Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET 2500HD - 2001 CHEVROLET 2500HD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HARSCO TRACK TECHNOLOGIES

There are 10 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET 2500HD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET 2500HD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET 2500HD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Suspension (1)
Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/7/2012 - FREMONT, IN
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND WAS COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN AND MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT CLEAR TO THE FLOOR. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS COMING AND I WENT RIGHT THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. AFTER GETTING THE TRUCK HOME, MY MECHANIC CAME AND LOOKED IT OVER AND FOUND THE REAR BRAKE LINE ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE TRUCK WAS COMPLETED ROTTED OUT AND WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED. HE TOLD ME THAT THE OTHER LINES ARE LOOKING BAD ALSO AND THAT THEY SHOULD BE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/30/2011 - AKRON, OH
BRAKE LINE FAILURE DUE TO CORROSION. FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING, EXCESSIVE PEDAL TRAVEL AND EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE THROUGH STOP SIGN. FLUID LEAKING FROM BENEATH DRIVER'S SIDE FRAME AREA. ALL METAL LINES HEAVILY AND SUBSTANTIALLY CORRODED. IDENTIFIED AND REPLACED FAILED LINE. ADJACENT LINE SUBSEQUENTLY FAILED DURING EXTENDED (10 SECOND) FULL PEDAL APPLICATION BEFORE VEHICLE EVEN LEFT GARAGE. REPLACED ALL 1/4" LINES ON TRUCK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/16/2011 - BARDSTOWN, KY
ON 9/15/11, DEPRESSED BRAKE PEDAL AND IT WENT COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR. THE TRUCK DID STOP. I WAS LESS THAN A MILE FROM HOME. INSPECTED UNDERCARRIAGE AT HOME AND FOUND BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM AN UNDETERMINED SOURCE. TOOK TRUCK TO SERVICER IN ON 9/15/11. RECEIVED CALL ON 9/16/11 THAT IN ADDITION TO THE ONE LINE LEAKING, THE OTHER 3 ARE SUFFERING FROM HEAVY CORROSION AND AT RISK OF IMMINENT FAILURE. THE TRUCK WAS PURCHASED NEW IN 2001 AND HAS APPROXIMATELY 75,000 MILES ON IT. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN DRIVEN EXCLUSIVELY IN KY, AND NOT EXPOSED TO EXCESSIVE SALT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/7/2011 - LACOMBE, LA
WAS PULLING A TRAILER THROUGH TOWN LUCKILY WHEN MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE TRAILER BRAKES KEPT ME FROM HITTING THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME. AFTER GETTING STOPPED I FOUND THE BRAKE LINES ON TOP OF THE FRAME HAD RUPTURED DUE TO CORROSION. I WENT AND BOUGHT NEW BRAKE LINE MATERIAL AND I AM REPLACING TWO OF THE FOUR LINES. NOT A WEEK AGO I NOTICED THE MY REAR SPRING SHACKLES NEED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE IS ALOT OF THESE SAME ISSUES THROUGH THE INTERNET. MY TRUCK IS A 2001 CHEVY 2500HD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/7/2011 - LACOMBE, LA
WAS PULLING A TRAILER THROUGH TOWN LUCKILY WHEN MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE TRAILER BRAKES KEPT ME FROM HITTING THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME. AFTER GETTING STOPPED I FOUND THE BRAKE LINES ON TOP OF THE FRAME HAD RUPTURED DUE TO CORROSION. I WENT AND BOUGHT NEW BRAKE LINE MATERIAL AND I AM REPLACING TWO OF THE FOUR LINES. NOT A WEEK AGO I NOTICED THE MY REAR SPRING SHACKLES NEED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE IS ALOT OF THESE SAME ISSUES THROUGH THE INTERNET. MY TRUCK IS A 2001 CHEVY 2500HD.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

12/10/2010 - GRIFFIN, GA
I NOTICED THAT AS I DRIVE MY 2001 CHEVY 2500HD WITH 6.0 V8, THAT THE FUEL GAUGE GOES FROM SAYING I HAVE FUEL, TO DROPPING DOWN TO NO FUEL AND THEN BACK AGAIN. THE GAUGE DOES THIS SPORADICALLY FOR NO REASON. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I BOUGHT MY TRUCK, AND HAS CAUSED MY WIFE AND KIDS AS WELL AS MYSELF TO BE STRANDED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. MY WIFE AND KIDS WERE PLACED IN HARMS WAY, WHEN SHE RAN OUT OF GAS ON THE EXPRESSWAY, DUE TO THE FAILURE. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO THE DEALER, AND THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS A RECALL, AND THAT THEY HAVE HAD AN OVERWHELMING COMPLAIN ON THE FAULTY EQUIPMENT, BUT THE RECALL HAS EXPIRED. I AM A POLICE OFFICER, AND BELIEVE THAT YOU SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR YOUR MISTAKES, AND MAKE THEM RIGHT. I HAVE OWNED 7 CHEVY TRUCKS, AND ALWAYS SPOKE HIGHLY OF THEM, BUT WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM, I BELIEVE CHEVROLET SHOULD DO THE RESPONSIBLE THING, AND CORRECT THESE ISSUES. I AM CURRENTLY SPEAKING TO MY LAWYER ABOUT A LAWSUIT AGAINST CHEVROLET. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, AS WELL AS INCONVENIENCE. CHEVROLET IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/19/2010 - AVON, OH
REAR BRAKE CALIPERS LOCKED UP DUE TO RUST AROUND PISTONS. REPLACED CALIPERS AND WHILE BLEEDING THE BRAKES THE BRAKE LINES RUPTURED ONE BY ONE ALSO DUE TO EXCESSIVE RUST AND CORROSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

6/21/2009 - SADIEVILLE, KY
I HAVE A 2001 CHEVY 2500HD QUAD CAB LONG BED WHEN MAKING SHARP TURNS THE REAR TIRES DON'T HAVE LIMITED SLIP WHICH IS LEAVING THE REAR END AS SOLID AXLE AND IS CAUSING EXCESSIVE WEAR AND TEAR ON TIRES ONLY FORM OF TRANSPORTATION AND FARM VEHICLE IS THIS A RECALL ITEM TROUBLE STARTED AFTER TAKING OUT OF 4X4 AND BACKING UP.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

6/21/2009 - SADIEVILLE, KY
I HAVE A 2001 CHEVY 2500HD QUAD CAB LONG BED WHEN MAKING SHARP TURNS THE REAR TIRES DON'T HAVE LIMITED SLIP WHICH IS LEAVING THE REAR END AS SOLID AXLE AND IS CAUSING EXCESSIVE WEAR AND TEAR ON TIRES ONLY FORM OF TRANSPORTATION AND FARM VEHICLE IS THIS A RECALL ITEM TROUBLE STARTED AFTER TAKING OUT OF 4X4 AND BACKING UP.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/28/2009 - PRAHTER, CA
CRANKSHAFT SENSOR FAILURE 2001 CHEVROLET SILVERADO.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds