Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A4 - 2001 AUDI A4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 130 complaints filed for the 2001 AUDI A4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 AUDI A4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 AUDI A4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (34) Tires (3)
Electrical System (35) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Equipment (2) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/18/2016 - NORTH PLAINS, OR
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON A HIGHWAY GOING STRAIGHT AT ~65MPH THE PASSENGER SIDE CURTAIN AND SEAT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED FOR NO REASON. VEHICLE MANUFACTURER CITED A "CRASH" SIGNAL FROM SIDE IMPACT SENSOR WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FALSE DEPLOYMENT. NO PHYSICAL CAUSE COULD BE FOUND, NO DAMAGE WAS FOUND ON VEHICLE AND ALL AIRBAG SYSTEM WIRING WAS FOUND TO BE INTACT AND ORIGINAL. MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT OWN FAILURE AND CITED THE VEHICLE BEING LOWERED AS THE CAUSE. MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE ANY EVIDENCE FOR THIS CONCLUSION AND VEHICLE IS WELL WITHIN LOCAL LAWS/REGULATIONS FOR LOWERED VEHICLES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2014 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
BRAKES WERE WORKING FINE, COMING OFF FREEWAY, WAS COASTING THRU LIGHT, TRAFFIC STOPPED, BRAKES NO LONGER WORKED, BRAKE PEDAL WAS SUDDENLY FLUSH WITH FLOOR. REARENDED A CAR, CAR STARTED JUMPING FORWARD. HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR. CAR WAS TOWED AFTER ACCIDENT, NOT BECAUSE IT WAS NOT DRIVABLE, IT WAS NOT DRIVABLE DUE TO BRAKE PROBLEM. REPAIR SHOP SAID BRAKES FAILED TO VACUUM HOSE BREAKING, NO WARNING PRIOR TO LOSING BRAKES.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - TWIN LAKES, WI
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (MIL) HAS HAD SEVERAL RECURRENCES. THE MASS AIR FLOW METER AND SENSOR HAVE BEEN REPLACED TWICE. ( 65,060 AND 107,894). THE INITIAL FAILURE WAS AT 36,512 MILES. 47,819 MILES, 65,060 MILES, 107,894 MILES,118,628 MILES AND IN JULY, 2014 AT 159,421 MILES, THERE WAS A WARRANTY EXTENSION LETTER IN NOVEMBER, 2003 THAT INCLUDED 2001 AUDI A-4 1.8T VEHICLES AND A VOLUNTARY EMISSIONS SERVICE ACTION 28F2/J1 IGNITION COIL INSPECTION/REPLACEMENT IN OCTOBER, 2009. SECONDARY ISSUE. UNABLE TO READ DASHBOARD DISPLAY. PIXELED. UNABLE TO READ SAFETY/VEHICLE NOTIFICATIONS.

View Details

SEATS

12/30/2013 - CHESTERFIELD, MO
WHILE USING MY HEATER ON MY SEATS AND A PILLOW FOR ADDITIONAL BACK SUPPORT, I NOTICED SMOKE AND BURNING SMELL WHEN PULLING INTO MY DRIVEWAY. WHEN GETTING OUT OF MY CAR I NOTICED THAT MY PILLOW WAS LEAKING...AND UPON PULLING THE PILLOW OFF THE DRIVERS SEAT, IT WAS DAMAGED/BURNED THROUGH. I ALSO NOTICED THAT A BURNED HOLE THE SIZE OF A QUARTER IS NOW QUITE VISIBLE. WORRIED THAT THIS MAY CAUSE A CAR FIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/15/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 AUDI A4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WAS FLASHING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTICS WHERE THE MECHANIC ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE ECU MODULE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2012 - CHAPEL HILL NC, NC
THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER 99% CANNOT BE READ DUE TO THE LCD DISPLAY FADING. HAVE DONE MULTIPLE SEARCHES AND 9 OUT OF 10 PEOPLE HAVE THIS SAME EXACT ISSUE. AUDI NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. THIS HAS BEEN A HUGE PAIN FOR ME BECAUSE SOMETIMES MY CAR WILL BEEP AND DISPLAY SOMETHING ON THE LCD SCREEN BUT BECAUSE IT'S FADING I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT IT'S TELLING ME. I DON'T WANT TO BE DRIVING AND SOMETHING LIFE THREATENING HAPPEN BECAUSE OF A MISSED MESSAGE BECAUSE THE LCD SCREEN IS BROKEN. FIX THIS BEFORE PEOPLE GET HURT AND START FILING LAWSUITS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/5/2012 - SEATTLE, WA
IN 2007 XENON HEADLIGHTS DROPPED/DIPPED HEADLIGHT LEVEL SENSOR REPLACED AND LIGHTS APPEARED TO WORK CORRECTLY. IN 2011 THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN. HEADLIGHT LEVELING SENSOR AND WIRING HARNESS REPLACED. APPEARS TO BE WORKING OK. DRIVING WITH THE HEADLIGHTS AIMED INCORRECTLY IS A DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITION. IT APPEARS THAT THERE IS A COMMON DESIGN FLAW WITH THE XENON HEADLIGHTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/3/2011 - DEER LODGE, MT
WE HAVE EXPERIENCED AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM WITH THE HID HEAD LIGHTS FLICKERING AND SHUTTING OFF DURING OPERATION AT NIGHT. THE LEFT LOW BEAM BEGAN TO FLICKER AND THEN SHUT OFF. THE HEAD LIGHT WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT COMES ON. AFTER INSPECTION THE NEXT DAY, LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND WERE WORKING NORMALLY NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS TYPE OF CAR AND IN MY OPINION A VERY DANGEROUS ONE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY AUDI IN A RECALL FOR THE OBVIOUS BALLAST, BULB, WIRING, PROBLEM THAT EXISTS ON THIS CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/4/2011 - CALGARY, AA
ABS MODULE FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/17/2011 - CHANTILLY, VA
2001 AUDI A4 WITH TIMING BELT FAILURE AND REPAIR. CONSUMER STATES THAT THE TIMING BELT REPAIR DID NOT LAST AND HIS VEHICLE COMPLETELY FAILED ON THE HIGHWAY. CONSUMER WAS THEN INFORMED OF AN OIL SLUDGE ISSUE. UPDATED 10/19/11.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds