Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 330CI - 2001 BMW 330CI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 55 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW 330CI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW 330CI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW 330CI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (10) Suspension (2)
Electrical System (3) Exterior Lighting (7) Fuel System Other (2) Steering (3) Tires (2)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (6) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/14/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
THERE IS A METAL STRAP THAT RUNS UNDER THE RIGHT GAS TANK AND HOLDS THE GAS TANK TO THE CAR. ONE END IS BOLTED. THE OTHER END IS HOOKED TO A BRACKET THAT IS WELDED TO THE FRAME OF THE CAR. AS I WAS GETTING OFF THE FREEWAY THE 4 WELDS ON THE BRACKET FAILED. THE COMPLETE STRAP AND BRACKET ASSEMBLY DRAGGED ON THE ROAD. THIS MADE A GROWLING NOISE SO LOUD THAT I HAD TO PULL OVER, GET UNDER THE CAR TO SEE WHAT WAS HAPPENING. THE RIGHT GAS TANK WAS NOW DANGLING FROM THE CAR. THIS BRACKET FAILURE SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. THIS IDENTICAL PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TO SEVERAL OTHERS WITH THE SAME CAR: HTTP://FORUM.E46FANATICS.COM/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=669079. BMW SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL AND PAY ALL AFFECTED PARTIES FOR THIS REPAIR. THIS IS A DANGEROUS AND POTENTIALLY LIFE THREATENING FLAW IN THIS CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/14/2013 - FAJARDO, PR
ARRIVING TO MY HOUSE DRIVEWAY I STARTED TO HEAR A METAL SOUND AGAINST THE PAVEMENT. IMMEDIATELY I LOOKED UNDER THE CAR AND ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE THERE WAS A METAL STRAP THAT HOLDS THE FUEL TANK HANGING OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/19/2013 - VANDALIA, OH
DOOR RELAY SYSTEM MALFUNCTION CAUSES DOOR TO BE INOPERABLE, CLOSED AND LOCKED. POTENTIALLY DEADLY IF TRAPPED IN VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/9/2013 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
WHILE ENTERING THE FREEWAY I HEARD A POP FROM UNDER MY CAR AND IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO HEAR A LOUD METALLIC SCRAPING SOUND COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR AS IF I WERE DRAGGING SOMETHING. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND FOUND THE METAL BRACKET THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD COME LOOSE FROM AN AREA WHERE IT HAD BEEN SPOT WELDED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR. THIS EFFECTIVELY CAUSED THE GAS TANK TO LOWER ITSELF A FEW INCHES OFF THE GROUND. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO MY HOME AS IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/9/2013 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
WHILE ENTERING THE FREEWAY I HEARD A POP FROM UNDER MY CAR AND IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO HEAR A LOUD METALLIC SCRAPING SOUND COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR AS IF I WERE DRAGGING SOMETHING. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND FOUND THE METAL BRACKET THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD COME LOOSE FROM AN AREA WHERE IT HAD BEEN SPOT WELDED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR. THIS EFFECTIVELY CAUSED THE GAS TANK TO LOWER ITSELF A FEW INCHES OFF THE GROUND. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO MY HOME AS IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/24/2013 - GLENDALE, CA
FUEL TANK RETAINING STRAP BRACKET BROKE FREE FROM UNDER BODY LEAVING THE TANK HANGING FROM THE CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/23/2013 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW 330CI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS AND TAIL-LIGHTS BEGAN FLICKERING ABNORMALLY. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING AND OFTEN, THE LIGHTS WOULD APPEAR TO HAVE WEAK ILLUMINATION. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE GROUND WIRE FOR THE TAILLIGHT HARNESS HAD A SHORT AND CAUSED THE HEADLIGHTS TO BLINK CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE HEADLIGHTS CONTINUED TO REPEATEDLY FLICKER ON AND OFF. THE CONTACT DID NOT TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2013 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS RECEIVING A INTERMITTENT LEFT TAIL LIGHT WARNING INDICATOR AND ASSUMED IT WAS A BULB THAT WAS GOING OUT. AFTER SOME TIME HAD PAST I RECEIVED A STEADY LEFT TAIL LIGHT INDICATOR AND WHEN I WAS ABOUT TO REPLACE THE BULB I DISCOVERED THE BULBS WAS FINE AND FOUND THE WIRING/CONNECTOR IN THE TAIL LIGHT BULB CARRIER HAD A SHORT/MELTED. I BELIEVE THIS IS THE SAME ISSUE/PROBLEM ON THE 2002-2005 BMW E46 3SERIES WHICH A TAIL LIGHT RECALL WAS ISSUED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/26/2013 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS RECEIVING A INTERMITTENT LEFT TAIL LIGHT WARNING INDICATOR AND ASSUMED IT WAS A BULB THAT WAS GOING OUT. AFTER SOME TIME HAD PAST I RECEIVED A STEADY LEFT TAIL LIGHT INDICATOR AND WHEN I WAS ABOUT TO REPLACE THE BULB I DISCOVERED THE BULBS WAS FINE AND FOUND THE WIRING/CONNECTOR IN THE TAIL LIGHT BULB CARRIER HAD A SHORT/MELTED. I BELIEVE THIS IS THE SAME ISSUE/PROBLEM ON THE 2002-2005 BMW E46 3SERIES WHICH A TAIL LIGHT RECALL WAS ISSUED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/17/2012 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WENT OVER A SMALL SPEED BUMP WHILE DRIVING ON A PARKING LOT. IMMEDIATELY AFTER I STARTED HEARING THIS METALLIC RUBBING NOISE AS IF I WAS DRAGGING SOMETHING BEHIND A CAR. I STOPPED AND INSPECTED THE UNDERSIDE & FOUND A METAL STRIP HANGING & DRAGGING ON THE PAVEMENT RIGHT NEXT TO THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL. THE METAL BRACE WAS APPARENTLY THERE TO RESTRAIN THE FUEL TANK IN PLACE. THE FULLY LOADED FUEL TANK WAS HANGING UNDER THE CAR JUST INCHES ABOVE THE PAVEMENT. THE CAR WAS UNDRIVEABLE SO I HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO A SHOP. THIS SEEMED VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT AS THIS COULD HAVE EASILY HAPPENED AT HIGH SPEED ON A HIGHWAY WHERE I MAY NOT EVEN HAVE HEARD THE NOISE. AT WORST THIS LOADED FUEL TANK COULD HAVE LEAKED OR FALLEN OFF THE CAR STARTING A FIRE. THE CAR IS IN SHOP AT THE MOMENT & THE REPAIR ESTIMATE IS IN EXCESS OF $600. THIS SEEMS TO BE A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL. I WOULD LIKE THIS ISSUES ADDRESSED BY THE MANUFACTURER & BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR BILL. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds