Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 809 complaints filed for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (26)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (156) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (6)
Electrical System (90) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (18)
Engine (36) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (11) Steering (230) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (140) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (11) Structure (21) Visibility (87)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/9/2015 - HAMPTON, VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE MADE AN ILLEGAL LEFT TURN. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD, NECK, AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/4/2014 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE EXTERIOR LIGHTING ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE CAUGHT FIRE FROM THE INSIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/29/2014 - ELDERSBURG, MD
TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH DOWN A DUAL LANE (EACH WAY) HEAVILY TRAVELED ROAD WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO STOP THE CAR & THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. AFTER I WAS ABLE TO STOP, I DISCOVERED BRAKE FLUID WAS DRIPPING FROM THE UNDERSIDE OF THE AUTOMOBILE WHERE THE BRAKE LINE HAD APPARENTLY RUPTURED. REAR BRAKE LINES WERE REPLACED AT A COST OF $700 BY A PROFESSIONAL MECHANIC AT A LOCAL GARAGE............ I OWN 2 PONTIAC GRAND PRIXS ( A 1997 & 1998) AND ONLY 1 MONTH EARLIER ( 08/14/12), THE 1998 PONTIAC ALSO HAD A SIMILAR BRAKE LINE RUPTURE........UNBELIEVABLY, 2 YEARS LATER ON SEPT 27, 2014 THE 1997 PONTIAC AGAIN HAD A BRAKE LINE FAILURE, WHERE AT THIS TIME I WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH DOWN A DUAL LANE HIGHWAY APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION WHERE I HAD A STOP SIGN & WAS UNABLE TO STOP, TRAVELING THRU THE INTERSECTION, AVOIDING A COLLISION AND WAS ABLE TO FINALLY STOP OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AFTER PULLING INTO A VACANT PARKING LOT............BASED ON MY EXPERIENCE & 50 YEARS EXPERIENCE DRIVING, I CONSIDER THESE PONTIAC BRAKE LINES TO BE MADE OF INFERIOR MATERIAL THAT DUE TO THEIR PARALLEL PLACEMENT IN BRACKETING RUNNING ALONG THE UNDERSIDE OF THE VEHICLE ARE EXTREMELY SUBJECTED TO CORROSION & FAILURE..........AUTO BRAKE LINES SHOULD BE REQUIRED BY THE GOVERNMENT TO BE MADE OF HIGH QUALITY STAINLESS STEEL SINCE THEY ARE A CRITICAL SAFETY ITEM IN EVERY VEHICLE. THE BRAKE LINES ON THESE PONTIACS MAKE THEM POTENTIAL TIME-BOMBS ON THE ROADWAY!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STOPPED WITH NO CODE. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR. THE NEXT WEEK, THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN WITHOUT ANY CODE. BASED ON OTHER COMPLAINTS, THE CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE BECAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN THE CAR WILL STOP AGAIN WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

ENGINE

7/9/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STOPPED WITH NO CODE. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR. THE NEXT WEEK, THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN WITHOUT ANY CODE. BASED ON OTHER COMPLAINTS, THE CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE BECAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN THE CAR WILL STOP AGAIN WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/30/2014 - KALAMAZOO, MI
2 ADULTS IN BACK SEAT. LEFT REAR SUSPENSION STRUT TORE THROUGH THE METAL OF THE TRUNK AND CAME UP INTO THE TRUNK, COMPROMISING VEHICLE HANDLING AND POTENTIAL LOSS OF CONTROL AND REAR BRAKES, MAKING THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO OPERATE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/13/2014 - SPRING HILL, KS
THE ENGINE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WHEN THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, THE OIL LIGHT AND ALTERNATOR LIGHT DIDN'T COME ON JUST THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE LIGHT, ALSO THE TACHOMETER STAYED AT 2000 RPM. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED, BUT COULDN'T GET THE ENGINE TO START. PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE FINALLY STARTING. I HAD TO PUT TRANSMISSION IN THE PARK POSITION, AND THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF, THEN START THE ENGINE. I HAD THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR REPLACED, BUT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. ITS HAPPENED 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 5 MONTHS AND 300 MILES. I QUIT DRIVING IT UNTIL I CAN GET ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2014 - SPRING HILL, KS
THE ENGINE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WHEN THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, THE OIL LIGHT AND ALTERNATOR LIGHT DIDN'T COME ON JUST THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE LIGHT, ALSO THE TACHOMETER STAYED AT 2000 RPM. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED, BUT COULDN'T GET THE ENGINE TO START. PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE FINALLY STARTING. I HAD TO PUT TRANSMISSION IN THE PARK POSITION, AND THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF, THEN START THE ENGINE. I HAD THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR REPLACED, BUT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. ITS HAPPENED 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 5 MONTHS AND 300 MILES. I QUIT DRIVING IT UNTIL I CAN GET ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2014 - SPRING HILL, KS
THE ENGINE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WHEN THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, THE OIL LIGHT AND ALTERNATOR LIGHT DIDN'T COME ON JUST THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE LIGHT, ALSO THE TACHOMETER STAYED AT 2000 RPM. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED, BUT COULDN'T GET THE ENGINE TO START. PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE FINALLY STARTING. I HAD TO PUT TRANSMISSION IN THE PARK POSITION, AND THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF, THEN START THE ENGINE. I HAD THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR REPLACED, BUT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. ITS HAPPENED 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 5 MONTHS AND 300 MILES. I QUIT DRIVING IT UNTIL I CAN GET ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2014 - SPRING HILL, KS
THE ENGINE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WHEN THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, THE OIL LIGHT AND ALTERNATOR LIGHT DIDN'T COME ON JUST THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE LIGHT, ALSO THE TACHOMETER STAYED AT 2000 RPM. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED, BUT COULDN'T GET THE ENGINE TO START. PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE FINALLY STARTING. I HAD TO PUT TRANSMISSION IN THE PARK POSITION, AND THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF, THEN START THE ENGINE. I HAD THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR REPLACED, BUT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. ITS HAPPENED 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 5 MONTHS AND 300 MILES. I QUIT DRIVING IT UNTIL I CAN GET ANOTHER CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds