Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2008 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ON MAY 2ND, 2007 I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE FOR REPAIR TO BEVERLY HILLS AUDI SERVICE. SPECIFICALLY I INFORMED HIM THAT THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM THE VEHICLE THAT PENETRATED MY SINUSES LIKE SULFUR. BEVERLY HILLS AUDI SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE SAME SMELL AND BURNING SENSATION DURING THAT WEEK. THEY ADVISED ME THAT CERTAIN PARTS NEEDED TO BE CHANGED AND I AUTHORIZED THE REPAIR TOTALING ALMOST $2,000.00. ON MAY 10TH, 2007 I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE AND DROVE IT FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS. ON MAY 16TH, 2007 I CONTACTED BEVERLY HILLS AUDI SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND ADVISED MY SERVICE ADVISER THAT I COULD STILL SMELL THE BURNING IN THE CAR AND THAT IT WAS UNBEARABLE. I PROCEEDED TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND ON THE WAY THE CAR BEGAN TO BURN A HORRIBLE SMELL AND WITHIN A FEW MOMENTS THERE WERE FLAMES COMING OUT OF THE DASHBOARD FROM THE AC VENTS. I IMMEDIATELY SHUT DOWN THE CAR AND PROCEEDED TO THE LEFT OF THE 405 NORTH FREEWAY AND PUT THE CAR TO A STOP. AT THAT TIME THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY IN FLAMES AND I WAS FORTUNATE TO GET THE DOOR OPEN. I RAN AWAY AND WATCHED THE CAR BLOW UP AND GO INTO COMPLETE FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE ARRIVED MINUTES LATER. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT DETERMINED IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL FIRE FROM THE DASHBOARD. I RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET (NHTSA) IF THEIR HAD BEEN ISSUES WITH AUDI A6 VEHICLES CATCHING ON FIRE AND FOUND THAT THEIR HAD BEEN A RECALL CAMPAIGN INITIATED IN JULY 26TH, 2004. IT STATED THAT IN CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES A FIRE COULD ORIGINATE IN THE LEFT DASHBOARD AREA. I CONTACTED THE BEVERLY HILLS SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE RECALL HAD NOT BEEN PERFORMED ON MY VEHICLE. MY VEHICLE HAD BEEN SERVICED TEN TIMES SINCE THE RECALL WAS INITIATED. RECALL FOR THE AUDI 1999 A6 - RECALL 04V133000. I CAN PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, IF NEEDED. AT THIS TIME I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT AGAINST VW OF AMERICA, AUDI OF AMERICA, AND BEVERLY HILLS SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2008 - SEATTLE, WA
I HAVE HAD A FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE WITH OUR 1999 AUDI A6. WHEN COMING TO A STOP IN FRONT OF OUR HOUSE, THE CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AND I HAD TO STAND ON THE BRAKE IN ORDER TO NOT CRASH INTO ANOTHER CAR. WHEN I THREW IT IN PARK IT REVVED TO THE RED LINE UNTIL I TURNED IT OFF. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IT HAS HAPPENED IN A WEEK OR SO. THIS IS MY WIFE'S CAR AND I AM TERRIFIED THAT THIS MIGHT HAPPEN TO HER... I CALLED AN AUDI CUSTOMER ADVOCATE AND THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NO LISTING FOR A RECALL FOR THAT PROBLEM ON OUR CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/2/2008 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
I PARKED AND SHUT OFF MY CAR TO GO IN A STORE LEAVING A FRIEND IN THERE TO WAIT. I WAS IN THE STORE FOR 2 MINS AND MY FRIEND CAME IN AND SAID THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE VENTS, AN ABUNDANCE OF SMOKE. I WENT OUTSIDE TO SEE AND WITNESSED WHAT WAS HAPPENING AND PROCEEDED TO OPEN THE HOOD OF THE CAR TO SEE IF THE ENGINE WAS CAUSING THE SMOKE. I OPENED THE HOOD TO REALIZE THAT THE SMOKE IN FACT WAS NOT COMING FROM THE ENGINE. I WALKED BACK AROUND TO THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR AND SAW FLAMES COMING FROM THE VENT AND A MAN WALKED UP TO SAY GET AWAY. IMMEDIATELY I CALLED 911 AND TRIED TO EXPLAIN AS I WAS HYSTERICALLY CRYING. I WENT BACK INTO THE STORE, WHICH WAS RITE AID AND THEY PROCEEDED TO MOVE ANY PERSONS TO THE BACK OF THE STORE. THE CAR CONTINUED TO ENGULF IN FLAMES AND CONTINUED TO BURN. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT FINALLY SHOWED UP. THERE WAS A CAR PARKED NEXT TO ME AND WAS ALSO DAMAGED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

12/18/2007 - ROCHESTER, MI
DECEMBER 13, 2007 AUDI OF ROCHESTER HILLS 45441 DEQUINDRE ROAD ROCHESTER HILLS, MICHIGAN 48307 ATTENTION: SERVICE MANAGER SUBJECT: SAFETY CONCERN 1999 AUDI A6 AVANT TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: THIS EVENING, SHORTLY AFTER TURNING ON THE SEAT HEATER (WHICH AUTOMATICALLY TURNS ON THE STEERING WHEEL HEATER) I NOTICED A STRONG ODOR (BURNING PLASTIC) & SMOKE BEING EMITTED FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM BEHIND THE HORN/AIRBAG MODULE. I TURNED OFF THE SEAT HEATER, BUT THAT DID NOT STOP THE STEERING WHEEL FROM CONTINUING TO HEAT-UP AND EMIT SMOKE. I HAD TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS AND OPEN THE SUNROOF (VERY ENJOYABLE IN 30 DEGREE TEMPERATURE!) IN ORDER TO BE ABLE TO VENTILATE THE CABIN & BE ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME. AFTER ARRIVING HOME, I LOCATED THE FUSE RELATED TO THE STEERING WHEEL HEATER AND REMOVED IT SO THAT I COULD DRIVE THE VEHICLE TO YOUR SHOP. (THE FUSE IS IN THE CENTER CONSOLE.) THIS OBVIOUSLY POSES THE FOLLOWING SAFETY RISKS: +FIRE HAZARD +EMISSION OF TOXIC FUMES IN THE CABIN +RISK OF INADVERTENT AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT PLEASE HAVE THE PROBLEM INVESTIGATED AND CONTACT ME WITH THE FINDINGS, AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. SINCERELY, KEN GUITY

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AXLE ASSEMBLY

12/3/2007 - GREENSBORO, NC
TIE RODS, BALL JOINTS, AND UPPER CONTROL ARMS ALL FAILED, RESULTING IN DAMAGE TO AXLE CAUSING FAILURE OF VEHICLE IN TRAFFIC AND REQUIRING AXLE REPLACEMENT (IN ADDITION TO REPLACEMENT OF UPPER CONTROL ARMS, BALL JOINTS, AND TIE RODS). DEALER SAYS NONE OF DAMAGE OR REPAIRS COVERED BY ANY RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: UPPER BALL JOINT

12/3/2007 - GREENSBORO, NC
TIE RODS, BALL JOINTS, AND UPPER CONTROL ARMS ALL FAILED, RESULTING IN DAMAGE TO AXLE CAUSING FAILURE OF VEHICLE IN TRAFFIC AND REQUIRING AXLE REPLACEMENT (IN ADDITION TO REPLACEMENT OF UPPER CONTROL ARMS, BALL JOINTS, AND TIE RODS). DEALER SAYS NONE OF DAMAGE OR REPAIRS COVERED BY ANY RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: UPPER ARM

12/3/2007 - GREENSBORO, NC
TIE RODS, BALL JOINTS, AND UPPER CONTROL ARMS ALL FAILED, RESULTING IN DAMAGE TO AXLE CAUSING FAILURE OF VEHICLE IN TRAFFIC AND REQUIRING AXLE REPLACEMENT (IN ADDITION TO REPLACEMENT OF UPPER CONTROL ARMS, BALL JOINTS, AND TIE RODS). DEALER SAYS NONE OF DAMAGE OR REPAIRS COVERED BY ANY RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

12/3/2007 - GREENSBORO, NC
TIE RODS, BALL JOINTS, AND UPPER CONTROL ARMS ALL FAILED, RESULTING IN DAMAGE TO AXLE CAUSING FAILURE OF VEHICLE IN TRAFFIC AND REQUIRING AXLE REPLACEMENT (IN ADDITION TO REPLACEMENT OF UPPER CONTROL ARMS, BALL JOINTS, AND TIE RODS). DEALER SAYS NONE OF DAMAGE OR REPAIRS COVERED BY ANY RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

11/16/2007 - CROWN POINT, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LCD SCREEN ON THE INSTRUMENT CONTROL PANEL WAS NOT VISIBLE AND COULD NOT BE READ. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WERE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT WOULD NOT REPAIR IT FOR FREE OR DISCLOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE IS 100,000. UPDATED 01/11/08. UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

11/10/2007 - AURORA, CO
DRIVERS INFORMATION DISPLAY FAILURE. NO WAY TO ACCESS VEHICLE MAINTAINENCE OR SAFETY INFORMATION. DISPLAY SHOULD TELL YOU WHEN TO REPLAY BRAKES, CRITICAL FAILURE ITEMS ETC.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds