Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (14) Other (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Child Seat (4) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (33) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (4) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (12) Suspension (3) Visibility (18)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (45) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
I WAS TOLD IT HAD INTERMITTENT REAR LIGHTING PROBLEM (DRIVER SIDE REAR LIGHTS WOULD GO IN AND OUT) WHEN PURCHASING VEHICLE USED IN 2012 WITH160,000 MILES, 90% HIGHWAY. HAD REPAIRED IMMEDIATELY FOR SAFETY, LEGAL AND STATE REQUIRED ANNUAL INSPECTIONS (OR SO I THOUGHT). WITHIN 3 MONTHS/75 MILES LATER, IT STARTED AGAIN. ENTIRE WIRING HARNESS AND LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED, TO NO AVAIL. BEFORE I COULD TAKE IT IN AGAIN, BOTH REAR LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY STOPPED WORKING. PASSENGER SIDE WIRING HARNESS AND LIGHT ASSEMBLY REPLACED. IT WASN'T FIXED.AND BEFORE I COULD GET IT BACK IN THE SHOP, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE LIGHTS STARTED THE SAME THING. NEW MECHANIC ASSURES ME, " DON'T WORRY, THERE ARE MANY THINGS I CAN TRY!" LITTLE CONSOLATION FOR THE DRIVERS BEHIND ME OR FOR ME FROM BEING PULLED OVER BY & TICKETED OR WHEN I NEED THE VA STATE MANDATORY "ANNUAL INSPECTION" STICKER. THEY ARE ABLE TO GET THEM TO WORK LONG ENOUGH BUT AGAIN, AT WHAT COST? MEANWHILE, THE INTERMITTENT PROBLEM MOVED TO THE PASSENGER FRONT LIGHTS, WHEN HITTING BRAKES I SEE THAT FLASHERS START TO WORK. ALL OF THE MECHANICS ARE "PUTTING A BAND-AID ON A BROKEN ARM". & II'M PAYING DEARLY EACH AND EVERY TIME. THEY NOW WANT TO REPLACE THINGS IN THE STEERING WHEEL BUT I WANT CHEVROLET TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM THIS TIME OR TELL THE MECHANICS WHAT TO DO. THIS IS A MINI-VAN THAT I DRIVE BACK AND FORTH TO THE GROCERY AND SCHOOL, .5 MILES - 5 MILES A WAY 3-4 TIMES A WEEK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
I WAS TOLD IT HAD INTERMITTENT REAR LIGHTING PROBLEM (DRIVER SIDE REAR LIGHTS WOULD GO IN AND OUT) WHEN PURCHASING VEHICLE USED IN 2012 WITH160,000 MILES, 90% HIGHWAY. HAD REPAIRED IMMEDIATELY FOR SAFETY, LEGAL AND STATE REQUIRED ANNUAL INSPECTIONS (OR SO I THOUGHT). WITHIN 3 MONTHS/75 MILES LATER, IT STARTED AGAIN. ENTIRE WIRING HARNESS AND LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED, TO NO AVAIL. BEFORE I COULD TAKE IT IN AGAIN, BOTH REAR LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY STOPPED WORKING. PASSENGER SIDE WIRING HARNESS AND LIGHT ASSEMBLY REPLACED. IT WASN'T FIXED.AND BEFORE I COULD GET IT BACK IN THE SHOP, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE LIGHTS STARTED THE SAME THING. NEW MECHANIC ASSURES ME, " DON'T WORRY, THERE ARE MANY THINGS I CAN TRY!" LITTLE CONSOLATION FOR THE DRIVERS BEHIND ME OR FOR ME FROM BEING PULLED OVER BY & TICKETED OR WHEN I NEED THE VA STATE MANDATORY "ANNUAL INSPECTION" STICKER. THEY ARE ABLE TO GET THEM TO WORK LONG ENOUGH BUT AGAIN, AT WHAT COST? MEANWHILE, THE INTERMITTENT PROBLEM MOVED TO THE PASSENGER FRONT LIGHTS, WHEN HITTING BRAKES I SEE THAT FLASHERS START TO WORK. ALL OF THE MECHANICS ARE "PUTTING A BAND-AID ON A BROKEN ARM". & II'M PAYING DEARLY EACH AND EVERY TIME. THEY NOW WANT TO REPLACE THINGS IN THE STEERING WHEEL BUT I WANT CHEVROLET TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM THIS TIME OR TELL THE MECHANICS WHAT TO DO. THIS IS A MINI-VAN THAT I DRIVE BACK AND FORTH TO THE GROCERY AND SCHOOL, .5 MILES - 5 MILES A WAY 3-4 TIMES A WEEK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/12/2016 - HARLAN, IA
THE FUEL TANK LEAKS AT THE FUEL TANK, LEAK AT THE FUEL TANK FILLER TUBE ATTACHMENT POINT TO THE TANK. THERE IS A RUBBER GROMMET ON THE TANK THAT THE TUBE ATTACHES TO THE TANK WHERE THE LEAK IS. DEFIANTLY A FIRE HAZARD. LEAKS WHEN TANK IS MORE THAN 1/2 FULL. THIS TUBE IS METAL AND THE FUEL TANK FILLER TUBE ATTACHES TO WITH A RUBBER HOSE AND CLAMP. THE CHEVROLET DEALER SAYS THE VIN WAS EXCLUDE FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V349000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE), ALTHOUGH THE FAILURES WERE IDENTICAL. THE DEALER STATED HAVE TO REPLACE THE FUEL TANK WHICH NOT COVERED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/9/2016 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE PROPERLY. AFTER ACTIVATING THE WIPERS, THEY BECAME JAMMED TOGETHER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED, BUT THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/1/2015 - N TONAWANDA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, A LOUD NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE ENGINE. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO CHANGE GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE OXYGEN SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - PALM SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUMES WERE EMITTED IN AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V349000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE FAILURE THE VEHICLE WAS EXHIBITING. HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK INLET CHECK VALVE FRACTURED AND AS A RESULT, THE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

WHEELS

8/8/2014 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
OTHER PART AFFECTED IS THE JACK THIS STYLE VAN RUSTS THRU IN FRONT OF THE REAR WHEEL WELL WHERE THE JACK IS SUPPOSED TO BE PLACED TO REPLACE THE SPARE TIRE. THERE IS NO LONGER ANY STRUCTURAL SUPPORT RESULTING IN A DANGEROUS CONDITION WHERE THE VAN CAN FALL OFF THE JACK IF YOU ATTEMPT TO PUT THE SPARE TIRE ON. AS A MATTER OF FACT MY CHEVROLET DEALER, AT ABOUT 170,000 MILES, CRUSHED THE WHOLE AREA OF MY CAR WHILE THEY PUT IT ON A LIFT TO REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION LINES. I CAN NEVER SAFELY PUT THE JACK AT THAT LOCATION. THAT IS WHAT ALERTED ME TO THE PROBLEM WHEREAS THE RUST WAS THERE VERY EARLY IN THE LIFE OF THE VAN!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/8/2014 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
OTHER PART AFFECTED IS THE JACK THIS STYLE VAN RUSTS THRU IN FRONT OF THE REAR WHEEL WELL WHERE THE JACK IS SUPPOSED TO BE PLACED TO REPLACE THE SPARE TIRE. THERE IS NO LONGER ANY STRUCTURAL SUPPORT RESULTING IN A DANGEROUS CONDITION WHERE THE VAN CAN FALL OFF THE JACK IF YOU ATTEMPT TO PUT THE SPARE TIRE ON. AS A MATTER OF FACT MY CHEVROLET DEALER, AT ABOUT 170,000 MILES, CRUSHED THE WHOLE AREA OF MY CAR WHILE THEY PUT IT ON A LIFT TO REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION LINES. I CAN NEVER SAFELY PUT THE JACK AT THAT LOCATION. THAT IS WHAT ALERTED ME TO THE PROBLEM WHEREAS THE RUST WAS THERE VERY EARLY IN THE LIFE OF THE VAN!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2014 - FRANKLIN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE INVOLVED IN A CRASH, THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND MINOR INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 10/2/14 UPDATED 05/12/2015

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
WE WERE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND NOTICED THE HEAT GAUGE STARTING TO RISE VERY QUICKLY TO THE RED ZONE. THE ENGINE STALLED AND ONCE THE TEMP CAME DOWN WE PROCEEDED TO AN AUTO PARTS STORE. THERE WE PURCHASED A THERMOSTAT, RADIATOR CAP, AND 2 GALLONS OF PREMIX DEX-COOL. WE INSTALLED THE NEW CAP AND FILLED SYSTEM WITH THE DEX-COOL. WE DROVE ABOUT 7 MILES TO A LAKE FOR A DAY OF FISHING. THE INACCESSIBILITY OF THE THERMOSTAT, I COULD NOT CHANGE THE THERMOSTAT THAT DAY. AFTER SITTING (NOT RUNNING) WE STARTED FOR HOME (60 MILES). WE HAD ONLY GONE ABOUT 10 MILES WHEN IT OVERHEATED FOR THE FIRST TIME. WE COULD ONLY GO ABOUT 10 MILES BEFORE WE'D HAVE TO STOP AND LET THE VAN COOL DOWN AND ADD MORE COOLANT AND WATER. IT TOOK 6 HOURS TO GET HOME. OVER THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS THE OVERHEATING PROBLEM CONTINUED. ON 28APR2014 WE HAD THE VAN TOWED TO A LOCAL (REPUTABLE) AUTO SHOP. THE NEXT DAY WE WERE INFORMED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS LEAKING AND WOULD HAVE TO BE REPAIRED BEFORE THEY COULD PRESSURE TEST THE SYSTEM TO CHECK THE OTHER COMPONENTS (RADIATOR, RADIATOR CAP, ETC.) THE COST OF JUST THE INTAKE REPAIR WAS ESTIMATED AT $1500-$2500. I HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING THE ISSUE ONLINE AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THESE VANS BECAUSE OF THE DEX-COOL BEING A PLASTICIZER AND AN ALUMINUM CORROSIVE. ALSO FOUND OUT THAT GM HAS KNOWN OF THIS PROBLEM BUT HAVE CHOSE NOT TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD RECALLS ON OTHER VEHICLES (FOR A LESS PROBLEM) BECAUSE THE MANUFACTURERS SAID OK WE HAVE THIS PROBLEM SO TO KEEP OUR CUSTOMERS WE'LL FIX IT, BUT NOT GM. IT WOULDN'T BE SO BAD IF GM EVEN TRIED TO FIX THIS ISSUE. WE ARE MIDDLE-CLASS AND HAVE A HARD TIME MAKING ENDS MEET AND CAN'T AFFORD THIS KIND OF EXPENSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds