Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 1998 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 545 complaints filed for the 1998 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Exterior Lighting (15) Other (12) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (10)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Power Train (69) Service Brakes Hydraulic (86) Vehicle Speed Control (114)
Electrical System (33) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (28) Steering (42) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Interior Lighting (16) Seats (7) Structure (23) Wheels (5)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (59)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/3/2013 - PEN CITY WEST , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE NOTICED THE VINYL ON THE DASHBOARD WAS DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/21/2013 - SELMA, TX
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE TO STOP AT A LIGHT ON A HIGHWAY ACCESS ROAD, THE VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE STOPPING. IT STARTED VIOLENTLY JERKING AND VIBRATING AND THE BRAKES WERE ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THE RPM'S READ IN THE 4'S. I PULLED OVER AND IN A PARKING LOT, THE VEHICLE RAPIDLY REACHED 45 MPH WITHOUT STEPPING ON THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS RELUCTANT TO HAVE IT REACH A GREATER SPEED SO I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. IT ONCE AGAIN DID NOT WANT TO RESPOND PROPERLY TO THE BRAKES. I CALLED FORD AND EPLAINED THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND THE VEHICLE DIFFICULTY IN STOPPING, THERE ARE NO RECALLS. I RESEARCHED ONLINE, AND IT APPEARS THAT THERE IS A FAULTY CRUISE CONTROL CABLE THAT STICKS TO THE THROTTLE AND LEAVES IT OPEN. I ONCE AGAIN CONTACTED FORD FOR AN ESTIMATE TO REPLACE THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SUCH THING AS A CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. I CALLED THE PARTS DEPARTMENT AND THEY SAID THAT PART IS AFTERMARKET AND IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS READING THE AOL VEHICLE COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND ACCIDENTS HAVE OCCURED AND PEOPLE HAVE BEEN INJURED. I DON'T KNOW WHY FORD DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THIS SERIOUS SAFET ISSUE IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/21/2013 - SELMA, TX
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE TO STOP AT A LIGHT ON A HIGHWAY ACCESS ROAD, THE VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE STOPPING. IT STARTED VIOLENTLY JERKING AND VIBRATING AND THE BRAKES WERE ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THE RPM'S READ IN THE 4'S. I PULLED OVER AND IN A PARKING LOT, THE VEHICLE RAPIDLY REACHED 45 MPH WITHOUT STEPPING ON THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS RELUCTANT TO HAVE IT REACH A GREATER SPEED SO I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. IT ONCE AGAIN DID NOT WANT TO RESPOND PROPERLY TO THE BRAKES. I CALLED FORD AND EPLAINED THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND THE VEHICLE DIFFICULTY IN STOPPING, THERE ARE NO RECALLS. I RESEARCHED ONLINE, AND IT APPEARS THAT THERE IS A FAULTY CRUISE CONTROL CABLE THAT STICKS TO THE THROTTLE AND LEAVES IT OPEN. I ONCE AGAIN CONTACTED FORD FOR AN ESTIMATE TO REPLACE THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SUCH THING AS A CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. I CALLED THE PARTS DEPARTMENT AND THEY SAID THAT PART IS AFTERMARKET AND IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS READING THE AOL VEHICLE COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND ACCIDENTS HAVE OCCURED AND PEOPLE HAVE BEEN INJURED. I DON'T KNOW WHY FORD DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THIS SERIOUS SAFET ISSUE IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/4/2013 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN SHIFTING FROM REVERSE TO PARK OR FROM DRIVE TO PARK, THE VEHICLE WOULD RAPIDLY ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY AND THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO PARK AS HE TURNED THE ENGINE OFF IN ORDER TO STOP THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A MECHANIC OR TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/14/2012 - WESTLAND,MI, MI
APPLIED BRAKES WHILE STOPPED IN PARKING LOT,PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR,ALL BRAKE FLUID NOW UNDER CAR. UNABLE TO LIFT CAR,NO METAL EXISTED FROM FLOORPAN TO ROCKER PANEL BOTTOM. BRAKE LINES HAD BEEN AFFIXED TO THIS METAL,AND NOW HAD LOST SUPPORT/MOUNTING PLACE AND VIBRATED AND FELL APART. THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR LOOKED ALMOST NEW,BUT THE PLASTIC TRIM ON THE LOWER SILL HID THE PROBLEM OUTSIDE. NOW,THE DOOR SILL(BOTH SIDES)ARE GETTING SO BAD,WE ARE AFRAID TO STEP ON THEM,OR GO OVER A BAD BUMP OR RAILROAD TRACK. I DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS,AS THIS METAL ROTTED FROM THE INSIDE-OUT,AS THOUGH IT NEVER WENT THRU A RUST PREVENTION BATH PROCESS. MY FRIENDS ARE CURRENT FORD PEOPLE OR,LIKE MYSELF,ARE RETIRED FORD PEOPLE,THEY SAID TAURUS VEH. CANT HAVE THIS EXTREME PROBLEM,BUT I DO. THANKS FOR ASKING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2012 - WESTLAND,MI, MI
APPLIED BRAKES WHILE STOPPED IN PARKING LOT,PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR,ALL BRAKE FLUID NOW UNDER CAR. UNABLE TO LIFT CAR,NO METAL EXISTED FROM FLOORPAN TO ROCKER PANEL BOTTOM. BRAKE LINES HAD BEEN AFFIXED TO THIS METAL,AND NOW HAD LOST SUPPORT/MOUNTING PLACE AND VIBRATED AND FELL APART. THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR LOOKED ALMOST NEW,BUT THE PLASTIC TRIM ON THE LOWER SILL HID THE PROBLEM OUTSIDE. NOW,THE DOOR SILL(BOTH SIDES)ARE GETTING SO BAD,WE ARE AFRAID TO STEP ON THEM,OR GO OVER A BAD BUMP OR RAILROAD TRACK. I DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS,AS THIS METAL ROTTED FROM THE INSIDE-OUT,AS THOUGH IT NEVER WENT THRU A RUST PREVENTION BATH PROCESS. MY FRIENDS ARE CURRENT FORD PEOPLE OR,LIKE MYSELF,ARE RETIRED FORD PEOPLE,THEY SAID TAURUS VEH. CANT HAVE THIS EXTREME PROBLEM,BUT I DO. THANKS FOR ASKING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/24/2012 - ROCKVILLE, MD
AFTER DRIVING ABOUT A MILE, THE AIR CONDITIONING STOPPED AND BLACK SMOKE CAME OUT OF THE HOOD. STOPPED THE CAR AND THOUGHT OF OPENING THE HOOD BUT SAW FLAMES. THREE ADULTS AND TWO CHILDREN (5 AND 2 YRS OLD) GOT OUT OF THE CAR. CALLED POLICE AND FIRE SERVICE. BY THE TIME THEY ARRIVE, THE CAR WAS IN FLAMES. THE ENGINE AND FRONT ROW SEATS WERE TOTALLY BURNT. THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THERE WAS NO WAY TO DETERMINE THE REASON FOR THE (MYSTERIOUS) FIRE. THIS HAPPENED IN MIAMI, FLORIDA.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/24/2012 - ROCKVILLE, MD
AFTER DRIVING ABOUT A MILE, THE AIR CONDITIONING STOPPED AND BLACK SMOKE CAME OUT OF THE HOOD. STOPPED THE CAR AND THOUGHT OF OPENING THE HOOD BUT SAW FLAMES. THREE ADULTS AND TWO CHILDREN (5 AND 2 YRS OLD) GOT OUT OF THE CAR. CALLED POLICE AND FIRE SERVICE. BY THE TIME THEY ARRIVE, THE CAR WAS IN FLAMES. THE ENGINE AND FRONT ROW SEATS WERE TOTALLY BURNT. THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THERE WAS NO WAY TO DETERMINE THE REASON FOR THE (MYSTERIOUS) FIRE. THIS HAPPENED IN MIAMI, FLORIDA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CABLES

5/31/2012 - COOL RAPIDS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 10 MPH WHEN THE THROTTLE BECAME STUCK, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ABNORMALLY ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND APPLYING THE BRAKES. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO HAVE THE CRUISE AND THROTTLE CABLE REPLACED BUT THE DEALER DID NOT HAVE THE NECESSARY PARTS. THE DEALER LUBRICATED THE COMPONENTS BUT THAT DID NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT ALSO REPLACED THE CRUISE CONTROL MODULE BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT HAD EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE NUMEROUS TIMES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 07/25/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. EACH TIME, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WOULD GO DOWN ON ITS OWN, AND THE CONSUMER HAD NO WAY OF CONTROLLING THE VEHICLE. AS THE CONSUMER STEPPED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO GO FASTER. THE DEALER FIXED THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, IT RETURNED MONTHS LATER. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, PARTS WERE NO LONGER BEING MADE. THEY SPRAYED THE CABLES, BUT THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION RETURNED WEEKS LATER. UPDATED 07/25/12

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/31/2012 - COOL RAPIDS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 10 MPH WHEN THE THROTTLE BECAME STUCK, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ABNORMALLY ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND APPLYING THE BRAKES. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO HAVE THE CRUISE AND THROTTLE CABLE REPLACED BUT THE DEALER DID NOT HAVE THE NECESSARY PARTS. THE DEALER LUBRICATED THE COMPONENTS BUT THAT DID NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT ALSO REPLACED THE CRUISE CONTROL MODULE BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT HAD EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE NUMEROUS TIMES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 07/25/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. EACH TIME, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WOULD GO DOWN ON ITS OWN, AND THE CONSUMER HAD NO WAY OF CONTROLLING THE VEHICLE. AS THE CONSUMER STEPPED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO GO FASTER. THE DEALER FIXED THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, IT RETURNED MONTHS LATER. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, PARTS WERE NO LONGER BEING MADE. THEY SPRAYED THE CABLES, BUT THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION RETURNED WEEKS LATER. UPDATED 07/25/12

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds