Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPEDITION - 1997 FORD EXPEDITION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 832 complaints filed for the 1997 FORD EXPEDITION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 FORD EXPEDITION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (38)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (21) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Trailer Hitches (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (103) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (97) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (76) Steering (97) Vehicle Speed Control (78)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (4) Seat Belts (15) Structure (33) Visibility (47)
Engine (4) Interior Lighting (8) Seats (8) Suspension (143) Wheels (42)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

3/17/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHILE TRAVELING S/B AT APPROX 70 MPH ON I5 IN ORANGE COUNTY CA, RR TIRE OF 97 FORD EXPEDITION SUFFERED 360 DEGREE TREAD SEPARATION. LOSS OF CONTROL, ROLL. FRONT PASSENGER DIED. DRIVER LOST THREE FINGERS. DEFINITY DAKOTA H/T, DOT UPCU PA7 1508 (COOPER, FINDLEY PLANT). DOA 9/5/13.

View Details

ENGINE

2/4/2014 - CUMMING, GA
I CURRENTLY OWN A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION THAT KEEPS SPITTING OUT SPARK PLUGS! !ST TIME WAS CYLINDER #4 THEN #5, THEN TODAY 2-3-2014 I MET WITH #3 AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE WITH THE HOOD OPEN LOOKING FOR WHAT I THOUGHT SOUNDED LIKE A VACUUM LEAK OR VALVE TICK ONLY TO HAVE THE SPARK PLUG BLOW OUT AND ALMOST TAKE OUT MY EYE!!! FORD HAS KNOWN FOR YEARS THAT THERE ARE MILLIONS OF VEHICLES OUT THERE ESPECIALLY FROM 1997 THROUGH 2005 AND STILL HAVE DONE NOTHING TO ASSIST IN EITHER FIXING THE PROBLEM OR COMPENSATING PEOPLE FOR THEIR LOSSES DUE TO THIS CRAP DESIGN THEY CAME OUT WITH THAT ONLY HAS THE HEADS OF THE MOTOR HOLDING THE SPARK PLUG IN WITH 4 THREADS!! I AM TOLD THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A RECALL BECAUSE THEY BELIEVE THERE IS NO EMINENT DANGER INVOLVED WITH THE MALFUNCTION OF THIS DEFECT?? WHAT ABOUT - HEY THE MOTOR IS RUNNING SO THE FUEL INJECTOR IS SPEWING OUT FUEL ALL OVER THE MOTOR WHEN THE PLUG SHOOTS OUT LIKE A ROCKET AND THEN KNOCKS SOMEONES EYE OUT? FIRE DID U SAY?? EYE OUT?? NAAAH NO PROBLEM!!! I AM ALSO TOLD FROM MY MECHANIC THAT I WILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THIS BECAUSE EVEN IF YOU REPLACE THE HEADS THAT HOLD THE PLUGS IN YOU WILL ONLY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN DOWN THE LINE. THIS IS NOT AN ANSWER. FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP AND FIX THE PROBLEM, MAKE A RECALL, REDESIGN THE HEADS AND STOP WITH THE B.S. BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT BAD!!! TOO MUCH TIME AND $$$ LOST FROM HAVING THIS PROBLEM GO TO THE SHOP EVERY DAMN FEW MILES NOT TO MENTION THE TIME AND $$$ I AM LOOSING FROM WORK - JUST FIX IT FORD!!

View Details

ENGINE

1/2/2014 - ATHERTON , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HE DRIVING 60 MPH, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE SPARK PLUGS SEPARATED DUE TO A DEFECTIVE THREAD AND CYLINDER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS WITH A NEWLY MANUFACTURED STEEL HEAD AND THREAD HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE CYLINDER HEAD OR ENGINE POSSIBLY NEEDED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2013 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, GOING ABOUT 10 TO 15 MPH AND WHILE DRIVING I HAD NOT LIGHT ON MY DASHBOARD INDICATING ANY PROBLEMS ALL OF SUDDEN MY 97 FORD EXPEDITION MAKES THIS CRAZY SOUND AND COMPLETELY TURNS OFF. I WAS NOT ABLE TO START THE TRUCK UP AGAIN SO I HAD IT TOWED. AFTER TWO DAY PAST I TRIED STARTING THE TRUCK UP AND IT WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2013 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, GOING ABOUT 10 TO 15 MPH AND WHILE DRIVING I HAD NOT LIGHT ON MY DASHBOARD INDICATING ANY PROBLEMS ALL OF SUDDEN MY 97 FORD EXPEDITION MAKES THIS CRAZY SOUND AND COMPLETELY TURNS OFF. I WAS NOT ABLE TO START THE TRUCK UP AGAIN SO I HAD IT TOWED. AFTER TWO DAY PAST I TRIED STARTING THE TRUCK UP AND IT WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/6/2013 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, GOING ABOUT 10 TO 15 MPH AND WHILE DRIVING I HAD NOT LIGHT ON MY DASHBOARD INDICATING ANY PROBLEMS ALL OF SUDDEN MY 97 FORD EXPEDITION MAKES THIS CRAZY SOUND AND COMPLETELY TURNS OFF. I WAS NOT ABLE TO START THE TRUCK UP AGAIN SO I HAD IT TOWED. AFTER TWO DAY PAST I TRIED STARTING THE TRUCK UP AND IT WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2013 - DUNCANSVILLE, PA
STEERING GETS HARD THEN CUTS LOOSE, STEERING COLUMN MOVES UP AND DOWN, SEEMS LIKE A SERIOUS SHAFT PROBLEM OR STEERING BOX ISSUE, SAW RECALL AND DEALER SAYS IT WAS NOT INCLUDED, SAME PROBLEM AS OTHERS, PLACES PEOPLE AT RISK AND SHOULD BE COVERED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/18/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I HAVE A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. BOTH THE DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS FOR THE MIDDLE SEAT WILL NOT EXTEND. THEY ARE LOCKED IN THE RETRACTED POSITION. FROM REVIEWING THIS ON THE INTERNET IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM. THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE EVER HAD THAT HAD SEAT BELT PROBLEMS. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL TO REPLACE THESE AS IT MAKES IT SO YOU CAN'T BUCKLE ANYONE INTO THE MIDDLE SEAT. (RELATED VEHICLE INFORMATION: MODEL YEAR=1997, MAKE=EXPEDITION, MODEL=FORD ).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/26/2012 - OXFORD, MS
HUSBAND DROVE CAR ALL DAY LONG WITH NO ISSUE. THE CAR WAS RUNNING FINE. HE PARKED IT ABOUT 10PM. WE ALL WENT TO BED. AT 3:15 AM WE WERE AWAKENED BY NEIGHBORS SCREAMING OUR CAR WAS ON FIRE. IT HAD STARTED ON FIRE. NOT SURE WHY OR HOW, WHEN IT WAS RUNNING JUST FINE DURING THE DAY. THE WHOLE FRONT END WAS BURNT UP, THE TIRES WERE MELTED, IT WAS RUINED. THE FIRE SCORCHED PART OF THE HOUSE ON THE FRONT. IT WAS PARKED IN FRONT OF THE GARAGE AND MELTED AWAY SOME OF THE SIDING AND THE DOOR.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2012 - BAKERSFIELD , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SMOKE EMITTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT OIL LEAKED ONTO THE BRAKE PRESSURE SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 190,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds