Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

1/6/2005 - FOREST HILLS, NY
CONSUMER RECEIVED ONE OF SEVERAL RECALL NOTIFICATIONS FROM THE MANUFACTURER, AND TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, WHO WANTED FOR CONSUMER TO LEAVE A CREDIT CARD AND THEN THEY WILL REPAIR ALL DEFECTS, EVEN THOSE NOT RELATED TO THE RECALL, AND CHARGE CONSUMER ADDITIONAL EXPENSES NOT IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE RECALL. RECALL CAMPAIGN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER : 01V157000 CONSEQUENCE: RUNNING OUT OF FUEL WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE FUEL GAUGE INDICATES THAT THERE IS SUFFICIENT FUEL IN THE TANK LEAD TO SAFETY PROBLEMS. VEHICLE ABS LIGHT WAS ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

12/22/2004 - DANBURY, CT
(1) ABS/BRAKE LIGHT INDICATORS APPEARED ON THE DASH. THE AMBER (ABS LIGHT) STAYS ON WHILE THE RED BRAKE LIGHT BLINKS. AN AUDIBLE ALERT SOUNDS FOR 3 SECONDS, BUT THE LIGHTS STAY ON. THIS INDICATES THAT THE ABS CONTROL MODULE IS MALFUNCTIONING, THUS LOOSING ABS ABILITIES. (2) AFTER RESEARCHING THROUGH AUDI FORUMS (AUDIWORLD.COM OR AUDIFORUMS.COM), I DISCOVERED THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE IN AUDI'S (1997-2001), INCLUDING A4'S, A6'S AND VW PASSATS. IT IS SPECULATED THAT WATER OR MOISTURE SEEKS INTO THE MODULE COMPUTER BOARD, THUS SHORTS IT OUT. IT WAS CONFIRMED BY MY AUDI DEALER THAT MY ABS UNIT IS DEFECTIVE. I RECEIVED A $2,400 ESTIMATE TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. (3) NOTHING, TOO EXPENSIVE- MY BIGGER ISSUE HERE IS SAFETY- MOST AUDI/VW OWNERS AREN'T AWARE THAT THIS IS A RECURRING/FREQUENT PROBLEM IN THEIR CARS, BECAUSE IT'S USUALLY CAUGHT UNDER WARRANTY. IF YOU?RE LIKE ME AND HAVE AN EXPIRED WARRANTY YOU ARE PAYING THROUGH THE NOSE. I CALLED AUDI OF AMERICA TO ALERT THEM ABOUT THIS DEFECT AND ASKED THEM TO RECALL IT NATIONALLY- THEY SAID NO BECAUSE MY CAR IS OLDER. TO THAT POINT, WHY DID THEY RECALL THE THROTTLE BODY, LOWER CONTROL ARMS AND A PLASTIC WIRE PROTECTOR ON 12/15/04 IF MY CAR IS SO-CALLED "OLDER?" AGAIN THEY CAN'T JUSTIFY IT. THAT LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT IT WOULD COST THEM TOO MUCH MONEY! I AM HOPING THAT SOMEONE DOESN'T GET INJURED BECAUSE OF MONEY OR IT TAKES AN ACCIDENT TO GET THIS (ABS MODULE) DEFECT RECALLED, THEN I AM SURE AUDI WILL END UP PAYING 10X MORE. PLEASE MAKE THIS RECALL HAPPEN AS WELL AS ASK AUDI TO INFORM THEIR OWNERS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

12/17/2004 - LEXINGTON PARK, MD
FOR THE PAST SEVERAL WINTERS, MY 1999 AUDI A6 2.8 QUATTRO HAS HAD A FAILURE IN ITS CRUISE CONTROL MECHANISM. WHEN EVER IT GETS COLD THE CRUISE CONTROL OFTEN DOES NOT ENGAGE, AND IF IT IS REALLY COLD IT MAY DISENGAGE AFTER RUNNING FOR AWHILE EVEN ON LEVEL PAVEMENT (I.E. NOT UNDO ENGINE STRAIN-NORMAL FOR DISENGAGEMENT). THE MAJOR PROBLEM LIES IN THAT, AT LEAST TWICE, EVEN THOUGH THE CRUISE CONTROL HAS NOT BEEN MADE TO ENGAGE ON PRIOR ATTEMPTS, IT HAS ENGAGED LATTER ON ITS OWN, WITHOUT PROMPTING, BRINGING THE CAR UP TO SPEED. CASE IN POINT: ONE TIME WHEN COMING INTO A RESIDENTIAL AREA, IT SUDDENLY ENGAGED, AND STARTED TO TRY AND COME UP TO HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE DEALERSHIP HAS TRIED SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RECTIFY THIS FAULT, BUT HAS BEEN UNABLE TO FIND A SOLUTION. I HAVE EVEN OFFERED TO DRIVE MY CAR UP TO THEIR NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS FOR THEIR ENGINEERS TO LOOK AT. NOW AUDI USA, WILL DO NO MORE TOWARD THIS EFFORT, IN WHAT I CONSIDER A SERIOUS AND POSSIBLE DANGEROUS MATTER.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

12/11/2004 - UNIONVILLE, CT
I RECENTLY BROUGHT OUR 1999 AUDI A-6 IN FOR A RECALL RELATED TO INSPECTION OF THE FRONT SUSPENSION LOWER CONTROL ARMS TO SEE IF THE BOOTS WERE DEGRADED. ONE WAS AND IT WAS REPLACED. THE SURPRISE CAME WHEN I WAS TOLD THEY FOUND ANOTHER PROBLEM NOT COVERED BY A RECALL OR WARRANTY - THAT IS THE LEFT TIE ROD REQUIRED REPLACEMENT. DOING RESEARCH I FOUND THAT RECALLS 99V248000 AND 00V414000 REQUIRED INSPECTION OF THE TIE ROD SEALS. FOR SOME REASON, MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL - THIS IS WHAT I WAS TOLD. FURTHER, I HAVE SEEN IN THIS WEB SITE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS OF 99 A-6S RE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HEARD ONE PERSON IN MY DEALERS SERVICE DEPT. WAITING ROOM GRIPING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM TOO. I BELIEVE THAT ALL 1999 AUDI A-6S SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR INSPECTION OF THIS PROBLEM. AT THE VERY LEAST, YOU SHOULD BE OPENING AN INVESTIGATION - THIS IS A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM - JUST LIKE YOUR RECENT RECALL OF DODGE SUVS AND TRUCKS. FURTHERMORE, THOSE OF US WHO HAVE PAID SEVERELY HUNDRED DOLLARS TO HAVE THIS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM FIXED SHOULD BE REIMBURSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

10/20/2004 - CARY, NC
WE HAVE AN 1999 AUDI A6 QUATTRO WITH ONLY 35 ,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER.RECENTLY DISCOVERED AN OIL LEAK UNDER VEHICLE, FOUND OUT FROM AUDI SERVICE THAT THE PROP SHAFT/TRANSMISSION SEAL IS LEAKING. I QUESTIONED THE SERVICE REP AND HE SAID, HE'S SEEN IT HAPPEN ON OTHERS WITH 20,000 MILES ON THE CARS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: SWITCH

9/29/2004 - WELLESLEY, MA
CONSUMER RECEIVED RECALL 04V133000. CONSUMER WENT TO THE DEALER, AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NO HURRY TO GET THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. ONE MONTH LATER THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. AK

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

9/28/2004 - ISHPEMING, MI
VEHICLE WAS RECALLED FOR A FAULTY FUEL GAUGE. ABOUT FOUR YEARS LATER THE GAUGE HAD STOPPED PROVIDING ACCURATE FUEL READINGS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/14/2004 - AURORA, CO
WHILE DRIVING, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED ON AND REMAINED ON. THE DRIVER NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD HESITATE WHILE DRIVING. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE DRIVER THAT THE SENSOR NEEDED REPLACEMENT. PLEASE FILL IN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

9/11/2004 - PORTLAND, OR
WATER PUMP FAILED SUDDENLY AT 56,000 MILES WHILE ON VACATION TRIP. CAR IMMEDIATELY OVERHEATED, AND WAS NOT DRIVABLE WITHOUT RISK OF SERIOUS DAMAGE TO ENGINE. OCCURRED SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES FROM NEAREST AUDI DEALER. COST TO REPLACE OVER $600 PLUS $400 FOR HOTEL & FOOD FOR TWO NIGHTS (WORK PERFORMED BY LOCAL VW DEALER BECUASE NEAREST AUDI DEALER SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES AWAY; HAD TO WAIT OVERNIGHT FOR PARTS TO COME FROM AUDI DEALER; AUDI USA WILL NOT WARRANY VW'S CANADA'S WORK, ONLY PARTS, EVEN THOUGH AUDI IS A SUBSIDIARY OF VW). NUMEROUS REPORTS OF SAME PROBLEM (WATER PUMP FAILURE AT LOW MILES) AT AUDI OWNERS SITE WWW.AUDIWORLD.COM; AUDI OWNERS MANUAL SUGGEST WATER PUMP SERVICE AT 90,000 MILES. CAR SERVICED PER AUDI'S RECOMMENDED SCHEDULE & USUALLY BY DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

8/19/2004 - EL GRANADA, CA
ABS CONTROLLER FAULTY. ABS WARNING LIGHT ON AND FLASHING BRAKE WARNING LIGHT. AME PART APPEARS TO ALSO GIVE SAME PROBLEM ON VW PASSATS AND AUDI A4.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds