Auto Recalls for Consumers

ACURA TL - 1999 ACURA TL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 140 complaints filed for the 1999 ACURA TL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 ACURA TL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 ACURA TL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (37) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (7)
Engine (4) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - BROOKEVILLE, MD
ON 3/15/14 MY 1999 ACURA TL STALLED/ENGINE SHUT OF COMPLETELY WITHOUT ANY WARNING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. 2ND TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS DRIVING 40 MPH ON 3/22/14 & 3RD TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS DRIVING 10 MPH ON 3/27/14. EACH TIME IT HAPPENED THE ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY BUT, THE RADIO AND WARNING LIGHT IN THE DASH FLASHED ON AND OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP WITHOUT POWER STEERING. AFTER 3-4 ATTEMPS TO RESTART THE CAR, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE OFF WITHOUT INCIDENT. IT HAPPENS SO RANDOM AND WITHOUT WARNING THAT I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS CAR. THE CAR HAS HAD A RECALL OF THE IGNITION SWITCH PERFORMED IN 2003 BY THE ACURA DEALER. ON 3/24/14 I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY HAVE TROUBLE DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM. THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR 4 DAYS. THEY REPLACED THE MAIN FUEL RELAY, PERFORMED AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, PERFORMED A RECALL ON THE IGNITION INTERLOCK AND ROAD TESTED THE CAR. I PICKED UP THE CAR ON 3/27/14 AND IT STALLED LATER THAT DAY AS I WAS DRIVING AWAY FROM MY HOME. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON 3/28/14 AND THEY STILL HAVE THE CAR. I WANT THE NTSA TO INVESTIGATE THIS ENGINE STALL ISSUE WITH THE 1999 ACURA TL. I CALLED ACURA CLIENT RELATIONS TO REPORT THE PROBLEM ON 3/26/14. I ASKED THEM TO SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS COMPLAINT. I BELIEVE NTSA SHOULD GET INVOLVED TO GET ACURA TO CHECK/REBUILD THE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH AND CONDUCT A FRESH RECALL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS & SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT IS SIMILAR TO THE RECENT GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. ANY VEHICLE THAT SUDDENLY AND SILENTLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING INSTANTLY AND WITHOUT WARNING NEEDS NTSA'S IMMEDIATE ATTENTION BEFORE INJURYS AND DEATHS OCCUR. I HAVE LOST ALL FAITH IN ACURA TO SUCCESSFULLY REPAIR THIS IGNITION SWITCH/STALLING ISSUE AND CALL UPON NTSA TO GET INVOLVED TO INVESTIGATE THIS COMPLAINT TO DO WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO..SAVE LIVES AND PREVENT INJUTY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2014 - BROOKVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE MAIN FUEL RELAY HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 163,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/23/2013 - AUBURN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR A CHECK UP AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRAME WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/11/2013 - EASTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED AS SHE ATTEMPTED TO PARK IN HER GARAGE. THE CONTACT APPLIED IMMENSE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKES BUT WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A LAWN MOWER, A COMPRESSOR AND THEN A WALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HIP AREA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,000. THE CONSUMER STATED WITH HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, SHE SHIFTED INTO REVERSE, WHEN SUDDENLY THERE WAS A LOUD SHRILL NOISE, AS THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED, KNOCKING OVER A TABLE AND SPLINTERED THE PLEXIGLASS. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE IN REVERSE. THE VEHICLE SPUN AROUND AND WAS HEADED TOWARD A 350 FOOT STEEP DRIVEWAY. SHE CONTINUED TO BRAKE AND HELD ONTO TO THE STEERING WHEEL, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DIRECT THE VEHICLE TO THE LEFT AWAY FROM THE STEEP DRIVEWAY, WHEN SUDDENLY WITHOUT CHANGING GEARS, THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED TO GO FORWARD AND HALTED AFTER PLOWING INTO THE RIGHT DOOR ENTRANCE AND CONCRETE BASE OF THE GARAGE, WHICH CAUSED BOTH AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY . UPDATED 02/28/13 THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON PRIVATE PROPERTY, THEREFORE A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. UPDATED 03/19/13

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2012 - ITASCA, IL
WHILE DRIVING NUMEROUS TIMES ENGINE SHUTS DOWN. I TOOK NOTICE THAT THERE WERE NO COMMON ISSUES RELATED TO SPEED, WEATHER OUTSIDE, TIME OF YEAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED TOO MANY TIMES TO LIST. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS CAR THAT WAS PERFORMED BUT IT STILL HAPPENS WITH THE NEW IGNITION SWITCH. I KNOW THAT I HAVE TO REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

STEERING

10/31/2012 - IRVINGTON, NY
OVER A MONTH AGO, I NOTICED A SOUND WHENEVER I WOULD STEER THE VEHICLE. I CHECKED THE POWER STEERING FLUID LEVEL AND NOTED IT WAS LOW. I ADDED MORE FLUID TO THE APPROPRIATE LEVEL AND IN A WEEK OR SO, THE SOUND RETURNED. AFTER REPEATING THIS PROCESS, I THEN NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AFTER CHECKING SOME ONLINE FORUMS AND VISITING A SERVICE SHOP, I HAVE LEARNED THAT MY POWER STEERING PRESSURE HOSE HAS A LEAK THAT COULD POTENTIALLY START A FIRE. THE ACURA RECALL DOES NOT INCLUDE MY MODEL YEAR EVEN THOUGH I AM EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE. I'D LIKE FOR ACURA TO CORRECT THIS WIDESPREAD PROBLEM ON MY 1999 3.2 TL BEFORE IT GETS WORSE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

TIRES: VALVE

7/24/2012 - MIDLAND, VA
1999 ACURA 3.2 TL. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DEFECTIVE VALVE STEMS THE CONSUMER STATED HER SON HAD AN ACCIDENT DUE TO DEFECTIVE VALVE STEMS, THAT WERE INSTALLED ON HIS VEHICLE, WHICH RESULTED IN A DEATH.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES

3/29/2012 - ARLINGTON, MA
THE FLUID LEAKED OUT OF THE REARVIEW MIRROR, APPARENTLY FROM A FAILED SEAL ON THE BOTTOM OF THE MIRROR. THE IMAGE IN THE MIRROR IS NOW FUZZY AND SOMEWHAT DISTORTED. THE MIRROR NO LONGER HAS THE NIGHT DIMMING FUNCTION AND INSTEAD HEADLIGHTS COMING FROM BEHIND ARE REFLECTED BRIGHTLY INTO THE DRIVER'S EYES. I WILL NEED TO HAVE THE MIRROR REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/22/2011 - RIO LINDA, CA
I WAS DRIVING AT APPROX. 45 MPH WHEN I FELT MY CAR DIE, ALL MY GAUGES WENT DOWN AND I LOST POWER STEERING. LUCKILY I WAS CLOSE TO AN INTERSECTION AND PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND IT STARTED AGAIN. THEN ON THE WAY HOME, IT DID THE SAME THING IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY ROAD. THE CAR DIED AND I PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO START IT SEVERAL TIMES. IT FINALLY STARTED AND NOW I AM SCARED TO DRIVE IT! I LOOKED ON THE ACURA FORUMS- HTTP://TL.ACURAZINE.COM/FORUMS/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=719910 ACURA HAD A RECALL FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH. HOWEVER, THEY ONLY REPLACE IT ONCE AND UNFORTUNATELY IT APPEARS THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THEIR IGNITION SWITCHES SEVERAL TIMES. ACURA ONLY PAYS FOR THE 1ST REPLACEMENT. THAT'S AN OUTRAGE! THIS IS DANGEROUS. I HAD MY KIDS IN THE CAR AND THESE [XXX] CAR MANUFACTURERS NEED TO STEP UP AND FIX THEIR LIABILITIES AND GET IT RIGHT. THEY HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY TO MAKE THEIR PRODUCT SAFE AND CARE FOR THE LIVES OF THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE PURCHASED THEIR VEHICLES. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/26/2011 - MIRAMAR, FL
I WAS ABOUT TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A STOP SIGN IN THE PARKING LOT (ABOUT 6 FEET FROM STOP SIGN) AND THE CAR SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. I WAS GOING ABOUT 10 MILES/HR. I STARTED THE CAR - NO RESPONSE; IT WAS DEAD. TURNED ON 4 WAY HAZARD LIGHTS AND TRIED TO START IT AGIN - STILL NOTHING. MADE A PHONE CALL TO A FRIEND. AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES, STARTED THE CAR AGAIN AND THIS TIME IT STARTED. HOW SCARY!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds