Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 798 complaints filed for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (26)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (156) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (6)
Electrical System (89) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Engine (28) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (11) Steering (230) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (11) Structure (21) Visibility (87)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/14/2013 - MUSTANG, OK
AT 4:06 PM ON NOV. 04,2013, MY WIFE PARKED IN A LOCAL WALMART PARKING LOT. SHE IMMEDIATELY NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. BYSTANDERS STARTED YELLING FOR HER TO EXIT THE CAR. ONE BYSTANDER CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT, LOCATED 1.25 MILES AWAY. MY WIFE EXITED THE CAR CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND THEN CALLED ME WITH HER MOBILE PHONE BY THE TIME THE FIRE ENGINE ARRIVED, THE PLASTIC PARTS ON TOP OF AND AROUND THE ENGINE HAD BEEN DESTROYED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT IMMEDIATELY EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. I ARRIVED FROM FOUR MILES AWAY, AND AFTER SURVEYING THE DAMAGE, I CONSIDERED THE DAMAGE TO EXCEED THE VALUE OF THE CAR. I CALLED A LOCAL TOWING SERVICE AND THEY TOWED THE CAR TO MY HOME. THE CAR HAD BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AND WAS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION BEFORE THE FIRE. I AM 77 YEARS OLD AND MY WIFE IS 74 AND OUR MEMORIES ARE FAILING. I THINK WE RECEIVED A POST CARD NOTIFICATION OF A RECALL, BUT I THINK IT WAS FOR A STEERING PROBLEM: NOTHING RELATED TO ANY DANGER OF AN ENGINE FIRE. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY GENERAL MOTORS CHOSE TO NOT NOTIFY US BY REGISTERED MAIL OF THE IMMINENT DANGER OF A FIRE. .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/14/2013 - MUSTANG, OK
AT 4:06 PM ON NOV. 04,2013, MY WIFE PARKED IN A LOCAL WALMART PARKING LOT. SHE IMMEDIATELY NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. BYSTANDERS STARTED YELLING FOR HER TO EXIT THE CAR. ONE BYSTANDER CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT, LOCATED 1.25 MILES AWAY. MY WIFE EXITED THE CAR CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND THEN CALLED ME WITH HER MOBILE PHONE BY THE TIME THE FIRE ENGINE ARRIVED, THE PLASTIC PARTS ON TOP OF AND AROUND THE ENGINE HAD BEEN DESTROYED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT IMMEDIATELY EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. I ARRIVED FROM FOUR MILES AWAY, AND AFTER SURVEYING THE DAMAGE, I CONSIDERED THE DAMAGE TO EXCEED THE VALUE OF THE CAR. I CALLED A LOCAL TOWING SERVICE AND THEY TOWED THE CAR TO MY HOME. THE CAR HAD BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AND WAS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION BEFORE THE FIRE. I AM 77 YEARS OLD AND MY WIFE IS 74 AND OUR MEMORIES ARE FAILING. I THINK WE RECEIVED A POST CARD NOTIFICATION OF A RECALL, BUT I THINK IT WAS FOR A STEERING PROBLEM: NOTHING RELATED TO ANY DANGER OF AN ENGINE FIRE. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY GENERAL MOTORS CHOSE TO NOT NOTIFY US BY REGISTERED MAIL OF THE IMMINENT DANGER OF A FIRE. .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2013 - RICHMOND, VA
AFTER LEAVING WORK ON FRIDAY MAY 17, 2013 I WENT TO COMPLETE SEVERAL ERRANDS BEFORE DRIVING TO THE NEAREST GYM. UPON MY ARRIVAL I NOTICED A SCENT WHICH I BELIEVE WAS COMING FROM MY CAR THEN PROCEEDED TO PULL INTO THE PARKING LOT OF THE GYM, PARK THE CAR, TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND OPEN THE HOOD OF THE CAR. AFTER DOING SO, I WAS SHOCKED TO DISCOVER THAT MY ENGINE WAS ON FIRE ALONG WITH ALL THE OTHER COMPONENTS UNDER THE HOOD SUCH AS MY ELECTRICAL WIRING AND SPARK PLUGS. I HAD A SAFETY RECALL ACT (REPAIR) PERFORMED ON MY CAR IN FEBRUARY 2013 BY A GM DEALERSHIP, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS COMPLETELY SAFE AND WOULD GIVE MY CAR LONGEVITY ACTUALLY DID THE OPPOSITE. I FILED A CASE WITH GM REGARDING THIS MATTER BUT HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE RUN-A-ROUND AS OF MAY 20,2013. I'M VERY UNHAPPY WITH THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE THUS FAR AND NEED ASSISTANCE IN ADDRESSING THIS DANGEROUS MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE

5/29/2013 - RICHMOND, VA
AFTER LEAVING WORK ON FRIDAY MAY 17, 2013 I WENT TO COMPLETE SEVERAL ERRANDS BEFORE DRIVING TO THE NEAREST GYM. UPON MY ARRIVAL I NOTICED A SCENT WHICH I BELIEVE WAS COMING FROM MY CAR THEN PROCEEDED TO PULL INTO THE PARKING LOT OF THE GYM, PARK THE CAR, TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND OPEN THE HOOD OF THE CAR. AFTER DOING SO, I WAS SHOCKED TO DISCOVER THAT MY ENGINE WAS ON FIRE ALONG WITH ALL THE OTHER COMPONENTS UNDER THE HOOD SUCH AS MY ELECTRICAL WIRING AND SPARK PLUGS. I HAD A SAFETY RECALL ACT (REPAIR) PERFORMED ON MY CAR IN FEBRUARY 2013 BY A GM DEALERSHIP, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS COMPLETELY SAFE AND WOULD GIVE MY CAR LONGEVITY ACTUALLY DID THE OPPOSITE. I FILED A CASE WITH GM REGARDING THIS MATTER BUT HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE RUN-A-ROUND AS OF MAY 20,2013. I'M VERY UNHAPPY WITH THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE THUS FAR AND NEED ASSISTANCE IN ADDRESSING THIS DANGEROUS MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2013 - LENEXA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED. IN ADDITION, COOLANT WAS LEAKING FROM THE TAIL PIPE AND THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ENGINE OIL WAS ALSO LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD ALSO SEIZE SPORADICALLY AND WOULD OFTEN SHAKE WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING), AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09E005000 (STEERING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

1/23/2013 - LENEXA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED. IN ADDITION, COOLANT WAS LEAKING FROM THE TAIL PIPE AND THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ENGINE OIL WAS ALSO LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD ALSO SEIZE SPORADICALLY AND WOULD OFTEN SHAKE WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING), AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09E005000 (STEERING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/16/2012 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE ENGINE FAILED TO RESTART AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V118000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED TWO WEEKS AFTER THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED A SECOND TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 212,177. .UPDATED 07/13/12 THE CONSUMER STATED HE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE, UNTIL THE DEALER WORKED ON IT. THE VALVE COVER GASKET AND BOLT GROMETS WERE REPLACED. UPDATED 07/31/12

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/3/2012 - BREWSTER , NY
MY ENGINE CAUGHT ON FIRE, THE CAR HAD A RECALL 2 YEARS AGO WHICH I OBEYED, THE RECALL WAS TO PREVENT FIRE ON THE ENGINE, BUT EVEN AFTER I ATTENDED THAT RECALL 2 YEARS AGO, MY ENGINE STILL CAUGHT ON FIRE. THERE ARE MANY CASES LIKE THIS ONE AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/19/2012 - LOUIEVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, SMOKE WAS SEEN COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE TEMPERATURE GAUGES INCREASED AS WELL. A SMALL FIRE ERUPTED AND THE CONTACT USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTOMOTIVE SHOP WHERE THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FIRE STARTED FROM A FUEL LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FULLY DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) AFTER THE FIRE OCCURRED, IN WHICH THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,288.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/19/2011 - WRIGHT, WY
I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY, STOPPED MY CAR AND SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT OF MY INTERIOR AIR VENTS. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND GRABBED MY 2 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER OUT OF HER CARSEAT. WE RAN FROM THE CAR AND WATCHED THE SMOKE START GETTING WORSE COMING OUT FROM THE HOOD. THEN FLAMES STARTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. WE CALLED THE FIRE DEPT. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPT. ARRIVED THE FRONT OF THE CAR WAS BURNT DOWN TO METAL. THE FIRE DEPT. SAID THE FIRE WAS STARTED BY OIL THAT'S WHY THEY WERE UNABLE TO PUT IT OUT. WE ASSUMED IT WAS FAULT ON OUR BEHALF SO WE DID NOT REPORT IT TO OUR INSURANCE. JUST TODAY I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE #09047. STATING THAT AN UNDERHOOD FIRE MAY BE CAUSED BY DROPS OF ENGINE OIL, FROM SEEPAGE OR SPILLAGE, BEING DEPOSITED ON EXHAUST MANIFOLD THROUGH HARD BREAKING. IF I HAD KNOWN THIS EARLIER I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN WITHOUT MY ONLY TRANSPORTATION..

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds