Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN TOWN CAR - 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 310 complaints filed for the 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (4) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (44) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (21) Seat Belts (4) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Seats (2) Structure (11) Visibility (17)
Engine (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (58) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (93) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/12/2014 - PELZER, SC
I WAS TRAVELING AT 9:30 PM WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT FOR ABOUT 45 SECONDS AND THEN CAME BACK ON. TRAVELED ABOUT A MILE, WHEN THEY WENT OUT AGAIN, CAN ON, THEN STARTED RAPIDLY FLASHING. I PULLED OVER AND IT ABOUT A MINUTE BEFORE THEY RETURNED TO NORMAL. THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES THAT NIGHT BEFORE I ARRIVED HOME. THESE HEADLIGHT PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED FIVE TIMES SINCE THE FIRST OCCURRENCE. I RARELY DRIVE AT NIGHT. ..UPDATED 06/26/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/17/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BRAKE FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE IN ADDITION TO THE BRAKE PEDAL FEELING ABNORMALLY LOOSE. THE CONTACT LATER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE BRAKE LINE WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2014 - UNION, CT
BEGINNING ON A COLD MORNING THE STEERING FELT OFF, LIKE IT NEEDED MORE EFFORT TO TURN AT TIMES. THE STEERING ALSO FAILED TO RETURN TO CENTER ON ITS OWN, INDICATING A POSSIBLE SEIZED UP UNIVERSAL JOINT IN THE STEERING SHAFT. I REMOVED THE STEERING SHAFT AND FOUND THE UNIVERSAL JOINT SEIZED AND VERY DIFFICULT TO MOVE WHICH CAUSED MY DIFFICULT STEERING. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS SAME ISSUE ON NEWER TOWN CARS, WHY DOES THIS NOT COVER MINE?

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2013 - ROSEVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A DEALER FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT ENGINE COOLANT WAS LEAKING FROM THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2013 - ROSEVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A DEALER FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT ENGINE COOLANT WAS LEAKING FROM THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, WHICH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

1/26/2012 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL WERE INOPERATIVE. A LOCAL MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE HORN WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

1/26/2012 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL WERE INOPERATIVE. A LOCAL MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE HORN WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

12/30/2011 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
SON WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE. AS HE MADE A LEFT TURN, HE HEARD A LOUD CLUNKING SOUND AND THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE CRASHED TO THE GROUND. HAD THE CAR TOWED HOME AND SUBSEQUENTLY TOWED TO THE REPAIR SHOP THE NEXT DAY. WAS TOLD THAT THE LOWER RIGHT BALL JOINT HAD FAILED, SUBSEQUENTLY SNAPPING THE STABILIZER LINK. THIS HAPPENED IN AUGUST 2010. NOVEMBER 15, 2011, I WAS DRIVING HOME. STOPPED TO AIR UP MY RIGHT REAR TIRE. UPON RE-ENTERING THE VEHICLE AND BACKING OUT, THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE FELL TO THE GROUND. AGAIN, THE RIGHT FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT FAILED. THIS TIME, I HAD TO ALSO REPLACE THE RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM, RIGHT FRONT STABILIZER LINK, RIGHT FRONT SHOCK AND RIGHT FRONT BALL JOINT. THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH THE 1997 LINCOLN TOWNCAR'S FRONT END. WHEN THE MECHANIC WENT TO INSTALL THE RIGHT LOWER BALL JOINT (WHICH IS A PRESSED FIT) THE BALL JOINT WENT RIGHT IN BY HAND, WHICH INDICATED THAT THE RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM WAS FAULTY. I NOW HAVE A RATTLING SOUND COMING FROM THE LEFT FRONT SIDE. I'M REALLY SCARED TO DRIVE THIS CAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/30/2011 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
SON WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE. AS HE MADE A LEFT TURN, HE HEARD A LOUD CLUNKING SOUND AND THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE CRASHED TO THE GROUND. HAD THE CAR TOWED HOME AND SUBSEQUENTLY TOWED TO THE REPAIR SHOP THE NEXT DAY. WAS TOLD THAT THE LOWER RIGHT BALL JOINT HAD FAILED, SUBSEQUENTLY SNAPPING THE STABILIZER LINK. THIS HAPPENED IN AUGUST 2010. NOVEMBER 15, 2011, I WAS DRIVING HOME. STOPPED TO AIR UP MY RIGHT REAR TIRE. UPON RE-ENTERING THE VEHICLE AND BACKING OUT, THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE FELL TO THE GROUND. AGAIN, THE RIGHT FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT FAILED. THIS TIME, I HAD TO ALSO REPLACE THE RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM, RIGHT FRONT STABILIZER LINK, RIGHT FRONT SHOCK AND RIGHT FRONT BALL JOINT. THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH THE 1997 LINCOLN TOWNCAR'S FRONT END. WHEN THE MECHANIC WENT TO INSTALL THE RIGHT LOWER BALL JOINT (WHICH IS A PRESSED FIT) THE BALL JOINT WENT RIGHT IN BY HAND, WHICH INDICATED THAT THE RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM WAS FAULTY. I NOW HAVE A RATTLING SOUND COMING FROM THE LEFT FRONT SIDE. I'M REALLY SCARED TO DRIVE THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/20/2011 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE OIL PAN RUSTED THROUGH AND CAUSED ALL THE OIL TO LEAK OUT ONTO THE GROUND. THE CRUISE CONTROL COMPUTER KEEPS CAUSING THE CAR TO TAKE OFF OR NOT EVEN WORK AT ALL WHEN U SET IT, WHEN THE CAR TAKES OFF AFTER SETTING IT THE GAS PEDDLE GOES ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND IT WILL NOT DEACTIVATE UNLESS YOU SHUT THE CAR OFF WHILE DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds