Auto Recalls for Consumers

ACURA TL - 1999 ACURA TL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 132 complaints filed for the 1999 ACURA TL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 ACURA TL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 ACURA TL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (36) Steering (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/31/2011 - WARRINGTON, PA
1999 ACURA TL. CONSUMER STATES PROBLEM WITH TRANSMISSION FAILURE THE CONSUMER STATED THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH. THE VEHICLE STARTED JERKING AND THE CONSUMER LOST TOTAL POWER. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, BUT WELL WITHIN THE MILEAGE RANGE FOR REPAIRS, BUT ACURA REFUSED ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2011 - AMES, IA
THE DRIVER OF THIS CAR HAS OWNED THE CAR FOR 1 YEAR. THE DRIVER EXITED HIS CAR AT A GAS STATION AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF, REMOVING HIS KEYS FROM THE IGNITION AND LOCKING HIS VEHICLE. HE CAME BACK OUT OF THE CONVENIENCE STORE TO FIND THAT HIS VEHICLE HAD ROLLED BACKWARDS DOWN A SLIGHT GRADE TO COLLIDE WITH ANOTHER CAR, CAUSING A LOT OF DAMAGE TO THE REAR END OF THE DRIVER'S CAR (EST. $3,000). HE FOUND UPON INSPECTION THAT THE CAR HAD NOT BEEN REMOVED FROM DRIVE, BUT YET THE CAR ALLOWED HIM TO REMOVE HIS KEYS FROM THE IGNITION. UPON RESEARCHING LATER, HE FOUND THAT HIS CAR HAD BEEN SUBJECT TO A RECALL FOR THIS VERY REASON IN 2004. HE IS NOT AWARE IF THE PREVIOUS OWNER HAD COMPLIED WITH THE VOLUNTARY RECALL. HONDA MADE NO EFFORT TO INFORM THE NEW OWNER OF THE RECALL OR IF IT HAD BEEN FIXED, BUT TOOK THE TIME AND EFFORT TO OFFER HIM AN EXTENDED WARRANTY WHEN HE PURCHASED THE CAR. HE'D LIKE TO KNOW IF THE VEHICLE'S BEEN FIXED OR NOT, AND IF A REPLACEMENT PART HAD BEEN INSTALLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/12/2011 - LITHIA SPRINGS, GA
I PURCHASED THE 99 ACURA 3.2TL WITH 105K MILES. I DROVE TO CHARLOTTE, NC WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. FOUND OUT IT WAS FOR THE TRANSMISSION AND LATER HAD IT CONFIRMED THAT THE SOLENOID HAS THE ERROR. ACURA SAYS THE WARRANTY EXTENSION WAS THEIR ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM, WHICH NEVER CORRECTED THE ACTUAL DEFECT. IN MY CASE, THE CAR TOOK ALMOST THIRTEEN YEARS TO FINALLY GET TO THE MILEAGE WHERE THE TRANSMISSION FAILS, THOUGH NOW ACURA SAYS ITS NOT RESPONSIBLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2011 - YOUNGSVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL FOLLOWED BY THE VEHICLE STALLING. THE CONTACT WAITED FOR THE TEMPERATURE OF THE VEHICLE TO COOL AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE VEHICLE STALLED APPROXIMATELY SEVEN TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS NOR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2011 - FULLERTON, CA
ON DECEMBER 28, 2010, MY 1999 ACURA 3.2TL ENGINE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING WITHOUT ANY DASHBOARD WARNING LIGHTS. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE AND TRIED TURNING THE ENGINE BACK ON. IT TURNED ON AND DROVE FOR ABOUT 2 MINUTES BUT SHUT OFF AGAIN. THIS REPEATED 6 ~7 TIMES UNTIL I BARELY REACHED HOME. I CHECKED MY RECALL NOTICES AND HAVE A RECORD OF CHANGING MY IGNITION SWITCH UNDER RECALL BACK IN FEBRUARY 21, 2003. I SEARCHED ONLINE AND MANY PEOPLE WERE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM OF REPLACING THE IGNITION SWITCH MORE THAN ONCE. I PURCHASED THE PART AND REPLACED IT MYSELF IN MY GARAGE. AFTERWARDS, THE PROBLEM WAS GONE AND MY ENGINE NEVER SHUT OFF SINCE THAN. I CALLED ACURA AND INFORMED THEM OF MY INCIDENT AND SINCERELY ASKED THEM TO SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS MATTER. I HAD TOLD THEM IF THE PART FAILED AGAIN, THEY NEED TO CHECK/REBUILD THE PART AND CONDUCT A FRESH RECALL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS & SERIOUS PROBLEM. A VEHICLE SUDDENLY & SILENTLY SHUTS DOWN AND LOSES POWER INSTANTLY WITHOUT ANY WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/9/2011 - ST PETERS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA 3.2TL. UPON SHIFTING THE VEHICLE INTO REVERSE, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE COULD BE HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND A WHINING NOISE COULD BE HEARD BEFORE THE GEAR SET INTO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 73,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AXLE ASSEMBLY

10/5/2010 - SMITHTOWN, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ACURA TL. WHEN THE CONTACT DROVE INTO A PARKING LOT THE FRONT AXLE BROKE AND FELL ON THE GROUND. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL HIT THE HUB CAP AND DAMAGED THE TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENCE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED HER THAT THERE WERE NO RELATED RECALLS AND THAT SHE WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/20/2010 - CONYERS, GA
99 ACURA TL, SINGLE OWNER, ROUTINE MAINTENANCE FOLLOWED BY THE BOOK. HAD IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED AFTER RECALL IN 2002. 3 MONTHS AGO AT ABOUT 165,000 ENGINE STARTED CUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING. HAD IT CHECK BY TWO PLACES BUT NEITHER HAD A SOLUTION. STARTED USING GAS TREATMENTS AND DID NOT HAVE ANY FURTHER PROBLEMS UNTIL YESTERDAY. DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY MIDDLE LANE, THE CAR CUT OFF (9:00PM) HAD TO CROSS 4 LANES OF TRAFFIC TO GET TO THE EMERGENCY LANE WHILE COASTING - VERY SCARY DODGING 18WHEELERS. MADE IT TO THE SIDE TRIED TO START, WOULD NOT START. WAITED 5 MINUTES, STARTED AGAIN AND MOVED ABOUT 100 FEET TOWARDS AN EXIT BEFORE IT CUT OFF AGAIN. REPEATED PROCESS THIS TIME MADE IT TO THE EXIT AND WAITED FOR SPOUSE. MY SPOUSE DROVE THE CAR HOME NO PROBLEM. NEXT MORNING TRYING TO GO TO WORK CAR SHUT DOWN ON THE HIGHWAY AGAIN AFTER TRAVELING ABOUT 5 MILES FROM MY HOUSE. TRIED TO GET IT BACK HOME TO A GOODYEAR BY THE HOUSE. IT CUT OFF 8 TIMES DURING THAT TIME. GOODYEAR ANALYZED IT AND SAID IT LOOKED LIKE THE IGNITION SWITCH. CALLED ACURA AND WAS TOLD IF I ALREADY HAD THE REPAIR ANOTHER REPAIR WOULD NOT BE COVERED AND ACURA WAS THE ONLY ONE THAT COULD DETERMINE THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS INDEED THE PROBLEM. I CANNOT RISK DRIVING 45 MILES TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP JUST FOR THEM TO TELL ME THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH IS NOT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2010 - LANSDALE, PA
I OWN A 99 ACURA TL 3.2 WHICH TURNED OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING 35MPH THREE WEEKS AGO. I THEN HAD THE CAR IN THE SHOP TO BE LOOKED AT, AND THEY REPLACED MY CABLES. THEN LAST WEEK I WAS DRIVING 40MPH AND THE CAR TURNED OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT AGAIN! I LUCKILY HAD BEEN IN A LOCAL AREA BOTH TIMES AND MANAGED TO TURN THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD SUCCESSFULLY. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS CAR EVER AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/3/2010 - WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 1999 ACURA TL ON THE FREEWAY AT A SPEED OF 65 MPH WHEN THE IGNITION SHUT OFF AND THE CAR QUICKLY LOST SPEED IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I WAS IN THE RIGHT LANE AND I MANAGED TO COAST OFF THE FREEWAY BUT I HAD NO POWER STEERING AND I HIT A CONCRETE BARRIER BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. AFTER REPEATEDLY ATTEMPTING TO RESTART THE CAR OVER A PERIOD OF FIVE MINUTES THE IGNITION TURNED ON AGAIN AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR HOME. A QUICK INVESTIGATION OF PRODUCT RECALLS FOR THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL REVEALED THAT THERE WAS AN OFFICIAL NOTICE OF RECALL FOR THE ELECTRONIC IGNITION SWITCH ISSUED BY HONDA OF AMERICA FOR THIS CAR BUT I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF IT AND INQUIRIES TO AN ACURA DEALER IN SANTA MONICA, CA ONLY RESULTED IN DENIALS THAT MY CAR HAD THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds