Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

4/4/2005 - PATERSON, NJ
CONSUMER WAS DRIVING AND SUDDENLY THERE WAS FIRE COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD. CONSUMER CONTACTED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT, AND THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED. VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

3/9/2005 - ATLANTA, GA
THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT MANY AUDI A6 OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED. THIS OCCURS AT RANDOM AND THE DURATION VARIES. WHILE WARNING LIGHTS ARE ON, BRAKING PERFORMANCE IS DIMINISHED AS EBD IS DISABLED AND THERE IS NO ABS. MOST OWNERS INCLUDING ME HAVE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT IT'LL COST ABOUT $2000 TO FIX THE ISSUE. THEY SEEM TO BE SAYING THE ABS CONTROL MODULE IS THE ONE THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I FEEL SINCE ITS A WIDE SPREAD PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE AND IT INVOLVES THE ABS SYSTEM WHICH COULD CAUSE AN INCIDENT IF ONE DID NOT KNOW THE EFFECTS WHEN THEY EXPERIENCE THE PROBLEM; THIS ISSUE HAS TO BE REPORTED TO THE NHTSA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2005 - PROCTORVILLE, OH
1999 AUDI A-6 QUATTRO, TIE ROD END REPLACED. TIE ROD RECALL WAS DONE WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD 13187 MILES ON IT. AT 60806 THE TIE RODS HAD TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE TRANSMISSION LEAKED.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

2/17/2005 - PROCTORVILLE, OH
1999 AUDI A-6 QUATTRO, TIE ROD END REPLACED. TIE ROD RECALL WAS DONE WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD 13187 MILES ON IT. AT 60806 THE TIE RODS HAD TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE TRANSMISSION LEAKED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

2/2/2005 - WELLESLEY HILLS, MA
TWO VEHICLES IN FRONT OF MY CAR ON HIGHWAY CAME TO A STOP; I APPLIED BRAKES, PRESSING ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR OF THE CAR, AND NOTHING HAPPENED - THE CAR DID NOT SLOW DOWN AND THE ABS DID NOT ENGAGE, DESPITE THERE BEING LOOSE SAND AND SALT ON THE ROAD SURFACE. I REAR-ENDED THE VEHICLES RESULTING IN SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO MY CAR (OVER $10,000 TO REPAIR) AND THE CAR I HIT (UNKNOWN COST COVERED BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY). MY CAR SPENT 2 MONTHS IN THE SHOP HAVING THE ACCIDENT DAMAGE REPAIRED. WHEN I PICKED IT UP, I TESTED THE BRAKES AND THEY WERE VERY "SOFT" - I HAD TO PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR TO GET THE CAR TO STOP, EVEN THOUGH I WAS GOING NO MORE THAN 10 MPH. THE ABS DID NOT ENGAGE THAT TIME EITHER. I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO FIX THE BRAKES. THEY KEPT IT ALL DAY AND TOLD ME THAT NOTHING NEEDED TO BE DONE. HOWEVER, WHEN I TESTED THE BRAKES AGAIN, IN THE SAME SPOT I HAD TESTED THEM BEFORE, THE BRAKES WORKED WELL AND THE ABS ENGAGED. ON OCTOBER 31, 2003, THE DEALERSHIP (BERNARDI AUDI, 521 WORCESTER ROAD, NATICK MA; 508-651-9980) SERVICED THE VEHICLE AND SUPPOSEDLY REPLACED THE FONT AND REAR BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

2/2/2005 - WELLESLEY HILLS, MA
TWO VEHICLES IN FRONT OF MY CAR ON HIGHWAY CAME TO A STOP; I APPLIED BRAKES, PRESSING ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR OF THE CAR, AND NOTHING HAPPENED - THE CAR DID NOT SLOW DOWN AND THE ABS DID NOT ENGAGE, DESPITE THERE BEING LOOSE SAND AND SALT ON THE ROAD SURFACE. I REAR-ENDED THE VEHICLES RESULTING IN SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO MY CAR (OVER $10,000 TO REPAIR) AND THE CAR I HIT (UNKNOWN COST COVERED BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY). MY CAR SPENT 2 MONTHS IN THE SHOP HAVING THE ACCIDENT DAMAGE REPAIRED. WHEN I PICKED IT UP, I TESTED THE BRAKES AND THEY WERE VERY "SOFT" - I HAD TO PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR TO GET THE CAR TO STOP, EVEN THOUGH I WAS GOING NO MORE THAN 10 MPH. THE ABS DID NOT ENGAGE THAT TIME EITHER. I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO FIX THE BRAKES. THEY KEPT IT ALL DAY AND TOLD ME THAT NOTHING NEEDED TO BE DONE. HOWEVER, WHEN I TESTED THE BRAKES AGAIN, IN THE SAME SPOT I HAD TESTED THEM BEFORE, THE BRAKES WORKED WELL AND THE ABS ENGAGED. ON OCTOBER 31, 2003, THE DEALERSHIP (BERNARDI AUDI, 521 WORCESTER ROAD, NATICK MA; 508-651-9980) SERVICED THE VEHICLE AND SUPPOSEDLY REPLACED THE FONT AND REAR BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/25/2005 - ALLENTOWN, PA
I WAS TRAVELING ON PA ROUTE 476 SOUTHBOUND APPROXIMATELY 8:30 PM, MAINTAINING A CONSTANT SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. THE THERMOMETER IN MY CAR REPORTED AN AMBIENT EXTERIOR TEMPERATURE OF BETWEEN 4 AND 8¦ F. THE CRUISE CONTROL SWITCH WAS IN THE STANDBY POSITION BUT CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT ACTIVATED. I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT THE CAR WAS MAINTAINING SPEED WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. IN FACT, WHEN TRAVELING ON LEVEL GROUND, THE CAR ACCELERATED TO 80 MPH UNTIL I DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE TACHOMETER REPORTED A CONSTANT ENGINE SPEED OF 2400 RPM WITH NO PRESSURE ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. I ATTEMPTED TO CHANGE THE ENGINE SPEED BY ACTIVATING AND DEACTIVATING CRUISE CONTROL, WHICH DID NOT RESPOND AT ALL. I NEXT TAPPED THE BRAKES TO SEE IF THIS WOULD DISENGAGE A POTENTIAL CRUISE CONTROL MALFUNCTION, AGAIN TO NO AVAIL. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS FREE OF ANY OBSTRUCTIONS AND MOVED FREELY UNDER MY FOOT. AS I APPROACHED THE TOLL PLAZA, I REQUIRED SIGNIFICANT BRAKE PRESSURE TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH. WITH FULL BRAKE FORCE, THE VEHICLE WOULD SLOW TO APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH BUT WOULD NOT STOP. I THEN PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL AND THE CAR STOPPED BUT THE ENGINE REVVED IN EXCESS OF 6,000 RPM. I IMMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. UPON RESTARTING THE CAR, THE IDLE SPEED WAS NORMAL. THINKING THAT THE PROBLEM WAS ICING AND NOW RESOLVED, I CONTINUED INTO PHILADELPHIA WITHOUT INCIDENT. UPON MY RETURN TO ALLENTOWN THE SAME NIGHT (APPROXIMATELY 10:30 PM), ALSO ON ROUTE 476, I EXPERIENCED ANOTHER EPISODE OF A STUCK ACCELERATOR. I HAD BEEN TRAVELING AT 65 MPH FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES WHEN THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE WAS 3¦ F AND THE ENGINE SPEED MAINTAINED 1800 ? 2000 RPM WITHOUT ANY ACCELERATOR PEDAL PRESSURE. AGAIN, IN ORDER TO STOP THE CAR, I HAD TO PLACE THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL AND QUICKLY TURN OFF THE IGNITION KEY TO AVOID FURTHER ENGINE DAMAGE.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

1/21/2005 - PROCTORVILLE, OH
00 V 414 000/VW TIE RODS: CONSUMER STATES, "THIS RECALL WAS PERFORMED ON MARCH 10, 2001". THE VEHICLE WAS AT THE DEALER FOR ROUTINE INSPECTION. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONSUMER THAT THE TIE RODS NEEDED TO BE REPLACES AGAIN. THE CONSUMER WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IS THIS CONSIDERED NORMAL? THAT THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED WITH LESS THEN 48,015 MILES OF WEAR SINCE THE RECALL WORK WAS PERFORMED THE DEALER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/18/2005 - WILLIAMS BAY, WI
AUDI A6 (2.8L) THROTTLE WAS FROZEN OPEN AT 70 MILES PER HOUR, ONLY WAY TO STOP WAS TO "STAND ON" THE BRAKES. SHUT THE CAR OFF AND IT WAS OK. CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE THROTTLE STICKING AT COLD TEMP (TEMP THIS DAY WAS 3¦F). TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIX IT RIGHT AWAY, BUT TO BRING IT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS. I HAVE NO RECORD OF RECEIVING THIS RECALL. I LOOKED ON THE INTERNET AND DID FIND IT. I THOUGHT YOU WOULD LIKE TO RECORD THIS OCCURRENCE FOR YOUR RECORDS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

1/6/2005 - FOREST HILLS, NY
CONSUMER RECEIVED ONE OF SEVERAL RECALL NOTIFICATIONS FROM THE MANUFACTURER, AND TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, WHO WANTED FOR CONSUMER TO LEAVE A CREDIT CARD AND THEN THEY WILL REPAIR ALL DEFECTS, EVEN THOSE NOT RELATED TO THE RECALL, AND CHARGE CONSUMER ADDITIONAL EXPENSES NOT IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE RECALL. RECALL CAMPAIGN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER : 01V157000 CONSEQUENCE: RUNNING OUT OF FUEL WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE FUEL GAUGE INDICATES THAT THERE IS SUFFICIENT FUEL IN THE TANK LEAD TO SAFETY PROBLEMS. VEHICLE ABS LIGHT WAS ON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds