Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET S10 - 2000 CHEVROLET S10 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 410 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET S10

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET S10. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET S10, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (4) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (20)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Power Train (47) Service Brakes Hydraulic (93) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Fuel System Other (4) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Visibility (9)
Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Seats (51) Structure (83) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

2/25/2015 - WOLF CREEK, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. UPON INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT WAS NOTICED THAT THE FRONT FRAME WAS CRACKED AND DETERIORATED TO THE POINT THAT IT MAY FRACTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT CRACKS DEVELOPED ON THE FRAME AND THE MOTOR MOUNT WAS NOT WELDED TO THE FRAME PROPERLY. THE CRACKING PROGRESSED TO THE POINT THAT THE FRAME WAS ALSO DETERIORATING ON THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRAME SHOULD HAVE BEEN WELDED ALL THE WAY AROUND THE VEHICLE AND IT WAS ONLY WELDED AT THE TOP. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT FRAMING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/3/2014 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. UPDATED 11/20/14..UPDATED 11/24/14 UPDATED 05/4/02015

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

10/3/2014 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. UPDATED 11/20/14..UPDATED 11/24/14 UPDATED 05/4/02015

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - MARSHFIELD, MO
MY ABS AND EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN ON EVER SENSE I HAVE BOUGHT THE TRUCK (MID 2014) AND I CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT WHY. I HAVE READ SEVERAL PLACES THAT SAY THAT SOME OF THE SOLDER POINTS IN THE ABS MODULE HAVE PROBABLY CRACKED AND NEED TO BE REPAIRED IF IT THROWS A CERTAIN CODE (AND MINE DOES). HAVEN'T HAD THE TIME OR MONEY TO FIX THE PROBLEM AS MY TRUCK IS MY DAILY DRIVER. HAVE NOTICED SOME SLIGHT PULSING IN THE BRAKES WHEN STOPPING, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO ANNOY YOU. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WILL ANNOY YOU THOUGH. I HAVE ALSO BEEN CHASING SEVERAL VACUUM LEAKS. ONE WAS BY THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER AND ANOTHER (FROM INSIDE THE CAB) SOUNDS LIKE IT'S RIGHT ABOVE THE TRANSMISSION HOUSING AT THE BACK OF THE ENGINE (WHERE YOU CAN'T SEE). IT'S SO BAD THAT WHEN I FIRST START THE ENGINE AND START TO DRIVE AT 1/2 THROTTLE, IT HAS ABSOLUTELY NO POWER, BUT THEN PICKS BACK UP AGAIN AFTER ABOUT A 1/4 MILE WITH NO POWER. BECAUSE OF THE VACUUM LEAK, I'M GUESSING, IT SOUNDS LIKE I HAVE A TURBO ON THE TRUCK FROM INSIDE THE CAB. IF YOU TURN THE RADIO OFF, YOU CAN DEFINITELY HEAR IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2014 - MARSHFIELD, MO
MY ABS AND EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN ON EVER SENSE I HAVE BOUGHT THE TRUCK (MID 2014) AND I CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT WHY. I HAVE READ SEVERAL PLACES THAT SAY THAT SOME OF THE SOLDER POINTS IN THE ABS MODULE HAVE PROBABLY CRACKED AND NEED TO BE REPAIRED IF IT THROWS A CERTAIN CODE (AND MINE DOES). HAVEN'T HAD THE TIME OR MONEY TO FIX THE PROBLEM AS MY TRUCK IS MY DAILY DRIVER. HAVE NOTICED SOME SLIGHT PULSING IN THE BRAKES WHEN STOPPING, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO ANNOY YOU. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WILL ANNOY YOU THOUGH. I HAVE ALSO BEEN CHASING SEVERAL VACUUM LEAKS. ONE WAS BY THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER AND ANOTHER (FROM INSIDE THE CAB) SOUNDS LIKE IT'S RIGHT ABOVE THE TRANSMISSION HOUSING AT THE BACK OF THE ENGINE (WHERE YOU CAN'T SEE). IT'S SO BAD THAT WHEN I FIRST START THE ENGINE AND START TO DRIVE AT 1/2 THROTTLE, IT HAS ABSOLUTELY NO POWER, BUT THEN PICKS BACK UP AGAIN AFTER ABOUT A 1/4 MILE WITH NO POWER. BECAUSE OF THE VACUUM LEAK, I'M GUESSING, IT SOUNDS LIKE I HAVE A TURBO ON THE TRUCK FROM INSIDE THE CAB. IF YOU TURN THE RADIO OFF, YOU CAN DEFINITELY HEAR IT.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2014 - KANSAS CITY , MO
WHEN THE KEY IS INSERTED INTO KEY HOLE IN STEERING COLUMN, THE KEY HOLDER DOES NOT ALLOW THE KEY TO ROTATE TO START IGNITION. SEVERAL ATTEMPTS ARE REQUIRED TO FINALLY ROTATE THE KEY TO START THE ENGINE. THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURS WHEN I TRY TO STOP THE ENGINE. I TOOK TH VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE IS NOT AMONG THOSE BEING RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2014 - KANSAS CITY , MO
WHEN THE KEY IS INSERTED INTO KEY HOLE IN STEERING COLUMN, THE KEY HOLDER DOES NOT ALLOW THE KEY TO ROTATE TO START IGNITION. SEVERAL ATTEMPTS ARE REQUIRED TO FINALLY ROTATE THE KEY TO START THE ENGINE. THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURS WHEN I TRY TO STOP THE ENGINE. I TOOK TH VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE IS NOT AMONG THOSE BEING RECALLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/3/2013 - STUARTS DRAFT , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE BRAKES SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE BECAME RESISTANT TO ACCELERATION ATTEMPTS AS THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2013 - WOLCOTT, NY
IT JUST STALLED AND THE RADIO KEEPS GOING ON AND OFF ONCE IN A WHILE, ALSO THE TIRES KEEP GOING FLAT ON ME AND I PUT FIX A FLAT IN THEM AND THEY STILL DO THE SAME. ELECTRIC PROBLEM I THINK IT MIGHT BE THE RELAY NOT SURE. BUT IT HAS ELECTRIC PROBLEMS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2013 - WOLCOTT, NY
IT JUST STALLED AND THE RADIO KEEPS GOING ON AND OFF ONCE IN A WHILE, ALSO THE TIRES KEEP GOING FLAT ON ME AND I PUT FIX A FLAT IN THEM AND THEY STILL DO THE SAME. ELECTRIC PROBLEM I THINK IT MIGHT BE THE RELAY NOT SURE. BUT IT HAS ELECTRIC PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds