Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 468 complaints filed for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)
Communications (3) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (126) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (75) Fuel System Other (6) Seat Belts (11) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (89) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (11) Structure (32) Visibility (59)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (47) Wheels (9)
Exterior Lighting (55) Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/18/2014 - LA MESA, CA
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE AND HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET THE PROBLEM CORRECTED. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH BOB STALL CHEVROLET HERE IN LA MESA, CA. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR AN HOUR AND LIED TO ME AND AFTER WAITING WITH NO RESPONSE FOR AN HOUR, I WENT TO RETRIEVE MY CAR AND WAS TOLD I HAD TO PAY $50 TO GET 3 KEYS AS MY KEYS WERE NOT THE RIGHT ONES. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 13 YEARS AND HAVE USED THE KEYS GIVEN TO ME WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. THEY HAVE ALWAYS WORKED AND I HAVE NEVER HAD DIFFERENT KEYS MADE. I RETRIEVED MY CAR AND KEYS AND CAME HOME. SINCE THAT TIME, I HAVE CALLED THE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER TWICE----BOTH TIMES I WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME BACK IN LESS THAN AN HOUR. I RECEIVED NO CALL BACKS. I THEN TRIED CALLING THE VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AND WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT AGENTS THAT SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME BACK BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS. I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE A CALL BACK. IS THERE SOMEONE OUT THERE WHO CAN HELP ME? I AM A 72 YEAR OLD WIDOW AND HATE BEING FORCED TO DRIVE A CAR WITH SAFETY CONCERNS AND SINCE I ONLY DRIVE ABOUT 50 MILES PER YEAR, I DON'T WANT TO BE INVOLVED IN A CRASH BUT THAT REMAINS A POSSIBILITY SINCE NO ONE SEEMS ABLE TO HELP ME. THANK YOU AND I HOPE TO HEAR FROM SOMEONE SOON.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2014 - DAVENPORT, IA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGH AND THE RPMS RACED INTERMITTENTLY CAUSING THE CONTACT TO HAVE TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP WHO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS FURTHER INSPECTED BY THE REPAIR SHOP AND THE MECHANIC INDICATED THAT FURTHER DIAGNOSIS OF THE TIMING CHAIN WAS NECESSARY BECAUSE IT WAS WORN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE CONSOLE COVER WAS INTERMITTENTLY NOT CLOSING PROPERLY. THE CONTACT WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V140000 (STRUCTURE ) AND 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ) BUT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE CONSOLE REPAIR FOR THE RECALL WOULD BE PERFORMED AND THE FAIURES WERE NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - DAVENPORT, IA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGH AND THE RPMS RACED INTERMITTENTLY CAUSING THE CONTACT TO HAVE TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP WHO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS FURTHER INSPECTED BY THE REPAIR SHOP AND THE MECHANIC INDICATED THAT FURTHER DIAGNOSIS OF THE TIMING CHAIN WAS NECESSARY BECAUSE IT WAS WORN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE CONSOLE COVER WAS INTERMITTENTLY NOT CLOSING PROPERLY. THE CONTACT WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V140000 (STRUCTURE ) AND 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ) BUT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE CONSOLE REPAIR FOR THE RECALL WOULD BE PERFORMED AND THE FAIURES WERE NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - FORT COLLINS, CO
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED HAD RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN:14V400000(ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND HAD TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED EVER SINCE SHE HAD TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR THE RECALL,THE KEY WOULD INADVERTENTLY FALL OUT OF THE IGNITION WHILE IN THE ON POSITION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT TO NOTIFY NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.GB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - BOONEVILLE, MS
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, HE HIT A BUMP IN THE ROAD WHICH CAUSED THE SECURITY LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE AND THE VEHICLE TO STALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND HE HAD A MECHANIC TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE MECHANIC RESET THE SECURITY SYSTEM. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE REPAIRS WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 210,000. FM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - BRISTOL, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE FLIPPED OVER. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE DRIVER RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION, BUT SUFFERED FATAL INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - HAMMOND, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE KEY WOULD RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE SECURITY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO WAIT FOR THE SECURITY WARNING INDICATOR TO DEACTIVATE BEFORE THE VEHICLE COULD START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION FAILED AND THE COMPUTER NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

9/15/2014 - CAMPTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HERNIATED DISK TO THE NECK AND INJURIES TO THE LOWER BACK AND HIP, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/15/2014 - CAMPTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HERNIATED DISK TO THE NECK AND INJURIES TO THE LOWER BACK AND HIP, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/15/2014 - CAMPTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HERNIATED DISK TO THE NECK AND INJURIES TO THE LOWER BACK AND HIP, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds