Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1001 complaints filed for the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (127) Equipment (51) Latches Locks Linkages (32) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Child Seat (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (78) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Communications (52) Exterior Lighting (34) Parking Brake (9) Steering (77) Visibility (84)
Electrical System (82) Fuel System Gasoline (190) Power Train (161) Structure (35) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (17) Suspension (40) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (199) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (18) Tires (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 141
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2015 - WEST CHESTER, PA
TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKED, ELECTRICAL CLUSTER WAVING BACK AND FORTH BEFORE AND AFTER TRANSMISSION REPAIR, NEWLY INSTALLED TRANSMISSION BROKE DOWN 5 DAYS AFTER INSTALLATION, REPAIR SHOP CLAIMS ELECRICAL SYSTEM NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND IS CAUSE OF TRANSMISSION BREAKDOWN

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/14/2015 - YUBA CITY, CA
MY MINIVAN HAS BEEN NOT WANTING TO START, THE SPEEDOMETER HAS BEEN JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE . I HAD MY FUEL PUMP AND FILTER REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2014 DUE TO IT NOT STARTING. NOW WITHIN THE LAST 2 WEEKS OR SO IT STARTED TO ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE AS I WOULD BE DRIVING AND SOMETIMES IT WOULD JUMP OUT OF GEAR. ALL THIS LAST WEEK IT HAS BEEN GIVING ME PROBLEMS WITH STARTING AND EVERY TIME I WOULD GET OUT OF THE VAN IT WOULD SMELL LIKE SOMETHINGS BURNING. WHEN I TURN THE KEY TO START IT ALL YOU COULD HEAR IS A CLICK, TRY TO START IT A COUPLE MORE TIMES AND FINALLY GET IT TO START. TODAY IT WOULDN'T START NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES I TRIED TO START IT. I OPEN THE HOOD AND LOOKED AT THE BATTERY AND ONE TERMINAL LOOKS LIKE IT IS BURNT.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2015 - YUBA CITY, CA
MY MINIVAN HAS BEEN NOT WANTING TO START, THE SPEEDOMETER HAS BEEN JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE . I HAD MY FUEL PUMP AND FILTER REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2014 DUE TO IT NOT STARTING. NOW WITHIN THE LAST 2 WEEKS OR SO IT STARTED TO ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE AS I WOULD BE DRIVING AND SOMETIMES IT WOULD JUMP OUT OF GEAR. ALL THIS LAST WEEK IT HAS BEEN GIVING ME PROBLEMS WITH STARTING AND EVERY TIME I WOULD GET OUT OF THE VAN IT WOULD SMELL LIKE SOMETHINGS BURNING. WHEN I TURN THE KEY TO START IT ALL YOU COULD HEAR IS A CLICK, TRY TO START IT A COUPLE MORE TIMES AND FINALLY GET IT TO START. TODAY IT WOULDN'T START NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES I TRIED TO START IT. I OPEN THE HOOD AND LOOKED AT THE BATTERY AND ONE TERMINAL LOOKS LIKE IT IS BURNT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2015 - YUBA CITY, CA
MY MINIVAN HAS BEEN NOT WANTING TO START, THE SPEEDOMETER HAS BEEN JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE . I HAD MY FUEL PUMP AND FILTER REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2014 DUE TO IT NOT STARTING. NOW WITHIN THE LAST 2 WEEKS OR SO IT STARTED TO ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE AS I WOULD BE DRIVING AND SOMETIMES IT WOULD JUMP OUT OF GEAR. ALL THIS LAST WEEK IT HAS BEEN GIVING ME PROBLEMS WITH STARTING AND EVERY TIME I WOULD GET OUT OF THE VAN IT WOULD SMELL LIKE SOMETHINGS BURNING. WHEN I TURN THE KEY TO START IT ALL YOU COULD HEAR IS A CLICK, TRY TO START IT A COUPLE MORE TIMES AND FINALLY GET IT TO START. TODAY IT WOULDN'T START NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES I TRIED TO START IT. I OPEN THE HOOD AND LOOKED AT THE BATTERY AND ONE TERMINAL LOOKS LIKE IT IS BURNT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/5/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE POURING DOWN RAIN WHEN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, I COULD HEAR THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR STILL GOING BUT THE WIPER ARMS WOULD NOT MOVE. WE HAD PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY BUT THERE WAS NOTHING AROUND FOR MILES. WE GOT BACK ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY SON WOULD PUSH THE WIPER ARM DOWN WHEN IT HAD WENT TO HIS SIDE SO WE COULD DRIVE A LITTLE FURTHER TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY IN AN OCCUPIED AREA. IT HAD STOPPED RAINING AND AS WE WERE DRIVING THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED ON US, IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP. MY MINIVAN HAD TO BE TOWED FROM A TOWN OVER 50 MILES FROM WHERE WE LIVE. I HAD MY CHILDREN IN THE MINIVAN WITH ME AND IT WAS A REALLY TERRIFYING ORDEAL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/5/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE POURING DOWN RAIN WHEN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, I COULD HEAR THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR STILL GOING BUT THE WIPER ARMS WOULD NOT MOVE. WE HAD PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY BUT THERE WAS NOTHING AROUND FOR MILES. WE GOT BACK ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY SON WOULD PUSH THE WIPER ARM DOWN WHEN IT HAD WENT TO HIS SIDE SO WE COULD DRIVE A LITTLE FURTHER TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY IN AN OCCUPIED AREA. IT HAD STOPPED RAINING AND AS WE WERE DRIVING THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED ON US, IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP. MY MINIVAN HAD TO BE TOWED FROM A TOWN OVER 50 MILES FROM WHERE WE LIVE. I HAD MY CHILDREN IN THE MINIVAN WITH ME AND IT WAS A REALLY TERRIFYING ORDEAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/5/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE POURING DOWN RAIN WHEN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, I COULD HEAR THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR STILL GOING BUT THE WIPER ARMS WOULD NOT MOVE. WE HAD PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY BUT THERE WAS NOTHING AROUND FOR MILES. WE GOT BACK ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY SON WOULD PUSH THE WIPER ARM DOWN WHEN IT HAD WENT TO HIS SIDE SO WE COULD DRIVE A LITTLE FURTHER TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY IN AN OCCUPIED AREA. IT HAD STOPPED RAINING AND AS WE WERE DRIVING THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED ON US, IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP. MY MINIVAN HAD TO BE TOWED FROM A TOWN OVER 50 MILES FROM WHERE WE LIVE. I HAD MY CHILDREN IN THE MINIVAN WITH ME AND IT WAS A REALLY TERRIFYING ORDEAL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2012 - LYNNWOOD, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER A TOTAL OF SIX TIMES DUE TO THE RECURRING DETACHMENT OF THE SERPENTINE BELT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT WOULD DETACH WHENEVER THE WEATHER WAS RAINY OR IF IT BECAME WET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/9/2012 - GASTON , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 40-50 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND JERKED VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL TIRE FACILITY WHERE THE TIRES WERE REPLACED, BUT FAILURE WAS LOCATED AT THE FRONT MOTOR MOUNT CONNECTOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 137,308.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2011 - OAKRIDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT FUEL RAIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V268000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM). THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 230,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 141
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds