Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

7/12/2007 - ANDOVER, MN
EVENTS: SIGNIFICANT VIBRATION FROM RIGHT REAR OF CAR AT HIGH SPEEDS , AUDI A6 AT SPEEDS ABOVE 45 MPH. FAILURE: 2 OF 4 FUTURA 2000 TIRES ON CAR SHOWED WHAT SERVICE MANAGER DESCRIBED AS BELT SLIPPAGE OR SEPARATION. ONE TIRE WAS VISIBLY OVAL IN SHAPE WHEN TURNED ON DEALER BALANCING APPARATUS AND SECOND HAD ABNORMAL WEAR PATTERNS. OTHER 2 TIRES APPEARED OKAY. SET OF 4 TIRES WERE PURCHASED AT SAME TIME IN MID 2005 AND WERE USED APPROXIMATELY 50000 MILES , 70000 MILE TIRE, PURCHASED 4 NEW TIRES. DEALER KEPT 2 DEFECTIVES AND I KEPT 2 BETTER TIRES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

4/23/2007 - WURTSBORO, NY
1999 AUDI A6 QUATTRO WITH GAUGE CLUSTER PROBLEMS THAT STARTED RIGHT AFTER THE WARRANTY PERIOD END THE CONSUMER STATED THE FUEL AND TEMPERATURE GAUGES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AND THE MULTI-FUNCTION LIQUID CRYSTAL DID NOT INDICATE READABLE INFORMATION , THE SPEEDOMETER AND TACHOMETER FUNCTIONED SPORADICALLY. UPDATE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

4/19/2007 - DENVER, CO
I WAS POURING WINDSHIELD FLUID INTO MY AUDI A6 ONE DAY. I SAT DOWN IN THE CAR TO MOVE IT ONTO THE STREET BECAUSE I WANTED TO WASH IT, I TURNED THE IGNITION ON, AS I GOT IN I SMELLED BURNING PLASTIC. I THOUGHT NOTHING OF IT SO I DROVE IT TO THE STREET. SMOKE STARTED POURING OUT OF THE VENTS ON THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE CABIN. I ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOWS AND THE SUNROOF BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE AIR-CONDITIONING OR HEATER WAS HAVING A PROBLEM. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND GOT OUT AND WATCHED THE SMOKE FOR A MINUTE. THE SMOKE THEN TURNED A BLACK-DARK GREY COLOR. THEN CAME FLAMES POURING OUT OF THE VENT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. JUST THEN I HEAR THIS PIERCING SCREECH AND POP, THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY RUINED INSIDE AND SOOT SPEWED EVERYWHERE AROUND THE CAR I THEN TURNED THE HOSE ON WHICH I ALREADY HAD OUT FROM WHEN I WAS GOING TO WASH MY CAR. I PUT A MAJORITY OF THE FIRE OUT, SO I WALKED OVER TO MY GARAGE AND GOT A FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND SPRAYED IT ALL OVER TO MAKE SURE IT WAS OUT. I HOSED MY CAR OUT AND AROUND, SURPRISINGLY THE INTERIOR WAS STILL INTACT BUT JUST A TAD BIT DIRTY, SO I TOOK IT TO MY FRIEND WHO OWNS A DEALER/BODY SHOP AND HE GOT THE CAR FIXED AND ITS JUST LIKE NEW AGAIN. HE WAS SAYING SOMETHING ABOUT WIRING AND HEADLIGHTS BUT I WAS JUST HAPPY THAT MY CAR WAS BACK. PLEASE FIX THIS AUDI BECAUSE I WOULD HATE TO SEE SOMEONE GET HURT OVER THIS PROBLEM AND BE LESS FORTUNATE THAN I WAS. OUT OF THE WHOLE MESS I HAD TO GET A NEW DASHBOARD, STEERING WHEEL, WINDSHIELD AND WIRING ALSO A PAINT KIT. THE CAR LOOKS STUNNING I ALSO HAD TO GET IT DETAILED AFTER SO THE TOTAL COST TO REPAIR WAS $1967.34 I LOVE THIS CAR OTHERWISE AND I HOPE THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

4/9/2007 - TONTITOWN, AR
- THE CONTACT PURCHASED A 1999 AUDI A6. ON MARCH 19, 2007. THE CONTACT EXPLAINED THAT ON MARCH 20, 2007 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON FOR THE FIRST TIME ,AND THAT THERE WAS BURNT SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS AIR IN THE GAS LINES. ON MARCH 21, 2007 THE AIR CONDITIONER STOPPED WORKING. ON MARCH 22, 2007 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED, AND THAT THE ENGINE HOSES NEEDED TO BE TUNED. ON MARCH 24, 2007 THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE DEALERSHIP TRANSPORTED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE REPAIR SHOP. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THIS PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A BAD BATTERY, THE HOSES WERE ADJUSTED. THEY WERE ONLY WAITING ON THE PARTS FOR THE AIR CONDITIONER. THE CONTACT HAD INFORMED THEM THAT THERE CONTINUED TO BE A STRONG BURNT SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. ON MARCH 31, 2007 THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE WORKED ON THE AIR CONDITION UNIT. ON APRIL 1 THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD FAN NOISE FROM UNDER THE HOOD WHEN SHE STARTED THE VEHICLE. ON APRIL 4, 2007 THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT ALL VEHICLES GO THROUGH A 25 POINT INSPECTION BEFORE SALES. ON APRIL 7 THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PROFESSIONAL DEALER, WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WERE LEAKS ON THE FRONT AND THE BACK OF THE ENGINE. ALL ENGINE CAM SEALS, HOSES, AND ABS MODULE NEED TO BE REPLACED . THE REPAIR COSTS WOULD COME TO OVER $5000.00. THE CONTACT WANTED TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST AMERICAR TRADING COMPANY 501 NORTH THOMPSON, SPRING DALE AR, 72764 (479-927-0333) SINCE THEY DID NOT REPORT THAT THESE PROBLEMS EXISTED ON THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE SALE. THE DEALER HAS NOT RETURNED THE CONTACTS CALLS AFTER THIS LAST FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,049, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 121,594. UPDATED 07/17/07.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

4/9/2007 - TONTITOWN, AR
- THE CONTACT PURCHASED A 1999 AUDI A6. ON MARCH 19, 2007. THE CONTACT EXPLAINED THAT ON MARCH 20, 2007 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON FOR THE FIRST TIME ,AND THAT THERE WAS BURNT SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS AIR IN THE GAS LINES. ON MARCH 21, 2007 THE AIR CONDITIONER STOPPED WORKING. ON MARCH 22, 2007 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED, AND THAT THE ENGINE HOSES NEEDED TO BE TUNED. ON MARCH 24, 2007 THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE DEALERSHIP TRANSPORTED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE REPAIR SHOP. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THIS PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A BAD BATTERY, THE HOSES WERE ADJUSTED. THEY WERE ONLY WAITING ON THE PARTS FOR THE AIR CONDITIONER. THE CONTACT HAD INFORMED THEM THAT THERE CONTINUED TO BE A STRONG BURNT SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. ON MARCH 31, 2007 THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE WORKED ON THE AIR CONDITION UNIT. ON APRIL 1 THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD FAN NOISE FROM UNDER THE HOOD WHEN SHE STARTED THE VEHICLE. ON APRIL 4, 2007 THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT ALL VEHICLES GO THROUGH A 25 POINT INSPECTION BEFORE SALES. ON APRIL 7 THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PROFESSIONAL DEALER, WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WERE LEAKS ON THE FRONT AND THE BACK OF THE ENGINE. ALL ENGINE CAM SEALS, HOSES, AND ABS MODULE NEED TO BE REPLACED . THE REPAIR COSTS WOULD COME TO OVER $5000.00. THE CONTACT WANTED TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST AMERICAR TRADING COMPANY 501 NORTH THOMPSON, SPRING DALE AR, 72764 (479-927-0333) SINCE THEY DID NOT REPORT THAT THESE PROBLEMS EXISTED ON THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE SALE. THE DEALER HAS NOT RETURNED THE CONTACTS CALLS AFTER THIS LAST FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,049, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 121,594. UPDATED 07/17/07.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/9/2007 - TONTITOWN, AR
- THE CONTACT PURCHASED A 1999 AUDI A6. ON MARCH 19, 2007. THE CONTACT EXPLAINED THAT ON MARCH 20, 2007 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON FOR THE FIRST TIME ,AND THAT THERE WAS BURNT SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS AIR IN THE GAS LINES. ON MARCH 21, 2007 THE AIR CONDITIONER STOPPED WORKING. ON MARCH 22, 2007 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED, AND THAT THE ENGINE HOSES NEEDED TO BE TUNED. ON MARCH 24, 2007 THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE DEALERSHIP TRANSPORTED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE REPAIR SHOP. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THIS PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A BAD BATTERY, THE HOSES WERE ADJUSTED. THEY WERE ONLY WAITING ON THE PARTS FOR THE AIR CONDITIONER. THE CONTACT HAD INFORMED THEM THAT THERE CONTINUED TO BE A STRONG BURNT SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. ON MARCH 31, 2007 THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE WORKED ON THE AIR CONDITION UNIT. ON APRIL 1 THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD FAN NOISE FROM UNDER THE HOOD WHEN SHE STARTED THE VEHICLE. ON APRIL 4, 2007 THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT ALL VEHICLES GO THROUGH A 25 POINT INSPECTION BEFORE SALES. ON APRIL 7 THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PROFESSIONAL DEALER, WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WERE LEAKS ON THE FRONT AND THE BACK OF THE ENGINE. ALL ENGINE CAM SEALS, HOSES, AND ABS MODULE NEED TO BE REPLACED . THE REPAIR COSTS WOULD COME TO OVER $5000.00. THE CONTACT WANTED TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST AMERICAR TRADING COMPANY 501 NORTH THOMPSON, SPRING DALE AR, 72764 (479-927-0333) SINCE THEY DID NOT REPORT THAT THESE PROBLEMS EXISTED ON THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE SALE. THE DEALER HAS NOT RETURNED THE CONTACTS CALLS AFTER THIS LAST FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,049, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 121,594. UPDATED 07/17/07.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

3/15/2007 - WAITSFIELD, VT
ABS LIGHT STAYS ON.. TOOK TO DEALER AND THEY SAID FAULTY CONTROL MODULE..$@$1000.00 TO REPAIR... WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH 1999 AUDI A6 AVANT...ALSO WAS TOLD THAT THIS PROBLEM ALMOST NEVER HAPPENS ON ANY OTHER AUTOMOBILE...CHECKED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND MANY AUDI OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM..WHY SHOULD WE PAY FOR AUDI'S FAULTY COMPONENTS?

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

3/3/2007 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY 1999 AUDI A6 HAS SEAT HEATERS. WHEN USING THE DRIVER'S SEAT HEATER, THE STEERING WHEEL ALSO HEATS UP FOR A FEW MINUTES AT THE START OF THE HEATING CYCLE. RECENTLY, UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE WHERE THE SEAT HEATER HAD BEEN LEFT ON SETTING 2 OF 6, I NOTICED A SMALL HOLE BEING BURNED THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL COVER. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED THE SEAT HEATER OFF AND THE BURNING STOPPED. UNFORTUNATELY, I CANNOT NOW USE THE SEAT HEATER AND THERE IS A HOLE IN THE STEERING WHEEL COVER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/12/2007 - DANVILLE, PA
- THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE 1999 AUDI A6 QUATTRO HAD PROBLEMS WITH ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON 02/05/07. THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING AT 65 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN. THE CONTACT STATED THE ONLY WAY THE VEHICLE STOPPED WAS TO PUSH THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH BOTH FEET. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND HAD AN APPOINTMENT SET UP FOR TODAY 02/12/07. IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON 02/09/07. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, AND SHE WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP MADE A RIGHT TURN AND SLOWLY ACCELERATED TO 45 MPH. THE ROAD SURFACE WAS COMPLETELY DRY, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UNEXPECTEDLY. THE GAS PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR BY ITSELF WITHOUT HER PUSHING IT TO THE FLOOR. THE DRIVER APPLIED THE BRAKES WITH THE RIGHT FOOT AND THE VEHICLE DIDN'T STOP. THEN TRIED TO PULL THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL UP WITH THE OE TO STOP THE ACCELERATION. SHE TRIED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, BUT THE VEHICLE DIDN'T DECREASE IN SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO GET THE VEHICLE TO COME TO A STOP SHE THEN HIT A TREE. SHE HIT THE TREE OFF THE CENTER OF THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, AND AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY, BUT THE SEAT BELT DID RESTRAIN HER. THE CONTACTS WIFE SUSTAINED NECK AND STERNUM INJURIES. AND WAS TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL BY AN AMBULANCE. THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 14000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

1/22/2007 - UPPER ST. CLAIR, PA
FAILURE OF CONTROL UNIT FOR ABS BRAKES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds