Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 740I - 2000 BMW 740I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 11 complaints filed for the 2000 BMW 740I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 BMW 740I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 BMW 740I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/13/2011 - LONDON, 00
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN MAY 2009 AND SHORTLY AFTER IN THE SUMMER, AUGUST EARLY SEPTEMBER, THE REVERSE STARTED TO ACT UP. SOMETIMES I HAD TO WAIT A SHORT PERIOD FOR THE REVERSE TO ACTUALLY ENGAGE. IT STARTED TO OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY AND I HAD IT INSPECTED. THE RESULT WAS THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS THE ISSUE. I HAD THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT IN DECEMBER WHICH COST JUST OVER $4000. IT IS NOW RUNNING FINE BUT II WAS SUPER IRRITATED SINCE THIS AUTOMOBILE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE A LUXURY VEHICLE AND NOT A LEMON. BMW SHOULD HAVE TO COMPENSATE CUSTOMERS FOR THESE TYPES OF ISSUE AS I BELIEVE A TRANSMISSION SHOULD NOT FAIL IN THIS TYPE OF CAR THAT IS SUPPOSED TO HAVE SUCH A GREAT REPUTATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2011 - ATHERTON, CA
ON SATURDAY, JUNE 4, MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING MY 2000 BMW 740I. SHE HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 4 BLOCKS AND THE PASSENGER SEAT BROKE OUT IN FLAMES. IT BEGAN WHEN THE CAR FILLED WITH SMOKE. SHE DID NOT KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON SO SHE PULLED OVER AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND WHEN SHE STEPPED BACK FROM THE CAR, SHE SAW FLAMES COMING FROM THE SEAT OF THE CAR. THE CAR HAS HEATED SEATS -- BUT THE FIRE SEEMED TO COME FROM THE PANEL OF CONTROLS THAT IS ON THE SIDE OF THE SEAT. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND THEY PUT OUT THE FIRE IN THE SEAT OF THE CAR. THE MENLO PARK, CA FIRE DEPARTMENT TOOK A REPORT.

View Details

SEATS

6/5/2011 - ATHERTON, CA
ON SATURDAY, JUNE 4, MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING MY 2000 BMW 740I. SHE HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 4 BLOCKS AND THE PASSENGER SEAT BROKE OUT IN FLAMES. IT BEGAN WHEN THE CAR FILLED WITH SMOKE. SHE DID NOT KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON SO SHE PULLED OVER AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND WHEN SHE STEPPED BACK FROM THE CAR, SHE SAW FLAMES COMING FROM THE SEAT OF THE CAR. THE CAR HAS HEATED SEATS -- BUT THE FIRE SEEMED TO COME FROM THE PANEL OF CONTROLS THAT IS ON THE SIDE OF THE SEAT. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND THEY PUT OUT THE FIRE IN THE SEAT OF THE CAR. THE MENLO PARK, CA FIRE DEPARTMENT TOOK A REPORT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

3/8/2010 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THE CONTACT HAS A 2000 BMW 740I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON ALL THE TIME. THIS VEHICLE HAS A RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER 00V048000. THE RECALL STATES THAT IF THE SWITCH DOES NOT HAVE A WHITE STRIPE ON IT THEN IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT FEELS THE VEHICLE NEEDS THE REPAIR BECAUSE THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE THE WHITE STRIPE. THE DEALER STATES THAT SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MANUFACTURED BETWEEN SEPTEMBER 1, 1999 AND OCTOBER 28, 1999, THAT THE VEHICLE WILL NOT BE COVERED. THE CONTACT FEELS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 78800.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/16/2009 - LONDON, ONTARIO CANADA, 00
I JUST RECEIVED AN EMAIL GIVING ME AN UPDATE ON CONSUMER COMPLAINTS. I OWN A 2000 BMW 740I AND THE REVERSE ALSO WENT OUT ON THE TRANSMISSION AND I HAD TO HAVE IT REBUILT. I BELIEVE THAT BEING "A TOP OF THE LINE AUTOMOBILE" THE REVERSE SHOULD NOT BE FAILING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/24/2009 - OAKLAND, CA
ABOUT NOVEMBER OF 2007 I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE A DELAY IN ENGAGING REVERSE. I WENT TO HAVE THE CAR SERVICED FOR THIS AND THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS A POSSIBLE VALVE BODY ISSUE WITH REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION BEING THE BEST SOLUTION BECAUSE THEY WERE NOT SURE AND IT WAS THE ONLY WAY TO BE SAFE. MARCH OF 2008 THE REVERSE GEAR COMPLETELY FAILED AND FROM THAT POINT UNTIL PRESENT THE CAR WILL NOT REVERSE. I TOOK THE CAR TO A DIFFERENT REPAIR SHOP FOR A SECOND OPINION AND I WAS TOLD THE SAME THING, "REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION" TO BE SAFE. I EVEN CONTACTED BMW OF NORTH AMERICA ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

4/1/2004 - SAN CLEMENTE, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING VEHICLE STALLED. CONSUMER HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT FUEL PUMP FAILED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

2/1/2004 - ATLANTA, GA
MY CAR WAS LEAKING GAS FROM THE TANK ON THE WAY HOME AND WHEN I GOT HOME I NOTICED THAT THE GAS TANK WAS WET WITH GAS AND IT LEAKED ON THE FLOOR MY WHOLE GARAGE IS FILLED WITH GAS VAPOR.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM(GLOBAL POSITIONING SYSTEM)

8/22/2003 - DARIEN, GA
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED AS STATED IN RECALL 03 V 159 000, HOWEVER THE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. ALSO THE RADIATOR LEAK COOLANT, THE AIR CONDITION MADE A NOISE, THE COMPUTER BOARD IMAGES WENT OUT AND THEN CAME BACK ON, THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM. THE HANDS FREE EQUIPMENT WAS INOPERATIVE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: RADIATOR ASSEMBLY

8/22/2003 - DARIEN, GA
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED AS STATED IN RECALL 03 V 159 000, HOWEVER THE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. ALSO THE RADIATOR LEAK COOLANT, THE AIR CONDITION MADE A NOISE, THE COMPUTER BOARD IMAGES WENT OUT AND THEN CAME BACK ON, THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM. THE HANDS FREE EQUIPMENT WAS INOPERATIVE.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds