Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 330CI - 2001 BMW 330CI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW 330CI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW 330CI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW 330CI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Exterior Lighting (9) Fuel System Other (2) Steering (3) Tires (2)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (7) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Power Train (10) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/15/2016 - PEARLAND, TX
DASH INDICATED LEFT TAILLIGHT WAS OUT WHEN IT WASN'T, THIS WAS RANDOM ON AND OFF FOR A FEW MONTHS. AFTER A FEW MONTHS THE DASH PANEL INDICATOR LIGHT STAYED ON. AS I WAS DRIVING ONE DAY I NOTICED THE SMELL OF SMOKE COMING FROM THE TRUNK. I STOPPED, AND NOTICED THE MELTED WIRES FROM THE TAIL LIGHT HARNESS. AS I LOOKED AT THEM I COULD SEE THEM SPARKING WHEN CERTAIN MOVEMENTS OCCURRED., VERY DANGEROUSLY AND ERRATIC. BOTH MALE AND FEMALE SIDES MELTED. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS IT IMPEDES THE ABILITY TO WARN OTHER DRIVERS WHEN TURNING OR STOPPING. THIS WAS BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIPS ATTENTION BUT THEY DO NOT CONSIDER THIS AN IMPORTANT ENOUGH ISSUE TO REPLACE IT AS PART OF A RECALL OR SERVICE RECOVERY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/15/2016 - PEARLAND, TX
DASH INDICATED LEFT TAILLIGHT WAS OUT WHEN IT WASN'T, THIS WAS RANDOM ON AND OFF FOR A FEW MONTHS. AFTER A FEW MONTHS THE DASH PANEL INDICATOR LIGHT STAYED ON. AS I WAS DRIVING ONE DAY I NOTICED THE SMELL OF SMOKE COMING FROM THE TRUNK. I STOPPED, AND NOTICED THE MELTED WIRES FROM THE TAIL LIGHT HARNESS. AS I LOOKED AT THEM I COULD SEE THEM SPARKING WHEN CERTAIN MOVEMENTS OCCURRED., VERY DANGEROUSLY AND ERRATIC. BOTH MALE AND FEMALE SIDES MELTED. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS IT IMPEDES THE ABILITY TO WARN OTHER DRIVERS WHEN TURNING OR STOPPING. THIS WAS BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIPS ATTENTION BUT THEY DO NOT CONSIDER THIS AN IMPORTANT ENOUGH ISSUE TO REPLACE IT AS PART OF A RECALL OR SERVICE RECOVERY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/5/2016 - STUART, FL
TAKATA RECALL RECEIVED NOTICE OF THE SAFETY RECALL FOR PASSENGER'S FRONTAL AIR BAG. EXCESSIVE INTERNAL PRESSURE COULD CAUSE RUPTURING OF THE INFLATOR RESULTING IN METAL FRAGMENTS STRIKING AND POTENTIALLY SERIOUSLY INJURING THE PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT OTHER OCCUPANTS. I HAVE CALLED COGGIN'S BMW, FT PIERCE, FL SIX TIMES SINCE THEN, AND HAVE BEEN TOLD "THEY ARE STILL AWAITING AIR BAG". GOING ON TWO YEARS, AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANY SATISFACTION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/12/2016 - FAIRFAX, VA
REAR SUBFRAME CRACKED DESPITE NORMAL DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2015 - ORANGE, CA
YESTERDAY, 12/12/15, MY REVERSE STOPPED WORKING WHILE AT THE GAS STATION. IT ONLY REVVED WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO USE THE REVERSE GEAR TO MOVE CLOSER TO A PUMP. I'M RETIRED AND NEED THIS CAR FOR MY ONLY SOURCE OF GETTING AROUND. AND YESTERDAY WAS MY 73RD BIRTHDAY. RECENT COST TO FIX THE CAR TO PASS SMOG TESTS COST: $2900 AND 7 MONTHS WITHOUT THE CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2015 - ARVADA, CO
2001 BMW 330. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIRBAG RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO FORCE TO WARRANT THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYING. THE FORCE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYING WAS SO FORCEFUL, HE BACK WAS BROKEN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/8/2015 - TRACY, CA
SUPPORT STRAP FOR GAS TANK BROKE OFF ON PASSENGER SIDE AND WAS DRAGGING ON GROUND. VEHICLE WAS IN RESIDENTIAL AREA AND MADE LOUD METAL DRAGGING NOISE. THE WELDS BROKE AWAY FROM THE FRAME LEAVING THE GAS TANK UNSUPPORTED ON PASSENGER SIDE. DEFINITE FUEL FIRE HAZARD CAR IS NOW IN DRIVEWAY UNTIL REPAIR. THIS IS MY COMMUTER CAR AND DEALER SHOULD FIX. HOW IS A GAS TANK SUPPORTED BY WELDS THAT SIMPLY BREAK? DESIGN FLAW..

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/8/2015 - TRACY, CA
SUPPORT STRAP FOR GAS TANK BROKE OFF ON PASSENGER SIDE AND WAS DRAGGING ON GROUND. VEHICLE WAS IN RESIDENTIAL AREA AND MADE LOUD METAL DRAGGING NOISE. THE WELDS BROKE AWAY FROM THE FRAME LEAVING THE GAS TANK UNSUPPORTED ON PASSENGER SIDE. DEFINITE FUEL FIRE HAZARD CAR IS NOW IN DRIVEWAY UNTIL REPAIR. THIS IS MY COMMUTER CAR AND DEALER SHOULD FIX. HOW IS A GAS TANK SUPPORTED BY WELDS THAT SIMPLY BREAK? DESIGN FLAW..

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2015 - GRAPEVIEW, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW 330CI. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION AIR LOCK NEEDED TO BE REMOVED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/2/2015 - SAN MARCOS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW 330CI. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V428000 (AIR BAGS) AND INDICATED THAT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED AND WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds