Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2000 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1059 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (76) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (129) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (4) Visibility (22)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (31) Suspension (642) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (137) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2011 - ESCONDIDO, CA
I BOUGHT THE S.U.V MARCH 14,2011 AND 2 WEEKS LATER IT STALLED ON THE FREEWAY AFTER GETTING OUT OF COLLEGE ABOUT 4:25PM. HEAVY TRAFFIC, I TAUGHT I WAS GOING TO GET REAR ENDED. ITS HAPPEN 5 X SINCE TWICE ON FREE WAY ON 3 X IN TOWN.. I WAS NEVER GOING OVER 35 MPH WHEN IT ACCOURS..IT JUST SHUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING OF ANYTHING. TAYLOR DEALERS, WHICH I BOUGHT THE CAR FROM TOOK IT TO THERE SHOP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING NO CODES OR ANY SIGNS OF PROBLEMS WITH TRUCK THEY HAD THE TRUCK ABOUT A MONTH.. AFTER THE 3X IT STALLED I TOOK IT STRAIGHT TO SAN DIEGO TO THE MECHANIC OF TAYLOR MOTORS AND THEY RAN THE CODES AGAIN AND NOTHING SHOWS AND THEY SAID NOTHING THEY CAN DO BECAUSE THEY NEED TO SEE THE PROBLEM OR THE STALLING NEED TO HAPPEN WHILE THEY DRIVE AND IT NEVER HAPPENS. SO ON OR ABOUT MAY 11, 2011 I CALLED DODGE CORPARATE OFFICE AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION AND I EXPLAINED ITS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES THEY HAVE A CASE MANAGEMENT JUDY ON IT BUT NO WORD SINCE I EXPLAINED AND THEY CAN'T GET THE TRUCK TO STALL..THEY INTRUCTED ME TO TAKE THE TRUCK TO THERE DEALERSHIP.. THEY CAN'T FIND OUT THE ISSUE EITHER, MY TRUCKS IS STILL AT THE DEALERS WHILE THEY TRY TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM BUT AS OF TODAY THEY STILL CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT COULD BE THE PROBLEM.. IT SEEMS THAT IT HAPPENS ON HOT DAYS OR DRIVING AROUND A LOT.. I EXPLAINED THAT IT HAPPENS PERIODICKLY... ITS REALLY SCARY BECAUSE IT JUST SHUTS OF WITH NO WARNING OR ANYTHING UNTIL U RELIZE THAT UR PRESSING GAS PEDAL AND ITS NOT GOING. I SEEN ONLINE ABOUT THIS TRUCK HAVING PROBLEMS IN OTHER STATES AS WELL AND NO ONE HAS DONE NOTHING.. I HOPE THERE NOT WAITING FOR A SERIOUS DRASTIC ACCIDENT TO ACCOUR IN ORDER TO RECALL THE TRUCK OR FIX THE ISSUE.. NO CAR SHOULD JUST TURN OFF WITHOUT WARNING..I READ SOME PERSON HAD SAME ISSUE AND IT WAS THE COIL TO CLOSE TO EXHAUST MANIFOLD. IT CAUSES COIL TO GET TO HOT AND SHUT TRUCK OFF

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/2/2011 - ESCONDIDO, CA
I BOUGHT THE S.U.V MARCH 14,2011 AND 2 WEEKS LATER IT STALLED ON THE FREEWAY AFTER GETTING OUT OF COLLEGE ABOUT 4:25PM. HEAVY TRAFFIC, I TAUGHT I WAS GOING TO GET REAR ENDED. ITS HAPPEN 5 X SINCE TWICE ON FREE WAY ON 3 X IN TOWN.. I WAS NEVER GOING OVER 35 MPH WHEN IT ACCOURS..IT JUST SHUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING OF ANYTHING. TAYLOR DEALERS, WHICH I BOUGHT THE CAR FROM TOOK IT TO THERE SHOP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING NO CODES OR ANY SIGNS OF PROBLEMS WITH TRUCK THEY HAD THE TRUCK ABOUT A MONTH.. AFTER THE 3X IT STALLED I TOOK IT STRAIGHT TO SAN DIEGO TO THE MECHANIC OF TAYLOR MOTORS AND THEY RAN THE CODES AGAIN AND NOTHING SHOWS AND THEY SAID NOTHING THEY CAN DO BECAUSE THEY NEED TO SEE THE PROBLEM OR THE STALLING NEED TO HAPPEN WHILE THEY DRIVE AND IT NEVER HAPPENS. SO ON OR ABOUT MAY 11, 2011 I CALLED DODGE CORPARATE OFFICE AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION AND I EXPLAINED ITS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES THEY HAVE A CASE MANAGEMENT JUDY ON IT BUT NO WORD SINCE I EXPLAINED AND THEY CAN'T GET THE TRUCK TO STALL..THEY INTRUCTED ME TO TAKE THE TRUCK TO THERE DEALERSHIP.. THEY CAN'T FIND OUT THE ISSUE EITHER, MY TRUCKS IS STILL AT THE DEALERS WHILE THEY TRY TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM BUT AS OF TODAY THEY STILL CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT COULD BE THE PROBLEM.. IT SEEMS THAT IT HAPPENS ON HOT DAYS OR DRIVING AROUND A LOT.. I EXPLAINED THAT IT HAPPENS PERIODICKLY... ITS REALLY SCARY BECAUSE IT JUST SHUTS OF WITH NO WARNING OR ANYTHING UNTIL U RELIZE THAT UR PRESSING GAS PEDAL AND ITS NOT GOING. I SEEN ONLINE ABOUT THIS TRUCK HAVING PROBLEMS IN OTHER STATES AS WELL AND NO ONE HAS DONE NOTHING.. I HOPE THERE NOT WAITING FOR A SERIOUS DRASTIC ACCIDENT TO ACCOUR IN ORDER TO RECALL THE TRUCK OR FIX THE ISSUE.. NO CAR SHOULD JUST TURN OFF WITHOUT WARNING..I READ SOME PERSON HAD SAME ISSUE AND IT WAS THE COIL TO CLOSE TO EXHAUST MANIFOLD. IT CAUSES COIL TO GET TO HOT AND SHUT TRUCK OFF

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/31/2011 - LUTHERVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 40 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE ALSO OCCURRED ON A SEPARATE OCCASION WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/24/2011 - ROCK, WV
I WAS PULLING OUT OF MY CIRCULAR DRIVEWAY STEERING LEFT AND THE WHEEL BASE WOULDN'T TURN. SO I BACKED UP AND CONTINUE TO GO AROUND THE CURVE, ONCE I REACHED ABOUT 200 FT OFF MY DRIVEWAY, MY CAR COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON IT'S OWN. I BACKED INTO MY DRIVEWAY DRAGGING MY PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WHEEL SIDEWAYS. ONCE I GOT OUT TO CHECK WHAT WAS GOING ON, MY TIE ROD END HAD BECOME COMPLETELY STRIPPED OFF THE RACK AND PINION. AFTER FURTHER INSPECTIONS, SOMEHOW THE GROVES ON THE RACK AND PINION HAD WORE DOWN SO MUCH IT ALLOWED THE TIE ROD TO STRIP AND RELEASE. I WAS SO GLAD I HADN'T BEEN DRIVING WITH MY CHILDREN ON THE HIGHWAY, THIS WOULD HAVE CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO FLIP AND PROBABLY KILL US. I KNOW HAVE TO REPLACE MY RACK AND PINION AND TIE ROD AND JUST REPLACING THE BALL JOINTS ON THIS VEHICLE NOT A COUPLE MONTHS AGO. I AM VERY FRIGHTENED TO DRIVE IT NOW IN FEAR THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2011 - ROCK, WV
I WAS PULLING OUT OF MY CIRCULAR DRIVEWAY STEERING LEFT AND THE WHEEL BASE WOULDN'T TURN. SO I BACKED UP AND CONTINUE TO GO AROUND THE CURVE, ONCE I REACHED ABOUT 200 FT OFF MY DRIVEWAY, MY CAR COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON IT'S OWN. I BACKED INTO MY DRIVEWAY DRAGGING MY PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WHEEL SIDEWAYS. ONCE I GOT OUT TO CHECK WHAT WAS GOING ON, MY TIE ROD END HAD BECOME COMPLETELY STRIPPED OFF THE RACK AND PINION. AFTER FURTHER INSPECTIONS, SOMEHOW THE GROVES ON THE RACK AND PINION HAD WORE DOWN SO MUCH IT ALLOWED THE TIE ROD TO STRIP AND RELEASE. I WAS SO GLAD I HADN'T BEEN DRIVING WITH MY CHILDREN ON THE HIGHWAY, THIS WOULD HAVE CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO FLIP AND PROBABLY KILL US. I KNOW HAVE TO REPLACE MY RACK AND PINION AND TIE ROD AND JUST REPLACING THE BALL JOINTS ON THIS VEHICLE NOT A COUPLE MONTHS AGO. I AM VERY FRIGHTENED TO DRIVE IT NOW IN FEAR THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/16/2011 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
I HAD A 2000 DODGE DURANGO AND AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES I TURNED ON THE AIR AND A SULFUR LIKE SMELL CAME THROUGH THE AIR SYSTEM. AFTER PULLING OVER AND CUTTING THE CAR OFF, FLAMES CAME FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CAR BURST INTO FLAMES AND BURNED COMPLETELY UP. NOTHING WAS LEFT BUT THE METAL FRAME. MY INSURANCE COMPANY COULDN'T GIVE ME ANY INSIGHT AS TO WHY THIS HAPPENED. I HAD ABOUT 133,000 MILES ON IT. I WISH I KNEW ABOUT THIS SITE BEFORE I LOST MY VEHICLE. I WOULD'VE INSISTED THAT THE DEALERSHIP THOROUGHLY CHECK THE CAR OUT BEFORE I ENDED UP WITHOUT A VEHICLE FOR 2 MONTHS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

4/14/2011 - PHILIDELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT WAS SITTING IDLE AT A TRAFFIC STOP WHEN A FIRE IGNITED FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND SMOKE WAS EMITTING FROM THE HOOD. THE POLICE AND FIRE WERE DISPATCHED AND A FIRE REPORT WAS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE FIRE WAS CAUSED BY FAULTY FUEL LINES. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED AS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

SEATS

3/22/2011 - HOUSTON, TX
2000 DODGE DURANGO SLT DRIVERS POWER SEAT "ROCKING" DURING BRAKING AND ACCELERATION. DURING BRAKING, SEAT MOVING FORWARD CAUSE EXCESS BRAKING AND STEERING MOVEMENTS.

View Details

SEATS

3/11/2011 - SANDUSKY , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY BETWEEN 35-40 MPH, AND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED THE FRONT DRIVERS SEAT SLIGHTLY BEGAN TO TRAVEL BACKWARDS AND FAILED TO REMAIN SECURE IN THE ADJUSTED POSITION; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. ON A SEPARATE OCCASION THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE SEAT ROCKED IN A BACK AND FORTH MOTION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. CURRENTLY, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT BEING DRIVEN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/3/2010 - AMITYVILLE, NY
I OWN A 2000 DODGE DURANGO. MY CAR SURGES WHILE AT A STOP SIGN, A LIGHT OR IN PARK. IT SURGES FORWARD AND IF TO CLOSE TO ANOTHER VEHICLE IT MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. ALSO OUT OF NOWHERE MY DURANGO BEGIN TO SHUT OFF AND THE ENGINE LIGHTS POPS ON AFTERWARD. AFTER A FEW TRIES IT WILL START BACK UP AND RUN FINE UNTIL IT HAPPENS AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds