Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC MONTANA - 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (6)
Child Seat (4) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (16) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (16) Structure (33) Visibility (21)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/7/2009 - CLEVELAND, OH
I OWN A 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA THAT NEEDS AN INTAKE GASKET REPLACED. THE COMPANY SPECIFICALLY ADVISES THAT NO OTHER COOLANT IS TO BE USED IN THIS VAN BUT DEXCOOL. I NEVER USED A DIFFERENT PRODUCT THAN DEXCOOL. NOW DEXCOOL HAS DESTROYED THAT GASKET. MY CAR IS LEAKING FLUIDS AND BARELY HEATS. COST FOR REPAIR IS OUTLANDISHLY EXPENSIVE. THE RECOMMENDATIONS BY GM WERE FOLLOWED AND THEY WERE WRONG! THIS IS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE, NOT A CONSUMER ONE. THE ONUS SHOULD BE ON GM TO RECALL AND REPAIR THE INTAKE GASKET IMMEDIATELY! THEY HAVE GOTTEN AWAY WITH THIS PROBLEM FOR YEARS AND EVERY MONTANA HAS THIS ISSUE. PLEASE HELP. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/4/2009 - ATLANTA, GA
MANIFOLD INTAKE GASKET FAILURE AT 125,000 MILES REPLACED AT COST OF $1100, MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS WAS COMMON PROBLEM FOR VEHICLE, BECAUSE ORIGINAL GASKET WAS PLASTIC AND FAILED OFTEN. WOULD LIKE AT LEAST PARTIAL REFUND FOR REPAIR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

12/4/2008 - WESTBLOOM, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE REGARDING THE DOOR HANDLES ON HER VEHICLE. SHE WAS EXPERIENCING ISSUES WITH THE LOCKS ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOORS BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT BE OPENED FROM INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V597000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS) WAS SIMILAR TO THE FAILURES THE CONTACT WAS EXPERIENCING; HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE DEFECT UNDER THIS RECALL BECAUSE THE FAILURE WAS NOT INVOLVED WITH THE PREVIOUS RECALL THAT WAS ISSUED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 116000. UPDATED 02-18-09 THE SLIDING DOOR DIDNOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. UPDATED 02/18/09.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/4/2008 - WESTBLOOM, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE REGARDING THE DOOR HANDLES ON HER VEHICLE. SHE WAS EXPERIENCING ISSUES WITH THE LOCKS ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOORS BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT BE OPENED FROM INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V597000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS) WAS SIMILAR TO THE FAILURES THE CONTACT WAS EXPERIENCING; HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE DEFECT UNDER THIS RECALL BECAUSE THE FAILURE WAS NOT INVOLVED WITH THE PREVIOUS RECALL THAT WAS ISSUED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 116000. UPDATED 02-18-09 THE SLIDING DOOR DIDNOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. UPDATED 02/18/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/23/2008 - MARIETTA, GA
2000 PONTIAC MONTANA; 3.4LTR 6CYL: "SERVICE ENGINE" SOON LIGHT PROMPTED SERVICE VISIT. TECH TOLD US THAT CODES INDICATED THAT INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS HAD FAILED AND THAT ENGINE OIL AND COOLANT WERE LEAKING. SUCH LEAKAGE CAUSED OIL CONTAMINATION OF THE COOLANT AS WELL AS COOLANT CONTAMINATION OF THE OIL. TECHNICIAN FURTHER COMMENTED THAT THIS WAS AN EXTREMELY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE GM 3.4 LTR 6CYL ENGINE AND HAD BEEN KNOWN TO GM FOR SEVERAL YEARS, BUT HAD NEVER BEEN FIXED. REPAIR COSTS APPROX $800 AND MUST BE DONE SINCE THE RELATED CODES WILL CAUSE FAILURE OF ANNUAL EMISSIONS TESTING AND VEHICLE LICENSE TAGS WILL NOT BE ISSUED. INTERNET RESEARCH ON THIS DEFECT CONFIRMED THAT PROBLEM IS WIDESPREAD AND WELL KNOWN. GM SHOULD BE FORCED TO RECALL ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/20/2008 - WINSTON, GA
HIGH PITCHED WHINE, THEN TRANSMISSION FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/15/2008 - CHEBOYGAN, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER DAUGHTER'S LEG BECAME TRAPPED ON THE REAR SLIDING PASSENGER DOOR. THE DOOR IS SUPPOSED TO RETRACT WHEN AN OBJECT IS BLOCKING THE SENSOR. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR LOCKS ON ITS OWN. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT WOULD NOT PROVIDE A FREE DIAGNOSIS. THE CONTACT FEELS THAT THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD PAY FOR THE REPAIR COSTS BECAUSE SHE IS MAKING PAYMENTS ON THE VEHICLE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 150,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/2/2008 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I HAVE 3 CHILDREN, ONE DISABLED. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN FROM DAY 1 WHEN THE MANUAL SLIDING DOOR BROKE TWO WEEKS AFTER PURCHASE. ALMOST KILLED MY DISABLED CHILD WHEN IT SPRANG OPEN ON HIM. DEALER, SAID HE BROKE IT, A CHILD WITH FULL BODY MUSCLE DISORDERS WHO CAN'T LIFT A BRICK. NOW WE HAVE HAD UNENDING PROBLEMS WITH THE ENGINE, COOLANT LEVELS, THE CAR SMELLS LIKE BURNT PLASTIC OFTEN, TIMES WHEN I WENT TO START IT, NOTHING HAPPENED. NOW I AM TOLD THAT THE ENGINE WILL SEIZE SOON. INTERESTING SINCE I ALWAYS CHANGED THE FLUIDS ON TIME AND I HAVE ONLY OWNED IT FOR 5 YEARS. BOTH SIDE DOORS DO NOT WORK, AUTOMATIC WORKS SOMETIMES, MANUAL COMES OFF THE TRACK. ONE OF THE REAR PASSENGER SEATS DOES NOT FOLD PROPERLY. THE CAR OFTEN FEELS AS THOUGH IT HAS "BAD GAS" JERKING BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING IT. I AM AFRAID, I HAVE THREE KIDS IN THE CAR USUALLY. I NEED A CAR AND NOW WITH NO MONEY AND NO ABILITY TO BUY A NEW ONE, I AM TOLD THAT THE CAR WILL SEIZE IF I DO NOT SPEND $4000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. I AM GETTING A SECOND OPINION BUT FROM WHAT I AM READING, IT SEEMS FEUDAL. SHAME ON GM!! WHY WASN'T THIS CAR RECALLED??? THIS IS A VAN, A FAMILY CAR!!! YOU WANT TO KILL CHILDREN???? I AM WRITING MY CONGRESSMAN AND THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN OUT OF CIRCULATION UNTIL THE PROBLEMS WERE IRONED OUT. IF SOMETHING HAPPENS TO MY CHILDREN, I WILL MAKE IT MY PERSONAL CRUSADE TO SHUT DOWN ALL GM PLANTS. THE AMOUNT OF MONEY I PUT INTO THIS CAR IS RIDICULOUS WHEN I HAD A 20 YEAR OLD VOLVO THAT IS STILL RUNNING. SHAME ON AMERICA! THIS IS WHY OUR INDUSTRIES ARE FAILING AND WE MUST TURN TO FOREIGN COUNTRIES. SO I HAVE A CAR THAT I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH. I SERIOUSLY HAVE NO MONEY TO REPLACE THE ENGINE NOR BUY A NEW CAR. I HAVE CHILDREN IN 3 DIFFERENT SCHOOLS THE OLDEST NEEDING THERAPIES EACH DAY THAT I MUST DRIVE HIM TO. WHAT AM I TO DO?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

2/2/2008 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I HAVE 3 CHILDREN, ONE DISABLED. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN FROM DAY 1 WHEN THE MANUAL SLIDING DOOR BROKE TWO WEEKS AFTER PURCHASE. ALMOST KILLED MY DISABLED CHILD WHEN IT SPRANG OPEN ON HIM. DEALER, SAID HE BROKE IT, A CHILD WITH FULL BODY MUSCLE DISORDERS WHO CAN'T LIFT A BRICK. NOW WE HAVE HAD UNENDING PROBLEMS WITH THE ENGINE, COOLANT LEVELS, THE CAR SMELLS LIKE BURNT PLASTIC OFTEN, TIMES WHEN I WENT TO START IT, NOTHING HAPPENED. NOW I AM TOLD THAT THE ENGINE WILL SEIZE SOON. INTERESTING SINCE I ALWAYS CHANGED THE FLUIDS ON TIME AND I HAVE ONLY OWNED IT FOR 5 YEARS. BOTH SIDE DOORS DO NOT WORK, AUTOMATIC WORKS SOMETIMES, MANUAL COMES OFF THE TRACK. ONE OF THE REAR PASSENGER SEATS DOES NOT FOLD PROPERLY. THE CAR OFTEN FEELS AS THOUGH IT HAS "BAD GAS" JERKING BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING IT. I AM AFRAID, I HAVE THREE KIDS IN THE CAR USUALLY. I NEED A CAR AND NOW WITH NO MONEY AND NO ABILITY TO BUY A NEW ONE, I AM TOLD THAT THE CAR WILL SEIZE IF I DO NOT SPEND $4000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. I AM GETTING A SECOND OPINION BUT FROM WHAT I AM READING, IT SEEMS FEUDAL. SHAME ON GM!! WHY WASN'T THIS CAR RECALLED??? THIS IS A VAN, A FAMILY CAR!!! YOU WANT TO KILL CHILDREN???? I AM WRITING MY CONGRESSMAN AND THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN OUT OF CIRCULATION UNTIL THE PROBLEMS WERE IRONED OUT. IF SOMETHING HAPPENS TO MY CHILDREN, I WILL MAKE IT MY PERSONAL CRUSADE TO SHUT DOWN ALL GM PLANTS. THE AMOUNT OF MONEY I PUT INTO THIS CAR IS RIDICULOUS WHEN I HAD A 20 YEAR OLD VOLVO THAT IS STILL RUNNING. SHAME ON AMERICA! THIS IS WHY OUR INDUSTRIES ARE FAILING AND WE MUST TURN TO FOREIGN COUNTRIES. SO I HAVE A CAR THAT I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH. I SERIOUSLY HAVE NO MONEY TO REPLACE THE ENGINE NOR BUY A NEW CAR. I HAVE CHILDREN IN 3 DIFFERENT SCHOOLS THE OLDEST NEEDING THERAPIES EACH DAY THAT I MUST DRIVE HIM TO. WHAT AM I TO DO?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

1/29/2008 - MENOMINEE, MI
I OWN A 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA,IN THE PAST 2 YEARS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE WATERPUMPX2 AND INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET X2. THE GASKET LASTED 18 MONTHS AND THE WATERPUMP 3 MONTHS. I FEEL THAT PUTTING 1400.00 DOLLARS INTO A VEHICLE WITHIN 18 MONTHS FOR THE SAME PARTS IS OUTRAGEOUS. THE SERVICEMAN HOWEVER STATED THE WARRANTY WAS 1 YEAR. SOMETHING SEEMS VERY WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds