Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 476 complaints filed for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)
Communications (3) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (126) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (81) Fuel System Other (6) Seat Belts (11) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (11) Structure (32) Visibility (59)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (48) Wheels (9)
Exterior Lighting (55) Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/15/2014 - PEORIA, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO TURN ON AFTER THE KEY WAS INSERTED INTO THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 122,000. PAM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/13/2014 - COMFORT, WV
WHEN TRYING TO START THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT COMES ON AND BLINKS YOU MUST WAIT 10 MINS TO RESTART AND SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE WILL START OR YOU HAVE TO WAIT THE RECYCLE TILL AGAIN. GM DID A RECALL ON THE KEY ITSELF TO ADD A HOLE IN THE KEY FOR THE WEIGHT SITUATION, BUT DID NOT HELP THE IGNITION PROBLEM OF STARTING THIS VEHICLE. MY QUESTION IS WHY HASN'T THIS PROBLEM BEEN ADDRESS YET? I HAVE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/4/2014 - WONEWOC, WI
1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER. HOWEVER, SHE WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, WHERE THE ENGINE POWER, POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER WAS INJURED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/1/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE CUT OFF AND THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE VEHICLE HAD AN EVAP LEAK AND THE FRONT HUB ASSEMBLIES WERE REPLACED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: HUB

12/1/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE CUT OFF AND THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE VEHICLE HAD AN EVAP LEAK AND THE FRONT HUB ASSEMBLIES WERE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE STEERING AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER AND A CONCUSSION, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/18/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE STEERING AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER AND A CONCUSSION, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2014 - EUCLID, OH
I HAVE A 1999 OLDS ALERO AND AM JUST NOW GETTING A RECALL FOR THE KEY SWITCH. AS SOON AS I GOT IT I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER. I WAS TOLD THEY ARE OUT OF PARTS AND MY NAME WAS PUT ON A WAITING LIST. I WAS ALSO ADIVED IT MAY TAKE THREE TO FOUR WEEKS. I ALSO ASKED IF THE CAR WAS SAFE TOLD RIVE AND WAS TOLD YES. IF THE CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE WHY THE RECALL. IF THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE KEY SWITCH HOW CAN IT BE SAFE TO DRIVE. WHY DOESN'T THE DEALER HAVE THE PARTS AND WHY SHOULD IT TAKE THREE TO FOUR WEEKS. WHAT HAPPEN DURING THE WAIT TIME IF THERE IS AND ACCIDENT AND SOMEONE IS INJURED OR KILLED. WHY DOES THE AUTO DEALERS PLAY GAMES WITH OUR LIFES. PLEASE LOOK INOT THIS OR AT LEAST FILE THIS COMPLAINT, THEN IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT BEFORE THEY FIX IT I'LL HAVE PROVE I FILED A COMPLAINT. ALSO I HAD TO PUT BRAKES FOR THE CAR PART IT WOULD NOT TAKE KEY SWITCH, WHICH IS WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. SO DISREGARD BRAKES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - YAKIMA, WA
1999 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO GM RECALL #14350. * LD THE CONSUMER IS SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH AND LOCK CYLINDER SHE HAD REPLACED ON JUNE 5, 2013.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/18/2014 - LA MESA, CA
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE AND HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET THE PROBLEM CORRECTED. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH BOB STALL CHEVROLET HERE IN LA MESA, CA. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR AN HOUR AND LIED TO ME AND AFTER WAITING WITH NO RESPONSE FOR AN HOUR, I WENT TO RETRIEVE MY CAR AND WAS TOLD I HAD TO PAY $50 TO GET 3 KEYS AS MY KEYS WERE NOT THE RIGHT ONES. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 13 YEARS AND HAVE USED THE KEYS GIVEN TO ME WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. THEY HAVE ALWAYS WORKED AND I HAVE NEVER HAD DIFFERENT KEYS MADE. I RETRIEVED MY CAR AND KEYS AND CAME HOME. SINCE THAT TIME, I HAVE CALLED THE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER TWICE----BOTH TIMES I WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME BACK IN LESS THAN AN HOUR. I RECEIVED NO CALL BACKS. I THEN TRIED CALLING THE VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AND WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT AGENTS THAT SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME BACK BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS. I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE A CALL BACK. IS THERE SOMEONE OUT THERE WHO CAN HELP ME? I AM A 72 YEAR OLD WIDOW AND HATE BEING FORCED TO DRIVE A CAR WITH SAFETY CONCERNS AND SINCE I ONLY DRIVE ABOUT 50 MILES PER YEAR, I DON'T WANT TO BE INVOLVED IN A CRASH BUT THAT REMAINS A POSSIBILITY SINCE NO ONE SEEMS ABLE TO HELP ME. THANK YOU AND I HOPE TO HEAR FROM SOMEONE SOON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds