Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 767 complaints filed for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (64) Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (24)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (155) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (6)
Electrical System (85) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (11) Steering (229) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (135) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (11) Structure (21) Visibility (87)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/7/2009 - OXFORD, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 15-25 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING. SHE PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. SHE CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 WAS SENT OUT AFTER THE FAILURE TO WARN CONSUMERS THAT THE VEHICLE COULD IGNITE INTO FLAMES. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO ONE WAS INJURED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 153,636.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/5/2009 - EUGENE, OR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WHILE EXITING THE HIGHWAY. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL AND CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. HE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000, STATING THAT THE VEHICLE COULD IGNITE INTO FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 162,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/4/2009 - POLO, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED DUE TO AN ENGINE FIRE THAT OCCURRED IN A DRIVEWAY. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V118000 BECAUSE THE VEHICLE DID NOT HAVE A 3.8L SUPERCHARGED V6 ENGINE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR HER VEHICLE ON MAY 4, 2009. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS OR PRIOR FAILURES WITH THE ENGINE COOLING SYSTEM BEFORE THE FIRE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE HAS ALL ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT AND HAD NEVER BEEN TO THE DEALER EXCEPT FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 163,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/4/2009 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE HE WAS EXPERIENCING WAS IDENTICAL TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V118000, EXCEPT HIS VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE A 3.8L SUPERCHARGEED V-6 ENGINE. THEREFORE, THE REMEDY DOES NOT COVER HIS VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT OBSERVED AND SMELLED SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD. THE UPPER INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS REPLACED IN OCTOBER OF 2008. THE FAILURE OCCURS EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE COMES TO A HARD STOP. A MECHANIC INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO FIND WHAT THE CONTACT DESCRIBED BECAUSE NO OIL WAS LEAKING. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 139,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/28/2009 - DETRIOT , MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHEN PROCEEDING TO ENTER THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE WITH A WATER HOSE AND CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT AN INVESTIGATOR WOULD COME OUT AND INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND THE CONTACT WAS OFFERED A SETTLEMENT OF $11,080. HE WAS NOT INFORMED OF WHAT CAUSED THE FIRE AND REJECTED THE OFFER BECAUSE THE SETTLEMENT WAS NOT ENOUGH TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. HE THEN FILED A CLAIM WITH THE ATTORNEY GENERAL. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/23/2009 - WAUTOMA, WI
1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX RECALL ID NHTSA: 08V118000. I HAD THIS REPAIR DONE AS REQUESTED. BUT MY COMPLAINT TO THE DEALER WAS THAT IF THE FRONT ONE IS FAILING, PUTTING OIL ON THE MANIFOLD TO CAUSE A FIRE. THEN WHY ARE THEY NOT REPLACING THE BACK ONE? MY GTP IS LEAKING OIL FROM THE BACK GASKET, DRIPPING ON THE PLUGS, WIRES AS WELL AND IS DRIPPING ON THE MANIFOLD AND EXHAUST PIPE. IT ALSO IS SMOKING AND HAS A BURNING OIL SMELL. WHY WERE THEY BOTH NOT REPLACED?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

4/16/2009 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
FIRST OF ALL I LOVE MY GRAND PRIX. I HAVE HAD BOTH BOTH HEAD LIGHT LENS FALL OFF WITHIN A MONTH OF ONE ANOTHER. YOU CANT PURCHEASE THE LENS YOU NEED TO BUY THE WHOLE UNIT FORM PONTIAC. REPLACED MY SELF EACH UNIT WAS ABOUT $100. GEAR SHIFT LOCKED UP IN GARAGE WAS ABOUT $350 PLUS A TOW. ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH BLOWER MOTOR WORKS ON 5 ONLY. LIGHTS WILL ONLY WORK WHEN BLOWER MOTOR IS OFF OR ON 5. REPLACED BLOWER RESISTOR AND DID NOT HELP. 2 ELECTRCAL WIDOW PROBLEMS. ALTERANTOR PROBLEM APPROX $350 NORMAL WITH GM. ALL ISSUES UNDER 80,000 MILES. IT APPEARS MOST PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUES. VERY DISAPOINTED GM DOES NOT MAKE IT RIGHT WITH LOYAL GM OWNERS. THE FIRE ISSUE IS VERY CONCERNING I WILL BE TAKING MY GT TO DEALER SOON.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/16/2009 - SCOTTDALE, PA
I HAVE A 1997 GRAND PRIX GT N/A 3800 ENGINE WITH ENGINE OIL LEAKING FROM THE FRONT ROCKER PANEL GASKET HOWEVER THE RECALL ONLY COVERS THE S/C'D VERSION OF THIS VEHICLE THERE IS ENGINE OIL SITTING ON THE TOP OF THE MOTOR, ALSO THERE IS OIL BUILT UP ALL THE WAY DOWN THE ONE SIDE OF THE ENGINE COMING FROM THIS LOCATION I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE WILL BE AN ENGINE FIRE WITH THIS LEAKING OIL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/16/2009 - SCOTTDALE, PA
I HAVE A 1997 GRAND PRIX GT N/A 3800 ENGINE WITH ENGINE OIL LEAKING FROM THE FRONT ROCKER PANEL GASKET HOWEVER THE RECALL ONLY COVERS THE S/C'D VERSION OF THIS VEHICLE THERE IS ENGINE OIL SITTING ON THE TOP OF THE MOTOR, ALSO THERE IS OIL BUILT UP ALL THE WAY DOWN THE ONE SIDE OF THE ENGINE COMING FROM THIS LOCATION I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE WILL BE AN ENGINE FIRE WITH THIS LEAKING OIL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/14/2009 - KEVIL, KY
I HAD PARKED MY CAR OUTSIDE MY PARENTS' HOME AND I WAS INSIDE WHEN IT CAUGHT FIRE. SOMEONE CAME AND TOLD ME THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE. IT WAS COMPLETELY BURNED UP BEFORE THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. MY 1997 GRAND PRIX WAS A TOTAL LOSS. I HAD NOT HAD ANY TROUBLE WITH IT, I HAD IT SERVICED REGULARLY. IT JUST CAUGHT FIRE SPONTANEOUSLY. I HAVE PREVIOUSLY REPORTED THIS INCIDENT TO YOU AND I HAVE JUST READ ON MSNBC THAT GM IS NOW IN THE PROCESS OF A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds