Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A4 - 2001 AUDI A4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen of America, Inc.

There are 129 complaints filed for the 2001 AUDI A4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 AUDI A4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 AUDI A4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (34) Tires (3)
Electrical System (35) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Equipment (2) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2014 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
BRAKES WERE WORKING FINE, COMING OFF FREEWAY, WAS COASTING THRU LIGHT, TRAFFIC STOPPED, BRAKES NO LONGER WORKED, BRAKE PEDAL WAS SUDDENLY FLUSH WITH FLOOR. REARENDED A CAR, CAR STARTED JUMPING FORWARD. HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR. CAR WAS TOWED AFTER ACCIDENT, NOT BECAUSE IT WAS NOT DRIVEABLE, IT WAS NOT DRIVEABLE DUE TO BRAKE PROBLEM. REPAIR SHOP SAID BRAKES FAILED TO VACUUM HOSE BREAKING, NO WARNING PRIOR TO LOSING BRAKES.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - TWIN LAKES, WI
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (MIL) HAS HAD SEVERAL RECURRENCES. THE MASS AIR FLOW METER AND SENSOR HAVE BEEN REPLACED TWICE. ( 65,060 AND 107,894). THE INITIAL FAILURE WAS AT 36,512 MILES. 47,819 MILES, 65,060 MILES, 107,894 MILES,118,628 MILES AND IN JULY, 2014 AT 159,421 MILES, THERE WAS A WARRANTY EXTENSION LETTER IN NOVEMBER, 2003 THAT INCLUDED 2001 AUDI A-4 1.8T VEHICLES AND A VOLUNTARY EMISSIONS SERVICE ACTION 28F2/J1 IGNITION COIL INSPECTION/REPLACEMENT IN OCTOBER, 2009. SECONDARY ISSUE. UNABLE TO READ DASHBOARD DISPLAY. PIXELED. UNABLE TO READ SAFETY/VEHICLE NOTIFICATIONS.

View Details

SEATS

12/30/2013 - CHESTERFIELD, MO
WHILE USING MY HEATER ON MY SEATS AND A PILLOW FOR ADDITIONAL BACK SUPPORT, I NOTICED SMOKE AND BURNING SMELL WHEN PULLING INTO MY DRIVEWAY. WHEN GETTING OUT OF MY CAR I NOTICED THAT MY PILLOW WAS LEAKING...AND UPON PULLING THE PILLOW OFF THE DRIVERS SEAT, IT WAS DAMAGED/BURNED THROUGH. I ALSO NOTICED THAT A BURNED HOLE THE SIZE OF A QUARTER IS NOW QUITE VISIBLE. WORRIED THAT THIS MAY CAUSE A CAR FIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/15/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 AUDI A4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WAS FLASHING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTICS WHERE THE MECHANIC ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE ECU MODULE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2012 - CHAPEL HILL NC, NC
THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER 99% CANNOT BE READ DUE TO THE LCD DISPLAY FADING. HAVE DONE MULTIPLE SEARCHES AND 9 OUT OF 10 PEOPLE HAVE THIS SAME EXACT ISSUE. AUDI NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. THIS HAS BEEN A HUGE PAIN FOR ME BECAUSE SOMETIMES MY CAR WILL BEEP AND DISPLAY SOMETHING ON THE LCD SCREEN BUT BECAUSE IT'S FADING I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT IT'S TELLING ME. I DON'T WANT TO BE DRIVING AND SOMETHING LIFE THREATENING HAPPEN BECAUSE OF A MISSED MESSAGE BECAUSE THE LCD SCREEN IS BROKEN. FIX THIS BEFORE PEOPLE GET HURT AND START FILING LAWSUITS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/5/2012 - SEATTLE, WA
IN 2007 XENON HEADLIGHTS DROPPED/DIPPED HEADLIGHT LEVEL SENSOR REPLACED AND LIGHTS APPEARED TO WORK CORRECTLY. IN 2011 THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN. HEADLIGHT LEVELING SENSOR AND WIRING HARNESS REPLACED. APPEARS TO BE WORKING OK. DRIVING WITH THE HEADLIGHTS AIMED INCORRECTLY IS A DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITION. IT APPEARS THAT THERE IS A COMMON DESIGN FLAW WITH THE XENON HEADLIGHTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/3/2011 - DEER LODGE, MT
WE HAVE EXPERIENCED AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM WITH THE HID HEAD LIGHTS FLICKERING AND SHUTTING OFF DURING OPERATION AT NIGHT. THE LEFT LOW BEAM BEGAN TO FLICKER AND THEN SHUT OFF. THE HEAD LIGHT WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT COMES ON. AFTER INSPECTION THE NEXT DAY, LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND WERE WORKING NORMALLY NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS TYPE OF CAR AND IN MY OPINION A VERY DANGEROUS ONE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY AUDI IN A RECALL FOR THE OBVIOUS BALLAST, BULB, WIRING, PROBLEM THAT EXISTS ON THIS CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/4/2011 - CALGARY, AA
ABS MODULE FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/17/2011 - CHANTILLY, VA
2001 AUDI A4 WITH TIMING BELT FAILURE AND REPAIR. CONSUMER STATES THAT THE TIMING BELT REPAIR DID NOT LAST AND HIS VEHICLE COMPLETELY FAILED ON THE HIGHWAY. CONSUMER WAS THEN INFORMED OF AN OIL SLUDGE ISSUE. UPDATED 10/19/11.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2011 - LANCASTER, PA
ALL AIRBAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY IN A DRIVER'S SIDE "T-BONE" COLLISION. A-4 IS EQUIPPED WITH SIDE AIRBAGS. A-4 WAS STATIONARY AND OCCUPIED, MINIVAN CRASHED INTO DRIVER'S DOOR AND PART OF FRONT QUARTER PANEL. VAN'S RATE OF TRAVEL WAS 20 TO 30 MPH IN REVERSE! MY WIFE SUFFERED NECK AND SHOULDER INJURIES. LOCAL AUDI DEALER REPLACED THE SIDE AIRBAG # 8D0 880 241 AA AND THE AIRBAG CONTROLLER MODULE # 8D0 959 655 G. ONLY AT MY INSISTENCE, WAS THIS WORK PERFORMED WHEN I CONTINUED TO QUESTION WHY NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. MY DIRECT QUESTIONS WERE MET WITH, "YOU KNOW, MORE INJURIES OCCUR WHEN AN AIRBAG GOES OFF, SO, YOUR WIFE IS PROBABLY LUCKIER THAT THEY DIDN'T WORK". WTF?! HEY BUDDY, LET'S PUT YOU IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT AND RAM MINIVAN INTO IT WITH THE SAME SPEED AND MASS! ALSO, REST YOUR ARM ON THE OPEN WINDOW AND SEE IF YOU DON'T LOSE AN ARM LIKE MY WIFE ALMOST DID. WHAT ARE THESE GUY'S TRYING TO COVER UP FOR AUDI?! HAS THERE BEEN A CORPORATE DECREE OF TOTAL LIABILITY AVOIDANCE WITH DECEIT BEING PUSHED DOWN TO THE DEALER LEVEL, OR ARE THEY JUST IDIOTS? I'M ALSO IN THE CLASS ACTION REGARDING THE OIL SLUDGE LAWSUIT. NOW THEY ARE DENYING 1/2 OF MY CLAIM BECAUSE THEY SAY I'M MISSING PROOF OF A SINGLE OIL CHANGE THAT SHOULD BE IN THE RECORDS OF THE DEALERSHIP THAT PERFORMED THE WORK, WHICH FOR SOME REASON ALL THE RECORDS PERTAINING TO THAT CRITICAL TIMELINE HAVE BEEN WIPED OFF AUDI'S CORPORATE COMUPTER SYSTEM. WHEN WILL IT ALL END? I'M ABOUT TO DRIVE THIS [XXX] CAROVER A CLIFF! ANY AUDI EXECS WANT TO GO FOR A RIDE? I FEEL I HAVE BEEN TAKEN FOR A LONG ENOUGH RIDE AFTER SOME $15,000 TO $20,000 IN REPAIRS OVER THE LAST 6 YEARS. LET'S HOPE OUR AIRBAGS WILL BE FREE FROM FAILURE IN THE EVENT OF A FUTURE ACCIDENT. SOMEONE ELSE'S EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT SWITCHING OUT THE MODULE WITH THE SAME MODEL MODULE HAS NOT ELIMINATED THE PROBLEM COMPLETELY AND IT HAS RE-OCCURRED, I.E., RED LIGHT IN DASH COMING ON AGAIN AND FAILURE TO DEPLOY AIRBAGS IN CRASH. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds