Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 998 complaints filed for the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (127) Equipment (51) Latches Locks Linkages (32) Seats (18) Suspension (40)
Child Seat (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (18) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (7)
Communications (52) Exterior Lighting (34) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (78) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Electrical System (80) Fuel System Gasoline (189) Power Train (161) Steering (76) Visibility (84)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (17) Structure (35) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (198) Interior Lighting (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 140
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/22/2012 - LYNNWOOD, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER A TOTAL OF SIX TIMES DUE TO THE RECURRING DETACHMENT OF THE SERPENTINE BELT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT WOULD DETACH WHENEVER THE WEATHER WAS RAINY OR IF IT BECAME WET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/9/2012 - GASTON , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 40-50 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND JERKED VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL TIRE FACILITY WHERE THE TIRES WERE REPLACED, BUT FAILURE WAS LOCATED AT THE FRONT MOTOR MOUNT CONNECTOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 137,308.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2011 - OAKRIDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT FUEL RAIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V268000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM). THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 230,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/2/2011 - KINGSTON, NH
REAR AXLE SPIT IN TWO WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH ON BACK ROAD, LUCKY NOT ON HIGHWAY. TIRES SLAMMED INTO WHEEL WELLS, CAUGHT ON FIRE ALMOST, LOTS OF SMOKE. COULD NOT CONTROL VEHICLE WELL, AND WENT OFF THE ROAD AT APPROX 25 MPH AND HIT A BUNCH OF SMALL TREES, INJURED BOTH KNEES, REFUSED AMBULANCE TRANSPORT. CAR WAS TOWED TO MY GARAGE AND AXLE REPLACED WITH JUNKYARD PART AND VEHICLE IS BACK ON THE ROAD. SCARY INCIDENT ,COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE OR FATAL IF THIS HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY INSTEAD OF A LOCAL ROAD. AXLE TUBE IS JUST THICK SHEET METAL, NOT REALLY AN IRON PIPE LIKE YOU WOULD THINK, VERY FLIMSY. HAVE NICE PICTURES IFYOU ARE INTERESTED. SHOULD RECALL THIS FLIMSY AXLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2011 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHEN COASTING THROUGH LEFT HAND TURNS ONLY ENGINE AND ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS SHUT OFF FOR 1 TO 4 SECONDS CAUSING POWER STEERING NOT TO WORK AND BRAKING REDUCED. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN WHEN ACCELERATING THROUGH LEFT TURNS OR COASTING THROUGH RIGHT HAND TURNS.

View Details

SEATS

4/1/2010 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
1996 CHRYLER TOWN AND COUNTRY SEAT BACK COLLAPSE IN REAR END COLLISION CAUSING CHILDREN IN SECOND ROW SEATS TO BE INJURED OR KILLED!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

7/14/2009 - INVERNESS, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT WOULD NOT REMAIN IN PLACE ON THE PULLEY IN HER VEHICLE. THE BELT HAS BEEN REPLACED AT LEAST THREE TIMES. THE CONTACT HAD TO REPLACE THE TENSION PULLEY AND THE WATER PUMP PULLEY TO KEEP THE SERPENTINE BELT SECURE. THERE ARE ONLY TWO BELTS LEFT TO BE REPLACED AND THEY ARE CURRENTLY WORKING PROPERLY. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THIS COMPONENT; THEREFORE, THEY COULD NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,619.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/17/2008 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
THE 1996 TOWN & COUNTRY VAN LOST ITS HEAT..UNKNOWN TO ME, IT WAS LOSING ANTI FREEZE ALSO. I TOOK IT TO LOCAL MECHANIC AND THEY SAID I BETTER FIX IT THEN. OR MY MOTOR WOULD BURN UP A HOSE CONNECTS TO RADIATOR TO HEATER CORE...METAL. IT COST ME 60/00 TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

7/14/2008 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE SERPENTINE BELT ON MY 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY LXI, MAKES A LOUD SQUEAL AND THEN FALLS OFF A WEEK LATER. WHEN DRIVING IN RAIN AND GOING OVER A PUDDLE THE SERPENTINE BELT FALLS OFF THIS HAS HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES THAT I HAVE INSTALLED BRACKETS ONE BY THE TENSIONER AND ONE BY THE PULLEY. THE IMMEDIATE & DANGEROUS RESULT IS LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES NEXT IS WATER PUMP FAILS CAUSING ENGINE TO OVER HEAT SO UNLESS YOU HAVE A SPARE BELT IN YOUR VAN AT THE TIME AND THE TOOLS TO CHANGE IT YOU ARE LET STRANDED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/1/2008 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE SERPENTINE BELT ON OUR 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY LXI, MAKES A HORRIBLE SCREECHING SOUND, THAT WE'VE ALMOST COME TO APPRECIATE, WHEN FACED WITH IT'S ALTERNATIVE SILENCE, WHEN THE SERPENTINE BELT GETS WET & SLIPS OFF. THE IMMEDIATE & DANGEROUS RESULT IS LOSS OF POWER STEERING, LEAVING THE DRIVER SURPRISED WITH THEIR INABILITY TO SAFELY MANEUVER THE VAN. WITHIN LESS THAN A MINUTE, A FAST HAZARD BELL SOUNDS & THE ENGINE TEMPERATURE SENSOR IS PINNED AT HOT. IF THE DRIVER IS QUICK, STRONG, & LUCKY ENOUGH, TO GET THE FAMILY "SAFELY" OFF THE ROAD, BEFORE THE WATER PUMP FRIES, STALLING THE VAN IN TRAFFIC, THEY ARE NOW LEFT STRANDED. WE'VE HAD THE SERPENTINE BELT & TENSIONER PULLEY REPLACED TWICE, THE LAST TIME AT CHRYSLER, AND STILL THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED. WE'VE CHECKED FOR RECALLS BUT CHRYSLER STATES THAT THIS IS NOT A LIFE THREATENING FAILURE, SO NO RECALL HAS BEEN MADE. THIS HAS HAPPENS TO US OFTEN ENOUGH THAT WE KEEP A WRENCH IN OUR VAN, SO MY HUSBAND CAN ATTEMPT TO RETRIEVE & RE-SEAT THE BELT ONTO THE TENSIONER, IN THE POURING RAIN. WE'VE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM & CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY CHRYSLER DOESN'T THINK LOSS OF STEERING & SUDDEN HEAT PUMP FAILURE IS NOT LIFE THREATENING. IF ONE OF THEIR CEOS WERE TO FIND THEMSELVES STRUGGLING THEIR FAMILY VAN QUICKLY OFF THE ROAD, STANDING OVER, OR EVEN LYING UNDER THEIR ENGINE, IN THE POURING RAIN, WHILE THE REST OF THE FAMILY HOPES THAT HE ISN'T INJURED MAKING THE REPAIR, HIT BY LIGHTENING, OR BY A DISTRACTED DRIVER, PERHAPS THEY WOULD RECALL THIS SYSTEM. WE'VE SPENT A LOT OF TIME & MONEY ON REPAIRS, & HAVE COME ACROSS AN OFF-MARKET PRODUCT DESIGNED TO FIX THIS SPECIFIC, WIDELY RECOGNIZED CHRYSLER PRODUCT ISSUE, AND JUST PURCHASED IT. WE FIND IT DISGUSTING TO SEE THAT THE POSSIBILITY OF THIS PROBLEM BEING ADDRESSED MAY DEPEND ON THE NUMBER OF DEATHS, OR PERSONS INJURED, BEFORE CHRYSLER TAKES ANY RESPONSIBILITY. THEY COULD AT LEAST ACQUIRE OR COVER THE COST OF THE OFF-MARKET REPAIR KIT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 140
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds