Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2000 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1059 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (76) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (129) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (4) Visibility (22)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (31) Suspension (642) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/19/2012 - OAK FIELD, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 55 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER THREE MINUTES. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWELVE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 173,000. UPDATED 04/18/12 THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC,WHO INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE PROBLEM PCM BOARD. UPDATED 04/20/12

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)

3/19/2012 - OAK FIELD, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 55 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER THREE MINUTES. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWELVE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 173,000. UPDATED 04/18/12 THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC,WHO INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE PROBLEM PCM BOARD. UPDATED 04/20/12

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/5/2012 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED AFTER TEN MINUTES AND THE VEHICLE RESUMED NORMALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETECT A TROUBLE CODE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CONTACT PLANNED TO NOTIFY THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/17/2011 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
2000 DODGE DURANGO DRIVERS SIDE ELECTRIC SEAT ROCKING CHAIR EFFECT. THERE IS ACME TREAD LONG SCREW (WORM GEAR) BETWEEN THE TOP AND BOTTOM TRACK. THE FRONT OF THE ACME SCREW RESTS IN A PLASTIC BEARING. THERE IS A GEAR ALUMINUM CASE FROM WHICH A SMALL TRANSMISSION CABLE ATTACHES TO THE FRONT OF THE WORM GEAR; BOTH ENDS OF THE CABLE HAVE A SQUARE SHAPE.THE CABLE IS NOT ATTACHED TO EITHER END. IT JUST SLIDES IN OR OUT EITHER SIDE. INSIDE BETWEEN THE TRACKS THERE IS AN ALUMINUM CASE THAT IS HELD IN PLACE WITH 2 TORQUE SCREWS TO THE TRACK. THE PROBLEM: INSIDE OF THE ALUMINUM PIECE THERE IS SUPPOSED TO BE A FILLER POSSIBLY MADE OF RUBBER, WHICH IS AFFECTED BY THE GREASE AND DISINTEGRATES OVER TIME. YOU WILL NOT FIND PIECES OF BROKEN PLASTIC OR RUBBER, THE RUBBER HAS BECOME SOME SORT OF ASPHALT WITH THE GREASE. BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF THE FILLER BETWEEN THE NUT AND THE INTERIOR OF THE ALUMINUM CASING, THERE IS GAP WHICH ALLOWS THE SEAT TO MOVE BACK AND FORWARD LIKE A ROCKING CHAIR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/5/2011 - ANSONIA, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD VIBRATE WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE INNER AND OUTER EDGES OF THE TIRES WERE WEARING UNEVENLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO HAVE THE FAILURE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V596000 (SUSPENSION:FRONT:CONTROL ARM:UPPER BALL JOINT). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/11/2011 - BONNE TERRE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE HUB UNIT FRACTURED IN HALF. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08E064000 (SUSPENSION:FRONT:HUB). THE DEALER DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRED TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/6/2011 - TINLEY PARK, IL
WHILE DRIVING NB ON SOUTHWEST HIGHWAY IN PALOS THE LIGHT CHANGED TO YELLOW, THEN RED, I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE VEHICLE WAS SLOWING DOWN AS NORMAL. SUDDENLY THE BRAKE PEDAL HIT THE FLOOR AS IF THE HYDRAULICS FLUID HAD BEEN LET OUT OF THE BRAKE SYSTEM. THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHT WENT ON AND I COULD HEAR THE ANTI LOCK SYSTEM MAKING NOISE. I PUMPED THE BRAKES QUICKLY AND CAR STOPPED IN JUST ENOUGH TIME TO PREVENT AN ACCIDENT. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND OPENED THE HOOD TO INSPECT THE FLUID LEVELS, THEY WERE PERFECT, NO LEAKS EITHER. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHT WENT OUT, THE BRAKES DO NOT APPEAR TO BE WORKING CORRECTLY HOWEVER, I WILL HAVE A MECHANIC CHECK THEM OUT ON FRIDAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/2/2011 - GARDNER, KS
I HAVE A 2000 DURANGO 5.9 THAT WILL SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. NO CODES ARE STORED, AND THE DASH READS "NO BUS". IT HAS DONE THIS SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE PAST FEW MONTHS AND WILL ALWAYS RESTART AFTER A FEW MINUTES. THIS LAST TIME IT WOULDN'T RESTART AND WE HAD IT TOWED HOME AND IT STARTED UP AFTER THAT JUST FINE. I HAVE REPLACED MOST OF THE IGNITION SYSTEM AND PULLED THE FUEL PUMP TO NO AVAIL. IT IS MY WIFE'S CAR AND SHE AND I BOTH CAN'T TRUST IT ANY MORE WITH THE SAFETY OF MY WIFE AND CHILDREN. THERE ARE MULTIPLE POSTS AND COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BUT NO SINGLE "FIX", AND NOTHING OFFICIAL FROM DODGE ADDRESSING THIS VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SEATS

6/26/2011 - LAFAYETTE, LA
2000 DODGE DURANGO SLT / 2WD / 8 CYL 5.9L - VEHICLE MILEAGE 65,000; THE FOLLOWING OEM COMPONENTS / PARTS ARE DEFECTIVE / BROKEN / WORN PREMATURELY CAUSING OTHER PARTS / COMPONENTS / SYSTEMS TO FAIL, BRAKE & SHOULD BE RECALLED, SERVICED, REPLACED BY DAIMLER CHRYSLER, LLC AT THEIR EXPENSE (NO WONDER THEY NEEDED BAILOUT $): 3) DRIVERS POWER SEAT TRACK HAS EXCESSIVE MOTION WHEN ACCELERATING & STOPPING CAUSING SEAT TO SLIDE FORWARD / BACKWARD - POSSIBLY CAUSING ACCIDENT;

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/12/2011 - HUNTERSVILLE, NC
I HAVE OWNED MY 2000 DURANGO SINCE IT WAS NEW, I HAVE CHANGED THE OIL REGULARLY FOR THE WHOLE TIME, I HAVE ALWAYS DONE IT MYSELF. I RECENTLY BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR THE "TICKING" NOISE THAT I'VE BEEN TOLD SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NEW, "THERE IS NO CONCERN" WHEN I CHANGED THE OIL, IT WAS ALWAYS CLEAN, NO PROBLEMS. WELL, IT SEEMS THE ENGINE OIL HAD NOT BEEN TRAVELING THROUGH THE MOTOR AND APPARENTLY DAMAGED INTERNAL PARTS TO THE TUNE OF $2700.00, WHEN I LOOKED IT UP ONLINE, I LEARNED THIS HAS HAPPENED TO NEARLY EVERY 4.7 V8 THAT CHRYSLER MAKES, MY COMPUTER LIT UP WITH THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS, EVERYWHERE. WHY IS IT THAT CHRYSLER IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR A MOTOR DEFECT THAT THE CONSUMER HAS NO CONTROL OVER? ALL MAINTENANCE HAD BEEN DONE ON THIS ONE, AND HAS BEEN TAKEN CARE OF METICULOUSLY. I CALLED CHRYSLER FOR ASSISTANCE, BUT THE RESPONSE WAS THAT OF DENY, DENY, DENY AND REFER THE CUSTOMER TO THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY, THE END! I BELIEVE CHRYSLER SHOULD STEP UP AND BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR INCOMPETENCE! I FOR ONE WOULD LIKE MY HARD EARNED MONEY BACK FOR THIS JOB, WHICH TOOK ME 6 MONTHS TO PAY OFF TO GET MY CAR BACK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds