Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 361 complaints filed for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12)
Communications (17) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (6) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (47) Structure (19) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (32) Wheels (28)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2016 - LAKE PLACID, FL
MY PROBLEM IS IN THE IGNITION SWITCH, WHICH IS AFFECTING THE AIR CONDITIONER AND BLINKERS , AT THE SAME TIME , I TESTED THE VAN WHILE IT WAS RUNNING I MOVED THE IGNITION KEY AND THE AIR CONDITIONING AND BLINKERS WOULD WORK. STARTED WELL VAN WAS STATIONARY IN MY DRIVEWAY 10/1/2016.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/13/2016 - SUPERIOR, WI
FUEL INJECTOR RAIL FAILURE. WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS AND IF THE REPAIR IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL. GAS IS LEAKING FROM THE FUEL INJECTOR RAIL, AND VAN WAS CHUGGING. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/23/2016 - NAYLOR, GA
WHEN I WENT TO VISIT MY WIFE AT THE NURSING HOME WHERE SHE IS, AFTER I GOT IN MY VAN TO GO HOME I ONLY MADE IT A COUPLE MILES THE GAUGES WENT GOOFY THEN THE MOTOR QUIT, I HAD NO CLUE A RELATIVE OWNS A WRECKER SERVICE SO HE CAME AND TOWED ME HOME. THE NEXT DAY I TRIED TO START IT BUT NO LUCK, WHEN I FIRST GOT THE VAN IT DID SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS SO I FIGURED IT COULD BE THE BRAIN SO I GOT ONE AND PUT IT IN, NOTHING SO WHILE TURNING THE ENGINE OVER I DIDN'T HEAR THE FUEL PUMP SO I BOUGHT A REPLACEMENT. AFTER GOING THROUGH ALL OF THAT IT STILL WOULD TURN BUT NOT START A MECHANIC CAME OUT TO LOOK AT IT AND SEE IF HE COULD FIGURE OUT WHY IT DIDN'T START AFTER LOOKING AT IT HE SAID THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE FUEL SHUT OFF RELAY, THAT'S WHERE IT IS,I NEED TO FIND WHERE THE CUTOFF RELAY IS LOCATED SO I CAN RESET IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WANTED TO TRADE VAN IN AND THEY TOLD ME DO TO SAFETY FACTORS COULD NOT TAKE IN ON A TRADE. SAID THAT THE RUST ON VAN UNDER CARRIAGE WAS SO BAD THAT MOTOR COULD FALL OUT AND IT WAS NOT WORTH TAKING IN ON A TRADE DO TO THIS PROBLEM

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WANTED TO TRADE VAN IN AND THEY TOLD ME DO TO SAFETY FACTORS COULD NOT TAKE IN ON A TRADE. SAID THAT THE RUST ON VAN UNDER CARRIAGE WAS SO BAD THAT MOTOR COULD FALL OUT AND IT WAS NOT WORTH TAKING IN ON A TRADE DO TO THIS PROBLEM

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING ON STREET AND BRAKES WENT OUT. DID NOT HIT ANYONE BUT HAD TO DRIVE TO SHOP DO TO NO BRAKES VERY SLOW. BRAKES LINE RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE LINES USED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP AND GO. ALL PARTS OF VAN IS RUSTING FRAME THAT HOLDS MOTOR IN RUSTED AND CAN NOT TRADE IN DO TO DEALER SAID IT IS A SAFETY FACTOR AND IT CAN NOT BE REPAIRED DO TO RUST.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING ON STREET AND BRAKES WENT OUT. DID NOT HIT ANYONE BUT HAD TO DRIVE TO SHOP DO TO NO BRAKES VERY SLOW. BRAKES LINE RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE LINES USED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP AND GO. ALL PARTS OF VAN IS RUSTING FRAME THAT HOLDS MOTOR IN RUSTED AND CAN NOT TRADE IN DO TO DEALER SAID IT IS A SAFETY FACTOR AND IT CAN NOT BE REPAIRED DO TO RUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING ON STREET AND BRAKES WENT OUT. DID NOT HIT ANYONE BUT HAD TO DRIVE TO SHOP DO TO NO BRAKES VERY SLOW. BRAKES LINE RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE LINES USED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP AND GO. ALL PARTS OF VAN IS RUSTING FRAME THAT HOLDS MOTOR IN RUSTED AND CAN NOT TRADE IN DO TO DEALER SAID IT IS A SAFETY FACTOR AND IT CAN NOT BE REPAIRED DO TO RUST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/22/2015 - INDIANNAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO REMAIN ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2015 - RENTON, WA
INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND SPEDOMETER HAVE FAILED. WHILE DRIVING MY ENTIRE DASH WOULD TURN OFF. NO SPEDOMETER, NO TACHOMETER, NO FUEL, NOTHING. AFTER A MONTH OR TWO OF THIS HAPPENING ON AND OFF, MY SPEDOMETER STARTED GETTING INACCURATE. IT'S NOW AT ABOUT 37MPH OFF. WHEN I TURN MY CAR OFF, THE SPEDOMETER GOES TO 0 (OR BELOW 0). WHEN I TURN MY KEY TO THE RIGHT, IT GOES TO 37MPH. WHILE I'M DRIVING 20, IT SHOWS 57MPH. IF I'M DRIVING 60MPH, IT SHOWS 97MPH. AFTER PERFORMING A GOOGLE SEARCH AND READING THROUGH SOME TECH BLOGS, WE'VE FOUND THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND A BROKEN CIRCUIT THAT NEEDS TO BE SOLDERED. WE DID THAT AND HAVE NOT HAD THE PROBLEM WITH MY DASH INSTRUMENTS TURNING OFF SINCE THEN, BUT THE SPEDOMETER IS STILL NOT ACCURATE. WE TRIED DOING A SPEDOMETER RESET WHICH DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE. I FEEL LIKE THERE ARE SO MANY PEOPLE THAT HAVE REPORTED THIS PROBLEM, AND IT IS UNSAFE FOR YOUR INSTRUMENT CLUSTER TO NOT BE FULLY FUNCTIONAL - THAT THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL. I KNOW PEOPLE WITH JEEPS AND DODGE VEHICLES THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. I AM SHOCKED THAT THIS IS NOT A RECALLED ISSUE AND CAN'T WAIT TO SELL THIS. I DEFINITELY WON'T MAKE THE MISTAKE OF PURCHASING JEEP/DODGE/CRYSLER AGAIN IF YOU'RE UNWILLING TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT FOR YOUR CUSTOMERS AT NO COST. AFTER A BRIEF SEARCH, I SEE NHTSA ID NUMBERS: 10253857, 10469302, 10192636, 10093722, 10195148, 10203097, 10093722, 10137954, AND 10062117 FILED WITH SAME OR SIMILAR PROBLEMS AS WELL AS ALL THE INFO I'VE FOUND ONLINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds