Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK LESABRE - 2000 BUICK LESABRE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 663 complaints filed for the 2000 BUICK LESABRE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 BUICK LESABRE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 BUICK LESABRE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (22) Exterior Lighting (17) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (24) Steering (52) Visibility (247)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (43) Seat Belts (8) Structure (24) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (8) Seats (5) Suspension (28) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (86) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (7) Tires (37)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/12/2011 - SPRINGFIELD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 BUICK LESABRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE, HE NOTICED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE WOULD PROVIDE AN INACCURATE INDICATION OF HOW MUCH FUEL WAS ACTUALLY IN THE TANK. THE FAILURE RECURRED FREQUENTLY AND WOULD SHOW THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS EMPTY WHEN IT WAS NOT AND IT WOULD DISPLAY FULL WHEN THE FUEL TANK WAS ACTUALLY EMPTY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 116,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 16,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/2/2011 - PLACERVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 BUICK LESABRE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40-50 MPH, THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE HAD BEGUN FLUCTUATING BETWEEN FUEL LEVEL READINGS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK WOULD NEED TO BE REMOVED TO DETECT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 6/8/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THE GAS GAUGE WAS GIVING FALSE READINGS. UPDATED 06/21/11

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/1/2011 - VINELAND, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 BUICK LESABRE. THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION AND HEARD A LOUD POPPING NOISE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. SUDDENLY, FLAMES ERUPTED UNDERNEATH THE HOOD IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AREA. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE SMALL FLAMES. A CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND DETECTED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V09000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

2/23/2011 - TEXAS CITY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 BUICK LESABRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER WINDOW WAS OPENED BUT WOULD NOT CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT A PLASTIC MECHANISM FOR THE WINDOW FRACTURED AND CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE PRIOR ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/15/2010 - DAYTON, OH
CAR WON'T ACCELERATE. SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY AND WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND THE GAS PEDAL WAS PRESSED, NOTHING HAPPENED FOR A FEW SECONDS. THEN WHEN IT DID RESPOND WE HAD TO FLOOR IT TO GET IT TO 30 MPH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/9/2010 - CHAGRIN FALLS, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 BUICK LESABRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES WERE CONSTANTLY ENGAGED TO SOME DEGREE; THE VEHICLE WOULD MAKE A GRINDING NOISE AND THE ROTORS WOULD GET HOT. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED LOOSE NUTS ON THE VACUUM BOOSTER AND EXHAUST FUMES WERE BEING EMITTED INTO THE CABIN. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND REFERENCED RECALL 99V238000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:VACUUM) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 43,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/4/2010 - TOLEDO, OH
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING OUR 2000 BUICK LESABRE LTD HOME FROM WORK AND HER BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR WHEN SHE TRIED TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. SHE WAS ABLE TO STOP, BUT THE BRAKES WERE BARELY THERE. SHE WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT, AND I CHECKED IT OUT WHEN SHE GOT HOME. I FOUND THAT THERE WAS ALMOST NO BRAKE FLUID LEFT IN THE RESERVOIR. I TOOK MY OTHER VEHICLE TO THE STORE AND BOUGHT SOME BRAKE FLUID AND REFILLED THE RESERVOIR AND CHECKED UNDER THE VEHICLE FOR LEAKS. I FOUND THAT THE BRAKE LINES HAD ROTTED OUT IN THE CENTER OF THE VEHICLE BETWEEN THE REAR WHEELS, DIRECTLY BEHIND THE COMPRESSOR MOTOR FOR THE LOAD LEVELING SHOCKS THAT ARE ON THIS VEHICLE. I TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL BUICK DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY, AND THEY CONFIRMED WHAT I HAD FOUND, THAT THE REAR BRAKE LINES WERE RUSTED AND ROTTED OUT. I ASKED ABOUT A SAFETY RECALL OR SERVICE BULLETIN ON THIS ISSUE BUT THEY SAID THERE WAS NONE. I FOUND IT VERY ODD THAT THERE WAS NO SIGNS OF CORROSION ANYWHERE ELSE ON THE UNDERSIDE OF THE VEHICLE OR ON THE BRAKE LINES OTHER THAN DIRECTLY BEHIND THE COMPRESSOR MOTOR FOR THE SHOCKS. THEY REPLACED BOTH REAR BRAKE LINES AT A COST TO ME OF $568.31.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/16/2010 - LAKE ORION , MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 BUICK LESABRE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY INCREASED ACCELERATION UP TO 70 MPH. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED NUMEROUS TIMES WITH EXTENSIVE FORCE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT DOWN SHIFTED TO A LOWER GEAR, FOLLOWED BY NO RESPONSE. THE SPEED RATE REDUCED BETWEEN 10-15 MPH WHEN THE GEARS WERE SHIFTED INTO THE REVERSE POSITION WHICH ALLOWED THE VEHICLE TO STOP PROPERLY WHILE THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR STORAGE DUE TO THE SAFETY ISSUE PERTAINING TO THE ACCELERATION MALFUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 156,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

9/7/2010 - WORTHINGTON, OH
1) FIRST TIME DRIVING, 2ND TIME CAR WAS PARKED. NEITHER TIME WERE THE WINDOWS BEING USED. 2) BOTH TIMES POWER REGULATOR HAD TO BE REPLACED. THERE WERE NO CONSEQUENCES, BUT COULD HAVE BEEN IF CHILDREN WERE IN THE BACK SEAT WHILE DRIVING OR ON A COLD NIGHT. 3) OLD PART IS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/28/2010 - GOODLAND, MN
ON JUNE 25, 2010 APPROX 8:30 PM OUR 2000 BUICK LESABRE WAS SITTING BY OUR HOUSE, NOT RUNNING, NO KEYS IN IT. WE HEARD A HUGE BANG/BACKFIRE. THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED SINCE 4:00 PM. WE SAW A HUGE AMOUNT OF SMOKE AND FIRE AS HIGH AS THE PORCH DECK ROOF. IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911. THE HOOD WAS BLOWN APART, THE WINDSHIELD BLOWN IN, REAR VIEW MIRROR & VISORS BLOWN OFF. THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY TOTALED; EVERYTHING ON THE ENGINE MELTED, RADIATOR GONE, TIRES MELTED & TIRE RIMS LOOK LIKE THEY WERE BLOWN OUTWARD. IT WAS A VERY HUGE EXPLOSION & WE DID FIND THE ODI REPORT EA 02-030 FOR RECALLS #03034 & #03054 FOR EXPLOSIONS/FIRES IN THIS BUICK. THE RECALLS FOR OUR VEHICLE WERE COMPLETED AND DONE IN 2005 FOR THE ABOVE ITEMS OF "FUEL REGULATOR CAUSING DEFECTIVE/LEAKING FUEL REG ASM ETC. OR COOLANT CAUSING IMPROPERLY SEAL THROTTLE BODY" THIS VEHICLE WAS ALWAYS A GOOD RUNNING CAR WITH FEW PROBLEMS AND A CAR SHOULD NOT BLOW UP JUST SITTING STILL, SO OBVIOUSLY THE PROBLEMS WERE NOT SUFFICIENTLY CORRECTED. THE ONLY EVENT BEFORE THIS WAS THAT WHEN THE IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF AT 4:00PM THE PASSENGER DOOR LOCK WAS CLICKED AT THE SAME TIME AND WE HEARD A BIG CLUNK KIND OF SOUND. OUR MECHANICS WHO VIEWED THE VEHICLE AND ALL WHO SAW IT NEVER SAW SOMETHING THAT BAD AND ALL SAID THAT WE WOULD MOST LIKELY HAVE BEEN KILLED IF WE HAD BEEN IN THE CAR WHEN IT BLEW UP. THE VEHICLE IS PRESENTLY STILL SITTING IN THE EXACT SPOT WHERE IT BLEW UP AS REQUESTED BY GMC, BUT IT WILL NEED TO BE MOVED BEFORE SNOW PLOWING AS IT IS 6'6" FROM OUR HOUSE STEPS AND IS A HAZARD TO OUR RESIDENCE. WE TOLD GMAC THAT WE WOULD BE REMOVING IT BEFORE AUG. 30TH, HOWEVER, THEY HAVE NOT INSPECTED IT AS OF YET. OTHER PROPERTY DAMAGE INCLUDES MELTED VINYL SIDING ON OUR HOME, DAMAGE TO DECK PAINT, MUCH NEEDING POWER WASHED & DAMAGE TO TAR DRIVEWAY, PLUS SOOT DAMAGE. HAVE MANY PICTURES, IF YOU HAVE E-MAIL ADDRESS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds