Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 417 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (66) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (4) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Power Train (18) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (14) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (22) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (19) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (12) Suspension (8) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (119) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/22/2004 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I HAD THE COOLANT FLUSHED ONE MONTH AGO AT THE LOCAL DEALER. DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY NEAR HOME, THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT CAME ON. NO INDICATION ON TEMPERATURE GAUGE THAT COOLANT TEMP EVER EXCEEDED EVEN HALFWAY THROUGH THE NORMAL RANGE. THE NEXT MORNING, THE VAN RUNS ROUGH AND HAS A LIGHT COOLANT SMELL FROM THE EXHAUST. TOOK IT TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. DEALER SAID THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS FAILED ALLOWING THE VAN TO OVERHEAT AND BLOW THE HEAD GASKETS. REPAIR ESTIMATE IS $2500 AND WITH ONLY 88K MILES ON THE VAN. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS HAVE FAILED. FIRST TIME THE INTAKE GASKETS FAILED WAS AT 45K MILES RIGHT AFTER I BOUGHT IT. THERE WAS NO OVERHEAT OR HEAD GASKET FAILURE ON THE FIRST INCIDENCE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

11/11/2004 - FRANKLIN, OH
I AM GOING TO NEED TO REPAIR MY MINIVAN DUE TO THE PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT LEAK AND I REALLY CAN NOT AFFORD THIS AND MAY HAVE TO HAVE THE VAN SIT UNTIL I CAN. I CANNOT BELIEVE AFTER ALL THE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ ON HERE THAT THERE IS NOT A RECALL ON THIS OR THE HEADLIGHTS. I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER CHEVY VEHICLE AGAIN BECAUSE THIS IS A COSTLY REPAIR THAT IS NOT THE CONSUMERS RESPONSIBILITY, ITS OBVIOUS THAT THIS NEEDS A RECALL. I DO HOPE YOU COME TO YOUR SENSES ABOUT THIS COSTLY REPAIR TO THE CONSUMERS BECAUSE I WILL LET EVERY ONE I POSSIBLE KNOW THAT CHEVY KNOWS ABOUT THIS COSTLY PROBLEM BUT REFUSES TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY AS I AM SURE OTHERS THAT HAVE THIS PROBLEM HAVE TOLD NUMEROUS PEOPLE AND YOU SALES WILL DROP SO LOW THAT YOU WILL WISH YOU WOULD HAVE HAD A RECALL.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: LINKAGES

8/31/2004 - GASTONIA, NC
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS INTERMITTENTLY STOPPED WHILE IN OPERATION OR NOT WORK AT ALL DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER. THIS CAUSED POOR VISIBILITY WHILE DRIVING, WHICH COULD LEAD TO A VEHICLE CRASH. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE NOT COVERS UNDER A RECALL. RECALL# 98V072000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: CONCEALMENT DEVICES

8/29/2004 - LINO LKES, MN
IN FEB./MARCH 2004, RIGHT HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY LENS FELL OFF, EXPOSING LAMP TO WEATHER. IN JULY 2004, LEFT HEADLIGHT LENS FELL OFF. WE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY IN BOTH CASES. COST ABOUT $160 EACH TIME. DEALER INSTALLED NEW ASSEMBLIES AND TOLD US THE FAILURE IS DUE TO ADHESIVE BREAKDOWN BUT NOT COVERED BY CHEVROLET. THE VEHICLE IS A 1998 CHEVY VENTURE LS WITH 75000 MILE IN FEB AND 80000 MILES IN JULY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/13/2004 - PORTLAND, OR
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A USED CHEVROLET VENTURE MINIVAN. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 6,000 MILES DRIVING, THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET FAILED AND I NOW HAVE COOLANT IN THE VEHICLE OIL. THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR AND AFTER CONSIDERABLE INTERNET INVESTIGATION, I FOUND LITERALLY HUNDRED OF OTHER OWNERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. IT APPEAR THAT GM HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR SOME TIME AND REFUSES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. SO FAR, I HAVE NOT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED BECAUSE OF COST, BUT I THINK THAT GM SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE TO VENTURE OWNERS TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT COST FREE TO THE OWNER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

8/5/2004 - BETHALTO, IL
WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHT LENS FELL FROM THE VEHICLE. THIS FORCED THE DRIVER TO PULL OFF OF THE ROAD. THE CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/4/2004 - MCKINNEY, TX
WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH CONSUMER NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO BE EXAMINED, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE HEAD GASKET MALFUNCTIONED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

7/26/2004 - UNION GAP, WA
FAILURE OF ABS, KEEPING THE FLUID FROM THE REAR WHEELS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

7/26/2004 - BUTLER, PA
MY FAMILY AND I WERE ON VACATION DRIVING FROM BUTLER, PA TO CAPE CANAVERAL, FLORIDA. I WAS DRIVING ON I-95 NEAR SAVANNAH, GA ON JUNE 26TH WHEN I NOTICED MY TEMPERTURE GAUGE WAS MOVING UP AND DOWN. CAR NEVER BOILED OVER OR LOSS ANY ANTI-FREEZE. I STOPPED AT A PEP BOYS REPAIR SHOP AT WHICH TIME THEY ADVISED ME THAT MY THERMOSTAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. IT APPEARED THE DEX-COOL ANTIFREEZE THAT GM REQUIRES TO BE USED TURNS INTO A SLUDGE AT HIGH TEMPERATURES. ENTIRE COOLING SYSTEM WAS SLUDGED UP BY THE DEX-COOL. AFTER INSTALLING NEW THERMOSTAT AND ANIT-FREEZE ENGINE WAS IDLING ROUGH. CAR WAS TAKEN TO CHEVROLET DEALER NEARBY - CHEVROLET DEALER SAID ENGINE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. - ANTI-FREEZE WAS ENTERING CYLINDERS #1 AND #2. CHEVROLET DEALER CHARGED OVER $6,000. I FEEL CHEVROLET DEALER OVERCHARGED AS I WAS TRAVELING FROM OUT OF STATE - MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER QUOTED $3,700 FOR SAME WORK. MY LOCAL MECHANIC ADVISED ME IT'S COMMON KNOWLEDGE THAT DEX-COOL IS A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT THAT HAS RUINED MANY ENGINES, RADIATORS, HEATER CORES AND THERMOSTATS - GM REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM WHILE THE DAMAGE CONTINUES. MY VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW BY ME - GARAGE KEPT - WELL MAINTAINED - 112,000 MILES AT TIME OF FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: INJECTORS

7/13/2004 - WEST BURLINGTON, IA
THE UPPER AND LOWER INTAKE GASKETS WERE LEAKING COOLANT AND OIL ONTO THE ENGINE. THIS RESULTED IN VEHICLE OVERHEATING, AND BURNING UP THE ENGINE MOTOR. ALSO, FUEL INJECTORS HAD TO BE CLEANED NUMEROUS TIMES DUE TO THEM MISFIRING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds