Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 417 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (66) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (4) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Power Train (18) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (14) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (22) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (19) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (12) Suspension (8) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (119) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

11/10/2005 - DAVENPORT, IA
(1)WINDSHIELD WIPER CONTROL FAILURE. WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE / OPERATED ERRATICALLY DURING RAINSTORM AT NIGHT. WIPERS WORK AT TIMES, NOT AT ALL AT OTHERS. TURNING THEM OFF, THEN BACK ON MAY GET THEM WORKING AGAIN, OR MAYBE NOT. (2) HAD TO PULL OFF OF THE INTERSTATE. WAS ONLY ABLE TO GET THE WIPERS RUNNING ON INTERMITTENT MODE. CONTINUED DRIVING TO DESTINATION WITH CAUTION (WHITE KNUCKLE DRIVING ALL THE WAY). (3) PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED YET. WILL NOT DRIVE IN THE RAIN, UNTIL PROBLEM IS SUCCESSFULLY DIAGNOSED / REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

8/19/2005 - GLENCOVE, NY
DT: CONSUMER OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. AT 55000 MILES THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET WENT OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS MAINTAINED IMMACULATELY. THIS HAPPENED IN OCTOBER 2003. VEHICLE WAS FIXED BY A DEALER ON OCTOBER 10, 2003. HE THEN CHECKED THE INTERNET TO FIND THAT THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM DUE TO A COOLANT THAT THE MANUFACTURER USED. ON JULY 2, 2005 THE HEAD GASKET FAILED SUDDENLY, VEHICLE HAD 75,000 MILES. THIS WAS TWO WEEKS AFTER A GARAGE HAD DONE A 75000 MILE CHECK UP ON VEHICLE. WELL OVER $40000 WAS SPENT. HE DID FURTHER RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET TO FIND MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE. HE FELT THIS WA A SAFETY ISSUE, AND IT WAS ENDANGERING THE LIFE OF HIS FAMILY. HE CONTACTED MANUFACTURER, AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD CALL HIM BACK, AFTER NOT BEING CALLED BACK BY THE MANUFACTURER AND HIM CALLING MANUFACTURE OFTEN BACK THEY FINALLY MADE HIM AN OFFER OF A DISCOUNT ON SOMETHING. HE REFUSED THE OFFER,. HE FELT THAT THE OFFER WAS NOT NEAR WHAT HE HAD SPENT ON REPAIRS THAT MANUFACTURE SHOULD HAVE PAID FOR REPAIRS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/27/2005 - NORWALK, OH
I NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLES COOLANT LEVEL HAD BEEN DROPPING OVER A PERIOD OF SEVERLA WEEKS. AFTER HAVING IT TESTED IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE LOWER INTAKE MANILFOLD HAD A SLOW LEAK AND NEEDED REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD LESS THAN 70,000 MILES ON IT AND IT SEEMS VERY UNUSUAL FOR THIS TO HAPPEN SO SOON.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/18/2005 - CHELSEA, OK
TICKING BEGIN AT AROUND 45000 TO 50000 MILES ON 1998 VENTURE, SOON IT NEEDED BEARINGS AND RODS, THE MECHANIC TOOK OFF THE OIL PAN AND OIL WAS LIKE MUD, I HAVE OIL CHANGED EVERY 3000 MILES, I SAW THE OIL, IT WAS AWFUL, THEN ONE DAY THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT AND AT AROUND 70000 MILES I NEED NEW ENGINE, I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A GENERAL MOTORS PERSON MAINLY CHEROLET, BUT, AS OF NOW, I AM THINKING IT WILL BE A COLD DAY IN ---- BEFORE I BUY ANOTHER, I SEE WHY THE FOREIGN MOTOR COMPANIES ARE KICKING BUTT...I AM NOT THE 1ST TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE VENTURES.. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE MAIFOLD IS LEAKING INTO THE OIL SYSTEM THERE BY CAUSING THIS PROBLEM WITH ENGINES BLOWING...I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO, I HAVE 4 CHILDREN 2 OF WHOM ARE IN COLLEGE AND 2 AT HOME, I CAN'T JUST RACE OUT AND BUY A NEW ONE, WHICH CHEVY OFFERED TO MAYBE GIVE ME A LITTLE OFF IF I WANTED TO BUY A NEW ONE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/2/2005 - PENDLETON, OR
DT: THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. TWO MONTHS AGO SHE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE DUE TO THE CAM SHAFT BREAKING. SHE REPLACED THE OLD ENGINE WITH A NEW ONE. ONE WEEK LATER THE CAM SHAFT BROKE AGAIN ON THE SAME SPOT AS THE OTHER. MECHANIC SAID THAT HE HAD NEVER HEARD OF A HOLLOW CAMSHAFT, AND THAT WAS THE WAY ALL CAM SHAFTS WERE FOR THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

5/16/2005 - OVIEDO, FL
1998 CHEVY VENTURE MINI-VAN. HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE RADIATOR (NOW TWICE) DUE TO OVERHEATING CAUSED BY "SLUDGE" IN THE COOLING SYSTEM. ALSO, MECHANIC REPORTS A COOLANT LEAKAGE IN INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET, WHICH APPARENTLY IS A WELL-KNOWN PROBLEM. HAVE ONLY PUT DEXCOOL IN SYSTEM, SO WONDER WHERE SLUDGE CAME FROM. HAVE NOT HAD GASKET REPAIRED YET BECAUSE I THINK GM SHOULD DO IT FOR FREE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

5/11/2005 - CHELSEA, OK
I HAVE HAD ALL THE PROBLEMS THAT EVERYONE HAS COMPLAINED ABOUT, BUT, THE WORST TO ME IS THAT I AM SITTING HERE IN NEED OF A MOTOR IN MY 1998 VENTURE VAN. I THOUGHT THAT I WOULD BE ABLE TO USE TO AT LEAST 100,000 MILES. I STARTED GETTING THE TICKING NOISE LIKE AT 50,000 MILES AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE LIFTERS, COULDN'T BELIEVE IT, THEN BEFORE IT HIT 60,000 I HAD RODS BEARINGS AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT ELSE DONE AND BY 70,00 MY MOTOR IS BLOWN. I AM A HOMEMAKER WITH 2 CHILDREN IN COLLEGE AND 2 WEDDINGS GOING ON, I CAN'T AFFORD A NEW CAR AND NOW I AM DRIVING MY BROTHERS, IT IS EMBARRASSING TO SAY THE LEAST. I HAD CONTACTED CHEVY AND THEY OFFERED ME A LITTLE VOUCHER TO HELP PAY ON A NEW VAN. I CAN'T AFFORD A NEW ONE, I AM NOT A VAIN PERSON, I JUST WANT A CAR I CAN TRUST AND THOUGHT THAT I HAD ONE IN CHEVY. NOW I SEE WHY PEOPLE ARE BUYING FOREIGN. I SAW IN THE COMPLAINTS WHERE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO SEVERAL VENTURES WHAT ARE WE TO DO?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

5/10/2005 - TAYLOR MILL, KY
VEHICLE TAKEN IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AT 39000 MILES. MECHANIC INFORMED US THAT THERE WAS A MANIFOLD INTAKE LEAK THAT WOULD COST $600+ TO FIX.I DID NOT DO THE REPAIR, BUT HAVE SINCE BEEN INFORMED THAT THERE IS DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE AND THAT NOT REPAIRING COULD CAUSE SUDDEN ENGINE FAILURE. SOMETHING KNOWN AND COMMON LIKE THIS IS SHAMEFUL FOR A CAR 3000 MILES OUT OF WARRANTY. I SUSPECT THE PROBLEM WAS PRESENT AT THE OIL CHANGE PRIOR TO 36K.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2005 - VILLA PARK, IL
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE HAZARD LIGHTS TURNED ON ITS OWN AND THE BRAKE LIGHT FAILED. THE ABS LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD AND REMAINED ON. THE DRIVER WILL CONTACT THE DEALER IN THE NEAR FUTURE. THE RIGHT TAIL LIGHT DID NOT WORK PROPERLY, WHEN THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED, THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL FLASHED TWICE AS FAST AS NORMAL, BUT WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL FLASHED NORMAL, ALSO WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, BOTH DIRECTIONAL INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STAYED ON UNTIL THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE ABS AND TCS WARNING LIGHT HAD COME ON AND STAYED ON UNTIL IT WAS RESET, AROUND THE SAME TIME THE BLOWER FOR THE HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING LOST BOTH THE FIRST AND SECOND SPEEDS, THE DOOR LOCK CYCLE WAS INTERMITTENT AND THE CONSUMER WAS LOCKED OUT OF THE VEHICLE, THE POWER SLIDING DOOR HAD BECOME INOPERATIVE AND THE BRAKES FAILED MANY TIMES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/6/2005 - VILLA PARK, IL
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE HAZARD LIGHTS TURNED ON ITS OWN AND THE BRAKE LIGHT FAILED. THE ABS LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD AND REMAINED ON. THE DRIVER WILL CONTACT THE DEALER IN THE NEAR FUTURE. THE RIGHT TAIL LIGHT DID NOT WORK PROPERLY, WHEN THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED, THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL FLASHED TWICE AS FAST AS NORMAL, BUT WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL FLASHED NORMAL, ALSO WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, BOTH DIRECTIONAL INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STAYED ON UNTIL THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE ABS AND TCS WARNING LIGHT HAD COME ON AND STAYED ON UNTIL IT WAS RESET, AROUND THE SAME TIME THE BLOWER FOR THE HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING LOST BOTH THE FIRST AND SECOND SPEEDS, THE DOOR LOCK CYCLE WAS INTERMITTENT AND THE CONSUMER WAS LOCKED OUT OF THE VEHICLE, THE POWER SLIDING DOOR HAD BECOME INOPERATIVE AND THE BRAKES FAILED MANY TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds