Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2001 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 671 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Exterior Lighting (19) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Air (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (92) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (113) Steering (52) Visibility (26)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (28) Suspension (345) Wheels (11)
Equipment (14) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

9/15/2014 - DUPONT, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE DOORS WOULD LOCK AND UNLOCK INDEPENDENTLY. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE DOORS WOULD UNLOCK EVEN AFTER THE LOCK HAD BEEN ENGAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 136,000. THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR APPEARED TO BE PERMANENTLY LOCKED. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING. THE VEHICLE WOULD MOVE SLOW, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS APPLIED. UPDATED 11/10/14.

View Details

ENGINE

6/17/2014 - NAPPANEE , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40MPH, A LOUD KNOCKING AND METAL SOUND EMITTED AS THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE TO FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 160,000. .... UPDATED 08/05/14 UPDATED 08/18/2014

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/13/2014 - MIAMI, FL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY MY HEADLIGHTS STARTED FLICKERING" ON AND OFF AS WELL AS MY DASHBOARD LIGHTS..WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES THEY ALSO SEEM TO BLINK ON/OFF . I EXITED THE EXPRESSWAY FEARING THE CAR WOULD SHUT OFF AND CAUSE CRASH..NOW I FEAR DRIVING AFTER DARK. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AGAIN BUT SHORT DISTANCE FROM MY HOME ,I TURNED THE A/C/OFF AND THE LIGHT FAILURE SEEMS TO STOP..I GOOGLED MY PROBLEM AND IT SEEMS A DODGE PROBLEM STILL UNRESOLVED.MY CAR HAS LESS THAN 50,000 MILES N NEVER HAD PROBLEMS EXCEPT FOR BRAKES..AFTER READING MOST OF COMPLAINTS I FEEL IT IS A DEFECTIVE ELECTRICAL FACTORY PROBLEM .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2014 - MIAMI, FL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY MY HEADLIGHTS STARTED FLICKERING" ON AND OFF AS WELL AS MY DASHBOARD LIGHTS..WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES THEY ALSO SEEM TO BLINK ON/OFF . I EXITED THE EXPRESSWAY FEARING THE CAR WOULD SHUT OFF AND CAUSE CRASH..NOW I FEAR DRIVING AFTER DARK. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AGAIN BUT SHORT DISTANCE FROM MY HOME ,I TURNED THE A/C/OFF AND THE LIGHT FAILURE SEEMS TO STOP..I GOOGLED MY PROBLEM AND IT SEEMS A DODGE PROBLEM STILL UNRESOLVED.MY CAR HAS LESS THAN 50,000 MILES N NEVER HAD PROBLEMS EXCEPT FOR BRAKES..AFTER READING MOST OF COMPLAINTS I FEEL IT IS A DEFECTIVE ELECTRICAL FACTORY PROBLEM .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/20/2013 - CHICAGO RIDGE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM FAILED AND HAD A DEFECTIVE SENSOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

SEATS

9/14/2013 - GOLDEN VALLEY, MN
THE POWER FRONT SEATS AFTER TIME COME LOOSE IN THE 20001 DURANGO AND MOVE BACK AND FORTH ON THE TRACKS. SEEMS LIKE THEY ARE MOVING MORE AND MORE EVERY DAY. I READ SO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEB SITE. ANOTHER PROBLEM WHICH IS COMMON IS THE WIRING BURNING UP CONNECTED TO THE RESISTOR PACK ON THE BLOWER MOTOR. I READ STORIES ABOUT HOW PEOPLE HAVE TO REPLACE THE BLOWER MOTOR, RESISTOR PACK AND PLUG AT THE END OF THE HARNESS. THE MANUFACTURE SHOULD HAVE USED THICKER WIRE TO HANDLE THE CURRENT DRAW FOR THE MOTOR THAT IS INSTALLED IN THE VEHICLE IN THE FIRST PLACE. I HAVE BEEN USING THE ORIGINAL MOTOR FOR 2 YEARS NOW I JUST DON'T HAVE ANY SPEED CONTROL NOW, BUT THE MOTOR IS FINE. THE RESISTOR PACK IS ALSO FINE JUST NEED TO REPLACE ONE OR ALL OF THE WIRE THAT ARE BURNT UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/14/2013 - GOLDEN VALLEY, MN
THE POWER FRONT SEATS AFTER TIME COME LOOSE IN THE 20001 DURANGO AND MOVE BACK AND FORTH ON THE TRACKS. SEEMS LIKE THEY ARE MOVING MORE AND MORE EVERY DAY. I READ SO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEB SITE. ANOTHER PROBLEM WHICH IS COMMON IS THE WIRING BURNING UP CONNECTED TO THE RESISTOR PACK ON THE BLOWER MOTOR. I READ STORIES ABOUT HOW PEOPLE HAVE TO REPLACE THE BLOWER MOTOR, RESISTOR PACK AND PLUG AT THE END OF THE HARNESS. THE MANUFACTURE SHOULD HAVE USED THICKER WIRE TO HANDLE THE CURRENT DRAW FOR THE MOTOR THAT IS INSTALLED IN THE VEHICLE IN THE FIRST PLACE. I HAVE BEEN USING THE ORIGINAL MOTOR FOR 2 YEARS NOW I JUST DON'T HAVE ANY SPEED CONTROL NOW, BUT THE MOTOR IS FINE. THE RESISTOR PACK IS ALSO FINE JUST NEED TO REPLACE ONE OR ALL OF THE WIRE THAT ARE BURNT UP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/5/2013 - NAWALLA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC STOP, THE HEADLIGHTS AND ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD STOPPED ILLUMINATING. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 173,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/26/2013 - CONCORD, CA
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

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2013 - WEST HAVEN, CT
BOUGHT VEHICLE ABOUT 1 MONTH AGO AND MY HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL WERE WORKING AT TIME OF PURCHASE. TOOK CAR HOME AND WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT THAT HORN DIDN'T WORK AFTER ALMOST GETTING INTO AND ACCIDENT, SO NOW I NO LONGER HAVE A HORN OR CRUISE CONTROL ON MY CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds