Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 362 complaints filed for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12)
Communications (17) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (6) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (47) Structure (19) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (32) Wheels (28)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/27/2010 - NILES , IL
DRIVERS SIDE STRUT TOWER IS VERY RUSTY, VERY CLOSE TO ALLOWING THE STRUT TO PUSH THROUGH THE HOUSING. CHRYSLER HAS A REPAIR KIT AVAILABLE, I HAVE SEEN THE PROBLEM ON COUNTLESS CHRYSLER AND DODGE VANS 1998-2001.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/9/2010 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I HAVE A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY LIMITED EDITION, IT STARTED HAVING TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS, I GOT THAT REPLACED, THE LIGHTS THAT TURN ON THE WIPERS AND AIR KEEP BLINKING AND WILL NOT TURN OFF, THE VANS' PANEL LIGHTS WON'T CUT ON AND THE VAN WON'T START. WHEN IT DOES START, IT CUTS OFF AFTER ABOUT 3 SECONDS. AFTER IT DOES THAT, IT WON'T START AGAIN FOR 24 HOURS. SOMETIMES I UNLOCK THE DOORS AND THE LOCKS RELOCK THEMSELVES BEFORE I CAN OPEN THE DOOR. THE ALARM CUTS ITSELF ON AND SOMETIMES LOCKS ME OUT THE CAR TO WHERE I CAN'T PUT THE KEY IN THE DOOR. WHEN I AM ABLE TO CUT THE ALARM OFF AND TRY TO START IT, IT WILL START FOR 3 SECONDS THEN CUT OFF CONSTANTLY UNTIL IT DOESN'T START AGAIN. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE TOWED A NUMBER OF TIMES, NO DEALERSHIP I HAVE TALKED TO SEEMS TO KNOW HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM. SOME DEALERS WON'T EVEN TAKE THE VAN AS A TRADE-IN. THIS WAS AN INVESTMENT FOR MY FAMILY TO TRAVEL, NOW I'M TO SCARED TO LET ANYONE RIDE IN THE VAN FROM FEAR OF BEING STRANDED. LAST NIGHT WE WERE STRANDED AND HAD TO CALL A CAB TO PICK US UP FOR A $50 RIDE HOME. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR A CONSUMER TO GO THROUGH THESE PROBLEMS AND CHRYSLER HAS NO IDEA HOW TO FIX IT WITHOUT YOU HAVING TO PAY THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A QUICK FIX AND THEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN. GOING THROUGH THESE PROBLEMS MAKES WANT TO NEVER OWN ANOTHER AMERICAN MADE CAR, AND THEY WONDER WHY PEOPLE ARE STARTING TO BUY FOREIGN CARS WITH HIGHER PRICES BUT BETTER LONGEVITY.

View Details

TIRES

4/3/2010 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I BOUGHT 4 DOUGLAS P215/65R16BW TIRES FROM WAL-MART IN PISCATAWAY, NJ IN FEBRUARY, 2006. THOSE DOUGLAS TIRES WERE ACKNOWLEDGED TO HAVE BEEN FABRICATED BY GOODYEAR TO WAL-MART'S SPECS. MY VEHICLE IS A CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY LTD, WHICH FOR ME HAS BEEN A WONDERFUL, RELIABLE VEHICLE. I HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR 20,000 MILES SINCE THEN. THE TIRES SHOW ONLY MODEST WEAR AND I THOUGHT WERE PERFORMING WELL, DRIVEN MOSTLY IN FLORIDA, WHERE I NOW RESIDE. SIX TIMES SINCE THEN I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO A WAL-MART STORE BECAUSE OF A SLOW LEAK IN THE TIRES (I HAD PURCHASED LIFETIME SERVICE), AND EACH TIME SOME WORK WAS DONE WHICH TEMPORARILY SEEMED TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. THIS WEEK I TOOK THE CAR IN BECAUSE THE AIR LEAKAGE HAS BECOME MORE SEVERE. I WAS TOLD THAT NOTHING COULD BE DONE BECAUSE THE TIRES HAVE "DRY ROT" CAUSED BY EXPOSURE TO WARM PAVEMENT AND SUNLIGHT. THEY WILL NOT TOUCH THE TIRES BECAUSE THE BEAD IS SO DELICATE IT COULD BREAK AT ANY MOMENT. I AM NOW AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR LEST A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE INJURE ME, MY FAMILY, OR OTHERS ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/11/2009 - FARMINGTON, PA
HIT THE BRAKES HEAVILY TO AVOID A STOPPED VEHICLE. FOUR MILES LATER, THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WHILE PROCEEDING DOWN A THREE MILE MOUNTAIN ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS FINALLY STOPPED BY PLACING THE TRANSMISSION IN LOW RANGE, PUMPING THE BRAKES AND APPLICATION OF THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. BRAKE FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM BOTH METAL BRAKE LINES JUST AFT OF THE ANTI-LOCK CONTROL VALVE. THE METAL LINES ARE SEVERELY CORRODED AT THE JUNCTION OF THE SOLID METAL LINE AND THE BRAIDED STAINLESS STEEL SECTION. SEARCH OF THE INTERNET AT "WWW.RIPOFFREPORT.COM" REVEALED THAT MINE ISN'T AN ISOLATED CASE. REPORT #153655 AT THAT SITE READS IDENTICAL TO MY EXPERIENCE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/8/2009 - BLOOMINGTON, IL
THE DRIVER SIDE STRUT MOUNT AT THE TOP OF THE WHEEL WELL HAS COMPLETELY RUSTED AND CAN BREAK OFF. NOT SURE ON THE CRITICALITY OF THIS DEFECT, BUT LOOKS VERY UNSAFE, AND CHRYSLER NEEDS TO TAKE SOME ACTION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/23/2009 - WOODBERRY, MN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. IN JUNE OF 2006, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE STRUT TOWER COULD DETACH FROM THE VEHICLE AND CAUSE A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AT THAT TIME AND THE MECHANIC WARNED HIM THAT A FAILURE WAS EMINENT. IN 2007, HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A REPAIR SHOP FOR MINOR SERVICE AND WAS INFORMED THAT HE COULD DIE IF HE CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. HE WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE STRUT MOUNT TOWER WAS RUSTED OUT. AS A RESULT, IT COULD SEPARATE AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT, BURST THROUGH THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE, AND CAUSE THE WHEEL TO FALL HORIZONTALLY. HOWEVER, THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE HE HAD NO OTHER MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO JIFFY LUBE FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND HAD TO SIGN A FORM ACKNOWLEDGING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER, BUT WAS TREATED RUDELY AND WAS DISCONNECTED. HE FEELS THAT HIS VEHICLE IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND COULD LEAD TO A FATAL CRASH. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 160,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/5/2009 - MARKHAM, 00
1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY THE DASH LOSE FUNCTION, DRIVING WITHOUT SPEED AND THE REST OF THE FUNCTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/5/2009 - MARKHAM, 00
1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY THE DASH LOSE FUNCTION, DRIVING WITHOUT SPEED AND THE REST OF THE FUNCTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/4/2008 - CENTREVILLE, MI
THE DRIVER SIDE SHOCK ABSORBER TOWER ON A 2000 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY HAS RUSTED THROUGH LOSING SUPPORT FOR THE SHOCK ABSORBER. HAVE CHECKED OTHER 1999 AND 2000 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY VANS AND THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. WHAT IS BEING DONE TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM? THANKS, GPS

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

11/4/2008 - CENTREVILLE, MI
THE DRIVER SIDE SHOCK ABSORBER TOWER ON A 2000 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY HAS RUSTED THROUGH LOSING SUPPORT FOR THE SHOCK ABSORBER. HAVE CHECKED OTHER 1999 AND 2000 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY VANS AND THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. WHAT IS BEING DONE TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM? THANKS, GPS

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds