Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 417 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (66) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (4) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Power Train (18) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (14) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (22) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (19) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (12) Suspension (8) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (119) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS: REAR

1/29/2004 - DAYTON, OH
REAR LOCKING LATCH PLATE BROKE WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/29/2004 - DAYTON, OH
REAR LOCKING LATCH PLATE BROKE WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

1/24/2004 - HARWICH, MA
LOW COOLANT LIGHT CAME ON WHILE WIFE WAS DRIVING AND SHE SAID TEMPERATURE GAUGE SOARED THEN DROPPED, SHE PULLED OUT AND DROVE AGAIN AND IT SOARED THEN DROPPED AGAIN ALONG WITH LOW COOLANT LIGHT. SAW ON THE INTERNET THIS IS COMMON FOR 1998 CHEVY VENTURE AND OTHERS. A LOT OF MINIVANS WITH KIDS AND SPOUSES OUT THERE ENCOUNTERING THIS. I CHECKED THE ENGINE UPON ARRIVAL AND THINK IT MAY BE AN INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET FAILURE AND HAVE CONTACTED A LOCAL SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - NIAGARA FALLS, UN
LEAKING COOLANT LED TO ENGINE FAILURE. GM AND DEALERSHIP TRY TO SHIFT BLAME TO ME. THEY SAY THERE IS NO PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE JUST STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I HAD TO PUSH IT TO THE SIDE OF A BUSY STREET WITH A SMALL CHILD INSIDE. THE ENGINE OIL FILLED WITH ANTI FREEZE AND CEASED UP WITHOUT WARNING. IT HAD BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT CHECKED AND THEY JUST ADDED STOP LEAK AND SAID IT WOULD BE FINE. THE LOWER INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET WAS LEAKING. THIS HAS BEEN WELL DOCUMENTED FOR OVER A YEAR BUT GM IS STILL IN DENIAL. MY 1998 CHEVY VENTURE WAS PURCHASED USED IN SEPTEMBER 2001. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAD 40,000 MILES ON IT. I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN SEPT. 2002 FOR 15 POINT INSPECTION AND OIL CHANGE AT ABOUT 45,000 MILES. THIS WAS LAST DAY UNDER WARRANTY. IN JANUARY 2003 THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT CAME ON. I CHECKED THE COOLANT LEVEL AT IT LOOKED ALMOST DRY. THERE WAS NO PRIOR EVIDENCE LIKE STAINS ON MY DRIVEWAY. THEY SAID GOOD THING I BROUGHT IT IN RIGHT AWAY AND FLUSHED AND FILLED IT AND SAID THERE WAS A SMALL LEAK IN ONE OF THE GASKETS AND ADDED STOP LEAK. IN MAY THE ENGINE SEIZED UP AND I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE ENGINE WITH A REBUILT ONE AT A COST OF $4000.00. THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 50000 MILES ON IT. THE DEALERSHIP AND GM ASSISTANCE CLAIM NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS. IN JULY MY NEIGHBOR WHO OWNS A 2000 CHEVY SILHOUETTE HAS THE SAME THING HAPPEN AND NEEDS HIS ENGINE REPLACED. A FRIEND OF MINE SAYS HE HAD HIS GASKET FIXED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. PLEASE HELP ME AND THE THOUSANDS OF OTHERS WHO HAVE BEEN HURT BECAUSE GM REFUSES TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I FEEL THE ONLY OPTION THAT I HAVE IS TO GO TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT WHERE I PROBABLY WON'T HAVE A CHANCE AGAINST GENERAL MOTOR?S LAWYERS. I HAVE A COUPLE OF WEB SITES THAT HAVE BEEN SORT OF LIKE MY SUPPORT GROUP SINCE MY ENGINE FAILED. I DON'T KNOW IF YOU ARE AWARE OF ANY OF THEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - OXFORD, MI
CAR BEGAN LOSING COOLANT AT ABOUT 20000 MILES. HAD TO KEEP TOPPING COOLANT TANK. PRESENTED TO LOCAL DEALER AT 35,500 MILES TO BE REPAIRED. COOLANT SENSOR REPLACED, PROBLEM PERSISTED. WIFE'S CAR (1999 VENTURE) BEGAN HAVING SAME SYMPTOM, RESEARCHED AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS (RECENTLY REDESIGNED BY GM). THIS PROBLEM CAN ALLOW COOLANT TO MIX WITH OIL, AND OIL WITH COOLANT. CAN RESULT IN SUDDEN CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE (CAMSHAFT BREAKS DUE TO INSUFFICIENT LUBRICATION). STRANDED VEHICLES WILL PRESENT MULTIPLE SAFETY HAZARDS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - OXFORD, MI
CAR BEGAN LOSING COOLANT AT ABOUT 20000 MILES. HAD TO KEEP TOPPING COOLANT TANK. PRESENTED TO LOCAL DEALER AT 35,500 MILES TO BE REPAIRED. COOLANT SENSOR REPLACED, PROBLEM PERSISTED. WIFE'S CAR (1999 VENTURE) BEGAN HAVING SAME SYMPTOM, RESEARCHED AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS (RECENTLY REDESIGNED BY GM). THIS PROBLEM CAN ALLOW COOLANT TO MIX WITH OIL, AND OIL WITH COOLANT. CAN RESULT IN SUDDEN CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE (CAMSHAFT BREAKS DUE TO INSUFFICIENT LUBRICATION). STRANDED VEHICLES WILL PRESENT MULTIPLE SAFETY HAZARDS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - CHESTERFIELD, MO
LEAKING INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET LEAK. LEAKING COOLANT. REPAIR ESTIMATED TO BE $800 BY ELCO CHEVROLET IN BALLWIN, MISSOURI. WE DISCOVERED THROUGH RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET AND TALKING TO MECHANICS AT A LOCAL AUTO REPAIR FRANCHISE THAT THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVY VENTURE VANS. WE ARE LOOKING FOR RELIEF FROM GM-THIS IS NOT THE FIRST PROBLEM WE HAVE HAD WITH COOLANT LEAKS IN THE VAN AND ARE NOW WONDERING IF THIS PROBLEM WAS UNDETECTED AND WE HAVE BEEN REPAIRING OTHER ITEMS NEEDLESSLY (WATER PUMP, ETC.) WHEN THIS WAS THE TRUE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE FUTURE OF THE ENGINE ON THIS VEHICLE WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - WEST BRANCH, MI
1998 CHEVY VENTURE, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, PULLED OVER ENGINE TAPPING & SMOKING. NO OIL LIGHT OR CHANGE IN TEMP, GAUGE OBSERVED. HAD TO WALK ON INTERSTATE 1.2 MILES TOOK RIDE FROM UNKNOWN COUPLE, HAD VAN TOWED. DIAGNOSES WAS: INTAKE GASKET COLLAPSED, CAUSING CONNECTING ROD TO GO THROUGH ENGINE. DEALERSHIP & GM CUSTOMER CARE REFUSED ANY ASSISTANCE. OVERWELMED BY SEVERITY OF THIS GASKET PROBLEM READILY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET. WE REPLACED OUR ENGINE WITH A USED ONE, THAT IS ALL WE COULD AFFORD. IT DEFINITELY WAS THE FAULTY GASKET THAT CAUSED OUR ENGINE TO BE REPLACED. WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED, NO DUMMY LIGHT CAME ON, NOTHING TO EVEN TELL ME THERE WAS A PROBLEM, SUCH AS LOW OIL OR SERVICE ENGINE. THE MECHANIC WHO REPLACED OUR ENGINE TOLD US HE HAS SEEN SEVERAL CHEVY VENTURE VANS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WE HAD. WE HAD THE SERVIVE DONE AT D&N GARAGE 4929 SOUTH M-76 WEST BRANCH, MI 48661, THE OWNER IS NELSON SMITH. THE PHONE # IS 1 800 203 8504. IT COST US ALMOST $1600. TO REPLACE THE ENGINE, WE LUCKED OUT FINDING ONE THAT HAD ONLY 40,000 MILES ON IT. NELSON MADE SURE TO PUT THE NEW GASKET ON THIS ENGINE. THE GM DEALERSHIP HERE REFUSED TO HELP. WHERE WE BOUGHT THE VAN REFUSED TO HELP, THE GM HELPLINE JUST VERY RUDELY TOLD ME IT WAS MY PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

1/15/2004 - WEST BRANCH, MI
1998 CHEVY VENTURE, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, PULLED OVER ENGINE TAPPING & SMOKING. NO OIL LIGHT OR CHANGE IN TEMP, GAUGE OBSERVED. HAD TO WALK ON INTERSTATE 1.2 MILES TOOK RIDE FROM UNKNOWN COUPLE, HAD VAN TOWED. DIAGNOSES WAS: INTAKE GASKET COLLAPSED, CAUSING CONNECTING ROD TO GO THROUGH ENGINE. DEALERSHIP & GM CUSTOMER CARE REFUSED ANY ASSISTANCE. OVERWELMED BY SEVERITY OF THIS GASKET PROBLEM READILY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET. WE REPLACED OUR ENGINE WITH A USED ONE, THAT IS ALL WE COULD AFFORD. IT DEFINITELY WAS THE FAULTY GASKET THAT CAUSED OUR ENGINE TO BE REPLACED. WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED, NO DUMMY LIGHT CAME ON, NOTHING TO EVEN TELL ME THERE WAS A PROBLEM, SUCH AS LOW OIL OR SERVICE ENGINE. THE MECHANIC WHO REPLACED OUR ENGINE TOLD US HE HAS SEEN SEVERAL CHEVY VENTURE VANS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WE HAD. WE HAD THE SERVIVE DONE AT D&N GARAGE 4929 SOUTH M-76 WEST BRANCH, MI 48661, THE OWNER IS NELSON SMITH. THE PHONE # IS 1 800 203 8504. IT COST US ALMOST $1600. TO REPLACE THE ENGINE, WE LUCKED OUT FINDING ONE THAT HAD ONLY 40,000 MILES ON IT. NELSON MADE SURE TO PUT THE NEW GASKET ON THIS ENGINE. THE GM DEALERSHIP HERE REFUSED TO HELP. WHERE WE BOUGHT THE VAN REFUSED TO HELP, THE GM HELPLINE JUST VERY RUDELY TOLD ME IT WAS MY PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - KOKOMO, IN
AT 60,000 MILES MY CHEVROLET VENTURE STARTED TO LEAK COOLANT AND I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT THE INTAKE MANIFIOLD GASKET NEEDED REPLACEMENT. COST APPROX. $800.00 INCLUDING COOLING SYSTEM FLUSH AND TAX. DEALER SAID THAT GM WAS NOT PAYING FOR ALL OR PART OF THE REPAIR AND IN FACT THEY HAVE NOT COMMENTED TO IT'S DEALERS ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS AT ALL. OBVIOUSLY GM DOES NOT WANT TO ADMIT A PROBLEM WITH THE 3.4L ENGINE. MY RESEARCH FINDS THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON AND COSTLY PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds