Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2000 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1061 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (76) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (55) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (129) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (4) Visibility (22)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (31) Suspension (643) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/8/2010 - MAIZA, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO . HE STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 75 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED, THE STEERING , LIGHTS AND BRAKES WERE INOPERABLE. HE THEN PUSHED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HE WAITED AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND IT OPERATED NORMALLY. AFTER 2 HOURS THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN . THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PCM OVERHEATED WHICH CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO SHUT DOWN.THIS HAD OCCURRED 20 ADDITIONAL TIMES. THERE HAVE BEEN NO REPAIRS MADE TO THE VEHILCE . THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 121972.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/2/2010 - SPOTSYLVANIA, VA
SINCE PURCHASE OF 2000 (NEW) DODGE DURANGO 5.9L 4 WHEEL DRIVE, THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN SERVICED SEVERAL TIMES AT GREAT AMOUNTS OF COST. I RARELY USE 4 WHEEL DRIVE AND TAKE CARE OF EACH REQUIRED SERVICE. ON THE INTERNET I NOTICE SEVERAL SIMILAR/SAME COMPLAINTS. THE 4 WHEEL DRIVE LIGHT STUCK ON AND THE TRANSMISSION IS STUCK IN 4 WHEEL WITH NO INDICATION OF GOING INTO 2 WHEEL/NEUTRAL OR OTHER WISE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/18/2009 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I'VE HELD CONFIDENCE IN MY 2000 DODGE DURANGO SINCE I PURCHASED IT IN 2003. IN THE SUMMER OF 2009, I WAS DRIVING DOWN A LOCAL ROAD WHEN SUDDENLY THE GAUGES ON THE DASH BOARD WERE NOT REGISTERING, THE ODOMETER READ BUS AND THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. SINCE THIS OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING, I DID NOT HAVE TIME TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I TURNED ON THE CAUTION BLINKERS. THERE WERE MANY CARS BLOWING THEIR HORNS, WAITING BEHIND ME ON THIS ONE LANE ROAD. AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES THE ENGINE STARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE. I THOUGHT THIS WAS A ONE TIME ONLY OCCURRENCE. I HAD NO PRIOR PROBLEMS WITH THE TRUCK. A FEW DAYS LATER, I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC AND THE TRUCK SUDDENLY SHUT OFF AGAIN. OMG, I WAS NERVOUS, SCARED AND REALLY BELIEVED THAT I WAS GOING TO DIE BECAUSE SOMEONE WOULD RAM THEIR VEHICLE INTO MINE. WHAT DRIVER WOULD SUSPECT THAT MY TRUCK SUDDENLY DIED WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT? I THOUGHT ABOUT HOW I WAS GOING TO GET THIS VEHICLE SAFELY TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT ENDANGERING MY LIFE AND THE LIFE OF OTHER DRIVERS. LUCKILY I DID IT. MY HUSBAND TINKERED WITH THE COMPUTER AND NOTICED THAT WHEN HE REPOSITION THE COMPUTER THE ENGINE WOULD START AGAIN. BUT I REFUSE TO DRIVE IT UNTIL WE PURCHASE ANOTHER COMPUTER. THE CAR REPAIRMAN SAID, EVEN IF WE PURCHASED ANOTHER COMPUTER HE COULD NOT GUARANTEE THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHUT COMPLETELY DOWN. THE COMPUTER IS OVERHEATING DUE TO THE LOCATION THAT THE MANUFACTURERS HAVE CHOSEN. I WILL GET SOMEONE TO DESIGN SOME SORT OF HEAT SHIELD OR SOMETHING TO PREVENT THE COMPUTER FROM OVERHEATING. TO REPLACE MY CURRENT COMPUTER WILL COST $1100. I THINK THE CAR COMPANY SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS FLAW AND RECALL THE VEHICLE. I DO NOT WANT SOMEONE TO GET KILLED DUE TO THEIR GROSS NEGLIGENCE. I AM NOT THE ONLY DODGE DURANGO OWNER WHO IS HAVING THIS SAME PROBLEM. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE AND GET SOMETHING DONE. PREVENTING JUST ONE DEATH IS ENOUGH.

View Details

SEATS

11/15/2009 - BEDFORD, TX
I OWN A 2000 DURANGO SLT WITH THE "ROCKING SEAT" PROBLEM. DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT SLIDES IN THE RAIL APPROXIMATELY 1 INCH WHEN ACCELERATING OR STOPPING, UNLESS THE SEAT IS POSITIONED AT THE EXTREME FORWARD OR REARWARD POSITIONS. THE PROBLEM STARTED AT APPROXIMATELY 38,000 MILES AND GETTING WORST AS TIME GOES ON. ON INSPECTION, I FOUND THE ALUMINUM SLIDERS ATTACHED TO THE GEAR DRIVES FOR BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT SIDES TO BE WORN OUT, CAUSING THE FRONT TO REAR SLIPPAGE. RESEARCH SHOWS THIS TO BE A VERY COMMON ISSUE, AS THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FILE WITH YOUR ORGANIZATION. I BELIEVE THAT THIS COULD BE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. HOPEFULLY NO ONE HAS BEEN INJURED BY THIS DEFECT THAT DODGE KNOWS WELL ABOUT. I BELIEVE A RECALL OR REPAIR KIT IS IN ORDER HERE. LUCKILY I DO NOT DRIVE THIS VEHICLE VERY MUCH.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/13/2009 - BRENTWOOD, TN
I HAVE A 2000 DODGE DURANGO WITH 65,000 WELL KEPT MILES. ON OCT 7, I WAS INVOLVED IN A PILEUP ON INTERSTATE 24 IN MURFREESBORO, TN. THERE WERE 6 CARS, AND I WAS NUMBER 3. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. I WAS TAKEN BY AMBULANCE TO VANDERBILT HOSPITAL, WHERE I WAS DIAGNOSES WITH A BROKEN STERNUM.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

8/4/2009 - DARLINGTON, SC
2000 DODGE DURANGO DOOR LOCKS ARE NOT WORKING PROPERLY. THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCK WILL NOT RESPOND TO THE COMMANDS. I HAVE READ ABOUT NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE DOOR LOCKS AND IT CONCERNS ME IF WE WERE IN AN ACCIDENT IF THE DOORS WILL STAY SHUT, OR WORSE UNABLE FOR ANYONE TO ACCESS THAT DOOR. IT SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM IN ALL YEARS OF CARS. I UNDERSTAND IT IS A PLASTIC WHEEL POORLY DESIGNED. I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH 2 DOOR LOCKS AND THE REAR HATCH. CURRENTLY, WE ARE FACED WITH AN ELECTRICAL DRAIN ON THE BATTERY. IT IS A NEW BATTERY AND STILL WILL NOT START. I HAVE MY SUSPICIONS THAT THESE DOOR LOCKS MAY HAVE A BEARING. PLEASE LOOK INTO THE MATTER AS IT IS A DEFINITE FLAW AND A SAFETY HAZARD. THE REAR HATCH HAS NOT WORKED IN ABOUT 3 YEARS AND THE PASSENGER REAR ABOUT 2 YEARS AND THE DRIVERS DOOR MAKES NOISES ABOUT 3 YEARS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/15/2009 - COEUR D'ALENE, ID
I OWN A 2000 DODGE DURANGO, AND IT OFTEN WILL JUST SHUT DOWN WHILE I'M DRIVING. I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE OCTOBER 2008, AND THIS HAS HAPPENED 12 OR 13 TIMES. I RECEIVE A "NO BUS" SIGNAL ON MY ODOMETER DISPLAY. I HAVE REPLACED BATTERY TERMINALS, AND A BATTERY. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN FAR MORE OFTEN IN HOT WEATHER. IT SOMETIMES HAPPENS WHEN I'M DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE FREEWAY, AND THEN THE CAR SHUTS DOWN AND I LOSE POWER STEERING (VERY DANGEROUS), BRAKES (EVEN MORE DANGEROUS) AND THE ACCELERATOR DOESN'T FUNCTION.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2009 - COEUR D'ALENE, ID
I OWN A 2000 DODGE DURANGO, AND IT OFTEN WILL JUST SHUT DOWN WHILE I'M DRIVING. I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE OCTOBER 2008, AND THIS HAS HAPPENED 12 OR 13 TIMES. I RECEIVE A "NO BUS" SIGNAL ON MY ODOMETER DISPLAY. I HAVE REPLACED BATTERY TERMINALS, AND A BATTERY. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN FAR MORE OFTEN IN HOT WEATHER. IT SOMETIMES HAPPENS WHEN I'M DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE FREEWAY, AND THEN THE CAR SHUTS DOWN AND I LOSE POWER STEERING (VERY DANGEROUS), BRAKES (EVEN MORE DANGEROUS) AND THE ACCELERATOR DOESN'T FUNCTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2009 - COEUR D'ALENE, ID
I OWN A 2000 DODGE DURANGO, AND IT OFTEN WILL JUST SHUT DOWN WHILE I'M DRIVING. I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE OCTOBER 2008, AND THIS HAS HAPPENED 12 OR 13 TIMES. I RECEIVE A "NO BUS" SIGNAL ON MY ODOMETER DISPLAY. I HAVE REPLACED BATTERY TERMINALS, AND A BATTERY. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN FAR MORE OFTEN IN HOT WEATHER. IT SOMETIMES HAPPENS WHEN I'M DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE FREEWAY, AND THEN THE CAR SHUTS DOWN AND I LOSE POWER STEERING (VERY DANGEROUS), BRAKES (EVEN MORE DANGEROUS) AND THE ACCELERATOR DOESN'T FUNCTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/1/2009 - FORT COLLINS, CO
DRIVING ON CITY ROADS THROUGH TRAFFIC LIGHTS AND SUDDENLY HAD NO BRAKES. BRAKE PEDAL WAS ON THE FLOOR. NARROWLY AVOIDED CRASHING BY SWERVING INTO FREE TURN LANE AND TURNING. APPLIED PARKING BRAKE TO COME TO A STOP. DODGE DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT VEHICLE AND REPORTED THAT THE RETAINING CLIP FOR BRAKE PEDAL TO BOOSTER WAS MISSING. THEY REPLACED THE CLIP TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THERE IS NO OLD PART SINCE IT WAS MISSING COMPLETELY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds