Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

1/16/2007 - WEST ROXBURY, MA
ABS MODULE FAILED. BRAKES STILL WORKED. BUT NO ABS. MECHANIC SAID HE HAD SEEN THIS FAILURE OFTEN.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

10/9/2006 - SACRAMENTO, CA
(1) UNKNOWN. (2) AUDI A6 AIR BAGS FAILED TO INFLATE AT TIME OF IMPACT. DRIVER WAS INJURED. (3) NOT APPLICABLE, CAR IS A TOTAL LOSS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

7/21/2006 - BASKING RIDGE, NJ
IGNITION SWITCH FAILURE WE CAUSED THE LIGHTS, TURNSIGNLA, HORN, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS AND HEAT IN THE CAR TO NO WORK. VERY DANGEROUS. THIS WAS CAUSED BY IGNITION SWITCH MELTED WIRES FROM THE HEATED STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

STEERING: WHEEL AND HANDLE BAR

7/21/2006 - BASKING RIDGE, NJ
MY 1999 AUDI A6 AVANT'S HEATED STEERING WHEEL WOULD OVERHEAT TO THE POINT I COULD NOT TOUCH IT. IT CAUSED THE IGNITION SWITH'S WIRES TO MELT AND I HAD TO HAVE THE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED BY AUDI AND THE HEATED WHEEL DEACTIVATED. THE FAILED IGNITION SWITCH CAUSED MY HEADLIGHTS, HORN, WINDSHIELDWIPERS TO NOT WORK. EVERYTHING NOW WORKS AFTER THE SWITCH WAS REPLACED AND THE STEERING WHEEL HEATER DEAVCTIVATED BY MY AUDI DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

7/11/2006 - MOSCOW, ID
ABS CONTROL MODULE FAILURE, ABS DOES NOT OPERATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/24/2006 - BROOKLYN, NY
WHILE DRIVING MY 1999 AUDI A6 ON THE EXPRESSWAY WITH MY 3 YEAR OLD SON IN HIS BOOSTER SEAT, THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE DASHBOARD STARTS TO SMOKE . THEN IN LESS THAN A MINUTE FLAMES WERE COMING OUT, BY THE TIME I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER, MY DASHBOARD WAS COMPLETELY ON FIRE,WHILE TAKING MY SON OUT THE AIRBAG BLEW, SCARING HIM EVEN MORE, AND NOT TO MENTION ALL THE TOXIC FUMES WE INHALED. THE INSURANCE TELLS ME THE CAR IS A TOTAL LOSS, AND IF THAT AIRBAG WAS ACTIVATED WHILE I WAS STILL DRIVING, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

5/24/2006 - FRANKTOWN, CO
INTERMITTENT ABS LIGHT DISPLAYED ON DRIVER'S DISPLAY. PROBLEM IS NOW CONTINUOUS. AUDI DEALER RAN DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND DETERMINED THAT ABS CONTROL MODULE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. RELAYED THAT THIS IS A COMMON FAILURE ITEM AND UNFORTUNATELY THE COST FOR REPLACEMENT IS NEARLY $1000. RESEARCH ON INTERNET CONFIRMS THAT THIS IS A COMMON FAILURE ITEM FOR LATE 90'S AND EARLY 00'S AUDI A6 MODELS. IS THERE ANY INFORMATION ON A POSSIBLE RECALL FOR THIS COMPONENT?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

4/26/2006 - ST. PETERSBURG, FL
WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK IN MY 99 AUDI A6 QUATTRO PRESSURE BUILDS INSIDE THE TANK AND SPRAYS BACK AT ME. THIS HAS HAPPENED EACH TIME I PUT GAS IN IT FULL OR NOT. A RECALL WAS MADE BUT, NOT FOR MY VIN. I SPOKE WITH A AUDI REP. AND A DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE'S NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE UNLESS I PAY FOR IT. I WOULD BUT, THERE IS ALREADY A RECALL MADE FOR THAT CAR JUST NOT THAT VIN. IT'S A HAZARD AND I'VE HAD OTHER PROBLEMS THAT I PAID FOR. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF ANYTHING CAN BE DONE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2006 - ORCHARD PARK, NY
HEATED STEERING WHEEL BURNS HANDS, SMOKES. DOESN'T VARY WITH SETTINGS. DID NOT ALLOW IT TO GET TO A FIRE CONDITION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

3/12/2006 - SANTA ROSA, CA
IT HAS BECOME WELL KNOWN THAT THE BOSCH 5.3 ABS CONTROL MODULE ON AUDI CARS AND OTHER MAKES ARE DEFECTIVE AND NEED TO BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED. A QUICK SEARCH ON THE INTERNET REVEALS THIS FACT. THE CONTROL MODULE ON MY 1999 AUDI A6 RECENTLY MALFUNCTIONED REPEATEDLY, MEANING THAT I DID NOT HAVE TO PROTECTION OF THE ABS BRAKING SYSTEM UNTIL IT WAS REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds