Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2000 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1061 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (76) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (55) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (129) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (4) Visibility (22)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (31) Suspension (643) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/8/2014 - CANTON, MI
DURING THE ACCIDENT MY TRUCK WAS HIT HEAD-ON BY A VAN AND THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. I HAD HEAD INJURY (HEADACHES, MEMORY LAPSES, CONFUSION, BLURY EYES, BACK/LEGS PAINS TILL THIS VERY DAY. CHRYSLER WAS INFORMED SEVERAL TIMES ABOUT THE PROBLEMS WITH THE TRUCK BEFORE THE ACCIDENT AND THEY REFUSED TO RESOLVE IT AND AFTER THE ACCIDENT, THEY STILL REFUSED TO RESOLVE IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/8/2014 - CANTON, MI
DURING THE ACCIDENT MY TRUCK WAS HIT HEAD-ON BY A VAN AND THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. I HAD HEAD INJURY (HEADACHES, MEMORY LAPSES, CONFUSION, BLURY EYES, BACK/LEGS PAINS TILL THIS VERY DAY. CHRYSLER WAS INFORMED SEVERAL TIMES ABOUT THE PROBLEMS WITH THE TRUCK BEFORE THE ACCIDENT AND THEY REFUSED TO RESOLVE IT AND AFTER THE ACCIDENT, THEY STILL REFUSED TO RESOLVE IT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2014 - LANSFORD, PA
AFTER READING THE OTHER POSTS ON THIS WEBSITE, I WANTED TO SHARE MY PROBLEM. I OWN A 2000 DODGE DURANGO ,IT HAS ABOUT 172,000 MILES. MY HUSBAND AND I ARE RETIRED AND ONLY DRIVE IT A FEW TIMES A WEEK. AFTER OWNING THE TRUCK FOR FOUR MONTHS, IT WOULD NOT START. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE GARAGE AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE CAM SENSOR. AFTER THE SENSOR WAS REPLACED I HAD NO PROBLEMS FOR ABOUT SIX MONTHS. THEN IT WOULD NOT START SOMETIMES, EVEN WHEN IT WAS COLD. IT WOULD DIE WHILE DRIVING REGARDLESS OF THE SPEED. I MEAN IT JUST SHUTS OFF COMPLETELY. SOMETIMES IT WOULD START RIGHT BACK UP AND SOMETIMES IT WOULD TAKE FIFTEEN MINUTES OR MORE. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE GARAGE AND THE MECHANIC WAS SURPRISED THAT THE CAM SENSOR WAS BAD AGAIN. HE REPLACED THE CAM SENSOR AND THE TRUCK WAS GOOD FOR ABOUT FOUR MONTHS. JUST RECENTLY WHILE WE ON VACATION (ABOUT TWO HOURS FROM HOME) THE SENSOR WENT BAD AGAIN! LUCKILY WE MADE IT HOME, THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE CAM SENSOR AGAIN. IF THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, WHAT DOESN'T DODGE FIX THE PROBLEM, AND REIMBURSE DURANGO OWNERS FOR THE REPAIR BILLS!

View Details

ENGINE

6/15/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE SPEED LIMIT 75 AND THE ENGINE JUST SHUT OFF. NO STEERING, NO BRAKES, NO CODES, NO WARNING LIGHTS NOTHING. THANK GOODNESS IT WAS IN THE EVENING AND LIGHT TRAFFIC, GOT FINALLY STOPPED AND HAD TO WAIT 2HRS BEFORE RESTARTING, WENT ABOUT ANOTHER 5 MILES AND DID IT AGAIN. FINALLY GOT TO WHERE I WAS GOING AND THEN THE NEXT DAY HAD TO TRAVEL AGAIN ON INTERSTATE AND IT DID IT AGAIN AND HAD TO WAIT 45 MINUTES TO RESTART. WHEN I FINALLY GOT HOME I SEARCH THE INTERNET FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THERE A MANY MANY SITES THAT PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM!!!! A RECALL NEEDS TO BE DONE AND THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/15/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE SPEED LIMIT 75 AND THE ENGINE JUST SHUT OFF. NO STEERING, NO BRAKES, NO CODES, NO WARNING LIGHTS NOTHING. THANK GOODNESS IT WAS IN THE EVENING AND LIGHT TRAFFIC, GOT FINALLY STOPPED AND HAD TO WAIT 2HRS BEFORE RESTARTING, WENT ABOUT ANOTHER 5 MILES AND DID IT AGAIN. FINALLY GOT TO WHERE I WAS GOING AND THEN THE NEXT DAY HAD TO TRAVEL AGAIN ON INTERSTATE AND IT DID IT AGAIN AND HAD TO WAIT 45 MINUTES TO RESTART. WHEN I FINALLY GOT HOME I SEARCH THE INTERNET FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THERE A MANY MANY SITES THAT PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM!!!! A RECALL NEEDS TO BE DONE AND THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
DRIVING ON REGULAR ROAD JUST TURNS OFF AND YOU LOOSE CONTROL OF STEERING , BRAKES AND SPEED, IT HAS HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY AND LUCKY IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE ON RIGHT LANE. STEERING LOCKS DOWN AND YOU ARE FORCE TO USE MUSCLE POWER TO GET IT OUT OF THE WAY. CAN I MAKE A LAWSUIT AGAINST THE DODGE PEOPLE TO FIX SUCH PROBLEM OR SHOULD I WAIT UNTIL MY WIFE GETS KILLED OR OTHERS AS IT HAS HAPPENED WITH OTHER DURANGO OWNERS? REPLACING THE PCM DIDN'T DO THE JOB THE PROBLEM'S STILL HAPPENING AND NOW IS IN THE PARKING LOT UNTIL IT BECOMES SAFE.

View Details

STEERING

6/1/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
DRIVING ON REGULAR ROAD JUST TURNS OFF AND YOU LOOSE CONTROL OF STEERING , BRAKES AND SPEED, IT HAS HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY AND LUCKY IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE ON RIGHT LANE. STEERING LOCKS DOWN AND YOU ARE FORCE TO USE MUSCLE POWER TO GET IT OUT OF THE WAY. CAN I MAKE A LAWSUIT AGAINST THE DODGE PEOPLE TO FIX SUCH PROBLEM OR SHOULD I WAIT UNTIL MY WIFE GETS KILLED OR OTHERS AS IT HAS HAPPENED WITH OTHER DURANGO OWNERS? REPLACING THE PCM DIDN'T DO THE JOB THE PROBLEM'S STILL HAPPENING AND NOW IS IN THE PARKING LOT UNTIL IT BECOMES SAFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/1/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
DRIVING ON REGULAR ROAD JUST TURNS OFF AND YOU LOOSE CONTROL OF STEERING , BRAKES AND SPEED, IT HAS HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY AND LUCKY IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE ON RIGHT LANE. STEERING LOCKS DOWN AND YOU ARE FORCE TO USE MUSCLE POWER TO GET IT OUT OF THE WAY. CAN I MAKE A LAWSUIT AGAINST THE DODGE PEOPLE TO FIX SUCH PROBLEM OR SHOULD I WAIT UNTIL MY WIFE GETS KILLED OR OTHERS AS IT HAS HAPPENED WITH OTHER DURANGO OWNERS? REPLACING THE PCM DIDN'T DO THE JOB THE PROBLEM'S STILL HAPPENING AND NOW IS IN THE PARKING LOT UNTIL IT BECOMES SAFE.

View Details

SEATS

3/2/2014 - HERTFORD, NC
JUST RECENTLY I NOTICED THE FOLLOWING PROBLEM WITH MY DRIVER'S SEAT. AFTER I SELECT THE CORRECT SEAT POSITION BY PRESSING THE BUTTON ON THE BOTTOM LEFT OF THE SEAT TO MOVE FORWARD OR BACKWARDS; THE SEAT SLIDES BACK AND FORTH WHEN I HAVE TO BRAKE OR STOP. THIS PROBLEM IS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS IN THE EVENT I HAVE TO STOP/BRAKE SUDDENLY. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ ON THE INTERNET, THIS PROBLEM IS COMMON WITH THE DODGE DURANGO AND IS CAUSED BY LOOSE TRACK RAILS ATTACHED UNDERNEATH THE DRIVER'S SEAT. IS THIS A DEFECT IN THE DODGE DURANGO? IF SO, THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL TO FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/30/2014 - SAINT CLAIR, PA
I PURCHASED A 2000 DODGE DURANGO IN JUNE 2003. I HAVE HAD CONTINUING PROBLEMS WITH FRONT SUSPENSION, BALL JOINTS,RIGHT HUB ASSEMBLY. RIGHT SIDE HUB ASSEMBLY HAS BEEN REPLACED 5 TIMES IN THE LAST 6 YEARS AND I WAS JUST TOLD YESTERDAY THAT IT WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I WAS ALSO INFORMED BY MY MECHANIC OF 18 YEARS, THE WHOLE FRONT SUSPENSION IS BAD AND THE DIFFERENTIAL WILL ALSO HAVE TO BE REPLACED. I HAVE OWNED THIS TRUCK 11 YEARS AND HAVE KEPT IT WELL MAINTAINED,IN ALL THIS TIME, I HAVE HAD ONLY ONE OFFICIAL RECALL FOR UPPER ARM BALL JOINTS IN 2005. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER TWICE TO QUESTION WHY I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE HUB ASSEMBLY SO FREQUENTLY(EVERY YEAR FOR THE LAST 5 OF 6 YEARS) AND THEY INSIST THERE IS NOTHING WRONG OR A SPECIFIC RECALL FOR MY VIN. I HAVE HAD ENOUGH WITH REPLACING THE SAME PART OVER AND OVER EVERY YEAR. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS HUB ASSEMBLY & FRONT SUSPENSION. I HAVE NOTICED THE SAME COMPLAINTS ONLINE AS MINE.... FRONT END VIBRATION WHEN REACHING SPEEDS OF 55-60 MPH, BALL JOINT ISSUES, HUB ASSEMBLY ISSUES, AND FRONT SUSPENSION ISSUES. THERE ARE CURRENTLY 2 RECALLS FOR 2000 DODGE DURANGO FRONT SUSPENSION AND HUB ASSEMBLY UNITS, AND CONVENIENTLY FOR CHRYSLER, NEITHER ARE MY VIN NUMBER DURANGO. SURPRISE, SURPRISE!! I WILL CONTINUE TO FILE COMPLAINTS WITH CHRYSLER UNTIL SOME ONE DECIDES TO TAKE ACTION AND GET THESE ISSUES REPAIRED ONCE AND FOR ALL. I AM GETTING A LITTLE TIRED OF CONSTANTLY PUTTING OUT HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS FOR THE SAME ISSUE YEAR AFTER YEAR!! PLEASE HELP GET THIS ISSUE RESOLVED!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds