Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1058 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (82) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (99) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electrical System (80) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (8) Steering (49) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (6) Structure (538) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (82) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (14) Latches Locks Linkages (26) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (32) Wheels (8)
Exterior Lighting (15) Other (47)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/3/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
DASHBOARD HAS COMPLETELY FRAGMENTED APART. IT HAS BEEN TAPED TO PREVENT PIECES OF HARD PLASTIC FROM DROPPING INTO ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS. SHOULD AN ACCIDENT OCCUR, SERIOUS INJURY WILL RESULT FROM DASHBOARD BREAKING INTO MANY SHARP SHARDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/3/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
HOOD BECOME UNLATCHED AND FLEW UP AT ~ 50MPH AND HIT TOP OF TRUCK. IT COMPLETELY BENT BACKWARDS AND AFTER SAFELY MANEUVERING OFF THE ROAD, 2 PEOPLE HAD TO STAND ON TOP OF EACH TRUCK SIDE PANEL AND PULL REPEATEDLY TO BEND BACK DOWN AND LATCH SECURELY. METAL IS NOW BENT AND PEELED BACK AT THE JOINT/HINGE NEAR WINDSHIELD.

View Details

STRUCTURE

9/19/2014 - ROBINSON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKING AND DETERIORATING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/14/2014 - WATSONVILLE, CA
THE HOOD FLEW OPEN. HOOD WAS NOT PREVIOUSLY USED, OR OPENED, AND WAS LATCHED NORMALLY. HOWEVER IT JUST FLEW OPEN, OBSTRUCTING MY VIEW. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO CRAWL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND DID NOT CRASH. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY RECALLED BY DODGE IN OTHER YEAR PICK-UPS, BUT DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THEY HAVE EVER PROPERLY CORRECTED THIS SAFETY ISSUE. I CALLED DODGE TODAY AND ASKED THEM IF THEY WOULD REPAIR MY TRUCK, BUT THEY SAID IT DID NOT HAVE A RECALL ISSUED, AND SO THEY WOULD NOT FIX IT AND IT WAS UP TO ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/10/2014 - WEST MIFFLIN, PA
THE REAR BRAKE LINE BETWEEN THE GAS TANK AND FRAME BLEW OUT AS MY SON WAS PULLING IN THE DRIVEWAY. ACCORDING TO THE INTERNET, THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE TRUCKS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/9/2014 - LAGO VISTA, TX
IN 2006, WE OBSERVED A LINE CRACK IN THE DASH. TOOK THE TRUCK TO A DODGE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WILL COST OVER $1000 TO REPLACE DASH. TOO EXPENSIVE, BOUGHT A DASH COVER TO COVER IT UP. MORE CRACKS DEVELOPED OVER THE YEARS, AND THE DASH IS NOW BROKEN. THE DETERIORATION FROM DASH BEGAN TO WEAKEN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. CRACKS DEVELOPED IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, AND NOW THE PANEL IS BROKEN AS WELL. WE'VE NEVER HAD A VEHICLE WITH DASH AND PANEL BREAK APART LIKE THIS DODGE RAM.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/1/2014 - STONEVILLE, NC
MY FATHER BOUGHT THIS TRUCK NEW IN 2001, AND I BOUGHT IT FROM HIM IN 2008. ABOUT 20000 MILES ON THE UNIT WHEN I BOUGHT IT. IN 2008, THE DASH STARTED CRACKING AND BECAME VERY BRITTLE, PIECES BEGAN TO BREAK OUT AND HAS CONTINUED TO CRACK AND BREAK. IT IS NOW 2014, ABOUT 32000 MILES ON THIS UNIT, AND I AM GOING TO HAVE TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARD WITH AN AFTERMARKET PRODUCT. BASED ON THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS, I WOULD BELIEVE THAT THE MATERIALS USED IN THE ORIGINAL DASH WERE BELOW ACCEPTABLE QUALITY. NO FRONT END ZERK FITTINGS FOR STEERING COMPONENTS- CHEAP DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION. I HAD TO HAVE NEW FRONT END ASSEMBLIES WITH ZERK FITTINGS, AT A COST OF ABOUT $1400.00. (BECAUSE CHRYSLER/DODGE WENT CHEAP IN CONSTRUCTION.) MY LAST DODGE VEHICLE, I THINK I CAN DO BETTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2014 - STONEVILLE, NC
MY FATHER BOUGHT THIS TRUCK NEW IN 2001, AND I BOUGHT IT FROM HIM IN 2008. ABOUT 20000 MILES ON THE UNIT WHEN I BOUGHT IT. IN 2008, THE DASH STARTED CRACKING AND BECAME VERY BRITTLE, PIECES BEGAN TO BREAK OUT AND HAS CONTINUED TO CRACK AND BREAK. IT IS NOW 2014, ABOUT 32000 MILES ON THIS UNIT, AND I AM GOING TO HAVE TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARD WITH AN AFTERMARKET PRODUCT. BASED ON THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS, I WOULD BELIEVE THAT THE MATERIALS USED IN THE ORIGINAL DASH WERE BELOW ACCEPTABLE QUALITY. NO FRONT END ZERK FITTINGS FOR STEERING COMPONENTS- CHEAP DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION. I HAD TO HAVE NEW FRONT END ASSEMBLIES WITH ZERK FITTINGS, AT A COST OF ABOUT $1400.00. (BECAUSE CHRYSLER/DODGE WENT CHEAP IN CONSTRUCTION.) MY LAST DODGE VEHICLE, I THINK I CAN DO BETTER.

View Details

STEERING

6/1/2014 - STONEVILLE, NC
MY FATHER BOUGHT THIS TRUCK NEW IN 2001, AND I BOUGHT IT FROM HIM IN 2008. ABOUT 20000 MILES ON THE UNIT WHEN I BOUGHT IT. IN 2008, THE DASH STARTED CRACKING AND BECAME VERY BRITTLE, PIECES BEGAN TO BREAK OUT AND HAS CONTINUED TO CRACK AND BREAK. IT IS NOW 2014, ABOUT 32000 MILES ON THIS UNIT, AND I AM GOING TO HAVE TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARD WITH AN AFTERMARKET PRODUCT. BASED ON THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS, I WOULD BELIEVE THAT THE MATERIALS USED IN THE ORIGINAL DASH WERE BELOW ACCEPTABLE QUALITY. NO FRONT END ZERK FITTINGS FOR STEERING COMPONENTS- CHEAP DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION. I HAD TO HAVE NEW FRONT END ASSEMBLIES WITH ZERK FITTINGS, AT A COST OF ABOUT $1400.00. (BECAUSE CHRYSLER/DODGE WENT CHEAP IN CONSTRUCTION.) MY LAST DODGE VEHICLE, I THINK I CAN DO BETTER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

5/22/2014 - TOM BEAN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO WOBBLE AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR END THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR FUEL TANK STRAP, THE BOLTS AND THE NUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds