Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2000 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1059 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (76) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (129) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (4) Visibility (22)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (31) Suspension (642) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/3/2016 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SENSORS WERE REPLACED (THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR, CRANKSHAFT, SPEED CAM, AIC, SPARK PLUG WIRES, ROTORS AND DISTRIBUTOR CUP, DISTRIBUTOR ROTOR, IGNITION COIL, MAP SENSOR). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/3/2016 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SENSORS WERE REPLACED (THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR, CRANKSHAFT, SPEED CAM, AIC, SPARK PLUG WIRES, ROTORS AND DISTRIBUTOR CUP, DISTRIBUTOR ROTOR, IGNITION COIL, MAP SENSOR). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/1/2016 - OCEAN VIEW, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE TAKATA AIR BAG RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,997.

View Details

SEATS

6/30/2016 - WOODLAND, CA
A FEW MONTHS BACK, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SEAT BEGAN TO SLIDE FORWARD WHEN BRAKING AND THEN BACK ONCE STARTING UP AGAIN -- WHETHER CITY STREET OR FREEWAY DRIVING. IT FEELS LIKE IT MOVES AN INCH OR SO. IT IS A 2000. IT BEGAN BEFORE 78,000 MILES. I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM PARENTS IN 2010 AND IT DID NOT HAVE ANY ISSUES UNTIL SUDDENLY IT MOVED WHEN BRAKING. SEAT SHOULD BE STABLE. I SEE THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2016 - HARRISBURG, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER DISABLING THE PCM WIRES. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR, CAMSHAFT SENSOR, AND OXYGEN SENSOR WERE REPLACED AT DIFFERENT TIMES. IN ADDITION, THE OTHER COMPONENTS REPLACED WERE THE DISTRIBUTOR CAP, IGNITION COIL, AND ECM RELAY. THE FAILURE PERSISTED AFTER EACH REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER WAITING TEN MINUTES, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS WHEN DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHO WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2016 - BLYTHEVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AND DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MAT SENSOR, CAM SENSOR, SPARK PLUGS, AND MULTIPLE PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2016 - BLYTHEVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AND DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MAT SENSOR, CAM SENSOR, SPARK PLUGS, AND MULTIPLE PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2016 - OGILVIE, MN
I BOUGHT A 2000 DODGE DURANGO BACK IN JULY OF 2014 FROM A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. IN OCTOBER OF 2015 THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET, GOING ABOUT 30 MILES PER HOUR. A CLOUD OF BLACK SMOKE CAME OUT OF MY HEATER VENTS, IT SMELT OF BURNT PLASTIC AND SULFUR. ALMOST IMMEDIATELY AFTER THAT HAPPENED ALL MY DASH LIGHTS CAME ON AND STARTED DINGING AT ME, AND THE BATTERY VOLTAGE METER WENT FROM OVER 18 TO UNDER 14. I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A LOCAL BUSINESS, AND PARKED THE VEHICLE, I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND POPPED THE HOOD. UNDER THE HOOD IT SMELT EVEN STRONGER OF BURNT PLASTIC. I CHECKED THE OIL, THINKING THAT MAYBE I HAD AN OIL LEAK AND LOST ALL THE OIL I HAD JUST PUT INTO A WEEK BEFORE, BUT THE OIL WAS FINE. THE TRANSMISSION FLUID WAS FINE. ALL FLUIDS WERE FINE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT STARTED SINCE AND I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT I NEED TO GET ALL NEW ELECTRICAL WIRES, COSTING ME ABOUT $5,000, I HAVE NOT YET PAID TO HAVE THE WORK DONE BECAUSE I HAVE READ ABOUT SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, I BELIEVE THAT IT IS AN ISSUE THAT THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD HAVE TO COVER. MY TRUCK HAD TO BE TOWED HOME AND HAS NOT STARTED SINCE. I PAID A LITTLE OVER $5,000 FOR THE DURANGO, AND I'M NOT YET DONE PAYING IT OFF, AND UNTIL THIS IS LOOKED INTO FURTHER I AM NOT GOING TO PUT THE SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY INTO IT AS IT WILL COST ME TO JUST GO GET A NEW ONE OF THE SAME YEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/11/2016 - DETROIT, MI
I WAS IN LINE AT A DRIVE THRU RESTUARANT WHEN I SMELLED SMOKE GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND SAW FLAMES POURING FROM UNDER THE FRONT OF THE CAR, I YELLED FOR THE PEOPLE IN FRONT OF ME TO MOVE AND MOVED THE CAR TO A SAFER PLACE IN THE PARKING LOT. SINCE I HAD LEFT ALL BELONGINGS INCLUDING MY PHONE ASSISTANCE WAS REQUESTED FROM SPECTATORS TO CALL THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WHO CAME AND PUT THE FIRE OUT, BY THEN THERE WASN NOT MUCH LECT UNDER THE HOOD AS IT HAD ALL BURNED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds