Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 771 complaints filed for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (64) Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (25)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (156) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (6)
Electrical System (86) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (11) Steering (229) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (135) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (11) Structure (21) Visibility (87)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/20/2009 - OCOEE, FL
1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX SAFETY RECALL 09047. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE AT A GAS STATION, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE IS IN STORAGE. THE CONSUMER READ WHERE A RECALL HAD BEEN ISSUED. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THEY HAD NO RESPONSIBILITY TO REPAIR THE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

8/16/2009 - IRWIN, PA
1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX IGNITION KEY FAILURE. THERE ARE MANY THOUSANDS OF PONTIACS WITH THIS SAME EXACT PROBLEM. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION SWITCH,KEY WILL NOT TURN CAR ON,I HAVE TO PUSH GEAR SHIFT FROM LOW TO PARK NUMEROUS TIMES TO GET KEY TO START CAR ,THEN AGAIN TO RELEASE KEY FROM IGNITION SWITCH.THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED SINCE IT EFFECTS PONTIACS 1996,97,98,99,2000,2001,2002. MANY THOUSANDS OF PONTIAC CARS HAVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/23/2009 - WAPAKONETA, OH
1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. JAN. 31 2007 ENGINE FIRE , VEHICLE BURNED IN PARKING LOT WHERE I WORK . TOTAL LOSS. NOW GM HAS A RECALL FOR ENG COMPARTMENT FIRES ON THIS VEHICLE . GM'S ESIS DIVISION SENT ME A LETTER SAYING THAT OHIOS PROPERTY DAMAGE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS IS 2 YEARS . HOW CAN THIS APPLY WHEN THE RECALL WAS JUST ISSUED?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/18/2009 - LOUISVILLE, KY
I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK. THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON THEN THE CAR JUST CUT OFF AT THE TURNING LIGHT BEFORE I GOT TO MY HOUSE. IT STARTED TO SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD. I THOUGHT IT MAYBE OVER HEATING. SO I POPPED THE HOOD OPEN THINKING IT WOULD STOP SMOKING BUT IT GOT WORSE. SO I GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND OPENED THE HOOD. THE ENGINE WAS ON FIRE. SO I RAN AND GOT WHAT I CAN OUT OF MY CAR WHILE I WAS ON THE PHONE TALKING TO 911. WHILE I WAS DOING THAT, A MAN WAS DRIVING BY STOPPED AND GAVE ME A FIRE EXTINGUISHER SO I PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE FIRE TRUCK CAME A MIN LATER. PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS PROBLEM WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/14/2009 - ASHEBORO, NC
1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX HAD AN UNDERHOOD EXPLOSION AND FIRE - REF. RECALL #90046. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN SHE ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN EXPLOSION UNDER THE HOOD AND THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONSUMER IS STILL WAITING ON REIMBURSEMENT. UPDATED 05/18/11

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/13/2009 - ROARK, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. AFTER THE DEALER PERFORMED RECALL REPAIRS ON THE VEHICLE, THE BOLTS ON THE AIR CONDITION COMPRESSOR FAILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH. THE COMPRESSOR WAS HANGING FROM THE ENGINE AND PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STEERING. THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT THE DEALER HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE COMPRESSOR FALLING OFF THE ENGINE. THE DEALER DENIES BEING AT FAULT. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 200,500.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/7/2009 - OXFORD, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 15-25 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING. SHE PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. SHE CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 WAS SENT OUT AFTER THE FAILURE TO WARN CONSUMERS THAT THE VEHICLE COULD IGNITE INTO FLAMES. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO ONE WAS INJURED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 153,636.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/5/2009 - EUGENE, OR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WHILE EXITING THE HIGHWAY. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL AND CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. HE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000, STATING THAT THE VEHICLE COULD IGNITE INTO FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 162,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/4/2009 - POLO, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED DUE TO AN ENGINE FIRE THAT OCCURRED IN A DRIVEWAY. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V118000 BECAUSE THE VEHICLE DID NOT HAVE A 3.8L SUPERCHARGED V6 ENGINE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR HER VEHICLE ON MAY 4, 2009. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS OR PRIOR FAILURES WITH THE ENGINE COOLING SYSTEM BEFORE THE FIRE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE HAS ALL ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT AND HAD NEVER BEEN TO THE DEALER EXCEPT FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 163,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/4/2009 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE HE WAS EXPERIENCING WAS IDENTICAL TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V118000, EXCEPT HIS VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE A 3.8L SUPERCHARGEED V-6 ENGINE. THEREFORE, THE REMEDY DOES NOT COVER HIS VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT OBSERVED AND SMELLED SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD. THE UPPER INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS REPLACED IN OCTOBER OF 2008. THE FAILURE OCCURS EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE COMES TO A HARD STOP. A MECHANIC INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO FIND WHAT THE CONTACT DESCRIBED BECAUSE NO OIL WAS LEAKING. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 139,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds