Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 362 complaints filed for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12)
Communications (17) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (6) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (47) Structure (19) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (32) Wheels (28)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/17/2019 - VINTON, VA
THERE IS AN KNOWN ISSUE WITH TOWN&COUNTRY VAN B/T CERTAIN YEARS. I HAVE A 1999. WHEN WATER SPLASHES FROM THE ROAD OR RUNS OFF THE VEHICLE, THE WATER LANDS ON THE SERPENTINE BELT, AND CAUSES THE BELT TO SLIDE OFF. WHEN THE BELT SLIDES OFF, THE POWER STEERING FAILS TO SUCH A DEGREE THAT IT MAKES THE VEHICLE DIFFICULT TO MAINTAIN CONTROL. THERE IS A PATCH THAT CHRYSLER ISSUED, BUT NOT DID NOT DEEM IT A RECALL. I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE IS BAD ENOUGH THAT IT COULD CAUSE SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS. I'VE HAD THIS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES. NOT DRIVING THROUGH PUDDLES, BUT JUST HAVING A WET ROAD CAN CAUSE (AND HAS CAUSED) AN ISSUE. THE FIX IS 400+$, WHICH IS RIDICULOUS CONSIDERING THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT CHRYSLER CREATED A FIX FOR, BUT WON'T RECALL. I'VE REPLACED EVERY BELT, TENSIONER, PULLEY ETC, AND THE MECHANIC FRANKLY SAID ITS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH CERTAIN YEARS OF TOWN & COUNTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2016 - LAKE PLACID, FL
MY PROBLEM IS IN THE IGNITION SWITCH, WHICH IS AFFECTING THE AIR CONDITIONER AND BLINKERS , AT THE SAME TIME , I TESTED THE VAN WHILE IT WAS RUNNING I MOVED THE IGNITION KEY AND THE AIR CONDITIONING AND BLINKERS WOULD WORK. STARTED WELL VAN WAS STATIONARY IN MY DRIVEWAY 10/1/2016.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/13/2016 - SUPERIOR, WI
FUEL INJECTOR RAIL FAILURE. WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS AND IF THE REPAIR IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL. GAS IS LEAKING FROM THE FUEL INJECTOR RAIL, AND VAN WAS CHUGGING. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/23/2016 - NAYLOR, GA
WHEN I WENT TO VISIT MY WIFE AT THE NURSING HOME WHERE SHE IS, AFTER I GOT IN MY VAN TO GO HOME I ONLY MADE IT A COUPLE MILES THE GAUGES WENT GOOFY THEN THE MOTOR QUIT, I HAD NO CLUE A RELATIVE OWNS A WRECKER SERVICE SO HE CAME AND TOWED ME HOME. THE NEXT DAY I TRIED TO START IT BUT NO LUCK, WHEN I FIRST GOT THE VAN IT DID SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS SO I FIGURED IT COULD BE THE BRAIN SO I GOT ONE AND PUT IT IN, NOTHING SO WHILE TURNING THE ENGINE OVER I DIDN'T HEAR THE FUEL PUMP SO I BOUGHT A REPLACEMENT. AFTER GOING THROUGH ALL OF THAT IT STILL WOULD TURN BUT NOT START A MECHANIC CAME OUT TO LOOK AT IT AND SEE IF HE COULD FIGURE OUT WHY IT DIDN'T START AFTER LOOKING AT IT HE SAID THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE FUEL SHUT OFF RELAY, THAT'S WHERE IT IS,I NEED TO FIND WHERE THE CUTOFF RELAY IS LOCATED SO I CAN RESET IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WANTED TO TRADE VAN IN AND THEY TOLD ME DO TO SAFETY FACTORS COULD NOT TAKE IN ON A TRADE. SAID THAT THE RUST ON VAN UNDER CARRIAGE WAS SO BAD THAT MOTOR COULD FALL OUT AND IT WAS NOT WORTH TAKING IN ON A TRADE DO TO THIS PROBLEM

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WANTED TO TRADE VAN IN AND THEY TOLD ME DO TO SAFETY FACTORS COULD NOT TAKE IN ON A TRADE. SAID THAT THE RUST ON VAN UNDER CARRIAGE WAS SO BAD THAT MOTOR COULD FALL OUT AND IT WAS NOT WORTH TAKING IN ON A TRADE DO TO THIS PROBLEM

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING ON STREET AND BRAKES WENT OUT. DID NOT HIT ANYONE BUT HAD TO DRIVE TO SHOP DO TO NO BRAKES VERY SLOW. BRAKES LINE RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE LINES USED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP AND GO. ALL PARTS OF VAN IS RUSTING FRAME THAT HOLDS MOTOR IN RUSTED AND CAN NOT TRADE IN DO TO DEALER SAID IT IS A SAFETY FACTOR AND IT CAN NOT BE REPAIRED DO TO RUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING ON STREET AND BRAKES WENT OUT. DID NOT HIT ANYONE BUT HAD TO DRIVE TO SHOP DO TO NO BRAKES VERY SLOW. BRAKES LINE RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE LINES USED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP AND GO. ALL PARTS OF VAN IS RUSTING FRAME THAT HOLDS MOTOR IN RUSTED AND CAN NOT TRADE IN DO TO DEALER SAID IT IS A SAFETY FACTOR AND IT CAN NOT BE REPAIRED DO TO RUST.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING ON STREET AND BRAKES WENT OUT. DID NOT HIT ANYONE BUT HAD TO DRIVE TO SHOP DO TO NO BRAKES VERY SLOW. BRAKES LINE RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE LINES USED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP AND GO. ALL PARTS OF VAN IS RUSTING FRAME THAT HOLDS MOTOR IN RUSTED AND CAN NOT TRADE IN DO TO DEALER SAID IT IS A SAFETY FACTOR AND IT CAN NOT BE REPAIRED DO TO RUST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/22/2015 - INDIANNAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO REMAIN ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds