Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2001 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 672 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Exterior Lighting (19) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Air (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (92) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (113) Steering (52) Visibility (26)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (28) Suspension (346) Wheels (11)
Equipment (14) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/26/2013 - WEST HAVEN, CT
BOUGHT VEHICLE ABOUT 1 MONTH AGO AND MY HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL WERE WORKING AT TIME OF PURCHASE. TOOK CAR HOME AND WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT THAT HORN DIDN'T WORK AFTER ALMOST GETTING INTO AND ACCIDENT, SO NOW I NO LONGER HAVE A HORN OR CRUISE CONTROL ON MY CAR.

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2013 - WEST HAVEN, CT
BOUGHT VEHICLE ABOUT 1 MONTH AGO AND MY HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL WERE WORKING AT TIME OF PURCHASE. TOOK CAR HOME AND WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT THAT HORN DIDN'T WORK AFTER ALMOST GETTING INTO AND ACCIDENT, SO NOW I NO LONGER HAVE A HORN OR CRUISE CONTROL ON MY CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/26/2013 - WEST HAVEN, CT
BOUGHT VEHICLE ABOUT 1 MONTH AGO AND MY HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL WERE WORKING AT TIME OF PURCHASE. TOOK CAR HOME AND WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT THAT HORN DIDN'T WORK AFTER ALMOST GETTING INTO AND ACCIDENT, SO NOW I NO LONGER HAVE A HORN OR CRUISE CONTROL ON MY CAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/21/2013 - HIGHLAND , MI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WITH 2 OF MY KIDS.. I STARTED TO SMELL ANTIFREEZE GOING INTO MY CAR, ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS SMOKE BURSTING OUT OF MY CAR. WE REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT 3 DIFFERENT TIMES WITH IN 3 MONTHS, THE RADIATOR HOUSE BURST. AND NO LIGHTS CAME ON.. THE OIL PRESSURE ALSO DROPPED. TOOK IT TO SHOP TO HAVE IT FIXED, CRACKED HEAD GASKETS AND BLOWN MOTOR, NOW WE ARE WITH OUT A CAR.... SAD BECAUSE I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER DODGE. WE WERE ALSO NEVER NOTIFIES ABOUT THE RECALL ABOUT THE BALL JOINTS AND PAID CASH FOR THEM TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2013 - HIGHLAND , MI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WITH 2 OF MY KIDS.. I STARTED TO SMELL ANTIFREEZE GOING INTO MY CAR, ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS SMOKE BURSTING OUT OF MY CAR. WE REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT 3 DIFFERENT TIMES WITH IN 3 MONTHS, THE RADIATOR HOUSE BURST. AND NO LIGHTS CAME ON.. THE OIL PRESSURE ALSO DROPPED. TOOK IT TO SHOP TO HAVE IT FIXED, CRACKED HEAD GASKETS AND BLOWN MOTOR, NOW WE ARE WITH OUT A CAR.... SAD BECAUSE I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER DODGE. WE WERE ALSO NEVER NOTIFIES ABOUT THE RECALL ABOUT THE BALL JOINTS AND PAID CASH FOR THEM TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/13/2013 - OAKDALE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE TIRE WAS BECOMING PREMATURELY WORN DUE TO DEFECTIVE TIE RODS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC, WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND ADVISED THAT THERE WAS EXCESSIVE WEAR IN THE UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS THAT HAD SEPARATED FROM THE TIE ROD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE, WHO STATED THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE FAILURE BUT THE CONTACT'S THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V596000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,127. UPDATED 3/13/13

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: BLOWER

1/22/2013 - GREEN, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MOTOR FOR THE HEATER BLEW HOT AIR AND HE SMELLED MELTING WIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE RESISTER, THE WIRING HARNESS, AND THE BLOWER MOTOR HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT PERSONALLY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE BY REPLACING THE RESISTER, THE WIRING HARNESS AND THE BLOWER MOTOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

11/14/2012 - GREENBACK , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS, BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEATS WERE NOT STATIONARY AND WOULD MOVE OUT OF PLACE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE ELECTRIC MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR BOTH SEATS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 165,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2012 - FORT STEWART, GA
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE AT 30 MPH, IT SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD HALF A TANK OF GAS, NEW ALTERNATOR, AND NEW BATTERY. I WAS CROSSING AN INTERSECTION WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2012 - FORT STEWART, GA
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE AT 30 MPH, IT SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD HALF A TANK OF GAS, NEW ALTERNATOR, AND NEW BATTERY. I WAS CROSSING AN INTERSECTION WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds