Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 998 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (95) Service Brakes Hydraulic (48) Unknown Or Other (33)
Electrical System (74) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (8) Steering (43) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Structure (502) Visibility (14)
Equipment (14) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (80) Visibility Wiper (1)
Exterior Lighting (12) Other (47) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (30) Wheels (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

11/29/2012 - EXPORT, PA
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK BRAND NEW IN DAYTONA BEACH, FL IN 2001. ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO THE DASHBOARD STARTED CRACKING AND PROCEEDED TO GET WORSE. WHEN I WAS DRIVING MONDAY, 11/26/2012 PART OF THE DASH FELL OUT AND NOW THERE IS A BIG HOLE IN MY DASHBOARD! I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT BUT FOUND NOTHING I CAN AFFORD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/29/2012 - EXPORT, PA
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK BRAND NEW IN DAYTONA BEACH, FL IN 2001. ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO THE DASHBOARD STARTED CRACKING AND PROCEEDED TO GET WORSE. WHEN I WAS DRIVING MONDAY, 11/26/2012 PART OF THE DASH FELL OUT AND NOW THERE IS A BIG HOLE IN MY DASHBOARD! I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT BUT FOUND NOTHING I CAN AFFORD.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/17/2012 - HAMMONTON, NJ
DEVELOPED A CRACK IN THE DASHBOARD ALONG THE EDGE CLOSE TO THE WINDSHIELD. A MONTH OR SO LATER MULTIPLE CRACKS DEVELOPED ALL OVER THE DASH. 2012 CHUNKS OF DASH FALLING IN CAUSED LIGHTS TO FAIL. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO VANN DODGE IN VINELAND, NJ TO BE INSPECTED, GOT RESPONSE FROM DODGE THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THE DASH BOARD ON MY 2001 DODGE RAM, AND THAT BECAUSE OF THE MILEAGE AND YEAR THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE APPROXIMATELY 80K MILES WHEN INSPECTED BY VANN DODGE. WHEN THE CRACKS FIRST STARTED TO DEVELOP I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS BECAUSE OF THE COLD WEATHER, BUT AFTER INVESTIGATING ONLINE I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM EXIST ALL AROUND THE COUNTRY WITH THE 2001 DODGE. IT IS NO LONGER A COSMETIC ISSUE, IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE DO TO THE FACT THAT THE WIRING IS NOW BEING COMPROMISED BY BEING EXPOSED TO EXTREME TEMPERATURES HOT AND COLD!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/29/2012 - CAYUCOS, CA
CRACKS IN PLASTIC OF DASHBOARD,INSTRUMENT PANEL,AND THE GLOVE BOX HINGES, STARTED DEVELOPING AS SOON AS I BOUGHT IT. I GOT A DASH COVER TO TRY TO HELP BUT IT DIDN'T. IT IS NOW 90PER CENT SHATTERED AND IN PIECES LAYING ON THE ELECTRICAL PARTS INSIDE THE DASH. IF I GET IN A CRASH THESE SHARP PIECES WILL GO FLYING. WILL THE AIRBAG DEPLOY BECAUSE OF BAD PLASTIC?

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/28/2012 - RAWLINS, WY
SINCE APPROXIMATELY, NOV 2009, THE ENTIRE DASH OF THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN SLOWLY CRACKING AND DETERIORATING, SEVERAL PIECES HAVE FALLEN INSIDE THE DASH WHICH MAKE RETRIEVEING THE BROKEN PIECES IMPOSSIBLE. THERE ARE HOLES IN THE DASH AS WELL AS NUMEROUS CRACKS, MY CONCERN IS THIS ONGOING ISSUE WILL LEAD TO A MAJOR COLLAPSE OF THE DASH DRIVING DOWN A ROAD, AND OR THE UNRETRIEVABLE PIECES RUBBING ON WIRES AND CAUSING A SHORT RESULTING IN A FIRE. I HAVE TRIED TO REASON WITH DAIMLER CHRYSLER CORP, BUT ALL I GET IS THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO. I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A ISSUE WITH THE DASH CRACKING AND DETERIORATING THAT THIS IS A CONCERN AS WELL AS A SAFETY HAZARD FOR MYSELF AS WELL AS OTHER DODGE OWNERS. (THE AREA I AM TRYING TO DESCRIBE IS FROM THE TOP OF THE DASHBOARD CLEAR TO THE WINDSHIELD ) ALL I WOULD LIKE TO DO IS GET THE DASH REPLACED, SO I CAN PASS THIS VEHICLE ON TO ONE OF MY KIDS WITHOUT WORRIES OF ANY FURTHER INCIDENTS THANKS FOR YOUR TIME, I LOOK FORWARD TO DISCUSSING THIS MATTER WITH YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/24/2012 - TAYLORVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED INTO SEVERAL PIECES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY REPLACED THE DASHBOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED A FEW YEARS LATER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2012 - MILLEDGEVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE ON ITS OWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHO DIAGNOSE THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2012 - ROGERS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD CRACKED AND THE INSTRUMENTS WAS FALLING INTO THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WAS EXPOSED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE DASHBOARD STARTED TO CRACK ONE YEAR AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE FAILURE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2012 - LAUREL, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD HAD DEVELOPED CRACKS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THERE WAS NO RECALL RELATED TO THE FAILURE AND AS A RESULT THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO STATED THAT IT WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THESE TYPES OF VEHICLES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2012 - CORDOVA , AL
HEADLIGHTS WERE ON HIGH BEAM AND DIMMED LIGHTS AND LOST ALL OF THE HEADLIGHTS . IT WAS EARLY MORNING BUT THERE WAS ENOUGH LIGHT FOR ME TO SLOW AND PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I KEPT MOVING THE DIMMER SWITCH BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN HIGH AND LOW BEAM UNTIL THE LIGHTS FINALLY CAME BACK ON. I LEFT THEM IN LOW BEAM AND DROVE THE REST OF THE WAY TO WORK ON LOW BEAM. WHEN I GOT HOME LATER AFTER WORK I WAITED TILL NIGHT TIME AND PULLED MY TRUCK INTO MY CAR PORT AND REPEATED WHAT HAD HAPPENED ON THAT MORNING. ON ABOUT THE FIFTH TRY THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AGAIN , I THEN REPEATED FLIPPING THE DIMMER SWITCH BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN HIGH AND LOW BEAM AND AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO GET THE HEADLIGHTS BACK ON. THE NEXT DAY TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS , THEY REPLACED THE DIMMER SWITCH AND THE MECHANIC WHO WORKED ON MY TRUCK TOLD ME THAT WAS NO THE FIRST ONE HE HAD REPLACED AND TOLD ME I WAS VERY LUCKY. IF IT HAD FAILED IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY AND UNDER DARKER NIGHT CONDITIONS AND AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE WRECKED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds