Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 1015 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (75) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Power Train (96) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electrical System (77) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (8) Steering (47) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (512) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (79) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (14) Other (47) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (31) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

5/15/2013 - COCOA, FL
BOTH PARTS OF MY DASH BOARDS ARE CRACKED, AFTER ALL THIS TIME I NOW HAVE NO DASH AT ALL AND NOW IM HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES. DODGE WONT HELP, I KNOW OF 2 PEOPLE WHOM GOT THEIR DASH REPLACED FOR $100 AND WHEN I GO THEY TELL ME FIRST $1500 THEN $600 IM THE ORIGINAL OWNER . PLEASE HELP. DODGE WONT! ALSO MY SON CUT HIS WRIST ON THE JAGGED PIECE ON WHAT'S LEFT OF A HOLLOW DASH IM WILLING TO PAY THE $100 DEDUCTIBLE BUT AFTER ALL THIS TIME I FEEL DODGE SHOULD STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND REPLACE FOR FREE. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2013 - CHANDLER, IN
DASH HAD BEGAN TO CRACK AND CRACKS HAVE PROGRESSED TO POINT OF THEY REACH THE TRIM BEZEL. INITIALLY DEALER SAID TO JUST WAIT THEY FELT DODGE WOULD RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DIDN'T ADVISE TO REPLACE BECAUSE IT WOULD JUST HAPPEN WITH NEW ONE AS WELL. BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE AND AFTER CONTACTING DODGE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE I WAS TOLD BECAUSE OF AGE OF TRUCK AND MILEAGE NOW (60,000) NOTHING COULD BE DONE. MY CONCERNS ARE IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE DASH COULD JUST CRUMBLE AND SEND SHARP PIECES FLYING THROUGHOUT INTERIOR. AS WELL AS INTERIOR OF DASH BEING EXPOSED AND CAUSING OPERATIONAL ISSUES WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/27/2013 - CHANDLER, IN
DASH HAD BEGAN TO CRACK AND CRACKS HAVE PROGRESSED TO POINT OF THEY REACH THE TRIM BEZEL. INITIALLY DEALER SAID TO JUST WAIT THEY FELT DODGE WOULD RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DIDN'T ADVISE TO REPLACE BECAUSE IT WOULD JUST HAPPEN WITH NEW ONE AS WELL. BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE AND AFTER CONTACTING DODGE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE I WAS TOLD BECAUSE OF AGE OF TRUCK AND MILEAGE NOW (60,000) NOTHING COULD BE DONE. MY CONCERNS ARE IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE DASH COULD JUST CRUMBLE AND SEND SHARP PIECES FLYING THROUGHOUT INTERIOR. AS WELL AS INTERIOR OF DASH BEING EXPOSED AND CAUSING OPERATIONAL ISSUES WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2013 - CHANDLER, IN
DASH HAD BEGAN TO CRACK AND CRACKS HAVE PROGRESSED TO POINT OF THEY REACH THE TRIM BEZEL. INITIALLY DEALER SAID TO JUST WAIT THEY FELT DODGE WOULD RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DIDN'T ADVISE TO REPLACE BECAUSE IT WOULD JUST HAPPEN WITH NEW ONE AS WELL. BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE AND AFTER CONTACTING DODGE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE I WAS TOLD BECAUSE OF AGE OF TRUCK AND MILEAGE NOW (60,000) NOTHING COULD BE DONE. MY CONCERNS ARE IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE DASH COULD JUST CRUMBLE AND SEND SHARP PIECES FLYING THROUGHOUT INTERIOR. AS WELL AS INTERIOR OF DASH BEING EXPOSED AND CAUSING OPERATIONAL ISSUES WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/25/2013 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENTIRE DASHBOARD EXHIBITED SEVERAL CRACKS. THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE DASHBOARD HAD PARTIALLY CAVED IN AND SEPARATED FROM THE MOUNTING. THE CONTACT HAD NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN A CRASH .THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/14/2013 - LAKELAND, FL
I HAVE A 2001 DODGE RAM PURCHASED USED IN 2006. IT HAD 1 OR 2 SMALL CRACKS IN THE DASH AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. I WASN'T TOO CONCERNED ABOUT THEM, BUT THEN WITHIN A YEAR OR 2 THE CRACKS MULTIPLIED. I THEN BEGAN TO HAVE ISSUES WITH LARGE PIECES OF THE DASH COMPLETELY BREAKING AND FALLING OUT. I NOW HAVE MULTIPLE GIANT HOLES IN THE DASH. I DIDN'T REALIZE THIS WAS AN ACTUAL ISSUE WITH OTHER DODGE RAMS UNTIL I SEARCHED OUT TO REPLACE IT. I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT 1000'S OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, FAR FROM BEING LABELED "ISOLATED". THIS ISSUE SHOULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED VIA A RECALL YEARS AGO.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/5/2013 - ISLAND LAKE, IL
PULLED OUT OF PARKING LOT HOOD FLEW OPEN CRACKED WINDSHIELD BENT HINGES AND HOOD , BARELY GOT SHUT , AFRAID TO OPEN AGAIN , HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THESE LATCHES ARE RECALLED AND FAIL ALL THE TIME.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/5/2013 - ISLAND LAKE, IL
PULLED OUT OF PARKING LOT HOOD FLEW OPEN CRACKED WINDSHIELD BENT HINGES AND HOOD , BARELY GOT SHUT , AFRAID TO OPEN AGAIN , HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THESE LATCHES ARE RECALLED AND FAIL ALL THE TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/5/2013 - ISLAND LAKE, IL
PULLED OUT OF PARKING LOT HOOD FLEW OPEN CRACKED WINDSHIELD BENT HINGES AND HOOD , BARELY GOT SHUT , AFRAID TO OPEN AGAIN , HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THESE LATCHES ARE RECALLED AND FAIL ALL THE TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/23/2013 - LEHIGH ACRES, FL
MY 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 HAS HAD THE DASHBOARD DISINTEGRATING SINCE 30,000 MILES AS I WAS INFORMED BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER. IT ONLY HAD CRACKS BUT SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT THE DASH HAS LITERALLY DISINTEGRATED WITH SHARP OBJECTS FLYING ABOUT THE CAB WHEN WINDOWS ARE DOWN. MY RESEARCH SUGGEST THAT CHRYSLER USED INFERIOR PRODUCTS AS A COST REDUCTION, DID NOT ACQUIRE THE PROPER MANUFACTURING TEMPERATURES WHICH RESULTS IN CRACKING, AND THE DASH IS INADEQUATELY MOUNTED CAUSING FLEXING. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION.........AND NOT A COSMETIC ISSUE AS DODGE HAS HIDDEN BEHIND!! WHEN THE DASH BREAKS, SHARP OBJECTS ARE IN FLIGHT THROUGHOUT THE CAB. WHEN IT BREAKS NEAR THE AIR BAGS, I BELIEVE THEY WILL DEPLOY THEMSELVES AND THAT ALONE IS A SERIOUS EVENT WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC! DODGE HAS A HISTORY ALL THE WAY BACK TO MY FIRST PURCHASE OF A BRAND NEW 1973 DODGE RAM, IGNORING WARRANTY AND MAKING EXCUSES OF WHY THINGS AREN'T THEIR FAULT! IT'S HIGH TIME THIS COMPANY ASSUMES IT'S RESPONSIBILITY ESPECIALLY AFTER TAX PAYERS BAILED THEM OUT!!!! I HAVE FOUGHT MANY BATTLES WITH THIS COMPANY CONCERNING WARRANTY ISSUES AS WELL WHERE A BRAND NEW 1976 DODGE RAM I PURCHASED SPUN THE RACES IN THE REARS AS A RESULT OF DEFECTIVE MANUFACTURING!!! THE TIME FOR MAKING EXCUSES IS OLD, IT'S TIME FOR ACTION AND ASSUMING RESPONSIBILITY FOR AN INFERIOR PRODUCT!!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds