Auto Recalls for Consumers

ISUZU AMIGO - 1999 ISUZU AMIGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Isuzu Manufacturing Services of America

There are 69 complaints filed for the 1999 ISUZU AMIGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 ISUZU AMIGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 ISUZU AMIGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Suspension (16) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (2) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Fuel System Gasoline (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

8/29/2014 - DOWNERS GROVE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ISUZU AMIGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME WAS CORRODED AND BEGAN TO DETERIORATE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V306000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE DEALER COULD NOT COMPLETE THE REPAIRS DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

7/30/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 ISUZU AMIGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BECAME VERY UNSTABLE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR SWAY BARS SEPARATED FROM THE SUBFRAME OF THE VEHICLE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS SEVERELY RUSTED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE STRUT ALSO SEPARATED FROM THE SUBFRAME DUE TO SEVERE RUSTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

3/19/2014 - AVILLA, IN
FOUND OUT MY VEHICLE HAS REAR FRAME CORROSION AND TRACK BAR MOUNT ALMOST GONE FROM RUST. WAS NOTICED WHEN HAVING TIRES CHANGED. SAW RECALL AND READ CUSTOMER LETTER ONLINE (NEVER RECEIVED NOTICE OF RECALL). CALLED ISUZU CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD RECALL NO LONGER APPLIES DUE TO TIME. THE LETTER SAYS WITHIN ONE YEAR OF NOTIFICATION. IF I WASN'T NOTIFIED SHOULDN'T I STILL HAVE A YEAR TO GET THIS RECALL DONE?. NOW I HAVE A VERY UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT THEY REFUSE TO REPAIR FOR FAULTY MANUFACTURING. HOW ARE WE AS CONSUMERS SUPPOSED TO HAVE A RECALL DONE WITHIN THEIR TIME LIMIT WITHOUT BEING NOTIFIED? WHAT CAN WE DO AND WHO DO WE NEED TO CONTACT TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE? THIS ISN'T THE FIRST COMPLAINT OF LACK OF SERVICE FOR THIS RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/19/2014 - AVILLA, IN
FOUND OUT MY VEHICLE HAS REAR FRAME CORROSION AND TRACK BAR MOUNT ALMOST GONE FROM RUST. WAS NOTICED WHEN HAVING TIRES CHANGED. SAW RECALL AND READ CUSTOMER LETTER ONLINE (NEVER RECEIVED NOTICE OF RECALL). CALLED ISUZU CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD RECALL NO LONGER APPLIES DUE TO TIME. THE LETTER SAYS WITHIN ONE YEAR OF NOTIFICATION. IF I WASN'T NOTIFIED SHOULDN'T I STILL HAVE A YEAR TO GET THIS RECALL DONE?. NOW I HAVE A VERY UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT THEY REFUSE TO REPAIR FOR FAULTY MANUFACTURING. HOW ARE WE AS CONSUMERS SUPPOSED TO HAVE A RECALL DONE WITHIN THEIR TIME LIMIT WITHOUT BEING NOTIFIED? WHAT CAN WE DO AND WHO DO WE NEED TO CONTACT TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE? THIS ISN'T THE FIRST COMPLAINT OF LACK OF SERVICE FOR THIS RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/9/2013 - OMAHA, NE
WHILE ON THE INTERNET I WAS SEARCHING FOR A DEALER FOR MY ABOVE LISTED CAR AND DISCOVERED A RECALL DATED LAST YEAR FOR STATES WITH USE OF CORROSIVE MATERIAL IN WINTER WHICH INCLUDES NEBRASKA BUT NOT LISTED ON RECALL (WHICH MAY BE BECAUSE VERY FEW ISUZU CARS WERE SOLD IN THIS STATE IN FACT THE DEALER TOLD ME AT TIME OF SALE I HAD ONE OF TWO OF 1999 AMIGOS IN STATE ROD RODDEN DEALERSHIP 84 & F NOW A KIA DEALERSHIP I CALLED THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SPOKE WITH A LADY THAT TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO BECAUSE I MISSED THE DEADLINE (EVEN THOUGHT I WAS NOT NOTIFIED BECAUSE I DID NOT LIVE IN THE LISTED STATES WHICH INCLUDED IOWA AND MISSOURI BUT NOT NEBRASKA ALTHOUGH WE USE SAME MATERIALS FOR SAFETY) SHE TOLD ME MY VEHICLE WAS PERFECTLY SAFE AND WHEN I ASKED IF I COULD RECORD THAT FOR FUTURE IN IF I AM INJURED IN A TRAFFIC ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM SHE HUNG UP ON ME I THEN CALLED BACK AND THE MAN ASKED MY NAME WHEN I TOLD HIM HE TOLD ME HE COULD NOT TALK TO ME BECAUSE I MAY RECORD THE CONVERSATION AND THEN HE HUNG UP ON ME. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! SO NOW I AM VERY CONCERNED AND HAVE NO PLACE TO TURN BUT YOU. CLOSER DEALERSHIP NOW 10 MILES AWAY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

10/9/2013 - OMAHA, NE
WHILE ON THE INTERNET I WAS SEARCHING FOR A DEALER FOR MY ABOVE LISTED CAR AND DISCOVERED A RECALL DATED LAST YEAR FOR STATES WITH USE OF CORROSIVE MATERIAL IN WINTER WHICH INCLUDES NEBRASKA BUT NOT LISTED ON RECALL (WHICH MAY BE BECAUSE VERY FEW ISUZU CARS WERE SOLD IN THIS STATE IN FACT THE DEALER TOLD ME AT TIME OF SALE I HAD ONE OF TWO OF 1999 AMIGOS IN STATE ROD RODDEN DEALERSHIP 84 & F NOW A KIA DEALERSHIP I CALLED THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SPOKE WITH A LADY THAT TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO BECAUSE I MISSED THE DEADLINE (EVEN THOUGHT I WAS NOT NOTIFIED BECAUSE I DID NOT LIVE IN THE LISTED STATES WHICH INCLUDED IOWA AND MISSOURI BUT NOT NEBRASKA ALTHOUGH WE USE SAME MATERIALS FOR SAFETY) SHE TOLD ME MY VEHICLE WAS PERFECTLY SAFE AND WHEN I ASKED IF I COULD RECORD THAT FOR FUTURE IN IF I AM INJURED IN A TRAFFIC ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM SHE HUNG UP ON ME I THEN CALLED BACK AND THE MAN ASKED MY NAME WHEN I TOLD HIM HE TOLD ME HE COULD NOT TALK TO ME BECAUSE I MAY RECORD THE CONVERSATION AND THEN HE HUNG UP ON ME. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! SO NOW I AM VERY CONCERNED AND HAVE NO PLACE TO TURN BUT YOU. CLOSER DEALERSHIP NOW 10 MILES AWAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/26/2013 - MONROEVILLE, PA
1999 ISUZU AMIGO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO REAR SUSPENSION LOWER LINK BRACKET CORROSION RECALL NOTICE. THE CONSUMER IS REQUESTING THAT RECALL # 12V306000 BE INVESTIGATED AND EXTENDED. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE DID NOT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE AS CONFIRMED BY PHONE WITH CUSTOMER SUPPORT 08/13/13 ACKNOWLEDGING THE NOTICE WAS RETURNED AS UNDELIVERABLE SEPTEMBER 2012. CUSTOMER SUPPORT FIRST CLAIMED TO HER HUSBAND, VIA PHONE ON 08/13/13 THAT TWO NOTICES WERE SENT, BUT UPON HER CALLING THAT SAME DAY, CUSTOMER SUPPORT SAID ONLY ONE NOTICE WAS SENT TO OWNERS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, HER VEHICLE WAS NINE DAYS PAST THE JULY 31ST DEADLINE FOR THE SUSPENSION CHECK-UP.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/3/2013 - TINLEY PARK, IL
GENERAL MAINTENANCE UPDATE. THE ISUZU DEALER HAS APPLIED AN ANTI-RUST SOLVENT TO LOWER STABILIZER ARM BRACKETS ACCORDING TO DIRECTIONS IN THE RECALL REMEMEDY REQUIREMENT. HOWEVER, THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE CAR FRAME IS POTTED WITH LARGE RUST HOLES. I HAVE HAD SOME OF THE REACHABLE HOLES WELDED. I HAVE HAD ADDITIONAL SUPPORT BRACKETS WELDED INTO THE FRAME TO STRENGTHEN THE BADLY ROTTED AXLE AND SHOCK MOUNT POINTS. I HAVE APPLIED A RUST ENCAPSULATION PRODUCT TO THE INTERIOR OF THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE FRAME, AND RUST CONVERTER PRODUCTS TO THE EXTERIOR OF THE FRAME. THIS IS MY DAILY DRIVER. A CATASTROPHIC FRAME FAILURE IS INEVITABLE. BUT, IT CAN BE PREVENTED. THE AUTO MANUFACTURER NEEDS TO HAVE NEW FRAMES AVAILABLE TO AMIGO OWNERS WHO WISH TO PURCHASE THEM. PLEASE KEEP ME UPDATED ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

11/17/2012 - HAMMONTON , NJ
HELLO I AM THE OWNER OF A ISUZU AMIGO I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE DAMAGE TO THE UNDERCARRIAGE UNTIL AFTER I BOUGHT IT. 10-7-2012 I BROUGHT IT TO MY PERSONAL MECHANIC WHEN I FOUND THE DAMAGE ON 10-24-12. AFTER THAT, I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL, AND SENT THE CAR TO A DEALER, ISUZU CLAIMS THE RECALL HAS ALREADY BEEN TAKEN CARE OF BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE EXCESSIVE RUST AND DAMAGE IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. THE DEALERSHIP AND MY PRIVATE MECHANIC SAY THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE, AND THE GAS TANK MAY FALL OUT AS A RESULT OF THE RUST DAMAGE, THE TRANSMISSION SUPPORT IS RUSTED BADLY AND THE BRAKE LINES ARE IN BAD SHAPE AS WELL. I WAS HOPING THEY WERE GOING TO JUST BUY THE CAR BACK FROM ME AS STATED IN THE RECALL LETTER, I CANT BELIEVE THEY SAY THIS DAMAGE IS NOT COVERED. I KNOW THE CAR ISN'T NEW, BUT THIS RUST IS UNBELIEVABLE. BEFORE I KNEW ABOUT THE RECALL, I HAD IT LOOKED AT AND WAS TOLD, THAT EVEN IF THE PARTS ARE AVAILABLE, THERE ISN'T ENOUGH GOOD METAL TO WELD THE NEW PARTS IN. AND WAS ADVISED NOT TO DRIVE IT. I AM HOPING YOU MAY HAVE SOME ADVICE AND GUIDANCE FOR ME. I AM STUCK NOW WITH AN UNSAFE CAR. THAT I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO SELL TO SOMEONE ELSE. ISUZU DID ADMIT TO PART OF THIS EXCESSIVE RUST BY HONORING THE FIRST AND SECOND RECALLS, THEY HAVE TO REALIZE THERE IS MORE. I'M SURE THE DEALER WAS INSTRUCTED TO ONLY VERIFY THE PARTS LISTED IN THE RECALL AND IGNORE THE REST, AS IT IS NOT COVERED , BUT OUT OF CONCERN FOR MY SAFETY THEY STRONGLY SUGGESTED I HAVE THIS CAR TOWED OUT OF THE LOT. I GUESS THE ONLY WAY FOR ISUZU TO NOTICE IS IF I DRIVE THIS CAR UNTIL SOMETHING BREAKS OFF, AND I GET INTO AN ACCIDENT. I CANT AFFORD ANOTHER CAR RIGHT NOW. AND I CAN'T SELL THIS ONE. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

11/17/2012 - HAMMONTON , NJ
HELLO I AM THE OWNER OF A ISUZU AMIGO I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE DAMAGE TO THE UNDERCARRIAGE UNTIL AFTER I BOUGHT IT. 10-7-2012 I BROUGHT IT TO MY PERSONAL MECHANIC WHEN I FOUND THE DAMAGE ON 10-24-12. AFTER THAT, I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL, AND SENT THE CAR TO A DEALER, ISUZU CLAIMS THE RECALL HAS ALREADY BEEN TAKEN CARE OF BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE EXCESSIVE RUST AND DAMAGE IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. THE DEALERSHIP AND MY PRIVATE MECHANIC SAY THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE, AND THE GAS TANK MAY FALL OUT AS A RESULT OF THE RUST DAMAGE, THE TRANSMISSION SUPPORT IS RUSTED BADLY AND THE BRAKE LINES ARE IN BAD SHAPE AS WELL. I WAS HOPING THEY WERE GOING TO JUST BUY THE CAR BACK FROM ME AS STATED IN THE RECALL LETTER, I CANT BELIEVE THEY SAY THIS DAMAGE IS NOT COVERED. I KNOW THE CAR ISN'T NEW, BUT THIS RUST IS UNBELIEVABLE. BEFORE I KNEW ABOUT THE RECALL, I HAD IT LOOKED AT AND WAS TOLD, THAT EVEN IF THE PARTS ARE AVAILABLE, THERE ISN'T ENOUGH GOOD METAL TO WELD THE NEW PARTS IN. AND WAS ADVISED NOT TO DRIVE IT. I AM HOPING YOU MAY HAVE SOME ADVICE AND GUIDANCE FOR ME. I AM STUCK NOW WITH AN UNSAFE CAR. THAT I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO SELL TO SOMEONE ELSE. ISUZU DID ADMIT TO PART OF THIS EXCESSIVE RUST BY HONORING THE FIRST AND SECOND RECALLS, THEY HAVE TO REALIZE THERE IS MORE. I'M SURE THE DEALER WAS INSTRUCTED TO ONLY VERIFY THE PARTS LISTED IN THE RECALL AND IGNORE THE REST, AS IT IS NOT COVERED , BUT OUT OF CONCERN FOR MY SAFETY THEY STRONGLY SUGGESTED I HAVE THIS CAR TOWED OUT OF THE LOT. I GUESS THE ONLY WAY FOR ISUZU TO NOTICE IS IF I DRIVE THIS CAR UNTIL SOMETHING BREAKS OFF, AND I GET INTO AN ACCIDENT. I CANT AFFORD ANOTHER CAR RIGHT NOW. AND I CAN'T SELL THIS ONE. PLEASE HELP!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds