Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN LS - 2000 SATURN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 397 complaints filed for the 2000 SATURN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 SATURN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 SATURN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (21)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (71) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (59) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Power Train (26) Steering (38) Visibility (15)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (26) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (141) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (7) Suspension (27)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/23/2012 - BROWN DEER, WI
ENGINE BEGAN HAVING A SLOW KNOCKING NOISE, PRIOR TO THAT I WOULD HEAR A NOISE OF THE CHAIN SLAPPING, WHICH I WAS EXPLAINED TO BY SATURN THAT THIS WAS NORMAL IN MY VEHICLE. DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME THEN WHILE I WAS PARKING, HEARD A LOUD BANG AND WHEN I GOT OUT - THERE WAS OIL GUSHING FROM UNDERNEATH. PARKED THE CAR AND HAVE NOT REPAIRED IT SINCE... WAS JUST DOING RESEARCH NOW TO REPLACE THE ENGINE AND FOUND THAT FINALLY THERE WAS ANOTHER ROUND OF RECALLS REGARDING THE ENGINE. I HAVE ASKED MY SATURN DEALER BEFORE ABOUT THIS (WHILE THEY WERE STILL IN BUSINESS) AND WAS TOLD THAT ONLY SPECIFIC YEARS WERE COVERED...

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/30/2012 - TROY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LW1. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BEING INSPECTED WHEN THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT REAR FRAME WAS SEVERELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,063.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/10/2012 - GRAND RAPIDS CHARTER TOWNSHIP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH THE CONTACT HEARD A TICKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE. THE NOISE WAS HEARD WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE TIMING BELT LOCATED IN THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2011 - RIO RANCHO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN TURNING THE KEY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD SEIZE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 44,200.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/28/2011 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN L SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN THE ATTEMPT TO START THE VEHICLE, THE WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE THERE WAS NO COMPRESSION TAKING PLACE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V519000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING), DID NOT INCLUDE THE VIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 50,000. UPDATED 02/03/12 THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE TRADED THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 02/10/12

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/23/2011 - NEW YORK, NY
RIGHT REAR PARKING BRAKE CABLE RUSTED THROUGH AND SNAPPED. RESULT: NO PARKING BRAKE (NO HAND BRAKE). LOCAL MECHANICS ADVISED US THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL. IT CANNOT BE FIXED. SATURN IS NO LONGER IN BUSINESS. GM NO LONGER SELLS THIS CABLE. NONE OF THE AFTERMARKET COMPANIES MAKE A CABLE THAT FITS THIS MAKE/MODEL/YEAR.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2011 - WESTBOROUGH, MA
VEHICLE PULLED WHEN BRAKING. SYMPTOMS STARTED ON A MONDAY AS A LIGHT PULL. MORE NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50 MPH, AND NOT NOTICEABLE BELOW 35. BY THURSDAY MORNING, PULL WAS SEVERE ABOVE 50MPH. STAYED TILL AFTER 6:00 AT NIGHT TO AVOID TRAFFIC. RIDE HOME WAS "ENTERTAINING" AS STEERING WHEEL DID NOT ALWAYS GO BACK TO "CENTER" WHEN GOING STRAIGHT. I THOUGHT I NEEDED A STEERING RACK UNTIL I INSPECTED THE VEHICLE ON SATURDAY. MY INSPECTION SHOWED THAT FRONT SUBFRAME (A.K.A. ENGINE CRADLE) FAILED WHERE THE "PASSENGER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM REAR BUSHING WAS ATTACHED". A SIZABLE PIECE OF FRAME RIPPED OUT, WITH BUSHING STILL ATTACHED TO LOWER CONTROL ARM. RUSTED PERFORATIONS IN SUBFRAME VISIBLE APPROXIMATELY 6" BEHIND WHERE FRAME FAILED. TWO SETS OF RIMS (SUMMER AND WINTER) WITH NO "DINGS" TESTIFIES THAT VEHICLE NEVER EVEN HIT A CURB IN 170,000 MILES. 4 CYLINDER, SO NO EXHAUST NEARBY TO "WEAKEN STEEL". BAD CHOICE OF CORROSION PROTECTION IN A CRITICAL PART OF THE FRAME, AND/OR UNDERSIZING OF STEEL THICKNESS TO ACCOMMODATE FOR CORROSION IS MY ESTIMATE OF "FAILURE MODE". CONTACTED DEALER AND NO REPLACEMENT PARTS AVAILABLE. WELL MAINTAINED VEHICLE, VERY DISAPPOINTED IT FAILED THIS WAY. LAST VEHICLE I JUNKED WAS A 17 YEAR OLD 1973 OLDS. EVERYTHING BUT THE SUBFRAME INDICATED I'D GET ANOTHER 5 YEARS OUT OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/15/2011 - WESTBOROUGH, MA
VEHICLE PULLED WHEN BRAKING. SYMPTOMS STARTED ON A MONDAY AS A LIGHT PULL. MORE NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50 MPH, AND NOT NOTICEABLE BELOW 35. BY THURSDAY MORNING, PULL WAS SEVERE ABOVE 50MPH. STAYED TILL AFTER 6:00 AT NIGHT TO AVOID TRAFFIC. RIDE HOME WAS "ENTERTAINING" AS STEERING WHEEL DID NOT ALWAYS GO BACK TO "CENTER" WHEN GOING STRAIGHT. I THOUGHT I NEEDED A STEERING RACK UNTIL I INSPECTED THE VEHICLE ON SATURDAY. MY INSPECTION SHOWED THAT FRONT SUBFRAME (A.K.A. ENGINE CRADLE) FAILED WHERE THE "PASSENGER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM REAR BUSHING WAS ATTACHED". A SIZABLE PIECE OF FRAME RIPPED OUT, WITH BUSHING STILL ATTACHED TO LOWER CONTROL ARM. RUSTED PERFORATIONS IN SUBFRAME VISIBLE APPROXIMATELY 6" BEHIND WHERE FRAME FAILED. TWO SETS OF RIMS (SUMMER AND WINTER) WITH NO "DINGS" TESTIFIES THAT VEHICLE NEVER EVEN HIT A CURB IN 170,000 MILES. 4 CYLINDER, SO NO EXHAUST NEARBY TO "WEAKEN STEEL". BAD CHOICE OF CORROSION PROTECTION IN A CRITICAL PART OF THE FRAME, AND/OR UNDERSIZING OF STEEL THICKNESS TO ACCOMMODATE FOR CORROSION IS MY ESTIMATE OF "FAILURE MODE". CONTACTED DEALER AND NO REPLACEMENT PARTS AVAILABLE. WELL MAINTAINED VEHICLE, VERY DISAPPOINTED IT FAILED THIS WAY. LAST VEHICLE I JUNKED WAS A 17 YEAR OLD 1973 OLDS. EVERYTHING BUT THE SUBFRAME INDICATED I'D GET ANOTHER 5 YEARS OUT OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/15/2011 - WESTBOROUGH, MA
VEHICLE PULLED WHEN BRAKING. SYMPTOMS STARTED ON A MONDAY AS A LIGHT PULL. MORE NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50 MPH, AND NOT NOTICEABLE BELOW 35. BY THURSDAY MORNING, PULL WAS SEVERE ABOVE 50MPH. STAYED TILL AFTER 6:00 AT NIGHT TO AVOID TRAFFIC. RIDE HOME WAS "ENTERTAINING" AS STEERING WHEEL DID NOT ALWAYS GO BACK TO "CENTER" WHEN GOING STRAIGHT. I THOUGHT I NEEDED A STEERING RACK UNTIL I INSPECTED THE VEHICLE ON SATURDAY. MY INSPECTION SHOWED THAT FRONT SUBFRAME (A.K.A. ENGINE CRADLE) FAILED WHERE THE "PASSENGER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM REAR BUSHING WAS ATTACHED". A SIZABLE PIECE OF FRAME RIPPED OUT, WITH BUSHING STILL ATTACHED TO LOWER CONTROL ARM. RUSTED PERFORATIONS IN SUBFRAME VISIBLE APPROXIMATELY 6" BEHIND WHERE FRAME FAILED. TWO SETS OF RIMS (SUMMER AND WINTER) WITH NO "DINGS" TESTIFIES THAT VEHICLE NEVER EVEN HIT A CURB IN 170,000 MILES. 4 CYLINDER, SO NO EXHAUST NEARBY TO "WEAKEN STEEL". BAD CHOICE OF CORROSION PROTECTION IN A CRITICAL PART OF THE FRAME, AND/OR UNDERSIZING OF STEEL THICKNESS TO ACCOMMODATE FOR CORROSION IS MY ESTIMATE OF "FAILURE MODE". CONTACTED DEALER AND NO REPLACEMENT PARTS AVAILABLE. WELL MAINTAINED VEHICLE, VERY DISAPPOINTED IT FAILED THIS WAY. LAST VEHICLE I JUNKED WAS A 17 YEAR OLD 1973 OLDS. EVERYTHING BUT THE SUBFRAME INDICATED I'D GET ANOTHER 5 YEARS OUT OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/15/2011 - NEENAH, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS 2000 SATURN L-SERIES SEDAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE TIMING CHAIN FRACTURED CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE HEAD OF THE ENGINE. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE TIMING CHAIN HAD TO BE REPLACED AND DEPENDING ON THE SEVERITY OF THE DAMAGE THE HEAD ON THE ENGINE ALSO HAD TO BE REBUILT OR REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V519000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) MAY BE RELATED TO THE FAILURE BUT IT DO NOT INCLUDE 2000 MODELS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000 UPDATED 04/19/12 UPADTED 04/27/12

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds