THEY ARE CURRENTLY WORKING PROPERLY. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THIS COMPONENT; THEREFORE, THEY COULD NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,619.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/17/2008 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
THE 1996 TOWN & COUNTRY VAN LOST ITS HEAT..UNKNOWN TO ME, IT WAS LOSING ANTI FREEZE ALSO. I TOOK IT TO LOCAL MECHANIC AND THEY SAID I BETTER FIX IT THEN. OR MY MOTOR WOULD BURN UP A HOSE CONNECTS TO RADIATOR TO HEATER CORE...METAL. IT COST ME 60/00 TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 140
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds