Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2001 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 672 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Exterior Lighting (19) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Air (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (92) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (113) Steering (52) Visibility (26)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (28) Suspension (346) Wheels (11)
Equipment (14) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/6/2012 - APACHE JUNCTION , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER COULD BE MOVED WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKES FIRST. A LOCAL MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE NEUTRAL SAFETY SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 133,340.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/29/2011 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD BE SHIFTED OUT OF PARK EVEN WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT A PIN WITHIN THE GEAR SHIFT MECHANISM WAS BENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000. UPDATED 01/10/12

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2011 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING MY 2001 DODGE DURANGO TO WORK ONE DAY WHEN IT DIED AT AN INTERSECTION. I TRIED TO START IT FOR ABOUT THREE MINUTES BEFORE IT FINALLY TURNED BACK ON. I GOT TO MY DESTINATION, THEN ON THE WAY BACK IT STALLED OUT THREE MORE TIMES IN A ROW. I MANAGED TO GET IT TO A SAFE PARKING LOT. THAT WEEKEND I WENT TO GET IT WITH MY WIFE FOLLOWING ME, AND MADE IT HOME SAFELY, WHERE IT SAT IN MY DRIVEWAY UNTIL I COULD REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP. THEN, ON NOVEMBER 16, 2011, I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN IT STALLED OUT AGAIN. OBVIOUSLY IT WASN'T THE FUEL PUMP, AND AFTER DOING MORE RESEARCH AND CALLING THE LOCAL DODGE DEALER I FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE PCM (POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE). APPARENTLY THERE HAS BEEN A BIG PROBLEM WITH DODGE DURANGO'S AND DAKOTA'S STALLING OUT DUE TO MALFUNCTIONS OF THE PCM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/14/2011 - ACKRIN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE HEARD A LOUD CLUNKING AND GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND FELT VIBRATION WHEN SHE ACCELERATED. ALSO, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AND THERE WAS AN EVAP CONTROL SYSTEM LEAK. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 131,000 AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2011 - DUQUESNE, PA
MY POWER LOCKS ARE CONSTANTLY LOCKING AND UNLOCKING BY THEMSELVES WHILE DRIVING, ALSO WHILE CAR IS OFF.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

10/18/2011 - DUQUESNE, PA
MY POWER LOCKS ARE CONSTANTLY LOCKING AND UNLOCKING BY THEMSELVES WHILE DRIVING, ALSO WHILE CAR IS OFF.

View Details

SEATS

10/17/2011 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE POWER SEATS, WILL NOT LOCK IN PLACE, AND SLIDE BACK AND FORTH IN THE TRACK, WHEN STARTING TO DRIVE OR STOPPING.

View Details

SEATS

9/27/2011 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
MY FRONT PASSENGER SEAT IS NOT ENGAGING ON THE SEAT TRACK, IT SLIDES FORWARD & BACK WITH THE MOTION OF THE VEHICLE. I AM CONCERNED FOR THE SAFETY OF MY KIDS, OR ANYONE FOR THAT MATTER, RIDING IN THE FRONT SEAT EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE 12 & 16!!!! THEY CAN EASILY SLAM INTO THE DASH BOARD WITH THEIR LEGS OR WORSE WITH ANY SPEED. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND READ ABOUT MANY OTHER DODGE DURANGO OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT ISSUE. THIS IS A HUGE SAEFTY ISSUE!!! PLEASE HELP!

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: AIR CONDITIONER

9/19/2011 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE AND ACTIVATING THE AIR CONDITIONER, ONLY HOT AIR WOULD BLOW FROM THE VENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE EVAPORATOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. OVERHEATS WHEN IT IS OVER 85 DEGREES AND COOLANT EVAPORATOR KEEPS GOING OUT. UPDATED 10/26/2011

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/23/2011 - SUN CITY WEST, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 40 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED WHEN THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED, THE HORN BECAME INOPERABLE AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT DEACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 66,500. UPDATED 9/20/11 UPDATED 10/26/11.* JB

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds