Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRACKER - 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 62 complaints filed for the 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Suspension (8)
Communications (1) Equipment (3) Power Train (9) Steering (3) Tires (2)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

10/25/2014 - FARIBAULT, MN
BOTH OF MY FRONT SEAT BELTS HAVE LOCKED UP, MY DRIVER SIDE IS COMPLETELY LOCKED UP AND CAN'T BE USED, THE PASSENGER SIDE WILL WORK AT TIMES BUT NOT ALWAYS. I LOOKED IT UP ON GOOGLE AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM BECAUSE THE MANUFACTURER INSTALLED MISLABELED SEAT BELTS THAT WERE MEANT FOR THE TWO DOOR TRACKERS INTO THE FOUR DOOR TRACKERS. I CONTACTED GM ABOUT THIS AND THEY DENIED THAT MY PROBLEM WAS CONNECTED, INSTEAD CHALKED IT UP TO A COINCIDENCE AND TOLD ME I COULD GO TO A DEALERSHIP AND GET IT CHECKED OUT BUT THE COST WOULD BE OUT OF POCKET AND THEY SAID SINCE THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR BECAUSE THEY ARE NO LONGER LIABLE BECAUSE OF THE EXPIRED WARRANTY. THIS IS A SAFETY DEFECT AND HAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH A WARRANTY, I AM CURRENTLY DRIVING AROUND ILLEGALLY BECAUSE I CAN'T USE MY SEAT BELT, AND IF I WERE TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT I WOULD LIKELY DIE AS A RESULT. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND IT NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/6/2012 - LATHAM, OH
CAME TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN AND HEART A POP. TRACKER WOULD THEN PULL ROUGHLY TO THE LEFT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED. UPON INSPECTION IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CROSSMEMBER BROKE WHERE THE INNER SUSPENSION ATTACHES. CALLED SEVERAL DEALERSHIPS AND THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS NOT COVERED ON A RECALL FOR THIS YEAR VEHICLE. FOUND SEVERAL FORUMS THAT COMPLAIN OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM ON VARIOUS YEARS FOR THE CHEVY TRACKER. THIS IS VERY UNFORTUNATE SINCE I AM QUITE FOND OF MY TRACKER AND RELY ON IT FOR WORK AND TRAVEL WITH MY CHILDREN, ESPECIALLY IN WINTER MONTHS. I AM GLAD THIS WAS DISCOVERED BEFORE IT CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

1/6/2012 - LATHAM, OH
CAME TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN AND HEART A POP. TRACKER WOULD THEN PULL ROUGHLY TO THE LEFT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED. UPON INSPECTION IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CROSSMEMBER BROKE WHERE THE INNER SUSPENSION ATTACHES. CALLED SEVERAL DEALERSHIPS AND THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS NOT COVERED ON A RECALL FOR THIS YEAR VEHICLE. FOUND SEVERAL FORUMS THAT COMPLAIN OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM ON VARIOUS YEARS FOR THE CHEVY TRACKER. THIS IS VERY UNFORTUNATE SINCE I AM QUITE FOND OF MY TRACKER AND RELY ON IT FOR WORK AND TRAVEL WITH MY CHILDREN, ESPECIALLY IN WINTER MONTHS. I AM GLAD THIS WAS DISCOVERED BEFORE IT CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/12/2010 - HUDSON, ME
MY MOTHER SAID TO ME THAT HER CAR WAS PULLING TO THE CENTER LINE WHEN SHE PUT HER BRAKES ON. SHE AND I NATURALLY THOUGHT SHE HAD A STUCK CALIPER OR SOMETHING OF THAT NATURE. SHE DROVE IT TO MY HOUSE THE NEXT MORNING, AND SAID IT WAS PULLING BADLY TO THE CENTER LINE. I JACKED UP THE CAR TO FIND THAT THE [SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER] SUBFRAME WHERE IT HOLDS THE FRONT MOUNT FOR THE LOWER CONTROL ARM TO THE CAR, WAS CORRODED AND HAD ACTUALLY BROKE, CAUSING THE FRONT WHEEL TO JUST MOVE AROUND MAKING THE CAR PULL HARD TO THE LEFT. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 70K MILES ON IT AND IS WELL MAINTAINED IN FACT, IT JUST PASSED VEHICLE INSPECTION THE PREVIOUS MONTH. THIS PART IN MY OPINION SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED THIS WAY. HER CAR IS NOW OUT OF SERVICE DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP HER IN ANY WAY YOU CAN. SHE DID NOT HAVE AN ACCIDENT BUT I'M NOT SURE WHY THIS FAILURE COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN TRAGIC. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

1/31/2010 - GREENFIELD, IN
I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT THE STEERING HAD STARTED TO FEEL A LITTLE LOOSE REQUIRING A LOT OF CORRECTION WHEN DRIVING, BUT I DIDN'T THINK IT WAS ANYTHING SERIOUS. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO THE REPAIR SHOP TO HAVE THE BRAKES REPAIRED AND AS SOON AS THEY RAISED IT UP ON THE LIFT THEY NOTICED THAT THE "DRIVERS SIDE CRADLE/CROSSMEMBER TO SUSPENSION CORRODED AND RUSTED THROUGH AND THE LEFT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM DETACHED". THE MECHANIC STATED THAT HE HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN AND WAS VERY DANGEROUS - COULD ALLOW COMPLETE LOSS OF STEERING OR IF ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MORE SPEED COULD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO FLIP OVER CAUSING SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. THE CRADLE/CROSSMEMBER WAS REPLACED AND ALL NEW BOLTS WERE USED. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS BEFORE TOO MANY PEOPLE ARE INJURED OR KILLED - I WAS LUCKY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

9/8/2008 - LEXINGTON, SC
RECENTLY HAD SERVICE BULLETIN #06186, NHTSA # 10023633 PERFORMED ON VEHICLE, REGARDING RUSTED AND CORRODED FRONT CROSSMEMBER. WHEN I GOT THE VEHICLE HOME AND WAS INSPECTING THE WORK, I NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE OIL PAN IS ALSO VERY RUSTED AND CORRODED TO WHERE OIL IS SEEPING THOUGH THE METAL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/8/2008 - LEXINGTON, SC
RECENTLY HAD SERVICE BULLETIN #06186, NHTSA # 10023633 PERFORMED ON VEHICLE, REGARDING RUSTED AND CORRODED FRONT CROSSMEMBER. WHEN I GOT THE VEHICLE HOME AND WAS INSPECTING THE WORK, I NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE OIL PAN IS ALSO VERY RUSTED AND CORRODED TO WHERE OIL IS SEEPING THOUGH THE METAL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/26/2008 - LAFAYETTE, IN
'99 CHEVY TRACKER. RUST FROM INSIDE THE METAL TO INNER& OUTER SURFACES. THE DOORS, ROCKERS PANELS & INTO THE FLOOR PLATE, WINDOW FRAMES & DOOR EDGES. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE USED,3WEKS AGO, BUT LOOKING ALMOST NEW INSIDE & OUT. THERE WAS TO THE EYE ONLY SOME SLIGHTLY BUBBLED PAINT IN 8 SPOTS DECIDE TO GET RIGHT ON IT STARTED TO EMEORY CLOTH IT & FOUND THAT A LITTLE PUSH ,PARTICULARLY THE ROCKER PANELS, WOULD GO COMPLETELY THROUGH TO THE INNER SURFACE. BOTH ROCKER PANELS FRONT TO REAR WERE THE SAME. SO I USED MY GRINDER TO CUT THEM OPEN TO SEE HOW FAR I WOULD HAVE TO GO TO GET PAST THE RUST. ONCE I GOT THE PANELS OPEN I COULD SEE THAT THE CORROSION WENT CLEAR INTO THE FLOOR PANELS. I THEN DECIDED 2 HIT THE SPOTS ON THE DOORS FOUND BASICALLY THE SAME THING. THEN LOOKING ON THE INTERNET FOUND OUT G>M> WAS REPAIRING AND REIMBURSING OWNERS FOR IMPROPERLY TREATED TREATING FRAME & CROSS MEMBERS WHICH ARE RUSTING THROUGH. ALSO REPLACING CORRODED HARDWARE EVERYWHERE IT IS FOUND ON THESE VEHICLES FROM '99 TO 2004. THIS BODY RUST SEEMS TO BE THE SAME THING. DANGEROUS? IF THE SERIOUSLY WEAKEND ROCKERS & FLOOR PLATE WERE STRUCK AT EVEN A LOW SPEED I DO NOT DOUBT THAT ANY PERSON IN THIS VEHICLE WOULD SUFFER CRUSH INJURIES. THIS IS REMINISCENT OF THE 70'S & 80'S WHEN GM WAS USING HEAVILY CORRODED METAL TO BUILD VEHICLES. & CREATED UNSAFE & EXPENSIVE CONDITIONS FOR THE CONSUMERS & LOST A GOOD PORTION OF THE CAR MARKET TO FOREIGN MANUFACTURERS. I HAVE SEVERAL PICTURES I CAN SEND YOU. PLEASE ADVISE. SINCERELY DAN CHURCH

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: AIR CONDITIONER

8/17/2007 - DOUGLASVILLE, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE AIR CONDITIONER IN HER VEHICLE WOULD NOT WORK. THE DEALER REPLACED THE COMPRESSOR, CONDENSER, AND THE VACUUM HOWEVER; THE AIR CONDITIONER WOULD NOT WORK. THE COST OF THE REPAIRS WAS $6,000. SHE WAS ALSO ADVISED THAT THE FAN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THE COST OF THE REPAIRS WAS $700. THE FAILURE HAS BEEN ONGOING SINCE AUGUST 2005. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 96,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000. THE VEHICLE DATE OF PURCHASE AND DEALER ADDRESS INFORMATION WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER ARM

5/30/2007 - BRISTOL, VT
NO ACCIDENT RESULTING. VEHICLE HANDLING AFFECTED AS WELL AS BRAKING, CAR WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE FRONT CROSS-MEMBER, RIGHT SIDE, WHERE THE LOWER CONTROL ARM IS SECURED RUSTED AND BROKE IN 2 PIECES. CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds