Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 362 complaints filed for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12)
Communications (17) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (6) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (47) Structure (19) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (32) Wheels (28)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/2/2015 - RANDOLPH , MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SMOKE EMITTED UNDER THE HOOD. WITHIN MINUTES, THE HOOD CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - OSSIAN, IA
LEAKING FUEL FROM FUEL RAIL IN FRONT OF MANIFOLD. THERE IS A VALID RECALL, YET CHRYSLER WOULD NOT COVER TOWING VEHICLE EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION WITH FUEL LEAKING ONTO THE ENGINE. I VERY MUCH BELIEVE THAT CHRYSLER SHOULD COVER TOWING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/21/2015 - LITTLETON, CO
THERE WAS NO INCIDENT YET. THE DRIVER'S SIDE UPPER STRUT BRACKET IS RUSTED ABOUT A 1/4 OF THE TOP SIDE. DON'T KNOW WHERE THE MOISTURE COULD HAVE COME FROM? THE SEALS ABOVE THAT AREA SEEM OK. COULDN'T FIND ANY PAST RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE BUT, THE PASSENGER'S SIDE IS JUST FINE. AT THIS POINT THE INSURANCE COMPANY WON'T COVER FIXING IT. AND AM NOT SURE WHAT COULD BE DONE? THIS IS MY MOM'S CAR AND THE INFORMATION BELOW IS MINE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/16/2014 - TEMPLE, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD DOWN THE ROAD ON 11/16/14 AND THE SERPENTINE BELT CAM OFF GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE HEAD LIGHTS WENT DIM AND THE ENGINE WAS GOING TO OVER HEAT AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY HARD TO TURN SO I HAD TO PULL OVER AND PUT THE BELT BACK ON AND EVERY TIME I GO DOWN THE ROAD AND THE SERPENTINE BELT GETS WET IT COME OFF AND I HAVE TO FIX IT EVERY TIME I HIT A LITTLE WATER PUDDLE IT COME OFF AND I PUT ALL NEW PARTS AND I LOOKED ONLINE TO SEE IF ANY ONE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM LIKE I HAVE AND I SEEN MORE THEN 9,000 COMPLAINTS AND IM TIRED OF THE PROBLEM IT CAME OFF 10 TIMES THIS YEAR AND THE DEALER SAID THAT IS MISSED ALIGN EVEN THE MECHANICS SAID IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM. SO IF ANY ONE CAN DO SOME THING ABOUT IT PLEASE DO SOME THING BEFORE SOME ONE GETS VERY BAD HURT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - GADSDEN, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/30/2014 - ESTERO, FL
OUR VEHICLE HAS FAILED TO START ON 3 OCCASIONS. THE FIRST TIME WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP. IT STARTED RIGHT UP FOR THEM AND THEY COULD FIND ANYTHING WRONG. IF YOU GOOGLE 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY YOU WILL FIND MANY COMPLAINTS AND FEW SOLUTIONS. ONE PARTY HAS SPENT OVER $3000 AT THE DEALERSHIP AND STILL HAS THE PROBLEM. I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT MY GUESS WOULD BE THERE IS A LOOSE SOLDERING JOINT ON ONE OF THE BOARDS. IT HAS TO DO WITH THE ALARM. THE CAR THINKS ITS BEING STOLEN SO IT CUTS THE ENGINE OFF. WHAT HAS WORKED FOR US (BELIEVE IT OR NOT) IS A GOOD HARD BANG ON THE TOP OF THE DASH. I AM FEARFUL OF DRIVING. I DON'T WANT TO GET STRANDED. THIS SHOULD DEFINITELY BE A RECALL AND CHRYSLER NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. THE ALARM SET LIGHT COMES ON EACH TIME, SOMETIMES EVEN WHILE DRIVING! WE SHOULDN'T HAVE TO CROSS OUR FINGERS EVERY TIME WE GET IN THE VAN! CAN YOU TELL US HOW TO DISCONNECT THE ALARM SYSTEM? I THINK THAT WOULD BE A BAND-AIDE FIX TO THE PROBLEM BUT WE HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND ANY INSTRUCTIONS. THE PROBLEM FIRST STARTED WITH THE HORN BLOWING FOR THE ALARM SPORADICALLY AND FOR NO REASON. WE TOOK OUT THE HORN FUSE TO PREVENT FURTHER INSTANCES WHICH POSES A SAFETY HAZARD. ITS OLD BUT LOW MILES AND SHOULD NOT HAVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - DUBOIS, PA
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE TO AN APPT MY DAUGHTER STARTED COMPLAINING OF HER FEET BECOMING VERY HOT. SHE WAS SITTING IN THE PASSENGER FRONT SEAT, THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR. I PULLED OVER AND LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE, THE EXHAUST WAS CHERRY RED AND THERE WERE FLAMES NEAR CATALYTIC CONVERTER AREA. I HAD TO HAVE THE VAN TOWED HOME.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2014 - ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
DRIVING VAN IN THE RAIN, NOTICED THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THE LIGHTS AD POWER STARTED TO DIM. IN THAT CASE, I PULLED OVER TO SEE WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. I NOTICED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT HAD COME OFF THE PULLEYS. I HAVE HAD OTHER MINI-VANS ESPECIALLY DODGES AND HAVE NOTICED THEY ALL SEEM TO DO THE SAME THING WHEN IT COMES TO RAIN, SNOW, ICE. YOU WOULD THINK THEY WOULD RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AS IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I'VE LEARNED FROM MY PREVIOUS DODGE CARAVANS HOW TO PUT THE SERPENTINE BELT BACK ON, BUT IT REALLY IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THIS COULD LEAVE YOU STRANDED AND VERY COSTLY (MONEY AND TIME WISE) IF YOU DON'T KNOW HOW TO PUT IT BACK ON. AS A CONSUMER, I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING ANOTHER DODGE OR CHRYSLER MINIVAN AGAIN DUE TO THIS ISSUE!

View Details

STEERING

5/27/2014 - ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
DRIVING VAN IN THE RAIN, NOTICED THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THE LIGHTS AD POWER STARTED TO DIM. IN THAT CASE, I PULLED OVER TO SEE WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. I NOTICED THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT HAD COME OFF THE PULLEYS. I HAVE HAD OTHER MINI-VANS ESPECIALLY DODGES AND HAVE NOTICED THEY ALL SEEM TO DO THE SAME THING WHEN IT COMES TO RAIN, SNOW, ICE. YOU WOULD THINK THEY WOULD RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AS IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I'VE LEARNED FROM MY PREVIOUS DODGE CARAVANS HOW TO PUT THE SERPENTINE BELT BACK ON, BUT IT REALLY IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THIS COULD LEAVE YOU STRANDED AND VERY COSTLY (MONEY AND TIME WISE) IF YOU DON'T KNOW HOW TO PUT IT BACK ON. AS A CONSUMER, I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING ANOTHER DODGE OR CHRYSLER MINIVAN AGAIN DUE TO THIS ISSUE!

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2013 - YORK , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BELT BECAME DETACHED FROM THE PULLEY SYSTEM, CAUSING THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES TO FAIL. THE CONTACT STATED HE WOULD HAVE TO RECONNECT THE BELT WHENEVER IT BECAME DETACHED. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TENSION PULLEY SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds