Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 1998 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 549 complaints filed for the 1998 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Exterior Lighting (15) Other (12) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (10)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Power Train (71) Service Brakes Hydraulic (86) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (33) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (28) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (115)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (16) Seats (7) Structure (23) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (59) Wheels (5)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - ATWOOD, CO
THIS IS THE SCARIEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN WHILE DRIVING MY TEENAGE SON'S VEHICLE. HIS VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECREASE IN SPEED. WHILE TAKING OFF FROM A STOP, WITHOUT TOUCHING THE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A VEHICLE ACCELERATE WITHOUT HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN ESPECIALLY SINCE ITS A TEENAGERS VEHICLE. I SEE THAT NEWER TAURUS'S HAD A RECALL FOR THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. MANY WERE REPORTING THE VEHICLE ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT MY SON'S DID TONIGHT. ALSO, WHEN I PLACED HIS VEHICLE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE REVVED UP TO 4000 RPM'S LIKE SOMEONE WAS HITTING THE GAS. I HAD TO SHUT THE CAR OFF BEFORE IT BLEW THE ENGINE. IT WAS NERVE RACKING. THIS IS LIKELY TO CAUSE A SERIOUS INJURY OF DEATH TO MY CHILD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/17/2014 - ATWOOD, CO
THIS IS THE SCARIEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN WHILE DRIVING MY TEENAGE SON'S VEHICLE. HIS VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECREASE IN SPEED. WHILE TAKING OFF FROM A STOP, WITHOUT TOUCHING THE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A VEHICLE ACCELERATE WITHOUT HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN ESPECIALLY SINCE ITS A TEENAGERS VEHICLE. I SEE THAT NEWER TAURUS'S HAD A RECALL FOR THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. MANY WERE REPORTING THE VEHICLE ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT MY SON'S DID TONIGHT. ALSO, WHEN I PLACED HIS VEHICLE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE REVVED UP TO 4000 RPM'S LIKE SOMEONE WAS HITTING THE GAS. I HAD TO SHUT THE CAR OFF BEFORE IT BLEW THE ENGINE. IT WAS NERVE RACKING. THIS IS LIKELY TO CAUSE A SERIOUS INJURY OF DEATH TO MY CHILD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/17/2014 - ATWOOD, CO
THIS IS THE SCARIEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN WHILE DRIVING MY TEENAGE SON'S VEHICLE. HIS VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECREASE IN SPEED. WHILE TAKING OFF FROM A STOP, WITHOUT TOUCHING THE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A VEHICLE ACCELERATE WITHOUT HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN ESPECIALLY SINCE ITS A TEENAGERS VEHICLE. I SEE THAT NEWER TAURUS'S HAD A RECALL FOR THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. MANY WERE REPORTING THE VEHICLE ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT MY SON'S DID TONIGHT. ALSO, WHEN I PLACED HIS VEHICLE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE REVVED UP TO 4000 RPM'S LIKE SOMEONE WAS HITTING THE GAS. I HAD TO SHUT THE CAR OFF BEFORE IT BLEW THE ENGINE. IT WAS NERVE RACKING. THIS IS LIKELY TO CAUSE A SERIOUS INJURY OF DEATH TO MY CHILD.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

9/24/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEATER WAS NOT WORKING IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - AUSTIN , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A JERKING MOTION AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE PROPERLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES AND AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - WALLINGFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED TO ROLL AWAY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL QUICKLY AND SHIFT INTO PARK. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 260,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/3/2013 - PEN CITY WEST , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE NOTICED THE VINYL ON THE DASHBOARD WAS DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/21/2013 - SELMA, TX
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE TO STOP AT A LIGHT ON A HIGHWAY ACCESS ROAD, THE VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE STOPPING. IT STARTED VIOLENTLY JERKING AND VIBRATING AND THE BRAKES WERE ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THE RPM'S READ IN THE 4'S. I PULLED OVER AND IN A PARKING LOT, THE VEHICLE RAPIDLY REACHED 45 MPH WITHOUT STEPPING ON THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS RELUCTANT TO HAVE IT REACH A GREATER SPEED SO I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. IT ONCE AGAIN DID NOT WANT TO RESPOND PROPERLY TO THE BRAKES. I CALLED FORD AND EPLAINED THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND THE VEHICLE DIFFICULTY IN STOPPING, THERE ARE NO RECALLS. I RESEARCHED ONLINE, AND IT APPEARS THAT THERE IS A FAULTY CRUISE CONTROL CABLE THAT STICKS TO THE THROTTLE AND LEAVES IT OPEN. I ONCE AGAIN CONTACTED FORD FOR AN ESTIMATE TO REPLACE THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SUCH THING AS A CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. I CALLED THE PARTS DEPARTMENT AND THEY SAID THAT PART IS AFTERMARKET AND IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS READING THE AOL VEHICLE COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND ACCIDENTS HAVE OCCURED AND PEOPLE HAVE BEEN INJURED. I DON'T KNOW WHY FORD DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THIS SERIOUS SAFET ISSUE IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/21/2013 - SELMA, TX
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE TO STOP AT A LIGHT ON A HIGHWAY ACCESS ROAD, THE VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE STOPPING. IT STARTED VIOLENTLY JERKING AND VIBRATING AND THE BRAKES WERE ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THE RPM'S READ IN THE 4'S. I PULLED OVER AND IN A PARKING LOT, THE VEHICLE RAPIDLY REACHED 45 MPH WITHOUT STEPPING ON THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS RELUCTANT TO HAVE IT REACH A GREATER SPEED SO I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. IT ONCE AGAIN DID NOT WANT TO RESPOND PROPERLY TO THE BRAKES. I CALLED FORD AND EPLAINED THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND THE VEHICLE DIFFICULTY IN STOPPING, THERE ARE NO RECALLS. I RESEARCHED ONLINE, AND IT APPEARS THAT THERE IS A FAULTY CRUISE CONTROL CABLE THAT STICKS TO THE THROTTLE AND LEAVES IT OPEN. I ONCE AGAIN CONTACTED FORD FOR AN ESTIMATE TO REPLACE THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SUCH THING AS A CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. I CALLED THE PARTS DEPARTMENT AND THEY SAID THAT PART IS AFTERMARKET AND IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS READING THE AOL VEHICLE COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND ACCIDENTS HAVE OCCURED AND PEOPLE HAVE BEEN INJURED. I DON'T KNOW WHY FORD DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THIS SERIOUS SAFET ISSUE IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/4/2013 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN SHIFTING FROM REVERSE TO PARK OR FROM DRIVE TO PARK, THE VEHICLE WOULD RAPIDLY ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY AND THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO PARK AS HE TURNED THE ENGINE OFF IN ORDER TO STOP THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A MECHANIC OR TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds