Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET S10 - 2000 CHEVROLET S10 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 455 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET S10

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET S10. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET S10, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (7)
Electrical System (27) Fuel System Gasoline (22) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (100) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Seats (55) Structure (92) Visibility (9)
Equipment (5) Other (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (20) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/23/2015 - MUSKEGO, WI
DRIVING NORMALLY, PRESSED THE BREAK PEDAL AND IT WENT TO THE FLOOR; FORTUNATELY, I WAS CLOSE TO HOME AND NO TRAFFIC THAT I MANAGED TO ROLL SLOWLY HOME. RUSTY BREAK LINES CAUSING BREAK FLUID TO LEAK BY DRIVER SIDE DOOR. TRIED BREAKS AGAIN- TOTALLY NOT FUNCTIONAL. IRONICALLY READ ARTICLE ABOUT GM'S PROBLEM WITH RUSTY BREAK LINES IN THEIR OLDER MODEL TRUCKS. MAKING IT A POINT TO NOTIFY NHTSA THAT THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS S-10S AS WELL AS THE BIGGER MODELS. CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS INDICATE TO ME THAT THIS EFFECTS A LOT OF DRIVERS. ALL GM TRUCK OWNERS SHOULD BE ALERTED TO PROBLEM. UNDER DIFFERENT CONDITIONS WITH HIGHER SPEEDS OR TRAFFIC OR PEDESTRIANS, THIS COULD HAVE TURNED INTO A CATASTROPHE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

2/25/2015 - WOLF CREEK, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. UPON INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT WAS NOTICED THAT THE FRONT FRAME WAS CRACKED AND DETERIORATED TO THE POINT THAT IT MAY FRACTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT CRACKS DEVELOPED ON THE FRAME AND THE MOTOR MOUNT WAS NOT WELDED TO THE FRAME PROPERLY. THE CRACKING PROGRESSED TO THE POINT THAT THE FRAME WAS ALSO DETERIORATING ON THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRAME SHOULD HAVE BEEN WELDED ALL THE WAY AROUND THE VEHICLE AND IT WAS ONLY WELDED AT THE TOP. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT FRAMING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/25/2014 - ROUND LAKE, IL
2000 CHEVROLET S-10 WHILE DRIVING THE BRAKES JUST GRABBED AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE WHILE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE CONSUMER DOES NOT LIKE ABS. THE DEALER STATED IT WAS A SAFETY FEATURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/9/2014 - OLYMPIA, WA
CABLE STRAPS THAT HOLD THE TAILGATE HORIZONTAL TO THE GROUND WHEN THE TAILGATE IS IN THE DOWN POSITION HAVE RUSTED THROUGH AND WILL NO LONGER HOLD THE TAILGATE IN THE HORIZONTAL POSITION. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS IN APPROXIMATELY JUNE OF 2006. I RECEIVED A CARD IN THE MAIL, TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER, AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THIS HAPPENED TWICE. I KIND OF GAVE UP, UNTIL I DISCOVERED THE PART FAILURE EARLIER THIS YEAR. UNFORTUNATELY I HAVE MISPLACED MY CARD THAT THEY SENT IN THE MAIL. UPON FAILURE OF THIS PART, I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO A CHEVROLET DEALER IN SEPTEMBER OF 2014. THEY KNEW ABOUT THE RECALL, SO RAN MY VIN # AND SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. PERHAPS GENERAL MOTORS DIDN'T RECALL ENOUGH OF THE VIN#S TO FIND ALL OF THE PART FAILURES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - DAHINDA, IL
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE FROM OUR LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER ON 10/04/2014. I FILLED THE FUEL TANK ON 10/06/2014 AND DROVE IT TO MY RESIDENCE (ABOUT 15 MILES.) WHEN I GOT HOME, I NOTICED THERE WAS A STREAK OF A LIQUID ON MY DRIVEWAY WHEN I WAS BACKING INTO MY GARAGE. I GOT OUT OF MY TRUCK AND NOTICED A FUEL SMELL AND GOT A TROUBLE LIGHT TO SEE IF I COULD DETERMINE THE SOURCE. IT WAS RUNNING OUT BELOW THE FUEL TANK. I THEN TOOK MY FLOOR JACK AND JACKED UP THE VEHICLE SO I COULD GET A BUCKET UNDER IT TO CATCH THE FUEL THAT WAS RUNNING ON TO THE FLOOR. I COLLECTED ABOUT 1 1/2 GALLONS. I CALLED THE DEALER THE NEXT MORNING AND THEY SAY I AM OBLIGATED TO PAY TO REPAIR THE TRUCK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

10/3/2014 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. UPDATED 11/20/14..UPDATED 11/24/14 UPDATED 05/4/02015

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/3/2014 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. UPDATED 11/20/14..UPDATED 11/24/14 UPDATED 05/4/02015

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - MARSHFIELD, MO
MY ABS AND EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN ON EVER SENSE I HAVE BOUGHT THE TRUCK (MID 2014) AND I CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT WHY. I HAVE READ SEVERAL PLACES THAT SAY THAT SOME OF THE SOLDER POINTS IN THE ABS MODULE HAVE PROBABLY CRACKED AND NEED TO BE REPAIRED IF IT THROWS A CERTAIN CODE (AND MINE DOES). HAVEN'T HAD THE TIME OR MONEY TO FIX THE PROBLEM AS MY TRUCK IS MY DAILY DRIVER. HAVE NOTICED SOME SLIGHT PULSING IN THE BRAKES WHEN STOPPING, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO ANNOY YOU. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WILL ANNOY YOU THOUGH. I HAVE ALSO BEEN CHASING SEVERAL VACUUM LEAKS. ONE WAS BY THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER AND ANOTHER (FROM INSIDE THE CAB) SOUNDS LIKE IT'S RIGHT ABOVE THE TRANSMISSION HOUSING AT THE BACK OF THE ENGINE (WHERE YOU CAN'T SEE). IT'S SO BAD THAT WHEN I FIRST START THE ENGINE AND START TO DRIVE AT 1/2 THROTTLE, IT HAS ABSOLUTELY NO POWER, BUT THEN PICKS BACK UP AGAIN AFTER ABOUT A 1/4 MILE WITH NO POWER. BECAUSE OF THE VACUUM LEAK, I'M GUESSING, IT SOUNDS LIKE I HAVE A TURBO ON THE TRUCK FROM INSIDE THE CAB. IF YOU TURN THE RADIO OFF, YOU CAN DEFINITELY HEAR IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2014 - MARSHFIELD, MO
MY ABS AND EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN ON EVER SENSE I HAVE BOUGHT THE TRUCK (MID 2014) AND I CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT WHY. I HAVE READ SEVERAL PLACES THAT SAY THAT SOME OF THE SOLDER POINTS IN THE ABS MODULE HAVE PROBABLY CRACKED AND NEED TO BE REPAIRED IF IT THROWS A CERTAIN CODE (AND MINE DOES). HAVEN'T HAD THE TIME OR MONEY TO FIX THE PROBLEM AS MY TRUCK IS MY DAILY DRIVER. HAVE NOTICED SOME SLIGHT PULSING IN THE BRAKES WHEN STOPPING, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO ANNOY YOU. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WILL ANNOY YOU THOUGH. I HAVE ALSO BEEN CHASING SEVERAL VACUUM LEAKS. ONE WAS BY THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER AND ANOTHER (FROM INSIDE THE CAB) SOUNDS LIKE IT'S RIGHT ABOVE THE TRANSMISSION HOUSING AT THE BACK OF THE ENGINE (WHERE YOU CAN'T SEE). IT'S SO BAD THAT WHEN I FIRST START THE ENGINE AND START TO DRIVE AT 1/2 THROTTLE, IT HAS ABSOLUTELY NO POWER, BUT THEN PICKS BACK UP AGAIN AFTER ABOUT A 1/4 MILE WITH NO POWER. BECAUSE OF THE VACUUM LEAK, I'M GUESSING, IT SOUNDS LIKE I HAVE A TURBO ON THE TRUCK FROM INSIDE THE CAB. IF YOU TURN THE RADIO OFF, YOU CAN DEFINITELY HEAR IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2014 - KANSAS CITY , MO
WHEN THE KEY IS INSERTED INTO KEY HOLE IN STEERING COLUMN, THE KEY HOLDER DOES NOT ALLOW THE KEY TO ROTATE TO START IGNITION. SEVERAL ATTEMPTS ARE REQUIRED TO FINALLY ROTATE THE KEY TO START THE ENGINE. THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURS WHEN I TRY TO STOP THE ENGINE. I TOOK TH VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE IS NOT AMONG THOSE BEING RECALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds