Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 740IL - 1997 BMW 740IL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 17 complaints filed for the 1997 BMW 740IL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 BMW 740IL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 BMW 740IL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (4) Suspension (6)
Electrical System (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

9/23/2016 - SAN JUAN, PR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 BMW 740IL. WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD OR POTHOLE, THE VEHICLE SHOOK ABNORMALLY. ADDITIONALLY, THE TIE ROD FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THERE WAS ALSO AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE WHEN DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BOTTOM SPRINGS WERE FRACTURED. THE DEALER ALSO ADVISED THE CONTACT NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT WAS UNSAFE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/23/2016 - SAN JUAN, PR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 BMW 740IL. WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD OR POTHOLE, THE VEHICLE SHOOK ABNORMALLY. ADDITIONALLY, THE TIE ROD FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THERE WAS ALSO AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE WHEN DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BOTTOM SPRINGS WERE FRACTURED. THE DEALER ALSO ADVISED THE CONTACT NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT WAS UNSAFE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/12/2016 - SAN JUAN, PR
I WENT TO THE BMW DEALER AND THEY SAY THAT THEY HAVE NOTHING IN THE COMPUTER I THINK THAT MY SAFETY IS FIRST.THANK YOU

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/12/2016 - SAN JUAN, PR
I WENT TO THE BMW DEALER AND THEY SAY THAT THEY HAVE NOTHING IN THE COMPUTER I THINK THAT MY SAFETY IS FIRST.THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2014 - HILLSBORO, OR
STEERING AND OVER ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE IS COMPROMISED FOR NO REASON FEELS LIKE IT IS DISCONNECTING AND LOOSE CLANKING NOISES FORM FRONT SUSPENSION ALL THE TIME ON ALL SURFACES ALSO A SQUEAKY OLD BED FRAME NOISE APPEARS . CONCERNED ABOUT FAMILY SAFETY THE VEHICLE IS WELL CARED FOR. FEELS LIKE A SLOPPY MESSY FUMBLING INTERACTION BETWEEN CAR AND STEERING WHEEL ALSO VEERS RANDOMLY AS IF IT WAS DETACHED FROM THE STEERING SYSTEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/28/2014 - HILLSBORO, OR
STEERING AND OVER ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE IS COMPROMISED FOR NO REASON FEELS LIKE IT IS DISCONNECTING AND LOOSE CLANKING NOISES FORM FRONT SUSPENSION ALL THE TIME ON ALL SURFACES ALSO A SQUEAKY OLD BED FRAME NOISE APPEARS . CONCERNED ABOUT FAMILY SAFETY THE VEHICLE IS WELL CARED FOR. FEELS LIKE A SLOPPY MESSY FUMBLING INTERACTION BETWEEN CAR AND STEERING WHEEL ALSO VEERS RANDOMLY AS IF IT WAS DETACHED FROM THE STEERING SYSTEM.

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2014 - HILLSBORO, OR
STEERING AND OVER ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE IS COMPROMISED FOR NO REASON FEELS LIKE IT IS DISCONNECTING AND LOOSE CLANKING NOISES FORM FRONT SUSPENSION ALL THE TIME ON ALL SURFACES ALSO A SQUEAKY OLD BED FRAME NOISE APPEARS . CONCERNED ABOUT FAMILY SAFETY THE VEHICLE IS WELL CARED FOR. FEELS LIKE A SLOPPY MESSY FUMBLING INTERACTION BETWEEN CAR AND STEERING WHEEL ALSO VEERS RANDOMLY AS IF IT WAS DETACHED FROM THE STEERING SYSTEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/28/2014 - HILLSBORO, OR
STEERING AND OVER ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE IS COMPROMISED FOR NO REASON FEELS LIKE IT IS DISCONNECTING AND LOOSE CLANKING NOISES FORM FRONT SUSPENSION ALL THE TIME ON ALL SURFACES ALSO A SQUEAKY OLD BED FRAME NOISE APPEARS . CONCERNED ABOUT FAMILY SAFETY THE VEHICLE IS WELL CARED FOR. FEELS LIKE A SLOPPY MESSY FUMBLING INTERACTION BETWEEN CAR AND STEERING WHEEL ALSO VEERS RANDOMLY AS IF IT WAS DETACHED FROM THE STEERING SYSTEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/20/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
MY WIFE AND I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AT A CERTIFIED USED DEALERSHIP. WE FUELED IT UP AND DROVE IT AROUND THAT NIGHT AND PARKED IT AT OUR HOME. THE NEXT MORNING IT SMELLED TERRIBLY OF GASOLINE SO I LOOKED UNDER THE CAR. THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE FUEL TANK WAS CRUSHED IN AND IT WAS POURING GASOLINE ALL OVER THE DRIVEWAY. THEIR WAS A PUDDLE APPROXIMATELY 3 FEET WIDE UNDER THE CAR. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY WERE SHOCKED. WE BOTH ASSUMED THAT THEY NEVER FILLED THE TALK SO THE PROBLEM WASN'T KNOWN. THEY REPLACED THE TANK FREE OF CHARGE AND ONCE AGAIN I FILLED THE TANK AND DROVE IT AROUND FOR THE WEEKEND. I NOTICED THE GASOLINE SMELL AGAIN AND LOOKED UNDER THE CAR AND WAS SHOCKED TO SEE THE TANK CRUSHED IN AGAIN AND THE FUEL LEAKING OUT. I RAN A GOOGLE SEARCH ON THIS AND FOUND OUT THAT I WAS NOT ALONE. THERE IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH A PURGE LINE THAT CAUSES THE TALK TO IMPLODE ON ITSELF. I AM VERY SURPRISED TO NOT FIND A RECALL ON THIS. I WOULD THINK THAT AVOIDING A CAR FIRE WOULD BE A CONCERN FOR THE NHTSA. I HOPE WITH ENOUGH COMPLAINTS THEY FORCE A RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

8/13/2008 - BLOOMINGTON SPRINGS , TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 BMW 740IL. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE BRAKE LIGHTS CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE, BUT THE BRAKES WERE NOT EFFECTIVE. ALSO, THE COIL SPRING MADE A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 97V140000 (SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS), WHICH WAS ISSUED IN THE SPRING OF 1997. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 115,000. UPDATE 09/10/08 UPDATED 09/19/08.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds