Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 1016 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (75) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Power Train (97) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electrical System (77) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (8) Steering (47) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (512) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (79) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (14) Other (47) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (31) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

5/15/2013 - PHOENIX, AZ
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2001 DODGE 1500 TRUCK THAT WAS IN PERFECT CONDITION UP UNTIL 2 DAYS AGO, THAT WAS WHEN MY DASHBOARD CAVED IN. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC FOR A SUMMER TUNE-UP. I LIVE IN ARIZONA AND WHEN THOSE TRIPLE DIGITS START ROLLING IN YOU WANT TO BE SURE YOUR AC IS BLOWING COLD AND MINE SEEM TO BE HAVING SOME AIRFLOW PROBLEMS. WHEN MY MECHANIC GOT THROUGH INSPECTING THE TRUCK HE DISCOVERED THAT MY DASHBOARD WAS SLOWLY "CAVING IN" CAUSING SOME ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. HE DECIDED TO TAKE THE DASH OFF TO GET A BETTER LOOK AND WHEN HE TOOK THE SCREWS OUT THE WHOLE DASHBOARD JUST BROKE INTO MANY PIECES. I AM VERY CONCERNED BECAUSE THAT DASH HAS MANY ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS BEHIND IT WHICH COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS. I AM ALSO IN FAVOR OF A RECALL, BECAUSE THE DASHBOARD INSPECTOR MUST OF BEEN ON VACATION IN 2001 WHEN THEY LET THIS TRUCK LEAVE THE FACTORY WITH ISSUES LIKE THAT. RECALL THAT DASH!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/15/2013 - COCOA, FL
BOTH PARTS OF MY DASH BOARDS ARE CRACKED, AFTER ALL THIS TIME I NOW HAVE NO DASH AT ALL AND NOW IM HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES. DODGE WONT HELP, I KNOW OF 2 PEOPLE WHOM GOT THEIR DASH REPLACED FOR $100 AND WHEN I GO THEY TELL ME FIRST $1500 THEN $600 IM THE ORIGINAL OWNER . PLEASE HELP. DODGE WONT! ALSO MY SON CUT HIS WRIST ON THE JAGGED PIECE ON WHAT'S LEFT OF A HOLLOW DASH IM WILLING TO PAY THE $100 DEDUCTIBLE BUT AFTER ALL THIS TIME I FEEL DODGE SHOULD STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND REPLACE FOR FREE. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2013 - CHANDLER, IN
DASH HAD BEGAN TO CRACK AND CRACKS HAVE PROGRESSED TO POINT OF THEY REACH THE TRIM BEZEL. INITIALLY DEALER SAID TO JUST WAIT THEY FELT DODGE WOULD RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DIDN'T ADVISE TO REPLACE BECAUSE IT WOULD JUST HAPPEN WITH NEW ONE AS WELL. BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE AND AFTER CONTACTING DODGE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE I WAS TOLD BECAUSE OF AGE OF TRUCK AND MILEAGE NOW (60,000) NOTHING COULD BE DONE. MY CONCERNS ARE IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE DASH COULD JUST CRUMBLE AND SEND SHARP PIECES FLYING THROUGHOUT INTERIOR. AS WELL AS INTERIOR OF DASH BEING EXPOSED AND CAUSING OPERATIONAL ISSUES WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/27/2013 - CHANDLER, IN
DASH HAD BEGAN TO CRACK AND CRACKS HAVE PROGRESSED TO POINT OF THEY REACH THE TRIM BEZEL. INITIALLY DEALER SAID TO JUST WAIT THEY FELT DODGE WOULD RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DIDN'T ADVISE TO REPLACE BECAUSE IT WOULD JUST HAPPEN WITH NEW ONE AS WELL. BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE AND AFTER CONTACTING DODGE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE I WAS TOLD BECAUSE OF AGE OF TRUCK AND MILEAGE NOW (60,000) NOTHING COULD BE DONE. MY CONCERNS ARE IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE DASH COULD JUST CRUMBLE AND SEND SHARP PIECES FLYING THROUGHOUT INTERIOR. AS WELL AS INTERIOR OF DASH BEING EXPOSED AND CAUSING OPERATIONAL ISSUES WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2013 - CHANDLER, IN
DASH HAD BEGAN TO CRACK AND CRACKS HAVE PROGRESSED TO POINT OF THEY REACH THE TRIM BEZEL. INITIALLY DEALER SAID TO JUST WAIT THEY FELT DODGE WOULD RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DIDN'T ADVISE TO REPLACE BECAUSE IT WOULD JUST HAPPEN WITH NEW ONE AS WELL. BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE AND AFTER CONTACTING DODGE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE I WAS TOLD BECAUSE OF AGE OF TRUCK AND MILEAGE NOW (60,000) NOTHING COULD BE DONE. MY CONCERNS ARE IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE DASH COULD JUST CRUMBLE AND SEND SHARP PIECES FLYING THROUGHOUT INTERIOR. AS WELL AS INTERIOR OF DASH BEING EXPOSED AND CAUSING OPERATIONAL ISSUES WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/25/2013 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENTIRE DASHBOARD EXHIBITED SEVERAL CRACKS. THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE DASHBOARD HAD PARTIALLY CAVED IN AND SEPARATED FROM THE MOUNTING. THE CONTACT HAD NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN A CRASH .THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/14/2013 - LAKELAND, FL
I HAVE A 2001 DODGE RAM PURCHASED USED IN 2006. IT HAD 1 OR 2 SMALL CRACKS IN THE DASH AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. I WASN'T TOO CONCERNED ABOUT THEM, BUT THEN WITHIN A YEAR OR 2 THE CRACKS MULTIPLIED. I THEN BEGAN TO HAVE ISSUES WITH LARGE PIECES OF THE DASH COMPLETELY BREAKING AND FALLING OUT. I NOW HAVE MULTIPLE GIANT HOLES IN THE DASH. I DIDN'T REALIZE THIS WAS AN ACTUAL ISSUE WITH OTHER DODGE RAMS UNTIL I SEARCHED OUT TO REPLACE IT. I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT 1000'S OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, FAR FROM BEING LABELED "ISOLATED". THIS ISSUE SHOULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED VIA A RECALL YEARS AGO.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/5/2013 - ISLAND LAKE, IL
PULLED OUT OF PARKING LOT HOOD FLEW OPEN CRACKED WINDSHIELD BENT HINGES AND HOOD , BARELY GOT SHUT , AFRAID TO OPEN AGAIN , HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THESE LATCHES ARE RECALLED AND FAIL ALL THE TIME.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/5/2013 - ISLAND LAKE, IL
PULLED OUT OF PARKING LOT HOOD FLEW OPEN CRACKED WINDSHIELD BENT HINGES AND HOOD , BARELY GOT SHUT , AFRAID TO OPEN AGAIN , HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THESE LATCHES ARE RECALLED AND FAIL ALL THE TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/5/2013 - ISLAND LAKE, IL
PULLED OUT OF PARKING LOT HOOD FLEW OPEN CRACKED WINDSHIELD BENT HINGES AND HOOD , BARELY GOT SHUT , AFRAID TO OPEN AGAIN , HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THESE LATCHES ARE RECALLED AND FAIL ALL THE TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds