Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 330CI - 2001 BMW 330CI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW 330CI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW 330CI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW 330CI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Power Train (10) Suspension (2)
Electrical System (3) Exterior Lighting (7) Fuel System Other (2) Steering (3) Tires (2)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (6) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/4/2014 - SAN ANTONIO TX., TX
GAS TANK METAL STRAP/BRACE WELD CAME LOOSE CAUSING IT TO HANG FROM BOLT TOWARD REAR OF THE CAR LOCATED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/17/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
ON FRIDAY, MAY 16TH, 2014, WHILE DRIVING ALONE APPROX 40 MPH ON A CITY STREET, I HIT A POTHOLE ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD. I IMMEDIATELY HEARD A LOUD NOISE WHEN MY WHEEL HIT THE POTHOLE AND AT THE SAME TIME AN EXTREMELY LOUD 'POP'. THE DOOR SIDE AIRBAG HIT MY ARM AND THE PLASTIC COVERING FROM THE CURTAIN AIRBAG ABOVE THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW HIT THE SIDE OF MY FACE BUT I WAS NOT INJURED. I SMELLED A 'SMOKEY' SMELL AND MY CAR IMMEDIATELY SHUT ITSELF OFF. I HAVE HIT POTHOLES ON RARE OCCASIONS WHEN I CAN'T AVOID THEM, BUT I WOULD NEVER HAVE EXPECTED MY AIRBAG TO DEPLOY. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN, AND A COSTLY ONE FOR THE CONSUMER, BECAUSE I WAS NOT IN AN COLLISION AND THE IMPACT OF THE POTHOLE SHOULD NOT HAVE CAUSED MY AIRBAGS TO DEPLOY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/14/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
THERE IS A METAL STRAP THAT RUNS UNDER THE RIGHT GAS TANK AND HOLDS THE GAS TANK TO THE CAR. ONE END IS BOLTED. THE OTHER END IS HOOKED TO A BRACKET THAT IS WELDED TO THE FRAME OF THE CAR. AS I WAS GETTING OFF THE FREEWAY THE 4 WELDS ON THE BRACKET FAILED. THE COMPLETE STRAP AND BRACKET ASSEMBLY DRAGGED ON THE ROAD. THIS MADE A GROWLING NOISE SO LOUD THAT I HAD TO PULL OVER, GET UNDER THE CAR TO SEE WHAT WAS HAPPENING. THE RIGHT GAS TANK WAS NOW DANGLING FROM THE CAR. THIS BRACKET FAILURE SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. THIS IDENTICAL PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TO SEVERAL OTHERS WITH THE SAME CAR: HTTP://FORUM.E46FANATICS.COM/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=669079. BMW SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL AND PAY ALL AFFECTED PARTIES FOR THIS REPAIR. THIS IS A DANGEROUS AND POTENTIALLY LIFE THREATENING FLAW IN THIS CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/14/2013 - FAJARDO, PR
ARRIVING TO MY HOUSE DRIVEWAY I STARTED TO HEAR A METAL SOUND AGAINST THE PAVEMENT. IMMEDIATELY I LOOKED UNDER THE CAR AND ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE THERE WAS A METAL STRAP THAT HOLDS THE FUEL TANK HANGING OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/19/2013 - VANDALIA, OH
DOOR RELAY SYSTEM MALFUNCTION CAUSES DOOR TO BE INOPERABLE, CLOSED AND LOCKED. POTENTIALLY DEADLY IF TRAPPED IN VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/9/2013 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
WHILE ENTERING THE FREEWAY I HEARD A POP FROM UNDER MY CAR AND IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO HEAR A LOUD METALLIC SCRAPING SOUND COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR AS IF I WERE DRAGGING SOMETHING. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND FOUND THE METAL BRACKET THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD COME LOOSE FROM AN AREA WHERE IT HAD BEEN SPOT WELDED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR. THIS EFFECTIVELY CAUSED THE GAS TANK TO LOWER ITSELF A FEW INCHES OFF THE GROUND. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO MY HOME AS IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/9/2013 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
WHILE ENTERING THE FREEWAY I HEARD A POP FROM UNDER MY CAR AND IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO HEAR A LOUD METALLIC SCRAPING SOUND COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR AS IF I WERE DRAGGING SOMETHING. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND FOUND THE METAL BRACKET THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD COME LOOSE FROM AN AREA WHERE IT HAD BEEN SPOT WELDED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR. THIS EFFECTIVELY CAUSED THE GAS TANK TO LOWER ITSELF A FEW INCHES OFF THE GROUND. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO MY HOME AS IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/24/2013 - GLENDALE, CA
FUEL TANK RETAINING STRAP BRACKET BROKE FREE FROM UNDER BODY LEAVING THE TANK HANGING FROM THE CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/23/2013 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW 330CI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS AND TAIL-LIGHTS BEGAN FLICKERING ABNORMALLY. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING AND OFTEN, THE LIGHTS WOULD APPEAR TO HAVE WEAK ILLUMINATION. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE GROUND WIRE FOR THE TAILLIGHT HARNESS HAD A SHORT AND CAUSED THE HEADLIGHTS TO BLINK CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE HEADLIGHTS CONTINUED TO REPEATEDLY FLICKER ON AND OFF. THE CONTACT DID NOT TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2013 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS RECEIVING A INTERMITTENT LEFT TAIL LIGHT WARNING INDICATOR AND ASSUMED IT WAS A BULB THAT WAS GOING OUT. AFTER SOME TIME HAD PAST I RECEIVED A STEADY LEFT TAIL LIGHT INDICATOR AND WHEN I WAS ABOUT TO REPLACE THE BULB I DISCOVERED THE BULBS WAS FINE AND FOUND THE WIRING/CONNECTOR IN THE TAIL LIGHT BULB CARRIER HAD A SHORT/MELTED. I BELIEVE THIS IS THE SAME ISSUE/PROBLEM ON THE 2002-2005 BMW E46 3SERIES WHICH A TAIL LIGHT RECALL WAS ISSUED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds