Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2001 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 110 complaints filed for the 2001 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Power Train (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

10/6/2018 - RENO, NV
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 80 AROUND A CURVE WHEN I HEAR A LOUD NOISE O LOOKED AROUND AT THE OTHER CARS IN THE OTHER LANES TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON AND THEY WERE LOOKING AT ME WONDERING THE SAME THING OR THEY SAW THE BLOWOUT AND OR HEARD THE NOISE? I REALIZED IT WAS MY TIRE LOSING STEERING CONTROL. I QUICKLY MOVED OVER TO SHOULDER FOUND I WAS RIDING ON RIM. THE TIRE HAD BLOWN OFF RIM TO THE BACK OF WHEEL WELL PUSHING OFF THE ANTI LOCK BRAKE CABLE FOR THAT WHEEL AND DAMAGING MY WHEEL WELL. A FEW MINUTES AFTER EXAMINING TIRE A STATE OF NEVADA EMERGENCY ROAD SERVICE VAN PULLED UP AND SAID AFTER LOOKING AT TIRE, YOUR LUCKY YOU DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT WITH THAT TIRE FAILURE. HE PUT ON SPARE AND I DROVE AWAY. I ALSO HAD OTHER TIRE EXPERTS LOOK AT TIRE AND NOT ONE OF THEM SAID IT WAS A ROAD HAZARD EVEN THOUGH THE MANUFACTURER SAID IT WAS AFTER THEIR INSPECTION. ONE OF THE TIRE EXPERTS WHO SELLS THEIR TIRES SAID DON'T EVEN TRY TO GET THEM TO REPLACE THAT TIRE THEY NEVER DO. GOODYEAR IS THE PARENT COMPANY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2016 - PANORAMA CITY, CA
A FUEL LEAK IN THE PRESENCE IN THE VEHICLE, STRONG SMELL CABIN AFTER FILLING GAS TANK TO FULL. IT IS A SAFTEY WARNING BECAUSE ANY IGNITION OR LIGHTING CAN IGNITE A FLAME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2016 - CANTON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 AUDI A6. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT SIDE OF THE BODY, INCLUDING MINOR HEARING LOSS IN THE LEFT EAR. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL MODULE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

9/22/2015 - WHIPPANY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON, THERE WAS A CLICKING NOISE EMERGING FROM THE CENTER OF THE DASHBOARD. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND SMOKE STARTED TO EMERGE FROM THE VENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND EVACUATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT AN ELECTRICAL FIRE OCCURRED THAT ORIGINATED AT THE WIRING HARNESS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V133000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GERMANTOWN, MD
I HAVE A 2001 AUDI A6 QUATTRO 2.8L WITH P1411 AND P1423 DTC CODES. I AM HEARING IT IS A VACUUM HOSE OR COMBI VALUE PROBLEMS FROM WHAT I AM READING, COMMON TO THIS MODEL, BUT I HAVE HAD SEVERAL MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND NOT WANT TO TACKLE IT. IN A RECENT FORUM I WAS TOLD MANY OF THE ITEMS I HAVE LISTED WERE RECALL ITEMS-INCLUDING VACUUM HOSES. YES, MANY WERE, THERE WAS EVEN A LAW SUIT WITH AUDI, THAT AUDI DENIED MY CLAIM AND PAID SEVERAL ON. I APPEALED AND THEY DID NOT RESPOND AND DID NOT DEFINE WHY THEY REFUSED TO COVER IT. AUDI STILL HAS YET TO COVER THE VEHICLE IN THE PROFESSIONAL MANNER I EXPECTED. MY LIFE BURDENS ARE ENOUGH, I DO NOT NEED A CAR MANUFACTURER OR DEALER TO YANK ME AROUND, THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 205,000 MILES, BECAUSE I PAID OUTRAGEOUS CAR REPAIRS ON IT. I FEEL AUDI IS A GOOD CAR, BUT FIXING THINGS ON IT THAT SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALLS AND SERVICE WARRANTIES IS NOT HAPPENING. DO I REALLY HAVE TO SUE TO GET RESULTS, THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I HAVE EXPERIENCED CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, FAILED EMISSIONS TESTING, HEADLIGHT PROBLEMS, ISSUES WITH WATER IN LENSES AND MIRRORS, TURN SIGNAL ISSUES, I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY FUEL LINE, REPLACED TIE RODS, AND ABS BRAKE LIGHT SIGNALS AFTER BRAKE REPAIR. I AM HOPING NHTSA CAN SHED SOME LIGHT AND ASSIST ME WITH RECTIFYING MY CAR SITUATION POSSIBLY. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THESE ISSUES FOR MANY YEARS NOW AND I AM HOPEFUL TO RECEIVE SOME RELIEF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GERMANTOWN, MD
I HAVE A 2001 AUDI A6 QUATTRO 2.8L WITH P1411 AND P1423 DTC CODES. I AM HEARING IT IS A VACUUM HOSE OR COMBI VALUE PROBLEMS FROM WHAT I AM READING, COMMON TO THIS MODEL, BUT I HAVE HAD SEVERAL MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND NOT WANT TO TACKLE IT. IN A RECENT FORUM I WAS TOLD MANY OF THE ITEMS I HAVE LISTED WERE RECALL ITEMS-INCLUDING VACUUM HOSES. YES, MANY WERE, THERE WAS EVEN A LAW SUIT WITH AUDI, THAT AUDI DENIED MY CLAIM AND PAID SEVERAL ON. I APPEALED AND THEY DID NOT RESPOND AND DID NOT DEFINE WHY THEY REFUSED TO COVER IT. AUDI STILL HAS YET TO COVER THE VEHICLE IN THE PROFESSIONAL MANNER I EXPECTED. MY LIFE BURDENS ARE ENOUGH, I DO NOT NEED A CAR MANUFACTURER OR DEALER TO YANK ME AROUND, THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 205,000 MILES, BECAUSE I PAID OUTRAGEOUS CAR REPAIRS ON IT. I FEEL AUDI IS A GOOD CAR, BUT FIXING THINGS ON IT THAT SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALLS AND SERVICE WARRANTIES IS NOT HAPPENING. DO I REALLY HAVE TO SUE TO GET RESULTS, THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I HAVE EXPERIENCED CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, FAILED EMISSIONS TESTING, HEADLIGHT PROBLEMS, ISSUES WITH WATER IN LENSES AND MIRRORS, TURN SIGNAL ISSUES, I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY FUEL LINE, REPLACED TIE RODS, AND ABS BRAKE LIGHT SIGNALS AFTER BRAKE REPAIR. I AM HOPING NHTSA CAN SHED SOME LIGHT AND ASSIST ME WITH RECTIFYING MY CAR SITUATION POSSIBLY. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THESE ISSUES FOR MANY YEARS NOW AND I AM HOPEFUL TO RECEIVE SOME RELIEF.

View Details

ENGINE

4/20/2015 - GERMANTOWN, MD
I HAVE A 2001 AUDI A6 QUATTRO 2.8L WITH P1411 AND P1423 DTC CODES. I AM HEARING IT IS A VACUUM HOSE OR COMBI VALUE PROBLEMS FROM WHAT I AM READING, COMMON TO THIS MODEL, BUT I HAVE HAD SEVERAL MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND NOT WANT TO TACKLE IT. IN A RECENT FORUM I WAS TOLD MANY OF THE ITEMS I HAVE LISTED WERE RECALL ITEMS-INCLUDING VACUUM HOSES. YES, MANY WERE, THERE WAS EVEN A LAW SUIT WITH AUDI, THAT AUDI DENIED MY CLAIM AND PAID SEVERAL ON. I APPEALED AND THEY DID NOT RESPOND AND DID NOT DEFINE WHY THEY REFUSED TO COVER IT. AUDI STILL HAS YET TO COVER THE VEHICLE IN THE PROFESSIONAL MANNER I EXPECTED. MY LIFE BURDENS ARE ENOUGH, I DO NOT NEED A CAR MANUFACTURER OR DEALER TO YANK ME AROUND, THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 205,000 MILES, BECAUSE I PAID OUTRAGEOUS CAR REPAIRS ON IT. I FEEL AUDI IS A GOOD CAR, BUT FIXING THINGS ON IT THAT SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALLS AND SERVICE WARRANTIES IS NOT HAPPENING. DO I REALLY HAVE TO SUE TO GET RESULTS, THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I HAVE EXPERIENCED CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, FAILED EMISSIONS TESTING, HEADLIGHT PROBLEMS, ISSUES WITH WATER IN LENSES AND MIRRORS, TURN SIGNAL ISSUES, I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY FUEL LINE, REPLACED TIE RODS, AND ABS BRAKE LIGHT SIGNALS AFTER BRAKE REPAIR. I AM HOPING NHTSA CAN SHED SOME LIGHT AND ASSIST ME WITH RECTIFYING MY CAR SITUATION POSSIBLY. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THESE ISSUES FOR MANY YEARS NOW AND I AM HOPEFUL TO RECEIVE SOME RELIEF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/18/2015 - GREEN VALLEY, AZ
GAS LEAKING ON THE FLOOR OF GARAGE FROM ROLL-OVER NIPPLE. THE DEALER REFUSED TO APPLY RECALL (NOT COVERED VIN) FOR THIS ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED WITH AUDI PARTS AS LISTED IN DOT RECALL DOCUMENTS. THE REPAIR FAILED IN APRIL 2015. THE 3M MATERIAL USED IN THE REPAIR HAD DETERIORATED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2014 - OMAHA, NE
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT 104,000 MILES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM ON AUDI'S. THE CAR WAS A $55000 CAR! I ENDED UP SELLING IT FOR PARTS, AS THE COST OF A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS MORE THAN THE MARKET VALUE. I WILL NEVER BUY AUDI AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

4/10/2014 - CLARKSBURG, MD
THERE IS NOT ACCIDENT INVOLVED YET. THERE IS A GAS SMELL ON LEFT REAR SIDE, OVER THE WHEEL ARCH ON MY AUDI A6 2001. I SEARCHED NHTSA FOR AUDI RECALL CAMPAIGN. THERE IS A RECALL CAMPAIGN# 11V267000 HOWEVER, WHEN I CONTACT AUDI-USA AT THE NUMBER PROVIDED BY THIS CAMPAIGN, THAT IS 1-800-822-2834, AFTER ASKING MY THE VEHICLE MILEAGE, AUDI-USA JUST SAID MY CAR IS NOT COVERED BY THE THIS RECALL. APPARENTLY, THE DEFECT EXACTLY MATCHES WHAT THIS RECALL CAMPAIGN# 11V267000 DESCRIBES. WHY AUDI-USA REFUSES TO COVER MY CAR? I AM WONDERING WHETHER IT'S BECAUSE MY CAR IS AT HIGH MILEAGE. THEY MAY TRY TO SAVE COST, BUT THIS IS AN APPARENT SAFETY HAZARD CAUSED BY MANUFACTURING DEFECT. AND THE DEFECT SHOULD BE FIXED REGARDLESS OF VEHICLE MILEAGE. REGULATORS NEED TO OVERSIGHT THINGS LIKE THIS. THE CAR MANUFACTURERS CANNOT JUST WAIT TO FIX DEFECTS UNTIL REAL ACCIDENT HAPPENS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds