Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1077 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (83) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (99) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (49)
Electrical System (82) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (8) Steering (49) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (9) Structure (542) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (82) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (15) Latches Locks Linkages (26) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (32) Wheels (8)
Exterior Lighting (15) Other (47)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/10/2015 - HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE SHOOK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER AND CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE UPPER AND LOWER CONTROL LOCKS AND PULL JOINTS WERE RUSTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000...UPDATED 10-06-15

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/10/2015 - HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE SHOOK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER AND CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE UPPER AND LOWER CONTROL LOCKS AND PULL JOINTS WERE RUSTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000...UPDATED 10-06-15

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/9/2015 - GREENVILLE, SC
DASHBOARD BECAME CRACKED AND BROKEN, WITH BROKEN PARTS FALLING INTO WIRING AND CONTROLS BELOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/2/2015 - SHENANDOAH, IA
ON FEB 28 2015 WHILE MOVING MY ALL OF MY BELONGINGS TO A NEW RESIDENCE MY 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 CAUGHT ON FIRE DESTROYING EVERYTHING I OWN, THERE WHERE NO WARNING SIGNS OR RECALL NOTICES SENT TO ME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/12/2015 - KILLEEN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SECTIONS OF THE PLASTIC DASHBOARD WERE CRACKED AND SEPARATED, WHICH CREATED SHARP PLASTIC EDGES. SOME OF THE SHARP EDGES WERE LOCATED NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/11/2015 - KOKOMO, IN
DASH PAD CRACKING REAL BAD. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS TRUCK WITH ONLY 44,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/11/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHEN PUTTING A BOTTLE OF SODA ON TOP OF THE DASHBOARD IT COMPLETELY CRACKED AND THE BOTTLE FELL THROUGH INTO THE VOID UNDER THE DASH. THE ISSUE HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE OVER THE YEARS TO THE POINT WHERE I DO NOT EVEN HAVE A DASHBOARD ANYMORE. WHEN I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER A FEW YEARS AGO THEY WERE NOT SURPRISED, THEY WERE EVEN COMPLACENT, SAYING YEAH WE'VE SEEN THIS SOME ARE JUST AS BAD AS YOURS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/4/2015 - EAST FLAT ROCK, NC
OVER THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS MY DASHBOARD IN MY TRUCK HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE, TO THE POINT WHERE IT IS NOW IN PIECES. I AM WORRIED THAT OTHER PROBLEMS WILL START OCCURRING BECAUSE OF THE FRAGMENTING OF MY DASH AND FALLING DOWN INSIDE THE DASH. THE SCREWS ALONG THE TOP OF THE DASHBOARD ARE NOW ONLY HOLDING ON LITTLE PIECES OF DASH AND ARE NO LONGER SERVING IN PURPOSE TO MY KNOWLEDGE. I HAVE HEARD THAT THIS COULD LEAD TO PROBLEMS WITH THE AIR BAGS SUDDENLY DEPLOYING OR NOT DEPLOYING AT ALL. I AM ALSO CONCERNED WITH THE MANY OTHER THINGS THAT COULD HAPPEN AS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR MYSELF AS WELL AS MY PASSENGERS. I KNOW THERE ARE MANY OTHER THING THAT GO ON INSIDE THE DASH THAT COULD CAUSE MANY PROBLEMS IF THEY FAIL.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/23/2014 - ARLINGTON , VA
THE DASHBOARD AND THE DASHBOARD BEZEL HAVE DISINTEGRATED AND CAVED IN, LITERALLY FALLING TO PIECES IN CHUNKS AROUND ME INSIDE OF THE CAB ON THIS VEHICLE CAUSING NUMEROUS PROBLEMS, FALLING PIECES FROM THE DASHBOARD HAVE CAUSED THE ACCELERATOR TO BECOME JAMMED WHEN PIECES LODGE IN THE OPERATING SYSTEM, ELECTRICAL WIRING HAS BECOME EXPOSED RESULTING IN PREMATURE FAILURES. THE DEFROSTER VENTS HAVE BECOME DISLOCATED BECAUSE THEY ARE ATTACHED TO THE DASHBOARD WHICH FOR ALL INTENSIVE PURPOSES NO LONGER EXISTS, THUS THEY DO NOT WORK PROPERLY CAUSING LACK OF VISION WHEN THE WINDSHIELD FOGS AND IS UNABLE TO BE CLEARED OF THAT FOG AT HIGH SPEEDS, THE RESULT IS CREATING AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS HIGH SPEED SITUATION. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH DODGE THESE PARTS ARE VERY SIMPLE TO INSTALL, THERE IS NO REASON WHY DODGE CANNOT SIMPLY SUPPLY ITS CUSTOMERS WITH REPLACEMENT PARTS AND LET US INSTALL THEM OURSELVES. THESE PARTS ARE ALL MADE OF PLASTIC AND SHOULD COST NO MORE THAN A FEW DOLLARS TO MFG. IF DODGE WERE TO SUPPLY THESE PARTS TO ALL OF THE VEHICLE AFFECTED I SERIOUSLY DOUBT THAT THE COST WOULD BE MORE THAN 1M DOLLARS AND I WOULD BET THAT THE SHIPPING WOULD BE MORE THAN THE ACTUAL PARTS THEMSELVES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2014 - GENESEE, ID
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MILES PER HOUR, I HEARD A HORRIBLE RATTLING NOISE. VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY, I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. UPON INSPECTION THE REAR DRIVELINE PINION YOKE WAS LOOSE WITH THE NUT HOLDING BY ONE THREAD.. I INSTALLED A NEW NUT AND INSPECTED FOR FURTHER DAMAGE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds