Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRACKER - 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 61 complaints filed for the 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (3) Tires (2)
Communications (1) Equipment (3) Power Train (9) Structure (14) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Suspension (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/9/2012 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
CAR KEEPS HAVING ITS BATTERY DRAINED AFTER REPAIRS. REPLACED TWO ALTERNATORS AND A CAR COMPUTER. SEEMS TO WORK FOR A FEW WEEKS AFTER GETTING FIXED AND THEN BURNS UP AN ALTERNATOR. THREE TIMES TO THE MECHANIC; CURRENTLY SHOP. PROBLEM OCCURRED AFTER NEW BATTERY WAS INSERTED. CAR HAS WORKED GREAT FOR 10 YEARS AND THEN THIS REQUIRING ELECTRICAL PROBLEM; BATTERY IS DEAD (THIS WITH A NEW BATTERY).

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/6/2012 - LATHAM, OH
CAME TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN AND HEART A POP. TRACKER WOULD THEN PULL ROUGHLY TO THE LEFT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED. UPON INSPECTION IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CROSSMEMBER BROKE WHERE THE INNER SUSPENSION ATTACHES. CALLED SEVERAL DEALERSHIPS AND THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS NOT COVERED ON A RECALL FOR THIS YEAR VEHICLE. FOUND SEVERAL FORUMS THAT COMPLAIN OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM ON VARIOUS YEARS FOR THE CHEVY TRACKER. THIS IS VERY UNFORTUNATE SINCE I AM QUITE FOND OF MY TRACKER AND RELY ON IT FOR WORK AND TRAVEL WITH MY CHILDREN, ESPECIALLY IN WINTER MONTHS. I AM GLAD THIS WAS DISCOVERED BEFORE IT CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

1/6/2012 - LATHAM, OH
CAME TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN AND HEART A POP. TRACKER WOULD THEN PULL ROUGHLY TO THE LEFT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED. UPON INSPECTION IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CROSSMEMBER BROKE WHERE THE INNER SUSPENSION ATTACHES. CALLED SEVERAL DEALERSHIPS AND THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS NOT COVERED ON A RECALL FOR THIS YEAR VEHICLE. FOUND SEVERAL FORUMS THAT COMPLAIN OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM ON VARIOUS YEARS FOR THE CHEVY TRACKER. THIS IS VERY UNFORTUNATE SINCE I AM QUITE FOND OF MY TRACKER AND RELY ON IT FOR WORK AND TRAVEL WITH MY CHILDREN, ESPECIALLY IN WINTER MONTHS. I AM GLAD THIS WAS DISCOVERED BEFORE IT CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

3/31/2011 - PARMA, OH
FRONT FRAME CROSSMEMBER RUSTED THROUGH IN MULTIPLE AREAS AND HAS MADE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE PULLS VIOLENTLY TO THE LEFT WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED AT HIGH SPEEDS OR TURNING SHARPLY.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

11/8/2010 - ROCHDALE, MA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WHEN THE FRONT SUSPENSION BEGAN TO SHUDDER VIOLENTLY. APPLYING BRAKES CAUSED VEHICLE TO SWERVE TO THE LEFT. INSPECTION SHOWED THAT FRONT CONTROL ARM MOUNT HAD SEPARATED COMPLETELY FROM THE CROSSMEMBER DUE TO CORROSION. CALLED CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD IN CAREFULLY PARSED WORDS THAT ACCORDING TO MY VIN THERE WAS NO COVERAGE OR RECALL DESPITE WHAT I HAVE FOUND ON LIN: SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT - FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER CORROSION #06186 - (10/17/2007) 1999-2004 CHEVROLET TRACKER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

11/8/2010 - ROCHDALE, MA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WHEN THE FRONT SUSPENSION BEGAN TO SHUDDER VIOLENTLY. APPLYING BRAKES CAUSED VEHICLE TO SWERVE TO THE LEFT. INSPECTION SHOWED THAT FRONT CONTROL ARM MOUNT HAD SEPARATED COMPLETELY FROM THE CROSSMEMBER DUE TO CORROSION. CALLED CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD IN CAREFULLY PARSED WORDS THAT ACCORDING TO MY VIN THERE WAS NO COVERAGE OR RECALL DESPITE WHAT I HAVE FOUND ON LIN: SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT - FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER CORROSION #06186 - (10/17/2007) 1999-2004 CHEVROLET TRACKER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/12/2010 - HUDSON, ME
MY MOTHER SAID TO ME THAT HER CAR WAS PULLING TO THE CENTER LINE WHEN SHE PUT HER BRAKES ON. SHE AND I NATURALLY THOUGHT SHE HAD A STUCK CALIPER OR SOMETHING OF THAT NATURE. SHE DROVE IT TO MY HOUSE THE NEXT MORNING, AND SAID IT WAS PULLING BADLY TO THE CENTER LINE. I JACKED UP THE CAR TO FIND THAT THE [SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER] SUBFRAME WHERE IT HOLDS THE FRONT MOUNT FOR THE LOWER CONTROL ARM TO THE CAR, WAS CORRODED AND HAD ACTUALLY BROKE, CAUSING THE FRONT WHEEL TO JUST MOVE AROUND MAKING THE CAR PULL HARD TO THE LEFT. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 70K MILES ON IT AND IS WELL MAINTAINED IN FACT, IT JUST PASSED VEHICLE INSPECTION THE PREVIOUS MONTH. THIS PART IN MY OPINION SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED THIS WAY. HER CAR IS NOW OUT OF SERVICE DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP HER IN ANY WAY YOU CAN. SHE DID NOT HAVE AN ACCIDENT BUT I'M NOT SURE WHY THIS FAILURE COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN TRAGIC. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/27/2010 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
1999 CHEVY TRACKER FRONT CROSSMEMBER RUSTED THROUGH FROM THE INSIDE CAUSING THE CAR TO PULL VERY HARD WHEN BRAKING. THERE WAS A RECALL ON CERTAIN VIN #'S FOR THIS VEHICLE BUT MINE WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. I DID DEVELOP THE PROBLEM THOUGH. THE FRONT CROSSMEMBER IS RUSTED OUT FROM THE INSIDE AND IS JUST ABOUT TO BREAK OFF. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS CAUSING A LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. I REPORTED TO GM AND THEY SAID THEY CAN DO NOTHING TO HELP. THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE RUST ON THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE YET THIS PART COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

1/31/2010 - GREENFIELD, IN
I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT THE STEERING HAD STARTED TO FEEL A LITTLE LOOSE REQUIRING A LOT OF CORRECTION WHEN DRIVING, BUT I DIDN'T THINK IT WAS ANYTHING SERIOUS. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO THE REPAIR SHOP TO HAVE THE BRAKES REPAIRED AND AS SOON AS THEY RAISED IT UP ON THE LIFT THEY NOTICED THAT THE "DRIVERS SIDE CRADLE/CROSSMEMBER TO SUSPENSION CORRODED AND RUSTED THROUGH AND THE LEFT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM DETACHED". THE MECHANIC STATED THAT HE HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN AND WAS VERY DANGEROUS - COULD ALLOW COMPLETE LOSS OF STEERING OR IF ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MORE SPEED COULD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO FLIP OVER CAUSING SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. THE CRADLE/CROSSMEMBER WAS REPLACED AND ALL NEW BOLTS WERE USED. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS BEFORE TOO MANY PEOPLE ARE INJURED OR KILLED - I WAS LUCKY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

11/9/2009 - CLEVELAND, NY
1999 CHEVY TRACKER SUB FRAME ROTTED OUT. ON DRIVER SIDE. VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND PULLED VERY HARD TO THE RIGHT. ALMOST DROVE OFF THE ROAD AND CRASHED. DID NOT FIND ANY RECALLS. CHEVY SAID THE SELL MANY OF THESE PARTS BUT NO RECALLS FOR PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds