Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 1999 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 59 complaints filed for the 1999 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (6) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Trailer Hitches (1) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (4) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/17/2014 - EAU CLAIRE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOYOTA RAV 4. THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC THAT THE FRONT CRADLE WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED AND THE ONLY THING KEEPING IT FROM FRACTURING WAS THE STEERING LINKAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 220,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

6/10/2014 - ELIZABETH , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT SUB FRAME AND CONTROL ARMS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE AND CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000. UPDATED 10/8/14

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM

6/10/2014 - ELIZABETH , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT SUB FRAME AND CONTROL ARMS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE AND CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000. UPDATED 10/8/14

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/15/2014 - JERICHO , VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT SUB FRAME AND CONTROL ARMS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 163,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM

5/15/2014 - JERICHO , VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT SUB FRAME AND CONTROL ARMS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 163,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/17/2014 - SAN RAFAEL, CA
TODAY I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND MY ENGINE SURGED. I WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR BY BRAKING AS HARD AS POSSIBLE, AND EVEN THEN IT WAS DIFFICULT TO STOP. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IT HAS SURGED WHILE BACKING UP. ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS OVER THE YEARS THE ENGINE HAS SURGED WHEN THE CAR IS SLOWING DOWN AT A STOPLIGHT OR STOP SIGN, AND USUALLY WHEN I'M GOING UNDER 10 MILES AN HOUR. VERY SCARY! THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH MY FLOOR MAT, WHICH IS FASTENED SECURELY WELL BELOW THE BRAKE AND GAS PEDALS.ALSO, I'VE NEVER BEEN DISORIENTED AND UNABLE TO TELL WHERE MY FOOT IS. I DON'T DRINK OR SMOKE, AND HAVE A GOOD SAFETY RECORD WITH STATE FARM FOR OVER 40 YEARS. I'VE REPORTED THIS SURGING PROBLEM NUMEROUS TIMES TO TOYOTA AND THEY CAN'T SEE ANYTHING WRONG WHEN THEY TEST DRIVE. THAT'S BECAUSE THE SURGING PROBLEM OCCURS IRREGULARLY, ABOUT ONCE IN EVERY 50 TIMES I BRAKE. AT VARIOUS TIMES I'VE ASKED OTHER DRIVERS OF RAV 4 CARS IF THEY'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM, AND SEVERAL HAVE SAID YES. TOO BAD I NEVER TOOK DOWN THEIR NAMES. I'VE ALSO REPORTED THIS BEFORE TO THE NHTSA, AND NOTHING CAME OF IT. I HAVE FAITH THAT ONE DAY THE PROBLEM WILL BE ACKNOWLEDGED. I'M A RETIRED FEDERAL OFFICIAL, SO I HAVE TO THINK THAT WRITING THIS IS NOT A WASTE OF TIME.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/30/2013 - ST LAURENT, QUEBEC H4L 5P4, NY
THERE IS RUST IN THE FRONT CROSS MEMBER PASSENGER SIDE. THERE IS A BIG HOLE BECAUSE OF RUST. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/30/2013 - ST LAURENT, QUEBEC H4L 5P4, NY
THERE IS RUST IN THE FRONT CROSS MEMBER PASSENGER SIDE. THERE IS A BIG HOLE BECAUSE OF RUST. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/7/2013 - NORDLAND, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING AT A STOP WITH THE BRAKES APPLIED, THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,579.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/3/2011 - CLINTON, CT
WHILE DRIVING ON 2 LANE ROAD APPROACHING A STOP LIGHT, THE LIGHT TURNED RED AND CAR BRAKES FOR STOP, AT WHICH TIME THE THE LOWER A FRAME COLLAPSED, FORCING CAR TO THE LEFT AND INTO THE CURB, DRIVER SIDE TIRE WAS FORCED UP INTO THE WHEEL WELL. NO INJURIES OCCURED DUE TO LOW SPEED!! HOWEVER WHAT IF IT HAPPENED AT HIGHWAY SPEED??? CHECKED THE OTHER SIDE AND THE "STEEL" A FRAME "CRUMBLED IN MY HAND!!! CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE. HARD TO BELIEVE YOU HAVE FAITH THAT THIS CRITICAL MEMBER COULD FAIL SO VIOLENTLY?? HOPE THIS HELPS OTHERS, CHECK NOW!!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds