Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 67 complaints filed for the 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (16) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/7/2011 - ELLETTSVILLE , IN
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD ENGINE JUST QUIT..IGNITION WOULD NOT TURN ON ANY LIGHTS ,BUT RADIO WOULD WORK HAD IT TOWED 45 MIKES BACK HOME. HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM ON 97 ACCORDS BAD IGNITION SWITCH.HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD QUICK TO KEEP FROM BEING REARENDED, HIWAY 252.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/21/2011 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
HONDA ODYSSEY LX 1996 WOULD NOT START IN A PARKING LOT SO I CALLED FOR A TOWING SERVICE. TOWING SERVICE TRIED TO UNLOCK ENGINE USING DOOR LOCK TRICK AND THE ENGINE STARTED. TWO DAYS LATER THE ENGINE DIED WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO COAST TO AN EXIT RAMP, AND IT WOULD NOT START AT ALL AFTER THAT. MODOT TRUCK STOPPED TO CHECK IT OUT AND RECOMMENDED TO HAVE IT TOWED. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HONDA DEALER; SAID IT WAS AN IGNITION SWITCH DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

7/21/2011 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
HONDA ODYSSEY LX 1996 WOULD NOT START IN A PARKING LOT SO I CALLED FOR A TOWING SERVICE. TOWING SERVICE TRIED TO UNLOCK ENGINE USING DOOR LOCK TRICK AND THE ENGINE STARTED. TWO DAYS LATER THE ENGINE DIED WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO COAST TO AN EXIT RAMP, AND IT WOULD NOT START AT ALL AFTER THAT. MODOT TRUCK STOPPED TO CHECK IT OUT AND RECOMMENDED TO HAVE IT TOWED. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HONDA DEALER; SAID IT WAS AN IGNITION SWITCH DEFECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2011 - MOUNT HOLLY, NC
CAR WAS TAKEN IN FOR INSPECTION AND TOLD THAT REAR ENGINE MOUNTS NEED REPLACED AT 71,000 MILES. TOLD REPAIR COST WAS $940 AND NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

12/26/2009 - BUFFALO, NY
MY 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY DIED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE STATIONARY AND/OR DRIVING, INCLUDING ONE INCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAY AT HIGH SPEED. I TOOK IT TO AAA CARE PLUS, GOT SPARK PLUG, SPARK PLUG WIRE SET, DISTRIBUTOR REPLACED. IT STILL STALL FREQUENTLY. AFTER DOING A GOOGLE SEARCH LEARNED THAT 1996 ODYSSEY HAS PROBLEM. OTHER HAVE ALSO REPORTED. WANT TO KNOW WHAT HONDA IS DOING ABOUT IT AS THIS MODEL WAS RECALLED FOR SAME PROBLEM IN CHINA AND EUROPE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

9/14/2009 - FORT MILL, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH CAUSED THE FAILURE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 197,000

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2008 - FOND-DU-LAC, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 HONDA ODYSSEY. IF THE CONTACT RELEASES THE KEY AFTER PLACING IT INTO THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE SHUTS OFF. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS HER RESPONSIBILITY. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HER VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 02V120000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION:SWITCH). THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 145,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

3/31/2008 - BOULDER, CO
VEHICLE BEGAN HAVING STARTING PROBLEMS - WOULD CRANK BUT NOT ALWAYS CATCH AND RUN. THEN ENGINE STOPPED WHILE DRIVING SEVERAL TIMES, AN UNSAFE SITUATION. FINALLY WOULD NOT START AGAIN. REPLACED IGNITION SWITCH, WORKS FINE. NOTED THAT SIMILAR (MODEL, YEAR) VEHICLES IN AUSTRALIA AND JAPAN HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALLED FOR SAME SYMPTOMS - IS THERE A LINK?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

3/16/2007 - MADISONVILLE, KY
JULY 2002, I TOOK MY ODYSSEY TO A HONDA DEALER BECAUSE I WAS HAVING SEVERAL ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS: 1. MY SRS LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULDN'T GO OFF. 2. MY ABS LIGHT HAD ALSO BEGUN TO GO ON AND OFF. 3. MY POWER LOCKS WOULD LOCK UNCONTROLLABLY AND DRAIN BATTERY. I ASKED THEM TO TAKE A LOOK. AFTER $160 DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE, I WAS TOLD THE FOLLOWING: CODE 8-3 PRESENT ON SRS. CLEARED CODE AND TEST DROVE. LIGHT REMAINED OFF FOR DRIVE. SUGGEST REPLACING AIRBAG IF LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. PROBABLY A SENSOR PROBLEM. COST $748 CODE 44 PRESENT ON ABS. RIGHT REAR WHEEL SPEED SENSOR IS FAULTY. SUGGEST REPLACING SENSOR. COST $283 ELECTRONIC LOCKS NEED NEW LOCK UNIT. COST $256 I WAS SHOCKED THAT REPAIRS WOULD COST ANOTHER $1300. AFTER DISCUSSING THESE PROBLEMS WITH THE DEALER AND BEING TOLD THE ISSUES WERE PROBABLY ALL SENSOR MALFUNCTIONS, I OPTED NOT TO PAY FOR REPAIRS. JUST AFTER DRIVING OFF, MY SRS AND ABS LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND HAVE REMAINED ON EVER SINCE. NOW, AFTER SEEING THE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS BY OTHER ODYSSEY OWNERS AND LEARNING THAT THE AIRBAGS MAY ACTUALLY NOT WORK, I AM REPORTING MY EXPERIENCE AS WELL... I JUST BOUGHT A CHEVY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/16/2007 - MADISONVILLE, KY
JULY 2002, I TOOK MY ODYSSEY TO A HONDA DEALER BECAUSE I WAS HAVING SEVERAL ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS: 1. MY SRS LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULDN'T GO OFF. 2. MY ABS LIGHT HAD ALSO BEGUN TO GO ON AND OFF. 3. MY POWER LOCKS WOULD LOCK UNCONTROLLABLY AND DRAIN BATTERY. I ASKED THEM TO TAKE A LOOK. AFTER $160 DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE, I WAS TOLD THE FOLLOWING: CODE 8-3 PRESENT ON SRS. CLEARED CODE AND TEST DROVE. LIGHT REMAINED OFF FOR DRIVE. SUGGEST REPLACING AIRBAG IF LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. PROBABLY A SENSOR PROBLEM. COST $748 CODE 44 PRESENT ON ABS. RIGHT REAR WHEEL SPEED SENSOR IS FAULTY. SUGGEST REPLACING SENSOR. COST $283 ELECTRONIC LOCKS NEED NEW LOCK UNIT. COST $256 I WAS SHOCKED THAT REPAIRS WOULD COST ANOTHER $1300. AFTER DISCUSSING THESE PROBLEMS WITH THE DEALER AND BEING TOLD THE ISSUES WERE PROBABLY ALL SENSOR MALFUNCTIONS, I OPTED NOT TO PAY FOR REPAIRS. JUST AFTER DRIVING OFF, MY SRS AND ABS LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND HAVE REMAINED ON EVER SINCE. NOW, AFTER SEEING THE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS BY OTHER ODYSSEY OWNERS AND LEARNING THAT THE AIRBAGS MAY ACTUALLY NOT WORK, I AM REPORTING MY EXPERIENCE AS WELL... I JUST BOUGHT A CHEVY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds