Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 472 complaints filed for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)
Communications (3) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (126) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (78) Fuel System Other (6) Seat Belts (11) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (11) Structure (32) Visibility (59)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (47) Wheels (9)
Exterior Lighting (55) Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/18/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE A BUMP OCCURRED AT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEFORE LOOSING CONTROL OF THE STEERING AND CRASHING INTO A TREE COMPLETELY DESTROYING THE VEHICLE. DURING THE CRASH THE AIR BAGS DID NO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED AN INJURED RIGHT SHOULD AND A CONCUSSION DURING THE INCIDENT. NO POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. JFT

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/18/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE A BUMP OCCURRED AT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEFORE LOOSING CONTROL OF THE STEERING AND CRASHING INTO A TREE COMPLETELY DESTROYING THE VEHICLE. DURING THE CRASH THE AIR BAGS DID NO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED AN INJURED RIGHT SHOULD AND A CONCUSSION DURING THE INCIDENT. NO POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. JFT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2014 - EUCLID, OH
I HAVE A 1999 OLDS ALERO AND AM JUST NOW GETTING A RECALL FOR THE KEY SWITCH. AS SOON AS I GOT IT I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER. I WAS TOLD THEY ARE OUT OF PARTS AND MY NAME WAS PUT ON A WAITING LIST. I WAS ALSO ADIVED IT MAY TAKE THREE TO FOUR WEEKS. I ALSO ASKED IF THE CAR WAS SAFE TOLD RIVE AND WAS TOLD YES. IF THE CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE WHY THE RECALL. IF THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE KEY SWITCH HOW CAN IT BE SAFE TO DRIVE. WHY DOESN'T THE DEALER HAVE THE PARTS AND WHY SHOULD IT TAKE THREE TO FOUR WEEKS. WHAT HAPPEN DURING THE WAIT TIME IF THERE IS AND ACCIDENT AND SOMEONE IS INJURED OR KILLED. WHY DOES THE AUTO DEALERS PLAY GAMES WITH OUR LIFES. PLEASE LOOK INOT THIS OR AT LEAST FILE THIS COMPLAINT, THEN IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT BEFORE THEY FIX IT I'LL HAVE PROVE I FILED A COMPLAINT. ALSO I HAD TO PUT BRAKES FOR THE CAR PART IT WOULD NOT TAKE KEY SWITCH, WHICH IS WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. SO DISREGARD BRAKES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - YAKIMA, WA
1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO GM RECALL #14350. * LD THE CONSUMER IS SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH AND LOCK CYLINDER SHE HAD REPLACED ON JUNE 5, 2013.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/18/2014 - LA MESA, CA
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE AND HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET THE PROBLEM CORRECTED. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH BOB STALL CHEVROLET HERE IN LA MESA, CA. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR AN HOUR AND LIED TO ME AND AFTER WAITING WITH NO RESPONSE FOR AN HOUR, I WENT TO RETRIEVE MY CAR AND WAS TOLD I HAD TO PAY $50 TO GET 3 KEYS AS MY KEYS WERE NOT THE RIGHT ONES. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 13 YEARS AND HAVE USED THE KEYS GIVEN TO ME WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. THEY HAVE ALWAYS WORKED AND I HAVE NEVER HAD DIFFERENT KEYS MADE. I RETRIEVED MY CAR AND KEYS AND CAME HOME. SINCE THAT TIME, I HAVE CALLED THE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER TWICE----BOTH TIMES I WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME BACK IN LESS THAN AN HOUR. I RECEIVED NO CALL BACKS. I THEN TRIED CALLING THE VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AND WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT AGENTS THAT SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME BACK BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS. I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE A CALL BACK. IS THERE SOMEONE OUT THERE WHO CAN HELP ME? I AM A 72 YEAR OLD WIDOW AND HATE BEING FORCED TO DRIVE A CAR WITH SAFETY CONCERNS AND SINCE I ONLY DRIVE ABOUT 50 MILES PER YEAR, I DON'T WANT TO BE INVOLVED IN A CRASH BUT THAT REMAINS A POSSIBILITY SINCE NO ONE SEEMS ABLE TO HELP ME. THANK YOU AND I HOPE TO HEAR FROM SOMEONE SOON.

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/17/2014 - DAVENPORT, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGHLY AND THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS FURTHER INSPECTED BY THE REPAIR SHOP AND THE MECHANIC INDICATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS WORN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. ALSO, THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CONSOLE COVER WAS NOT CLOSING PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V140000 (STRUCTURE) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT ABLE TO SPECIFY WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

10/17/2014 - DAVENPORT, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGHLY AND THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS FURTHER INSPECTED BY THE REPAIR SHOP AND THE MECHANIC INDICATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS WORN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. ALSO, THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CONSOLE COVER WAS NOT CLOSING PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V140000 (STRUCTURE) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT ABLE TO SPECIFY WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

10/14/2014 - FORT COLLINS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WOULD INADVERTENTLY FALL OUT OF THE IGNITION SWITCH WHILE IN THE ON POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE SERVICED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO NOTIFY NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

10/10/2014 - BOONEVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE SECURITY WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE WHERE A PRIVATE MECHANIC RESET THE SECURITY SYSTEM BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - BOONEVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE SECURITY WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE WHERE A PRIVATE MECHANIC RESET THE SECURITY SYSTEM BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds