Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET BLAZER - 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 602 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Exterior Lighting (90) Other (14) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (14)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (87) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (50) Fuel System Gasoline (46) Seat Belts (10) Steering (23) Visibility (31)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (36) Seats (49) Structure (47) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (118) Wheels (12)
Equipment (17) Latches Locks Linkages (12)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

10/23/2007 - MANCELONA, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE VIBRATED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL BEARINGS FAILED AND HE MADE THE REPLACEMENT. APPROXIMATELY TWO MONTHS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE WHEEL BEARINGS WERE REPLACED AGAIN. APPROXIMATELY ONE YEAR LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL BEARINGS. THE BEARINGS WERE REPLACED FOR THE THIRD TIME. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,500 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

10/8/2007 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
DOOR LATCH BROKE, CRACKING METAL AROUND THE LATCH ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR - TAKING INTO REPAIR SHOP, HOWEVER COMPLETE FAILURE OF METAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

8/23/2007 - FORT BRAGG, NC
I BOUGHT A 2000 BLAZER IN 2002. I TOOK MY VEHICLE OVERSEAS IN 2003. MUCH TO MY SURPRISE, THE GAS GAUGE STOPPED WORKING PROPERLY ONE DAY IN 2004 CAUSING ME TO RUN OUT OF GAS ON A MAJOR INTERNATIONAL INTERSTATE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHEN I CAME BACK TO THE STATES ONLY TO BE TOLD, THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE FUEL PUMP. NOT ONLY THAT, THE MODULE ALSO HAS TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THE FUEL PUMP AND MODULE COMES AS A UNIT AND YOU CANNOT REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP WITHOUT REPLACING THE MODULE. I AM BEING TOLD I HAVE TO PAY $950 TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED. I KNOW I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH A BLAZER WHO IS HAVING THIS PROBLEM. GM HAS FAILED TIME AND TIME AGAIN TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS AS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM AND PEOPLE ARE LOSING MONEY BECAUSE OF IT. IF I HAVE TO PAY $950 OUT OF MY POCKET TO FIX THIS PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE ONE UNHAPPY, LOYAL CUSTOMER GM HAS LOST BECAUSE I WILL MAKE SURE THAT NO ONE I KNOW EVER PURCHASES A GM VEHICLE AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: PUMP

8/6/2007 - MILLINGTON, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TWO REAR BRAKE LIGHTS ABOVE THE HITCH FAIL TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ALREADY REPAIRED ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC'S RECORDS. SHE STATED THAT HER VEHICLE IS UNDER RECALL NUMBER 01V364000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS:SWITCH), BUT THE DEALER WILL NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE FOR FREE SINCE IT WAS ALREADY PERFORMED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 134,000. UPDATED 02/01/08. THE DRIVE BELT AND POWER STEERING PUMP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

8/6/2007 - MILLINGTON, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TWO REAR BRAKE LIGHTS ABOVE THE HITCH FAIL TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ALREADY REPAIRED ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC'S RECORDS. SHE STATED THAT HER VEHICLE IS UNDER RECALL NUMBER 01V364000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS:SWITCH), BUT THE DEALER WILL NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE FOR FREE SINCE IT WAS ALREADY PERFORMED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 134,000. UPDATED 02/01/08. THE DRIVE BELT AND POWER STEERING PUMP.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/6/2007 - MILLINGTON, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TWO REAR BRAKE LIGHTS ABOVE THE HITCH FAIL TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ALREADY REPAIRED ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC'S RECORDS. SHE STATED THAT HER VEHICLE IS UNDER RECALL NUMBER 01V364000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS:SWITCH), BUT THE DEALER WILL NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE FOR FREE SINCE IT WAS ALREADY PERFORMED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 134,000. UPDATED 02/01/08. THE DRIVE BELT AND POWER STEERING PUMP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

7/24/2007 - MORGAN HILL, CA
SEE NHTSA ITEM# 623034. SECURITY LAMP ILLUMINATES WHILE DRIVING AND THEN THE ASSOCIATED "PASSLOCK" SECURITY SYSTEM EITHER STALLS OUT MY ENGINE WHILE DRIVING OR CAUSES A SHUT-DOWN OF MY VEHICLE WHEREBY THE ENGINE WILL NOT START FOR AT LEAST 10 MINUTES. THIS HAS HAPPENED LATE AT NIGHT, AT INTERSECTIONS, GAS STATIONS, ETC. THE AMOUNT OF TIMES I HAVE HAD TO WAIT FOR THIS SECURITY SYSTEM TO "RESET" HAS BECOME FRUSTRATING. I HAVE DONE EXTENSIVE RESEARCH ON THIS VIA RESPECTABLE ONLINE FORUMS, AND THERE ARE MANY OWNERS NOT JUST OF THE 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER BUT OF A NUMBER OF VEHICLES IN THE ENTIRE GM FAMILY WHO HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM. WE ARE ALL CRYING OUT FOR A RECOGNITION OF THIS BEING A SAFETY ISSUE, NOT JUST AN ISSUE OF INCONVENIENCE. FAILURE TO START AND STALLING ARE SYMPTOMS THAT ARE ONLY GOING TO LEAD IN ONE DIRECTION. THERE ARE LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF POSTS ON THIS ISSUE IF ONE GOES TO AN ONLINE FORUM AND SEARCHES UNDER THE TERMS "SECURITY LIGHT" OR "PASSLOCK" WITHIN THE GM CONTEXT. I HAVE BEEN TO MY DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES, HAVE ATTEMPTED TO WORK WITH CHEVROLET, AND NOTHING SEEMS TO BE GETTING RESOLVED. I AM UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT A MECHANICAL SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM DOES NOT EXIST, SHORT OF DISABLING THE SYSTEM ALTOGETHER (WHICH DEALERS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO DO). I WOULD WELCOME ANY FURTHER CONTACT FROM NHTSA REGARDING THIS MATTER AND WOULD GLADLY GO TO THE EXPENSE OF PHOTOCOPYING AND SENDING THE BINDER OF MATERIALS I HAVE COLLECTED ON THIS SUBJECT. IF IT WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN PREVENTING A FUTURE INJURY OR DEATH (IF ANY HAVE NOT ALREADY OCCURRED), I AM ALL FOR IT. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND EFFORTS ON BEHALF OF AUTO SAFETY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/15/2007 - DUMFRIES, VA
2000 BLAZER TRANSMISSION FAILED, COST $3000 TO REPAIR. LEFT BALL JOINT FAILED AND REPLACED ALL $500, PITMAN ARM, IDLER ARM, TIE RODS RIGHT AND LEFT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING HUB FAILED AND WAS REPLACED, BOTH $800. OVERHEATING DUE TO DEXCOOL LEAK AT INTAKE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. I HAVE A $20,000 PIECE OF JUNK SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY.THIS WAS ONGOING FROM EARLIER YEAR MODELS BUT NO RECALLS FOR THIS YEAR ,WHY NO BODY DIED ? FUEL GAUGE BOUNCED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: HUB

7/15/2007 - DUMFRIES, VA
2000 BLAZER TRANSMISSION FAILED, COST $3000 TO REPAIR. LEFT BALL JOINT FAILED AND REPLACED ALL $500, PITMAN ARM, IDLER ARM, TIE RODS RIGHT AND LEFT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING HUB FAILED AND WAS REPLACED, BOTH $800. OVERHEATING DUE TO DEXCOOL LEAK AT INTAKE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. I HAVE A $20,000 PIECE OF JUNK SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY.THIS WAS ONGOING FROM EARLIER YEAR MODELS BUT NO RECALLS FOR THIS YEAR ,WHY NO BODY DIED ? FUEL GAUGE BOUNCED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

7/15/2007 - DUMFRIES, VA
2000 BLAZER TRANSMISSION FAILED, COST $3000 TO REPAIR. LEFT BALL JOINT FAILED AND REPLACED ALL $500, PITMAN ARM, IDLER ARM, TIE RODS RIGHT AND LEFT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING HUB FAILED AND WAS REPLACED, BOTH $800. OVERHEATING DUE TO DEXCOOL LEAK AT INTAKE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. I HAVE A $20,000 PIECE OF JUNK SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY.THIS WAS ONGOING FROM EARLIER YEAR MODELS BUT NO RECALLS FOR THIS YEAR ,WHY NO BODY DIED ? FUEL GAUGE BOUNCED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds