Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN LS - 2000 SATURN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 401 complaints filed for the 2000 SATURN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 SATURN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 SATURN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (21)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (72) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (61) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Power Train (26) Steering (39) Visibility (15)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (27) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (142) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (7) Suspension (28)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/5/2012 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS1. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR AN UNRELATED PROBLEM AND THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED THAT THE FRAME WAS COMPLETELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOUR TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2012 - COLUMBUS, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN L-SERIES WAGON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NEED A NEW TIMING CHAIN AND A NEW ENGINE, AS THERE WAS A LOT OF INTERNAL DAMAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 143,000. UPDATED 11/07/12 THE REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED, IN ONE WEEK, BY THE CONSUMER'S HUSBAND. UPDATED 11/07/2012

View Details

ENGINE

6/29/2012 - GRAND FORKS, ND
I ARRIVED AT MY DESTINATION, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, RAN INSIDE FOR NO MORE THAN 5 MINS AND WHEN I CAME BACK OUT THE ENGINE WAS UNABLE TO TURN OVER AND MADE HORRIBLE NOISES WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START. I CALLED A TOW TRUCK TO COME PICK IT UP TO BRING IT BACK TO THEIR SHOP TO CHECK IT OUT. WHEN I ARRIVE AT THE SHOP TODAY THEY TELL ME THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAS BROKEN AND BENT THE VALVES. THE WHOLE ENGINE NOW NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THEY TELL ME IT IS $3600 MINIMUM TO REPLACE AND THIS IS WITH A USED ENGINE FOR $2400+ JUST FOR HIS USED ENGINE. ALL IN ALL, I'M VERY GLAD THE VEHICLE WASN'T MOVING WHEN THIS HAPPENED BUT STILL VERY FRUSTRATED SINCE THIS DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AN UNCOMMON THING WITH THE SATURN L-SERIES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/15/2012 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS1. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING AT A TRAFFIC STOP, ANOTHER VEHICLE REAR-ENDED THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BREAK LIGHTS FAILED TO ALERT THE OTHER DRIVER THAT SHE WAS BRAKING. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO VEHICLE AND THE POLICE WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP OR DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIR. THE FAILURE OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, HOWEVER PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/23/2012 - BROWN DEER, WI
ENGINE BEGAN HAVING A SLOW KNOCKING NOISE, PRIOR TO THAT I WOULD HEAR A NOISE OF THE CHAIN SLAPPING, WHICH I WAS EXPLAINED TO BY SATURN THAT THIS WAS NORMAL IN MY VEHICLE. DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME THEN WHILE I WAS PARKING, HEARD A LOUD BANG AND WHEN I GOT OUT - THERE WAS OIL GUSHING FROM UNDERNEATH. PARKED THE CAR AND HAVE NOT REPAIRED IT SINCE... WAS JUST DOING RESEARCH NOW TO REPLACE THE ENGINE AND FOUND THAT FINALLY THERE WAS ANOTHER ROUND OF RECALLS REGARDING THE ENGINE. I HAVE ASKED MY SATURN DEALER BEFORE ABOUT THIS (WHILE THEY WERE STILL IN BUSINESS) AND WAS TOLD THAT ONLY SPECIFIC YEARS WERE COVERED...

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/30/2012 - TROY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LW1. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BEING INSPECTED WHEN THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT REAR FRAME WAS SEVERELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,063.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/10/2012 - GRAND RAPIDS CHARTER TOWNSHIP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH THE CONTACT HEARD A TICKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE. THE NOISE WAS HEARD WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE TIMING BELT LOCATED IN THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2011 - RIO RANCHO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN TURNING THE KEY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD SEIZE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 44,200.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/28/2011 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN L SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN THE ATTEMPT TO START THE VEHICLE, THE WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE THERE WAS NO COMPRESSION TAKING PLACE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V519000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING), DID NOT INCLUDE THE VIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 50,000. UPDATED 02/03/12 THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE TRADED THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 02/10/12

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/23/2011 - NEW YORK, NY
RIGHT REAR PARKING BRAKE CABLE RUSTED THROUGH AND SNAPPED. RESULT: NO PARKING BRAKE (NO HAND BRAKE). LOCAL MECHANICS ADVISED US THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL. IT CANNOT BE FIXED. SATURN IS NO LONGER IN BUSINESS. GM NO LONGER SELLS THIS CABLE. NONE OF THE AFTERMARKET COMPANIES MAKE A CABLE THAT FITS THIS MAKE/MODEL/YEAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds