Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA - 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 94 complaints filed for the 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (5) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/15/2013 - HARRISON, AR
I BOUGHT MY DADS 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA, ON ABOUT THE 7-22-13, HE HAD IT AT OUR MECHANICS CAR LOT FOR SALE AND MY TRUCKS TRANSMISSION STARTED FAILING ON ME SO I PURCHASED MY DADS CAR, WENT TO PICK IT UP AND NOW AFTER 2 DIFFERENT MECHANICS AND 5 WEEKS LATER THEY STILL CAN'T GET MY CAR FIXED SO IT WILL RUN,THIS IS WHAT IT DOES,SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF FLASHING UNTIL IT COMES ON FULLY ALL THE TIME,DIES AND REFUSES TO START, SO I DONE SOME LOOKING ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THAT JUST ABOUT ALL OF THE ACHIEVA, MALIBU'S,BASICALLY ALL G.M. CARS FROM EARLY 90'S- UPPER 90'S ALL HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND IT CAN HAPPEN WHILE THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN IN SOME CASES, SO I FILL LIKE IF THIS IS NOT TOOK CARE OF IT COULD CAUSE A WRECK,FIRE OR AN ACCIDENT OF SOME KIND BEING IT IS THE # 1 THING TO GO WRONG WITH THIS KIND AND YEAR MODEL'S OF OLDS-ACHIEVA, JUST WAS WONDERING IF MY CAR GOT MISSED ON RECALL OR IF IT SHOULD BE RECALLED, I'M ABOUT HALF WAY AFRAID TO DRIVE IT EVEN IF IT GETS FIXED, THAT IT WILL DO IT AGAIN AND ME BE DRIVING IT NEXT TIME, PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS ANY HELP FOR MY CAR TO GET RECALLED..

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2013 - HARRISON, AR
I BOUGHT MY DADS 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA, ON ABOUT THE 7-22-13, HE HAD IT AT OUR MECHANICS CAR LOT FOR SALE AND MY TRUCKS TRANSMISSION STARTED FAILING ON ME SO I PURCHASED MY DADS CAR, WENT TO PICK IT UP AND NOW AFTER 2 DIFFERENT MECHANICS AND 5 WEEKS LATER THEY STILL CAN'T GET MY CAR FIXED SO IT WILL RUN,THIS IS WHAT IT DOES,SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF FLASHING UNTIL IT COMES ON FULLY ALL THE TIME,DIES AND REFUSES TO START, SO I DONE SOME LOOKING ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THAT JUST ABOUT ALL OF THE ACHIEVA, MALIBU'S,BASICALLY ALL G.M. CARS FROM EARLY 90'S- UPPER 90'S ALL HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND IT CAN HAPPEN WHILE THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN IN SOME CASES, SO I FILL LIKE IF THIS IS NOT TOOK CARE OF IT COULD CAUSE A WRECK,FIRE OR AN ACCIDENT OF SOME KIND BEING IT IS THE # 1 THING TO GO WRONG WITH THIS KIND AND YEAR MODEL'S OF OLDS-ACHIEVA, JUST WAS WONDERING IF MY CAR GOT MISSED ON RECALL OR IF IT SHOULD BE RECALLED, I'M ABOUT HALF WAY AFRAID TO DRIVE IT EVEN IF IT GETS FIXED, THAT IT WILL DO IT AGAIN AND ME BE DRIVING IT NEXT TIME, PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS ANY HELP FOR MY CAR TO GET RECALLED..

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/14/2011 - ALBANY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 5 MPH WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR A MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE VIN DID NOT QUALIFY FOR NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER 07E015000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/5/2008 - BURKEVILLE, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDERGOING AN OIL CHANGE, THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE TRANSAXLE HAD AN OIL LEAK NEAR THE CV JOINT. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 76,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000. UPDATED 07/08/08. THE TRANSAXLE SEAL WAS LEAKING FLUID NEAR THE CV JOINT. UPDATED

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AXLE ASSEMBLY: AXLE SHAFT: SEAL

6/5/2008 - BURKEVILLE, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDERGOING AN OIL CHANGE, THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE TRANSAXLE HAD AN OIL LEAK NEAR THE CV JOINT. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 76,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000. UPDATED 07/08/08. THE TRANSAXLE SEAL WAS LEAKING FLUID NEAR THE CV JOINT. UPDATED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

6/29/2007 - NORTHUMBERLAND, PA
VEHICLE CONTINUALLY REFUSES TO START DUE TO PASS LOCK AND LEAVES US STRANDED. DEALER REPLACED IPC AND IGNITION SWITCH TWICE, BUT PROBLEM REMAINED. SPENT $1000, AND ITS STILL THE SAME. READING ALL THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH VARIOUS GM VEHICLES SHOWING, THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

1/24/2007 - BUFFALO, NY
THE AIR BAG LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON IN MY 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA. I WAS REFERRED TO MY DEALER BY MY MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED A AIR BAG SAFETY MODULE PROBLEM THAT WAS RECALLED BY GM AS PER "ALL DATA". THE DEALER REFERRED ME TO GM WARRANTY HOTLINE WHEN THE VIN # DID NOT MATCH A RECALL THROUGH THE GM DATABASE. THE ENTIRE REPAIR WAS ESTIMATED BY THE DEALER TO BE APPROXIMATELY $3000.00 USING VINTAGE AUTO PARTS ON THE HARNESS FOR THE MODULE. THIS SAFETY ISSUE WAS CAUSED BY A BODY LEAK THAT COLLECTED WATER AND SHORTED OUT THE SAFETY MODULE. I CAN'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE DO TO THE DANGER OF POSSIBLE INFLATION OF THE AIRBAG WITH OUT WARNING, AS PER THE RECALL NOTICE THAT GM SAYS NEVER OCCURRED. GM WON'T HELP IN THE REPAIR BECAUSE ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES AND MET THE 10 YEAR MARK ON 10/31/06. I'VE BEEN WARNED NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH THIS PROBLEM BY THE GM DEALER, WHILE BEING PRESENTED WITH A $3,000.00 REPAIR BILL ON A CAR THAT IS IN GOOD RUNNING ORDER OTHERWISE. IT SEEMS GM SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/24/2007 - BUFFALO, NY
THE AIR BAG LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON IN MY 1996 OLDSMOBILE ACHIEVA. I WAS REFERRED TO MY DEALER BY MY MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED A AIR BAG SAFETY MODULE PROBLEM THAT WAS RECALLED BY GM AS PER "ALL DATA". THE DEALER REFERRED ME TO GM WARRANTY HOTLINE WHEN THE VIN # DID NOT MATCH A RECALL THROUGH THE GM DATABASE. THE ENTIRE REPAIR WAS ESTIMATED BY THE DEALER TO BE APPROXIMATELY $3000.00 USING VINTAGE AUTO PARTS ON THE HARNESS FOR THE MODULE. THIS SAFETY ISSUE WAS CAUSED BY A BODY LEAK THAT COLLECTED WATER AND SHORTED OUT THE SAFETY MODULE. I CAN'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE DO TO THE DANGER OF POSSIBLE INFLATION OF THE AIRBAG WITH OUT WARNING, AS PER THE RECALL NOTICE THAT GM SAYS NEVER OCCURRED. GM WON'T HELP IN THE REPAIR BECAUSE ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES AND MET THE 10 YEAR MARK ON 10/31/06. I'VE BEEN WARNED NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH THIS PROBLEM BY THE GM DEALER, WHILE BEING PRESENTED WITH A $3,000.00 REPAIR BILL ON A CAR THAT IS IN GOOD RUNNING ORDER OTHERWISE. IT SEEMS GM SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS

12/6/2006 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
: THE CONTACT STATED THE HAZARD LIGHTS FAILED. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET, THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE SERVICE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER ABOUT A NHTSA RECALL # 96V250000, REGARDING THE EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS. THE SERVICE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE VIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/15/2005 - DAYTON, TN
DT: CONSUMER STATES THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED 3 TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A SERVICE STATION AND PUT ON THE COMPUTER, BUT THEY COULDN'T FIND WHAT WAS WRONG. THE INTAKE GASKET BLEW TWICE ALLOWING WATER IN THE ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds