Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPEDITION - 1997 FORD EXPEDITION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 837 complaints filed for the 1997 FORD EXPEDITION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 FORD EXPEDITION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (26) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (38)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (21) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Trailer Hitches (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (103) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (97) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Power Train (76) Steering (97) Vehicle Speed Control (78)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (4) Seat Belts (15) Structure (35) Visibility (47)
Engine (6) Interior Lighting (8) Seats (8) Suspension (143) Wheels (42)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

9/30/2014 - AKRON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR CHILD SAFETY LOCK ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

7/24/2014 - COHASSET, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK STRAP SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE DUE TO RUSTING OF THE SUB FRAME AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 260.000. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

7/24/2014 - COHASSET, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK STRAP BECAME SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE DUE TO RUSTING OF THE SUB FRAME AREA. THE AREA THAT WAS ATTACHED TO THE STRAP TO THE SECURE THE FUEL TANK WAS THE AFFECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 260,000. UPDATED 09/05/14

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

7/24/2014 - COHASSET, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK STRAP BECAME SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE DUE TO RUSTING OF THE SUB FRAME AREA. THE AREA THAT WAS ATTACHED TO THE STRAP TO THE SECURE THE FUEL TANK WAS THE AFFECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 260,000. UPDATED 09/05/14

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2014 - DECATUR, GA
I CURRENTLY OWN A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION THAT KEEPS SPITTING OUT SPARK PLUGS! !ST TIME WAS CYLINDER #3 THEN #7, THEN ON 3-6-2014 IT WAS #8 THEN ON 03/14/14 #2 AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE WITH THE HOOD OPEN LOOKING FOR WHAT I THOUGHT SOUNDED LIKE A VACUUM LEAK OR VALVE TICK ONLY TO HAVE THE SPARK PLUG BLOW OUT AND ALMOST TAKE OUT MY EYE!!! FORD HAS KNOWN FOR YEARS THAT THERE ARE MILLIONS OF VEHICLES OUT THERE ESPECIALLY FROM 1997 THROUGH 2005 AND STILL HAVE DONE NOTHING TO ASSIST IN EITHER FIXING THE PROBLEM OR COMPENSATING PEOPLE FOR THEIR LOSSES DUE TO THIS CRAP DESIGN THEY CAME OUT WITH THAT ONLY HAS THE HEADS OF THE MOTOR HOLDING THE SPARK PLUG IN WITH 4 THREADS!! I AM TOLD THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A RECALL BECAUSE THEY BELIEVE THERE IS NO EMINENT DANGER INVOLVED WITH THE MALFUNCTION OF THIS DEFECT?? WHAT ABOUT - HEY THE MOTOR IS RUNNING SO THE FUEL INJECTOR IS SPEWING OUT FUEL ALL OVER THE MOTOR WHEN THE PLUG SHOOTS OUT LIKE A ROCKET AND THEN KNOCKS SOMEONE'S EYE OUT? FIRE DID U SAY?? EYE OUT?? NAAAH NO PROBLEM!!! I AM ALSO TOLD FROM MY MECHANIC THAT I WILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THIS BECAUSE EVEN IF YOU REPLACE THE HEADS THAT HOLD THE PLUGS IN YOU WILL ONLY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN DOWN THE LINE. THIS IS NOT AN ANSWER. FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP AND FIX THE PROBLEM, MAKE A RECALL, REDESIGN THE HEADS AND STOP WITH THE B.S. BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT BAD!!! TOO MUCH TIME AND $$$ LOST FROM HAVING THIS PROBLEM GO TO THE SHOP EVERY [XXX] FEW MILES NOT TO MENTION THE TIME AND $$$ I AM LOOSING FROM WORK - JUST FIX IT FORD!!

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2014 - WINCHESTER , KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE PARKED IN A DRIVEWAY. ONLY THE FRAME REMAINED AFTER THE ENGINE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

TIRES

3/17/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHILE TRAVELING S/B AT APPROX 70 MPH ON I5 IN ORANGE COUNTY CA, RR TIRE OF 97 FORD EXPEDITION SUFFERED 360 DEGREE TREAD SEPARATION. LOSS OF CONTROL, ROLL. FRONT PASSENGER DIED. DRIVER LOST THREE FINGERS. DEFINITY DAKOTA H/T, DOT UPCU PA7 1508 (COOPER, FINDLEY PLANT). DOA 9/5/13.

View Details

ENGINE

2/4/2014 - CUMMING, GA
I CURRENTLY OWN A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION THAT KEEPS SPITTING OUT SPARK PLUGS! !ST TIME WAS CYLINDER #4 THEN #5, THEN TODAY 2-3-2014 I MET WITH #3 AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE WITH THE HOOD OPEN LOOKING FOR WHAT I THOUGHT SOUNDED LIKE A VACUUM LEAK OR VALVE TICK ONLY TO HAVE THE SPARK PLUG BLOW OUT AND ALMOST TAKE OUT MY EYE!!! FORD HAS KNOWN FOR YEARS THAT THERE ARE MILLIONS OF VEHICLES OUT THERE ESPECIALLY FROM 1997 THROUGH 2005 AND STILL HAVE DONE NOTHING TO ASSIST IN EITHER FIXING THE PROBLEM OR COMPENSATING PEOPLE FOR THEIR LOSSES DUE TO THIS CRAP DESIGN THEY CAME OUT WITH THAT ONLY HAS THE HEADS OF THE MOTOR HOLDING THE SPARK PLUG IN WITH 4 THREADS!! I AM TOLD THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A RECALL BECAUSE THEY BELIEVE THERE IS NO EMINENT DANGER INVOLVED WITH THE MALFUNCTION OF THIS DEFECT?? WHAT ABOUT - HEY THE MOTOR IS RUNNING SO THE FUEL INJECTOR IS SPEWING OUT FUEL ALL OVER THE MOTOR WHEN THE PLUG SHOOTS OUT LIKE A ROCKET AND THEN KNOCKS SOMEONE'S EYE OUT? FIRE DID U SAY?? EYE OUT?? NAAAH NO PROBLEM!!! I AM ALSO TOLD FROM MY MECHANIC THAT I WILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THIS BECAUSE EVEN IF YOU REPLACE THE HEADS THAT HOLD THE PLUGS IN YOU WILL ONLY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN DOWN THE LINE. THIS IS NOT AN ANSWER. FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP AND FIX THE PROBLEM, MAKE A RECALL, REDESIGN THE HEADS AND STOP WITH THE B.S. BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT BAD!!! TOO MUCH TIME AND $$$ LOST FROM HAVING THIS PROBLEM GO TO THE SHOP EVERY [XXX] FEW MILES NOT TO MENTION THE TIME AND $$$ I AM LOOSING FROM WORK - JUST FIX IT FORD!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

1/2/2014 - ATHERTON , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HE DRIVING 60 MPH, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE SPARK PLUGS SEPARATED DUE TO A DEFECTIVE THREAD AND CYLINDER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS WITH A NEWLY MANUFACTURED STEEL HEAD AND THREAD HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE CYLINDER HEAD OR ENGINE POSSIBLY NEEDED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2013 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, GOING ABOUT 10 TO 15 MPH AND WHILE DRIVING I HAD NOT LIGHT ON MY DASHBOARD INDICATING ANY PROBLEMS ALL OF SUDDEN MY 97 FORD EXPEDITION MAKES THIS CRAZY SOUND AND COMPLETELY TURNS OFF. I WAS NOT ABLE TO START THE TRUCK UP AGAIN SO I HAD IT TOWED. AFTER TWO DAY PAST I TRIED STARTING THE TRUCK UP AND IT WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds