Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE AURORA - 1998 OLDSMOBILE AURORA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 49 complaints filed for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE AURORA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 OLDSMOBILE AURORA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE AURORA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/6/2014 - GASTONIA, NC
VEHICLE RUNNING IN NORMAL TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET, KEY SWITCH JUST SUDDENLY TURNED BACK AND VEHICLE SHUT OFF. NO BRAKING, AND NO STEERING. HAD TO TRY AND STEER OFF TO A SAFE PLACE. ONGOING ISSUE AS THE IGNITION SWITCH IS STILL IN THIS CONDITION ENDANGERING MY LIFE, MY FAMILY'S LIFE, AND THE LIVES OF OTHERS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/28/2012 - SURPRISE , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE AURORA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THERE WAS A REDUCTION IN THE ENGINE POWER AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO JERK. THE ENGINE SUDDENLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AND RESUME IN OPERATION. IN ADDITION, THE ENGINE WOULD OVERHEAT WITH A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF COOLANT LEAKAGE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWENTY TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE ENGINE HEAD GASKET TWO DIFFERENT TIMES. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE MONTHS AFTER THE SECOND REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS INOPERABLE AND HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR THE MOST RECENT FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/30/2010 - PITTSGROVE, NJ
I WAS MOVING THE CAR IN MY DRIVEWAY AND NOTICED A FIRE UNDER THE HOOD,AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE WE GRABBED FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND PUT IT OUT,I CHECK ONLINE FOR RECALL AND FOUND OUT THIS CAR HAD A RECALL FOR SAME PROBLEM WHICH WAS A RUPTURE IN THE FUEL INJECTION NYLON LINE THE YEAR PRIOR AFTER NOTIFYING GM OH THE PROBLEM I WAS MOVED FROM PERSON TOO PERSON FOR 4 WEEKS ONLY BE TOLD THEY WOULD DO ANYTHING I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TOO TAKE CAR TOO A DEALER BECAUSE I CANT AFFORD IT,THIS PROBLEM COULD RESULT IN LOSS OF LIFE AND NEED BE ADDRESSED QUICKLY THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/1/2010 - PITTSGROVE, NJ
FUEL RAIL SPLIT CAUSING MAJOR DAMAGE TO MOTOR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/30/2008 - LANSING, MI
I HAVE A 1998 AURORA AS WHEEL WITH THE SAME PROBLEM OF CAR SHUTTING DOWN. FIRST I HAD THE MODULE REPLACED AND IT STILL DID IT. AND THEN I WAS TOLD TO GET MY FUEL INJECTORS CLEANED AND I KEPT INJECTOR CLEANER IN MY CAR WHEN I FILLED UP AND THE I FINALLY GOT A FULL TUNE UP AND AFTER THAT NO PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD BAD SPARK PLUG WIRES WILL CAUSE THIS AS WELL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/17/2008 - ALTOONA, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE AURORA. WHEN SHE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT OR A STOP SIGN, THE VEHICLE WOULD SHUT OFF. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER SHE SHIFTED GEARS TO PARK AND THEN DRIVE. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS PRESENT. THREE MECHANICS PERFORMED TEST TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE; HOWEVER, THEY WERE UNSUCCESSFUL AND CORRECTING THE FAILURE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY HAD NO COMPLAINTS RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 104,800. UPDATED 04-02-08

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

8/18/2006 - LEAGUE CITY, TX
LIGHTS COME ON AND FLICKER BY THEMSELVES EVEN WHEN THE CAR IS OFF. THIS OCCURS WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND THE KEYS ARE NOT IN THE IGNITION. ALSO, THERE IS THE SMELL OF BURNED RUBBER PRESENT SOME OF THE TIMES.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

3/29/2006 - MANSFIELD, OH
I OWN A 1998 AURORA. WHILE TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENTIRE FRONT LEFT TIRE ASSEMBLY (WHEEL, BRAKE SYSTEM, STRUTS, ETC) SEPARATED FROM THE CAR, CAUSING THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY AND DESTROYING THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE CAR. THE CAUSE OF THE SEPARATION IS UNKNOWN. THE CAR DID NOT HIT OR RUN OVER ANY FOREIGN OBJECT ON THE HIGHWAY. THE TIRE WAS RECOVERED WITH THE STRUT? AND BRACKET ASSEMBLIES? STILL ATTACHED TO THE TIRE. I'M FILING A COMPLAINT TO DETERMINE IF ANY OTHER INCIDENTS HAVE BEEN REPORTED IN HOPES OF PREVENTING ANY OTHER AURORA OWNERS FROM EXPERIENCING SUCH A LIFE THREATENING INCIDENT. THE INCIDENT IS BEING INVESTIGATED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY IN HOPES OF DETERMINING A CAUSE OF THE FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2006 - MIRAMAR BEACH, FL
CAR STALLS ONCE A DAY, ALMOST EVERY DAY IN TRAFFIC. SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T QUITE STALL AND CATCHES ITSELF AND LEARCHES FORWARD A FEW FEET. NEITHER OLDSMOBILE OR INDIPENDENT MECHANICS CAN FIND THE PROBLEM. THA CODES ARE THERE IN MEMORY OF THE CAR BUT THE CODES DO NOT SAY WHAT TO DO ABOUT THE PROBLEM. KNOW ONE KNOWS WHAT TO DO OTHER THAN GUESSING AND CHANGING EXPENSIVE PARTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: TORQUE CONVERTER

9/24/2005 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
TORQUE CONVERTER SWITCH INTERMIT MALFUNCTION. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, CANNOT GET EMISSION INSPECTION. DEALER WISHES TO REMOVE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION, $1000, TO REPLACE $50.00 SENSOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds