Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 789 complaints filed for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (25)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (156) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (6)
Electrical System (88) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (11) Steering (230) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (136) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (11) Structure (21) Visibility (87)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/19/2011 - WRIGHT, WY
I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY, STOPPED MY CAR AND SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT OF MY INTERIOR AIR VENTS. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND GRABBED MY 2 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER OUT OF HER CARSEAT. WE RAN FROM THE CAR AND WATCHED THE SMOKE START GETTING WORSE COMING OUT FROM THE HOOD. THEN FLAMES STARTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. WE CALLED THE FIRE DEPT. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPT. ARRIVED THE FRONT OF THE CAR WAS BURNT DOWN TO METAL. THE FIRE DEPT. SAID THE FIRE WAS STARTED BY OIL THAT'S WHY THEY WERE UNABLE TO PUT IT OUT. WE ASSUMED IT WAS FAULT ON OUR BEHALF SO WE DID NOT REPORT IT TO OUR INSURANCE. JUST TODAY I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE #09047. STATING THAT AN UNDERHOOD FIRE MAY BE CAUSED BY DROPS OF ENGINE OIL, FROM SEEPAGE OR SPILLAGE, BEING DEPOSITED ON EXHAUST MANIFOLD THROUGH HARD BREAKING. IF I HAD KNOWN THIS EARLIER I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN WITHOUT MY ONLY TRANSPORTATION..

View Details

STEERING

9/29/2011 - HARRISONBURG, VA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A LEFT TURN THE VEHICLE MALFUNCTIONED DUE TO THE WHEEL BEARINGS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO CONFIRMED THAT THE WHEEL BEARINGS FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED IN 2003 UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:02V286000 (STEERING:RACK AND PINION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 180,000. RVK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2011 - FRANKFORT, IL
AUTOMATIC HEADLIGHTS EXTINGUISH WHEN HEATER FAN SWITCH SELECTED TO POSITIONS 2,3, OR 4.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/20/2011 - FRANKFORT, IL
AUTOMATIC HEADLIGHTS EXTINGUISH WHEN HEATER FAN SWITCH SELECTED TO POSITIONS 2,3, OR 4.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/26/2011 - MCMINNVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ADDING OIL TO THE ENGINE, SOME OF THE OIL DRIPPED ONTO THE MANIFOLD AND CAUSED A SMALL FIRE. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO HAVE THE FAILURE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT OPERABLE AFTER THE FAILURE. APPROXIMATELY ONE YEAR LATER, THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) WHICH THE CONTACT BELIEVED WAS RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2011 - EAST MOLINE, IL
I HAVE A 1997 GRAND PRIX GTP SUPER CHARGER AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE TODAY,WITH MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDSON IN THE CAR! ITS A GOOD THING THAT WE ALL GOT OUT OF THE CAR BEFORE IT TOTALLY WENT UP. FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME AND PUT OUT THE FIRE AND STATED IT WAS FROM SOMETHING LIKE THE WIRING, AND THEN I FOUND OUT YOU GUYS HAVE A RECALL ON IT BECAUSE OF THIS REASON! IM VERY UPSET!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/30/2011 - EAST ISLIP, NY
I WAS THE OWNER OF A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, EQUIPPED WITH A 3.8L V6 NATURALLY ASPIRATED ENGINE AND PRIOR TO RECEIVING WORD FROM GM ABOUT A RECALL ON THESE PARTICULAR CARS FOR ENGINE COMPARTMENT RELATED FIRES... MY CAR WAS LOST IN A FIRE. PRIOR TO THE LOSS OF THE VEHICLE THERE WERE NO KNOWN ISSUES, NO LIGHTS ON THE DASH, NO STRANGE NOISES,SMELLS ETC. HOWEVER, AFTER DRIVING FOR 20 MINUTES... A ROUTE I HAD TAKEN MANY TIMES IN THIS PARTICULAR CAR, SMOKE APPEARED AND AFTER 20 MINUTES PARKED IN A PARKING LOT, THE CAR WAS FULLY ENGULFED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: LINKAGES

2/7/2011 - OMAHA, NE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT TURNED ON THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE DID NOT FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE MOTOR CRANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED RECALL 99V348000 (VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: LINKAGES) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/3/2011 - APPLETON, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE PARKED WITH THE ENGINE OFF AT A SERVICE STATION. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE AND DETERMINED THAT THE FIRE ORIGINATED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. A FIRE REPORT WAS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THERE WERE DAMAGES TO THE BUILDING OF THE SERVICE STATION WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) AND WHEN CONTACTING THE MANUFACTURER SHE WAS ADVISED THAT THE COMPANY WAS UNDERGOING LIQUIDATION AND COULD NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,844.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/13/2010 - HIGH BRIDGE, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE COOLANT LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND NOTICED HER ANTIFREEZE WAS LOW AND FILLED THE OVER FLOW TANK AND DXCOOL ANTIFREEZE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIANS DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE TO BE THE UPPER AND LOWER INTAKE MANIFOLD HOSE WHICH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds