Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2000 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2000 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Power Train (10) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (4) Suspension (13) Visibility (5)
Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Tires (15) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/17/2017 - SUPERIOR, CO
EACH TIME I FILL THE GAS TANK THERE IS A STRONG SMELL OF LEAKING GAS. NOT CLEARLY IDENTIFIED THE SOURCE BUT FEEL THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY RISK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2016 - VINELAND, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT NOTICED STRONG FUMES ENTERING THE VENTS, WHICH AFFECTED THE CONTACT'S BREATHING. THE CONTACT WAS NOT ABLE TO USE THE HEATER OR AIR CONDITIONER. A WEEK LATER, WHILE DRIVING, A FIRE ERUPTED NEAR THE DASHBOARD AND SMOKE CONSUMED THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND A FIRE INSPECTOR EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V198000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE CONTACT DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTIFICATION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND PARKED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2016 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
THE FIRST TIME THIS CAR HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH ANYTHING LEAKING WAS A COUPLE DAYS AGO WHEN WE WOKE UP IN MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT TO HOUSE AND GARAGE SMELLING LIKE GAS. ON DRIVER'S SIDE REAR BY PASSENGER DOOR THERE WAS A SMALL LEAK LOOKED LIKE OIL BUT SMELLED OF GAS AND UNDERNEATH CAR YOU CAN SEE WEAR A SMALL CRACK IS AT IN FUEL SYSTEM. I SEE MANY RECALLS FOR SAME THING FOR DIFFERENT YEARS AND COMPLAINTS FILED FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM AND YEAR. NO RECALL NOTICES WAS EVER RECEIVED BY MYSELF OR PREVIOUS TWO OWNERS WHO WAS FRIENDS OR IT WOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED. I AM UPSET BECAUSE NOW IT WON'T BE FIXED UNDER RECALL BECAUSE IT'S BEEN SO LONG HOWEVER THERE WAS NO CLOSE DATE ON REPORTS IT SHOWS SEVERAL THOUSAND CARS NEVER GOT THE REPAIR AND WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE THAT NOT ONLY CAN START CAR ON FIRE BUT HOUSE ON FIRE IF PARKED IN GARAGE. NOW I AM SUPPOSE TO PAY FOR THE COST ON SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT PUT TOGETHER CORRECTLY AND IS A SAFETY HAZZARD BECAUSE I WAS NOT WARNED ABOUT IT BY MAIL OR WHEN CAR WAS SERVICED AND NEVER HAD TROUBLE TILL NOW AND THERE ARE TONS OF CUSTOMERS YOU ARE NOT HELPING WITH SAME PROBLEM YEAR MAKE AND MODEL OF CAR. IF THIS RESULTS IN DEATH THAN IT WILL BECOME A MORE SERIOUS PROBLEM ON YOUR HAND FOR NOT FIXING A RECALL THAT HAS BEEN KNOWN TO BE PROBLEMS ON SEVERAL YEARS OF AUDI'S AND NOT ALL AUDI OWNERS WAS REACH OR REPAIRS DONE AND NOW WHEN WE ARE FINDING OUT WE ARE BEING TURNED AWAY. IF THIS WAS NOT SOMETHING HAZARDOUS OR LIFE THREATENING THAT'S ONE THING BUT SOMETHING SO DANGEROUS THAT CAN TAKE A LIFE YOU SHOULD MAKE SURE EVERY RECALL THAT IS SAFETY RELATED AND HAZARDOUS FIX REGARDLESS OF WHEN NOTICE IF FOUND. I AM EXPECTING THE RECALLS FOR ALL FUEL RELATED PROBLEMS ON ALL AUDI BE FIXED WHEN CUSTOMERS CALL TO INQUIRE AND NOT BE TURNED AWAY AFTER WE ARE SENT TO DEALER TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT.

View Details

STEERING

10/12/2015 - ARAB, AL
FIRST THE CAR RAN HOT NO TEMP HAVE CAME ON HAD TO REPLACE MOTOR .....THE COOLING FAN BROKE MADE OF PLASTIC AND CUT MY SERPENTINE BELT INTO ......THEN THE CAR FLOODED AND RUINED THE COMFORT CONTROL MODULE HAD TO REPLACE THIS NOW THE FRONT AXEL IS BROKE AND THE BOOTS FELL APART AND THE BALL JOINTS ARE NO GOOD......

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/12/2015 - ARAB, AL
FIRST THE CAR RAN HOT NO TEMP HAVE CAME ON HAD TO REPLACE MOTOR .....THE COOLING FAN BROKE MADE OF PLASTIC AND CUT MY SERPENTINE BELT INTO ......THEN THE CAR FLOODED AND RUINED THE COMFORT CONTROL MODULE HAD TO REPLACE THIS NOW THE FRONT AXEL IS BROKE AND THE BOOTS FELL APART AND THE BALL JOINTS ARE NO GOOD......

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2015 - ARAB, AL
FIRST THE CAR RAN HOT NO TEMP HAVE CAME ON HAD TO REPLACE MOTOR .....THE COOLING FAN BROKE MADE OF PLASTIC AND CUT MY SERPENTINE BELT INTO ......THEN THE CAR FLOODED AND RUINED THE COMFORT CONTROL MODULE HAD TO REPLACE THIS NOW THE FRONT AXEL IS BROKE AND THE BOOTS FELL APART AND THE BALL JOINTS ARE NO GOOD......

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2015 - LOVELAND, OH
HELLO! TODAY I WAS AT THE SAMS CLUB GAS STATION TO FILL UP MY VEHICLE, 2000 AUDI A6 WITH THE 4.2 ENGINE. WHEN I FINISHED, I WENT OVER TO THE DRIVER SIDE, WHERE IVE SEEN A HUGE AMOUNT OF GAS ON THE GROUND. THE FUEL WAS LEAKING REALLY BAD FROM MY CAR. THE SAM'S CLUB EVEN CALLED THE FIRED DEPARTMENT AND THE POLICE THERE TOO. IT LEAKED OUT A LOT COUPLE GALLONS FROM MY VEHICLE. THANKS GOD THE GAS STATION HAD A SMALL INCLINE SO I COULD NOTICE IT RIGHT BEFORE I WOULD DRIVE AWAY. JUST THINKING THAT I WOULD DRIVE AWAY AND SOMETHING SERIOUS WOULD HAPPEN IT SCARES ME. AS I UNDERSTAND A LOT OF AUDIS ARE RECALLED BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. MINE IS NOT UNDER THE RECALL. WHAT CAN I DO TO GET MINE UNDER THE RECALL TOO? PLEASE HELP ME. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/20/2014 - BELLEVILLE, MI
AFTER FILLING GAS TANK, GAS BEGAN LEAKING AS A STEADY STREAM FROM LEFT FRONT SIDE OF GAS TANK, NEAR THE REAR DRIVER'S WHEEL WELL. OWNER CONTACTED AUDI DEALERSHIP AND AUDI OF AMERICA. OWNER PAID FOR DEALER INSPECTION TO DIAGNOSE LEAKING GAS ISSUE. DEALER STATED THE TANK WAS LEAKING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AUDI OF AMERICA CONTACTED OWNER ON 3/20/2014 AND STATED THE SERVICE MANAGER OF AUDI OF ANN ARBOR, MI HAD DECIDED THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR DUE TO VEHICLE "MILEAGE AND AGE." AUDI OF AMERICA STATED SINCE VEHICLE WAS OUTSIDE OF RECALL RANGE (2001-2005 MY), THEY WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH REPAIRS. INDEPENDENT OWNER RESEARCH SHOWS MULTIPLE LEAKING GAS TANK ISSUES (BROKEN ROLLOVER VALVE NIPPLE) WITH THIS VEHICLE, AND MATCHING PART NUMBERS BETWEEN 2001-2005 MY GAS TANKS AND 2000 MY GAS TANK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/20/2013 - MEDIA, PA
FIRST INCIDENT MARCH 2006 LEAKY GAS TANK HAD TO BE REPLACED, COST TO US $2,249.27, AUDI DENIED RESPONSIBILITY. REQUESTED AUDI TO REPORT THIS ISSUE TO AUTHORITIES. SECOND INCIDENT, 7/30/13 (MILEAGE 163,016): VERY STRONG GASOLINE ODOR. THE MECHANIC REMOVED REAR SEAT AND FOUND FUEL STAINING ALL AROUND THE SENDING UNIT. FUEL TANK MUST AGAIN BE REPLACED. THIS WILL BE OUR THIRD TANK COUNTING THE ORIGINAL ONE INSTALLED AT THE FACTORY. IN 2008 AUDI ISSUED SAFETY RECALL CIRCULAR CODE: 2OL8/JY REVISED IN JANUARY 2009. MY FIRST FUEL TANK FAILURE OCCURRED 2 YEARS BEFORE THE RECALL. THE AUDI RECALL COVERS MODEL YEARS 2001 THROUGH 2005. MY CAR IS 2000 WITH THE SAME DEFECT AS IN LATER MODELS. 2000 MODEL SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I FIND IT INCREDIBLE THAT AUDI DID NOT KNOW THAT THE IDENTICAL SAFETY DEFECT WAS IN THE 2000 MODEL. THE 2006 FUEL TANK AND PARTS WERE PURCHASED NEW FROM AUDI AND SHOULD BE THE NEWER DESIGN FUEL TANK (IF THERE HAD BEEN ANY REDESIGN BY THEN). ALSO, AS A 2006 FUEL TANK, REPAIRS SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE 2008 RECALL. AUDI DOES NOT APPEAR TO HAVE PUBLICLY RECOGNIZED ITS DESIGN FAILURE, AND WAS NOT EXPLICIT ABOUT THE PROBLEM DETAILS AND THE FIX FOR THE FUEL TANK SAFETY PROBLEM UNTIL THE 2008 RECALL. USING A COPY OF THE 2008 RECALL NOTICE I TELEPHONED CUSTOMER RELATIONS AT AUDI OF AMERICA IN ROCHESTER HILLS, MI (1-800-253-2834). AUDI ASSIGNED ME A CASE NO. #130535300, AND TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR TO AN AUDI DEALER. SINCE THE CAR WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE IT WAS TOWED TO A DEALER ON 8/9/13. I HAVE SPENT $871.25 AT MY MECHANIC'S TO IDENTIFY THE DEFECT AND TO TOW THE CAR TO AUDI. ON 8/19/13 THE AUDI DEALER CALLED TO STATE THAT AUDI WAS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT OF THE FUEL TANK. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER WITH SAME ADDRESS AND CAR REGISTRATION, YET NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE. WE HAVE BEEN DRIVING A MOLOTOV COCKTAIL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/18/2013 - CINCINNATI, OH
LAST MONTH I FILLED UP MY TANK & AFTER DOING SO HAD A VERY STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN THE CABIN. I TOOK IT TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC & HE TOLD ME THAT I HAVE A BROKEN ROLLOVER VALVE. TO REPLACE THE TANK COSTS $2500. THIS IS POTENTIALLY A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE GIVEN LEAKING GAS! AFTER RESEARCH I FOUND THERE IS A RECALL TO REINFORCE THE VALVE WITH EPOXY. UNFORTUNATELY THE RECALL IS FOR 2001-2004 MODELS & MINE IS A 2000. THE ISSUE ON MY 2000 IS THE EXACT SAME TANK/VALVE. I NEXT CONTACTED AUDI CUSTOMER SERVICE TO GET A CASE # HOPING THEY'D TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. THEY CREATED THE CASE BUT TOLD ME UNTIL THE ISSUE IS VERIFIED BY AN AUDI DEALER THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING. DOING SO WOULD COME WITH NO GUARANTEES. I CALLED THE DEALER & THEY SAID THE COST OF A DIAGNOSTIC IS $109. SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TO VALIDATE THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC?S ANALYSIS. THE DEALERSHIP CALLED TODAY & CONFIRMED THE ISSUE FROM THE INDEPENDENT. COST TO PATCH IS $452+TAX (RATHER THAN COMPLETELY REPLACE THE TANK FOR $2500). THIS IS THE SAME RESOLUTION AS THE RECALL WHICH IS TO EPOXY THE VALVE. THEY TOLD ME TO EXPECT A CALL FROM AOA AS THEY JUST GOT OFF THE PHONE WITH THEM & AOA WOULD NOT BE PAYING FOR THE FIX (WHICH AGAIN IS IDENTICAL TO THE RECALL RESOLUTION). AOA CALLED & SAID THE MAIN REASON FOR NOT PAYING WAS THAT THE CAR HAS 169K MILES & A SECONDARY REASON THAT I HAD STOPPED TAKING IT TO THE AUDI DEALERSHIP. WHY SHOULD MILEAGE MATTER ON A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE? IF MY CAR WAS A 2001 WITH 300K MILES WOULD THEY NOT HAVE SENT THE RECALL NOTICE? REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE THIS IS A KNOWN DESIGN FAULT THAT AUDI HAS ACKNOWLEDGED. MY 2000 HAS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE TO A T THAT THEY ARE ADDRESSING WITH THE 2001-2004 MODELS. I BELIEVE THAT SINCE AUDI HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS, THAT IT IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE & IT?S EXACTLY THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE 2001-2004 MODELS THAT THEY SHOULD PAY FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds