Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1067 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (82) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (99) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (43)
Electrical System (81) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (8) Steering (49) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (9) Structure (539) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (82) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (15) Latches Locks Linkages (26) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (32) Wheels (8)
Exterior Lighting (15) Other (47)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

12/23/2014 - ARLINGTON , VA
THE DASHBOARD AND THE DASHBOARD BEZEL HAVE DISINTEGRATED AND CAVED IN, LITERALLY FALLING TO PIECES IN CHUNKS AROUND ME INSIDE OF THE CAB ON THIS VEHICLE CAUSING NUMEROUS PROBLEMS, FALLING PIECES FROM THE DASHBOARD HAVE CAUSED THE ACCELERATOR TO BECOME JAMMED WHEN PIECES LODGE IN THE OPERATING SYSTEM, ELECTRICAL WIRING HAS BECOME EXPOSED RESULTING IN PREMATURE FAILURES. THE DEFROSTER VENTS HAVE BECOME DISLOCATED BECAUSE THEY ARE ATTACHED TO THE DASHBOARD WHICH FOR ALL INTENSIVE PURPOSES NO LONGER EXISTS, THUS THEY DO NOT WORK PROPERLY CAUSING LACK OF VISION WHEN THE WINDSHIELD FOGS AND IS UNABLE TO BE CLEARED OF THAT FOG AT HIGH SPEEDS, THE RESULT IS CREATING AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS HIGH SPEED SITUATION. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH DODGE THESE PARTS ARE VERY SIMPLE TO INSTALL, THERE IS NO REASON WHY DODGE CANNOT SIMPLY SUPPLY ITS CUSTOMERS WITH REPLACEMENT PARTS AND LET US INSTALL THEM OURSELVES. THESE PARTS ARE ALL MADE OF PLASTIC AND SHOULD COST NO MORE THAN A FEW DOLLARS TO MFG. IF DODGE WERE TO SUPPLY THESE PARTS TO ALL OF THE VEHICLE AFFECTED I SERIOUSLY DOUBT THAT THE COST WOULD BE MORE THAN 1M DOLLARS AND I WOULD BET THAT THE SHIPPING WOULD BE MORE THAN THE ACTUAL PARTS THEMSELVES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2014 - GENESEE, ID
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MILES PER HOUR, I HEARD A HORRIBLE RATTLING NOISE. VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY, I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. UPON INSPECTION THE REAR DRIVELINE PINION YOKE WAS LOOSE WITH THE NUT HOLDING BY ONE THREAD.. I INSTALLED A NEW NUT AND INSPECTED FOR FURTHER DAMAGE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/15/2014 - ORANGEBURG, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATING COIL WAS LEAKING WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE HAS OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEATER COIL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/15/2014 - ORANGEBURG, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATING COIL WAS LEAKING WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE HAS OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEATER COIL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/23/2014 - SOPHIA, NC
THE DASH HAS DEVELOPED SEVERAL LARGE/LONG CRACKS WHICH ARE GROWING AND THE CLEAR COAT IS PEELING ON THE HOOD, CAB TOP, FRONT FENDERS. I HAD MY LOCAL DEALER CHECK W/CHRYSLER AND THE CLAIM WAS DENIED. I HAVE BEEN A CHRYSLER OWNER SINCE THE 1960'S AND HAVE NEVER HAD THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM. I DOUBT I WILL EVER PURCHASE ANOTHER CHRYSLER PRODUCT SINCE THE QUALITY HAS DETERIORATED AND THE MANUFACTURE WILL NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEMS. THIS TRUCK WAS PURCHASED NEW IN 2000 AND I STILL HAVE. MY LAST NEW PURCHASE IN 2010 WAS A FORD AUTOMOBILE WHICH HAS SO FAR BE EXCELLENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/19/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
POWER TRAIN NORTH STAR DODGE, CHRYSLER AUTO DEALER SAN PEDRO SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -POWER TRAIN GRAPEVINE DODGE, CHRYSLER AUTO DEALER, GRAPEVINE, TEXAS- POWER TRAIN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/3/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
DASHBOARD HAS COMPLETELY FRAGMENTED APART. IT HAS BEEN TAPED TO PREVENT PIECES OF HARD PLASTIC FROM DROPPING INTO ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS. SHOULD AN ACCIDENT OCCUR, SERIOUS INJURY WILL RESULT FROM DASHBOARD BREAKING INTO MANY SHARP SHARDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/3/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
HOOD BECOME UNLATCHED AND FLEW UP AT ~ 50MPH AND HIT TOP OF TRUCK. IT COMPLETELY BENT BACKWARDS AND AFTER SAFELY MANEUVERING OFF THE ROAD, 2 PEOPLE HAD TO STAND ON TOP OF EACH TRUCK SIDE PANEL AND PULL REPEATEDLY TO BEND BACK DOWN AND LATCH SECURELY. METAL IS NOW BENT AND PEELED BACK AT THE JOINT/HINGE NEAR WINDSHIELD.

View Details

STRUCTURE

9/19/2014 - ROBINSON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKING AND DETERIORATING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/14/2014 - WATSONVILLE, CA
THE HOOD FLEW OPEN. HOOD WAS NOT PREVIOUSLY USED, OR OPENED, AND WAS LATCHED NORMALLY. HOWEVER IT JUST FLEW OPEN, OBSTRUCTING MY VIEW. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO CRAWL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND DID NOT CRASH. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY RECALLED BY DODGE IN OTHER YEAR PICK-UPS, BUT DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THEY HAVE EVER PROPERLY CORRECTED THIS SAFETY ISSUE. I CALLED DODGE TODAY AND ASKED THEM IF THEY WOULD REPAIR MY TRUCK, BUT THEY SAID IT DID NOT HAVE A RECALL ISSUED, AND SO THEY WOULD NOT FIX IT AND IT WAS UP TO ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds