Auto Recalls for Consumers

ACURA TL - 1999 ACURA TL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 134 complaints filed for the 1999 ACURA TL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 ACURA TL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 ACURA TL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine (2) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (37) Steering (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES

3/29/2012 - ARLINGTON, MA
THE FLUID LEAKED OUT OF THE REARVIEW MIRROR, APPARENTLY FROM A FAILED SEAL ON THE BOTTOM OF THE MIRROR. THE IMAGE IN THE MIRROR IS NOW FUZZY AND SOMEWHAT DISTORTED. THE MIRROR NO LONGER HAS THE NIGHT DIMMING FUNCTION AND INSTEAD HEADLIGHTS COMING FROM BEHIND ARE REFLECTED BRIGHTLY INTO THE DRIVER'S EYES. I WILL NEED TO HAVE THE MIRROR REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/22/2011 - RIO LINDA, CA
I WAS DRIVING AT APPROX. 45 MPH WHEN I FELT MY CAR DIE, ALL MY GAUGES WENT DOWN AND I LOST POWER STEERING. LUCKILY I WAS CLOSE TO AN INTERSECTION AND PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND IT STARTED AGAIN. THEN ON THE WAY HOME, IT DID THE SAME THING IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY ROAD. THE CAR DIED AND I PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO START IT SEVERAL TIMES. IT FINALLY STARTED AND NOW I AM SCARED TO DRIVE IT! I LOOKED ON THE ACURA FORUMS- HTTP://TL.ACURAZINE.COM/FORUMS/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=719910 ACURA HAD A RECALL FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH. HOWEVER, THEY ONLY REPLACE IT ONCE AND UNFORTUNATELY IT APPEARS THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THEIR IGNITION SWITCHES SEVERAL TIMES. ACURA ONLY PAYS FOR THE 1ST REPLACEMENT. THAT'S AN OUTRAGE! THIS IS DANGEROUS. I HAD MY KIDS IN THE CAR AND THESE [XXX] CAR MANUFACTURERS NEED TO STEP UP AND FIX THEIR LIABILITIES AND GET IT RIGHT. THEY HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY TO MAKE THEIR PRODUCT SAFE AND CARE FOR THE LIVES OF THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE PURCHASED THEIR VEHICLES. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/26/2011 - MIRAMAR, FL
I WAS ABOUT TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A STOP SIGN IN THE PARKING LOT (ABOUT 6 FEET FROM STOP SIGN) AND THE CAR SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. I WAS GOING ABOUT 10 MILES/HR. I STARTED THE CAR - NO RESPONSE; IT WAS DEAD. TURNED ON 4 WAY HAZARD LIGHTS AND TRIED TO START IT AGIN - STILL NOTHING. MADE A PHONE CALL TO A FRIEND. AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES, STARTED THE CAR AGAIN AND THIS TIME IT STARTED. HOW SCARY!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/5/2011 - BELVIDERE, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR COMPLETELY TURNED OFF ELECTRICALLY. I WAS REQUIRED TO PULL OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT ANY POWER ASSIST TO THE BRAKES OR STEERING. MY MECHANIC INDICATED THAT THERE WAS AN OLD RECALL OF THIS PART AND AFTER CHECKING WITH ACURA THEY STATED IT HAD BEEN REPLACED PREVIOUS TO MY OWNERSHIP. WHILE THE DEALERSHIP FIRST STATED THAT IT WAS COVERED WHEN THEY REPLACED THE PART THEY SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED AGAIN UNDER THE RECALL BY ACURA. WHEN I CALLED THE COMPANY TO INQUIRE ABOUT THIS AT FIRST THE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT IT WAS COVERED AND THEN SOMEONE ELSE SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED. EVEN THOUGH THEY AGREED TO REPLACE THIS PART FREE OF CHARGE THE DEALERSHIP WAS QUITE PUSHY THAT THEY WERE 'RIGHT' ABOUT IT NOT BEING 'COVERED'. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT THIS WAS A VERY SERIOUS INCIDENT, AND I BELIEVE THAT THE PART FOR WHAT EVER REASON SHOULD BE REPLACED W/O COST TO ANY CONSUMER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/31/2011 - WARRINGTON, PA
1999 ACURA TL. CONSUMER STATES PROBLEM WITH TRANSMISSION FAILURE THE CONSUMER STATED THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH. THE VEHICLE STARTED JERKING AND THE CONSUMER LOST TOTAL POWER. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, BUT WELL WITHIN THE MILEAGE RANGE FOR REPAIRS, BUT ACURA REFUSED ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2011 - AMES, IA
THE DRIVER OF THIS CAR HAS OWNED THE CAR FOR 1 YEAR. THE DRIVER EXITED HIS CAR AT A GAS STATION AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF, REMOVING HIS KEYS FROM THE IGNITION AND LOCKING HIS VEHICLE. HE CAME BACK OUT OF THE CONVENIENCE STORE TO FIND THAT HIS VEHICLE HAD ROLLED BACKWARDS DOWN A SLIGHT GRADE TO COLLIDE WITH ANOTHER CAR, CAUSING A LOT OF DAMAGE TO THE REAR END OF THE DRIVER'S CAR (EST. $3,000). HE FOUND UPON INSPECTION THAT THE CAR HAD NOT BEEN REMOVED FROM DRIVE, BUT YET THE CAR ALLOWED HIM TO REMOVE HIS KEYS FROM THE IGNITION. UPON RESEARCHING LATER, HE FOUND THAT HIS CAR HAD BEEN SUBJECT TO A RECALL FOR THIS VERY REASON IN 2004. HE IS NOT AWARE IF THE PREVIOUS OWNER HAD COMPLIED WITH THE VOLUNTARY RECALL. HONDA MADE NO EFFORT TO INFORM THE NEW OWNER OF THE RECALL OR IF IT HAD BEEN FIXED, BUT TOOK THE TIME AND EFFORT TO OFFER HIM AN EXTENDED WARRANTY WHEN HE PURCHASED THE CAR. HE'D LIKE TO KNOW IF THE VEHICLE'S BEEN FIXED OR NOT, AND IF A REPLACEMENT PART HAD BEEN INSTALLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/12/2011 - LITHIA SPRINGS, GA
I PURCHASED THE 99 ACURA 3.2TL WITH 105K MILES. I DROVE TO CHARLOTTE, NC WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. FOUND OUT IT WAS FOR THE TRANSMISSION AND LATER HAD IT CONFIRMED THAT THE SOLENOID HAS THE ERROR. ACURA SAYS THE WARRANTY EXTENSION WAS THEIR ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM, WHICH NEVER CORRECTED THE ACTUAL DEFECT. IN MY CASE, THE CAR TOOK ALMOST THIRTEEN YEARS TO FINALLY GET TO THE MILEAGE WHERE THE TRANSMISSION FAILS, THOUGH NOW ACURA SAYS ITS NOT RESPONSIBLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2011 - YOUNGSVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL FOLLOWED BY THE VEHICLE STALLING. THE CONTACT WAITED FOR THE TEMPERATURE OF THE VEHICLE TO COOL AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE VEHICLE STALLED APPROXIMATELY SEVEN TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS NOR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2011 - FULLERTON, CA
ON DECEMBER 28, 2010, MY 1999 ACURA 3.2TL ENGINE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING WITHOUT ANY DASHBOARD WARNING LIGHTS. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE AND TRIED TURNING THE ENGINE BACK ON. IT TURNED ON AND DROVE FOR ABOUT 2 MINUTES BUT SHUT OFF AGAIN. THIS REPEATED 6 ~7 TIMES UNTIL I BARELY REACHED HOME. I CHECKED MY RECALL NOTICES AND HAVE A RECORD OF CHANGING MY IGNITION SWITCH UNDER RECALL BACK IN FEBRUARY 21, 2003. I SEARCHED ONLINE AND MANY PEOPLE WERE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM OF REPLACING THE IGNITION SWITCH MORE THAN ONCE. I PURCHASED THE PART AND REPLACED IT MYSELF IN MY GARAGE. AFTERWARDS, THE PROBLEM WAS GONE AND MY ENGINE NEVER SHUT OFF SINCE THAN. I CALLED ACURA AND INFORMED THEM OF MY INCIDENT AND SINCERELY ASKED THEM TO SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS MATTER. I HAD TOLD THEM IF THE PART FAILED AGAIN, THEY NEED TO CHECK/REBUILD THE PART AND CONDUCT A FRESH RECALL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS & SERIOUS PROBLEM. A VEHICLE SUDDENLY & SILENTLY SHUTS DOWN AND LOSES POWER INSTANTLY WITHOUT ANY WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/9/2011 - ST PETERS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA 3.2TL. UPON SHIFTING THE VEHICLE INTO REVERSE, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE COULD BE HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND A WHINING NOISE COULD BE HEARD BEFORE THE GEAR SET INTO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 73,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds