Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2000 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1061 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (76) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (55) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (129) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (4) Visibility (22)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (31) Suspension (643) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

6/10/2019 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS OR STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A LOOSE WIRE IN THE VEHICLE'S COMPUTER. HE WAS ABLE TO PLUG THE WIRE BACK IN AND THE VEHICLE WOULD RESTART. HOWEVER, THE WIRING WOULD BECOME LOOSE AGAIN AND THE FAILURE WOULD RECUR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 136,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2018 - TOPEKA, KS
ALL OF THE SUDDEN AL ELECTRICAL WENT HAYWIRE . NO TURN SIGNALS, ALL ELECTRICAL IS MESSED UP. I WAS IN THE CITY IN HEAVY TRAFFIC . VERY UNSAFE FOR ME AND OTHER DRIVERS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
ROOF RACK IS MADE OF PLASTIC. THERE ARE NO REINFORCEMENT BARS EMBEDDED IN THE PLASTIC. WHEN LUGGAGE OR PLASTIC KAYAKS ARE MOUNTED TO THE TOP, THE ROOF RACK BREAKS - LEADING TO POOR ANCHORAGE OF MATERIALS ON THE TOP ROOF AND DEATH OR INJURY TO THE PASSENGERS IN THE FOLLOWING VEHICLES. THIS EVENT HAPPENED WHERE THE ROOF RACK CAME APART AND DAMAGED THE DURANGO AND POTENTIALLY THE CAR FOLLOWING. WE WALKED THE TRUCK TO THE CLOSEST AUTOZONE AND THE MANAGER HELPED US BY USING METAL TIE BANDS TO SECURE IT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/11/2017 - REDMOND, OR
I PURCHASED A 2000 DODGE DURANGO USED AT 147K MILES IN NOVEMBER 2014. BY MARCH 2015, IT TURNED OFF RANDOMLY WHILE I WAS DRIVING, MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE COURSE OF 6 MONTHS. THE SPEED DIDN'T MATTER. AFTER SEEING 2 MECHANICS, THEY SENT ME TO AN ELECTRICAL SPECIALIST WHO DETERMINED IT WAS MY PCM. I REPLACED IT 3 TIMES, AND THE SECOND ONE SENT TO ME HAD HOLES DRILLED IN IT THEN FILLED WITH SILICONE. THAT ONE WORKED THE LEAST. APPARENTLY, THE PCM WAS REPLACED ONCE BEFORE I PURCHASED IT. WHEN I GOT THE THIRD ONE IN, IT SEEMED TO CORRECT THE ISSUE. HOW IS THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF RANDOMLY NOT A RECALL ISSUE? WHAT IF IT SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 65MPH? WHAT IF THERE WAS NO GOOD PLACE TO PULL OVER, AND WITH NO POWER STEERING I MIGHT ADD? I HAD MY KID IN THE CAR WITH ME MOST OF THE TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2017 - REDMOND, OR
I PURCHASED A 2000 DODGE DURANGO USED AT 147K MILES IN NOVEMBER 2014. BY MARCH 2015, IT TURNED OFF RANDOMLY WHILE I WAS DRIVING, MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE COURSE OF 6 MONTHS. THE SPEED DIDN'T MATTER. AFTER SEEING 2 MECHANICS, THEY SENT ME TO AN ELECTRICAL SPECIALIST WHO DETERMINED IT WAS MY PCM. I REPLACED IT 3 TIMES, AND THE SECOND ONE SENT TO ME HAD HOLES DRILLED IN IT THEN FILLED WITH SILICONE. THAT ONE WORKED THE LEAST. APPARENTLY, THE PCM WAS REPLACED ONCE BEFORE I PURCHASED IT. WHEN I GOT THE THIRD ONE IN, IT SEEMED TO CORRECT THE ISSUE. HOW IS THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF RANDOMLY NOT A RECALL ISSUE? WHAT IF IT SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 65MPH? WHAT IF THERE WAS NO GOOD PLACE TO PULL OVER, AND WITH NO POWER STEERING I MIGHT ADD? I HAD MY KID IN THE CAR WITH ME MOST OF THE TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/20/2017 - GLENDALE, AZ
DRIVING ON GLENDALE AZ AND HIT THE BRAKES AND THE REAR BRAKES LOCK AND ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE , SEARCH ON LIKE FOR CAUSES AND FOUND A RECALL F05 ANTILOCK BRAKE SYSTEM , CALL THE DEALERSHIP BUT THERE'S NO RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2017 - FREEPORT, TX
HEAD GASKET LEAK CREATED A HEATER CORE ISSUE WHERE COOLANT WOULD "MIST" THROUGH THE VENTS. THIS POSED A HEALTH RISK TO MY CHILDREN AND I WHO HAVE ASTHMA. AND THERE'S NO TELLING THE LONG TERM EFFECTS OF INHALING COOLANT MIST. DUE TO COST, WE HAD TO REROUTE THE HEATER CORE, THUS DISABLING IT AND GOING WITHOUT HEAT AND DEFROST DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. SINCE THEN, THE GASKET ISSUE IS NOW CAUSING EVEN MORE ISSUES OF SMOKING UNDER THE HOOD, SMOKE OUT THE TAIL PIPE, AND COOLANT OVERHEATING. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING HEAD GASKETS ARE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH DURANGOS. IT'S ABOUT TIME THEY ISSUE A RECALL AND FIX IT. I'M GREATLY CONCERNED ABOUT MY CHILDREN'S HEALTH AND SAFETY, PLUS THE ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT FROM THE EMISSIONS CHANGE DUE TO THE GASKET.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/2/2017 - FREEPORT, TX
HEAD GASKET LEAK CREATED A HEATER CORE ISSUE WHERE COOLANT WOULD "MIST" THROUGH THE VENTS. THIS POSED A HEALTH RISK TO MY CHILDREN AND I WHO HAVE ASTHMA. AND THERE'S NO TELLING THE LONG TERM EFFECTS OF INHALING COOLANT MIST. DUE TO COST, WE HAD TO REROUTE THE HEATER CORE, THUS DISABLING IT AND GOING WITHOUT HEAT AND DEFROST DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. SINCE THEN, THE GASKET ISSUE IS NOW CAUSING EVEN MORE ISSUES OF SMOKING UNDER THE HOOD, SMOKE OUT THE TAIL PIPE, AND COOLANT OVERHEATING. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING HEAD GASKETS ARE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH DURANGOS. IT'S ABOUT TIME THEY ISSUE A RECALL AND FIX IT. I'M GREATLY CONCERNED ABOUT MY CHILDREN'S HEALTH AND SAFETY, PLUS THE ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT FROM THE EMISSIONS CHANGE DUE TO THE GASKET.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: HUB

3/28/2017 - RUSSELLVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE LOWERED TO THE GROUND AND SMOKE BEGAN TO EMIT FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE FRONT UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS BENT INWARD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE RADIATOR FAILED TO OPERATE AND CAUSED THE COOLING SYSTEM TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE WHEEL HUB BEARING, FRONT UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS, AND COLD AIR INTAKE SYSTEM WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 04V596000 (SUSPENSION), 06E024000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) OR 08E064000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: RADIATOR ASSEMBLY

3/28/2017 - RUSSELLVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE LOWERED TO THE GROUND AND SMOKE BEGAN TO EMIT FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE FRONT UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS BENT INWARD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE RADIATOR FAILED TO OPERATE AND CAUSED THE COOLING SYSTEM TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE WHEEL HUB BEARING, FRONT UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS, AND COLD AIR INTAKE SYSTEM WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 04V596000 (SUSPENSION), 06E024000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) OR 08E064000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds