Auto Recalls for Consumers

ACURA TL - 1999 ACURA TL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 143 complaints filed for the 1999 ACURA TL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 ACURA TL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 ACURA TL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (38) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (55) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (7)
Engine (5) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/19/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD JERK AND THE GEARS WOULD SLIP INTERMITTENTLY WHILE IN DRIVE, REVERSE OR PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TCC SOLENOID AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 198,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/3/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
ON JULY 23, 2011, MY HAND AND ELBOW WERE PERMANENTLY DISABLED, WHEN MY 1999 ACURA TL ROLLED BACKWARDS DOWN THE DRIVEWAY AND KNOCKED ME DOWN. AS I TRIED TO STOP IT FROM ROLLING DOWN THE DRIVEWAY BUT THE CAR WON. THE CAR WAS IN PARK AND THE BRAKE WAS ENGAGED, BUT IT STILL ROLLED BACKWARDS. THE CAR HAD BEEN IN FOR SERVICE AT LEAST THREE TIMES PREVIOUS TO THE ACCIDENT IN 04-20-11,05-16-11, AND 06-22-11. EACH TIME, THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO MUNGENAST ACURA FOR SERVICE YET NOT ONCE DID THEY MENTION THE RECALL OF THE INTERLOCKING SWITCH TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM. THEIR NEGLIGENCE IN THIS MATTER DIRECTLY CONTRIBUTED TO THIS ACCIDENT AND MY PERMANENT DISABILITY. THEY JUST REPLACED THE SWITCH WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO TURN OVER BUT STALL OUT AS I REPORTED TO THEM 3-13-14. THEIR DISREGARD FOR MY SAFETY AND HONDA'S REFUSAL TO ADDRESS MY CONCERNS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OUTLANDISH. TIFFANY IN HONDA CLIENT RELATIONS PRETTY MUCH STATED SO WHAT TO BAD WE ARE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING AND REFUSED TO ALLOW ME TO SPEAK TO ANYONE ABOVE HER. SHE TOLD ME TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP THIS IS NOT HONDA'S PROBLEM. SHE PLACED A CALL TO THE DEALERSHIP AND NO ONE CALLED HER BACK. I WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE BBB, NHTSA AND ANYONE ELSE THAT I WANTED TO CONTACT. SHE WAS NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING. I ASKED HER TO PUT HER POSITION IN WRITING TO ME. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY CORRESPONDENCE. I WANT RESTITUTION FOR THE NEGLIGENCE OF BOTH OF THESE PARTIES. LETTERS WILL GO OUT TO ALL REPORTING AGENCIES. UPDATED 04/21/14 UPDATED 07/24/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
ON JULY 23, 2011, MY HAND AND ELBOW WERE PERMANENTLY DISABLED, WHEN MY 1999 ACURA TL ROLLED BACKWARDS DOWN THE DRIVEWAY AND KNOCKED ME DOWN. AS I TRIED TO STOP IT FROM ROLLING DOWN THE DRIVEWAY BUT THE CAR WON. THE CAR WAS IN PARK AND THE BRAKE WAS ENGAGED, BUT IT STILL ROLLED BACKWARDS. THE CAR HAD BEEN IN FOR SERVICE AT LEAST THREE TIMES PREVIOUS TO THE ACCIDENT IN 04-20-11,05-16-11, AND 06-22-11. EACH TIME, THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO MUNGENAST ACURA FOR SERVICE YET NOT ONCE DID THEY MENTION THE RECALL OF THE INTERLOCKING SWITCH TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM. THEIR NEGLIGENCE IN THIS MATTER DIRECTLY CONTRIBUTED TO THIS ACCIDENT AND MY PERMANENT DISABILITY. THEY JUST REPLACED THE SWITCH WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO TURN OVER BUT STALL OUT AS I REPORTED TO THEM 3-13-14. THEIR DISREGARD FOR MY SAFETY AND HONDA'S REFUSAL TO ADDRESS MY CONCERNS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OUTLANDISH. TIFFANY IN HONDA CLIENT RELATIONS PRETTY MUCH STATED SO WHAT TO BAD WE ARE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING AND REFUSED TO ALLOW ME TO SPEAK TO ANYONE ABOVE HER. SHE TOLD ME TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP THIS IS NOT HONDA'S PROBLEM. SHE PLACED A CALL TO THE DEALERSHIP AND NO ONE CALLED HER BACK. I WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE BBB, NHTSA AND ANYONE ELSE THAT I WANTED TO CONTACT. SHE WAS NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING. I ASKED HER TO PUT HER POSITION IN WRITING TO ME. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY CORRESPONDENCE. I WANT RESTITUTION FOR THE NEGLIGENCE OF BOTH OF THESE PARTIES. LETTERS WILL GO OUT TO ALL REPORTING AGENCIES. UPDATED 04/21/14 UPDATED 07/24/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - BROOKEVILLE, MD
ON 3/15/14 MY 1999 ACURA TL STALLED/ENGINE SHUT OF COMPLETELY WITHOUT ANY WARNING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. 2ND TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS DRIVING 40 MPH ON 3/22/14 & 3RD TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS DRIVING 10 MPH ON 3/27/14. EACH TIME IT HAPPENED THE ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY BUT, THE RADIO AND WARNING LIGHT IN THE DASH FLASHED ON AND OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP WITHOUT POWER STEERING. AFTER 3-4 ATTEMPS TO RESTART THE CAR, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE OFF WITHOUT INCIDENT. IT HAPPENS SO RANDOM AND WITHOUT WARNING THAT I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS CAR. THE CAR HAS HAD A RECALL OF THE IGNITION SWITCH PERFORMED IN 2003 BY THE ACURA DEALER. ON 3/24/14 I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY HAVE TROUBLE DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM. THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR 4 DAYS. THEY REPLACED THE MAIN FUEL RELAY, PERFORMED AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, PERFORMED A RECALL ON THE IGNITION INTERLOCK AND ROAD TESTED THE CAR. I PICKED UP THE CAR ON 3/27/14 AND IT STALLED LATER THAT DAY AS I WAS DRIVING AWAY FROM MY HOME. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON 3/28/14 AND THEY STILL HAVE THE CAR. I WANT THE NTSA TO INVESTIGATE THIS ENGINE STALL ISSUE WITH THE 1999 ACURA TL. I CALLED ACURA CLIENT RELATIONS TO REPORT THE PROBLEM ON 3/26/14. I ASKED THEM TO SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS COMPLAINT. I BELIEVE NTSA SHOULD GET INVOLVED TO GET ACURA TO CHECK/REBUILD THE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH AND CONDUCT A FRESH RECALL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS & SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT IS SIMILAR TO THE RECENT GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. ANY VEHICLE THAT SUDDENLY AND SILENTLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING INSTANTLY AND WITHOUT WARNING NEEDS NTSA'S IMMEDIATE ATTENTION BEFORE INJURYS AND DEATHS OCCUR. I HAVE LOST ALL FAITH IN ACURA TO SUCCESSFULLY REPAIR THIS IGNITION SWITCH/STALLING ISSUE AND CALL UPON NTSA TO GET INVOLVED TO INVESTIGATE THIS COMPLAINT TO DO WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO..SAVE LIVES AND PREVENT INJUTY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - BROOKEVILLE, MD
ON 3/15/14 MY 1999 ACURA TL STALLED/ENGINE SHUT OF COMPLETELY WITHOUT ANY WARNING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. 2ND TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS DRIVING 40 MPH ON 3/22/14 & 3RD TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS DRIVING 10 MPH ON 3/27/14. EACH TIME IT HAPPENED THE ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY BUT, THE RADIO AND WARNING LIGHT IN THE DASH FLASHED ON AND OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP WITHOUT POWER STEERING. AFTER 3-4 ATTEMPS TO RESTART THE CAR, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE OFF WITHOUT INCIDENT. IT HAPPENS SO RANDOM AND WITHOUT WARNING THAT I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS CAR. THE CAR HAS HAD A RECALL OF THE IGNITION SWITCH PERFORMED IN 2003 BY THE ACURA DEALER. ON 3/24/14 I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY HAVE TROUBLE DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM. THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR 4 DAYS. THEY REPLACED THE MAIN FUEL RELAY, PERFORMED AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, PERFORMED A RECALL ON THE IGNITION INTERLOCK AND ROAD TESTED THE CAR. I PICKED UP THE CAR ON 3/27/14 AND IT STALLED LATER THAT DAY AS I WAS DRIVING AWAY FROM MY HOME. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON 3/28/14 AND THEY STILL HAVE THE CAR. I WANT THE NTSA TO INVESTIGATE THIS ENGINE STALL ISSUE WITH THE 1999 ACURA TL. I CALLED ACURA CLIENT RELATIONS TO REPORT THE PROBLEM ON 3/26/14. I ASKED THEM TO SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS COMPLAINT. I BELIEVE NTSA SHOULD GET INVOLVED TO GET ACURA TO CHECK/REBUILD THE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH AND CONDUCT A FRESH RECALL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS & SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT IS SIMILAR TO THE RECENT GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. ANY VEHICLE THAT SUDDENLY AND SILENTLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING INSTANTLY AND WITHOUT WARNING NEEDS NTSA'S IMMEDIATE ATTENTION BEFORE INJURYS AND DEATHS OCCUR. I HAVE LOST ALL FAITH IN ACURA TO SUCCESSFULLY REPAIR THIS IGNITION SWITCH/STALLING ISSUE AND CALL UPON NTSA TO GET INVOLVED TO INVESTIGATE THIS COMPLAINT TO DO WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO..SAVE LIVES AND PREVENT INJUTY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2014 - BROOKVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE MAIN FUEL RELAY HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 163,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/23/2013 - AUBURN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR A CHECK UP AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRAME WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/11/2013 - EASTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED AS SHE ATTEMPTED TO PARK IN HER GARAGE. THE CONTACT APPLIED IMMENSE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKES BUT WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A LAWN MOWER, A COMPRESSOR AND THEN A WALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HIP AREA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,000. THE CONSUMER STATED WITH HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, SHE SHIFTED INTO REVERSE, WHEN SUDDENLY THERE WAS A LOUD SHRILL NOISE, AS THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED, KNOCKING OVER A TABLE AND SPLINTERED THE PLEXIGLASS. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE IN REVERSE. THE VEHICLE SPUN AROUND AND WAS HEADED TOWARD A 350 FOOT STEEP DRIVEWAY. SHE CONTINUED TO BRAKE AND HELD ONTO TO THE STEERING WHEEL, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DIRECT THE VEHICLE TO THE LEFT AWAY FROM THE STEEP DRIVEWAY, WHEN SUDDENLY WITHOUT CHANGING GEARS, THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED TO GO FORWARD AND HALTED AFTER PLOWING INTO THE RIGHT DOOR ENTRANCE AND CONCRETE BASE OF THE GARAGE, WHICH CAUSED BOTH AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY . UPDATED 02/28/13 THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON PRIVATE PROPERTY, THEREFORE A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. UPDATED 03/19/13

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2012 - ITASCA, IL
WHILE DRIVING NUMEROUS TIMES ENGINE SHUTS DOWN. I TOOK NOTICE THAT THERE WERE NO COMMON ISSUES RELATED TO SPEED, WEATHER OUTSIDE, TIME OF YEAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED TOO MANY TIMES TO LIST. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS CAR THAT WAS PERFORMED BUT IT STILL HAPPENS WITH THE NEW IGNITION SWITCH. I KNOW THAT I HAVE TO REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

STEERING

10/31/2012 - IRVINGTON, NY
OVER A MONTH AGO, I NOTICED A SOUND WHENEVER I WOULD STEER THE VEHICLE. I CHECKED THE POWER STEERING FLUID LEVEL AND NOTED IT WAS LOW. I ADDED MORE FLUID TO THE APPROPRIATE LEVEL AND IN A WEEK OR SO, THE SOUND RETURNED. AFTER REPEATING THIS PROCESS, I THEN NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AFTER CHECKING SOME ONLINE FORUMS AND VISITING A SERVICE SHOP, I HAVE LEARNED THAT MY POWER STEERING PRESSURE HOSE HAS A LEAK THAT COULD POTENTIALLY START A FIRE. THE ACURA RECALL DOES NOT INCLUDE MY MODEL YEAR EVEN THOUGH I AM EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE. I'D LIKE FOR ACURA TO CORRECT THIS WIDESPREAD PROBLEM ON MY 1999 3.2 TL BEFORE IT GETS WORSE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds