Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2001 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 1000 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (95) Service Brakes Hydraulic (48) Unknown Or Other (33)
Electrical System (75) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (8) Steering (44) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Structure (502) Visibility (14)
Equipment (14) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (80) Visibility Wiper (1)
Exterior Lighting (12) Other (47) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (31) Wheels (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

2/12/2013 - ST. PETER, MN
JUST PURCHASE MY 2001 DODGE RAM THE DAY BEFORE, TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE TO NEIGHBORING TOWN. WAS GOING 45 MPH AND THE ROAD WAS SOMEWHAT BUMPY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND VERY BOUNCY. THE TOWN WAS 10 MILES AWAY. ARRIVED, TURNED VEHICLE OFF AND WENT INTO MARKET FOR APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. DROVE BACK HOME WITH THE SAME THING HAPPENING(VIOLENT SHAKING AND VERY, VERY BOUNCY) ALL THE WAY BACK. VERY SCARY AND DEFINITELY NOT RIGHT. STEERING WAS DIFFICULT DUE TO THE BOUNCE AND SHAKE. INTERESTINGLY MY FATHER DROVE THIS VEHICLE 300 MILES TO BRING IT TO ME THE PREVIOUS DAY WITH NO INCIDENT OF THE SHAKING OR BOUNCING. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOUT THE "DEATH WOBBLE" AND AFTER LOOKING IT UP ON THE INTERNET, I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED, EITHER BY A RECALL OR DODGE! NOT EVEN A CONCRETE FIX FOR THE PROBLEM? I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITHOUT A LARGE SUM OF MONEY TO PURCHASE A VEHICLE, LET ALONE FIX MAJOR REPAIRS. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE FOR MYSELF AND MY CHILDREN. I FEEL LIKE I HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY THE DEALER, DODGE, THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE NHTSA. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED PROBLEM IN MY VEHICLE!

View Details

STEERING

2/12/2013 - ST. PETER, MN
JUST PURCHASE MY 2001 DODGE RAM THE DAY BEFORE, TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE TO NEIGHBORING TOWN. WAS GOING 45 MPH AND THE ROAD WAS SOMEWHAT BUMPY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND VERY BOUNCY. THE TOWN WAS 10 MILES AWAY. ARRIVED, TURNED VEHICLE OFF AND WENT INTO MARKET FOR APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. DROVE BACK HOME WITH THE SAME THING HAPPENING(VIOLENT SHAKING AND VERY, VERY BOUNCY) ALL THE WAY BACK. VERY SCARY AND DEFINITELY NOT RIGHT. STEERING WAS DIFFICULT DUE TO THE BOUNCE AND SHAKE. INTERESTINGLY MY FATHER DROVE THIS VEHICLE 300 MILES TO BRING IT TO ME THE PREVIOUS DAY WITH NO INCIDENT OF THE SHAKING OR BOUNCING. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOUT THE "DEATH WOBBLE" AND AFTER LOOKING IT UP ON THE INTERNET, I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED, EITHER BY A RECALL OR DODGE! NOT EVEN A CONCRETE FIX FOR THE PROBLEM? I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITHOUT A LARGE SUM OF MONEY TO PURCHASE A VEHICLE, LET ALONE FIX MAJOR REPAIRS. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE FOR MYSELF AND MY CHILDREN. I FEEL LIKE I HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY THE DEALER, DODGE, THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE NHTSA. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED PROBLEM IN MY VEHICLE!

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/12/2013 - ST. PETER, MN
JUST PURCHASE MY 2001 DODGE RAM THE DAY BEFORE, TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE TO NEIGHBORING TOWN. WAS GOING 45 MPH AND THE ROAD WAS SOMEWHAT BUMPY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND VERY BOUNCY. THE TOWN WAS 10 MILES AWAY. ARRIVED, TURNED VEHICLE OFF AND WENT INTO MARKET FOR APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. DROVE BACK HOME WITH THE SAME THING HAPPENING(VIOLENT SHAKING AND VERY, VERY BOUNCY) ALL THE WAY BACK. VERY SCARY AND DEFINITELY NOT RIGHT. STEERING WAS DIFFICULT DUE TO THE BOUNCE AND SHAKE. INTERESTINGLY MY FATHER DROVE THIS VEHICLE 300 MILES TO BRING IT TO ME THE PREVIOUS DAY WITH NO INCIDENT OF THE SHAKING OR BOUNCING. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOUT THE "DEATH WOBBLE" AND AFTER LOOKING IT UP ON THE INTERNET, I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED, EITHER BY A RECALL OR DODGE! NOT EVEN A CONCRETE FIX FOR THE PROBLEM? I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITHOUT A LARGE SUM OF MONEY TO PURCHASE A VEHICLE, LET ALONE FIX MAJOR REPAIRS. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE FOR MYSELF AND MY CHILDREN. I FEEL LIKE I HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY THE DEALER, DODGE, THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE NHTSA. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED PROBLEM IN MY VEHICLE!

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/10/2013 - VALDOSTA, GA
WE PURCHASED OUR NEW RAM TRUCK FEB 23RD, 2001 & HAVE KEPT IT GARAGED WHEN NOT IN USE, SERVICED AS REQUIRED BY DODGE, WASHED & WAXED AS NEEDED & USED THE BEST VINYL PROTECTANT AVAILABLE ON THE INTERIOR TO KEEP OUR TRUCK LOOKING NEW. SUDDENLY A CRACK APPEARED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DASH THAT MAKES A VERY DISTRACTING RUBBING CRUNCHING NOISE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. WE FEEL DODGE IS AWARE OF USING INFERIOR MATERIALS IN THE DASH OF OURS AND OTHERS TRUCKS & THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE MADE TO CORRECT THIS DEFECT. THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL, UGLY DEFECT THAT IT LESSENS THE SELLING & TRADE IN VALUE OF THESE VEHICLES & THE OWNERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO TAKE THIS HIT DUE TO THE DECISION OF DODGE TO USE INFERIOR MATERIALS IN THE MANUFATURE OF THESE TRUCKS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/29/2012 - EXPORT, PA
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK BRAND NEW IN DAYTONA BEACH, FL IN 2001. ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO THE DASHBOARD STARTED CRACKING AND PROCEEDED TO GET WORSE. WHEN I WAS DRIVING MONDAY, 11/26/2012 PART OF THE DASH FELL OUT AND NOW THERE IS A BIG HOLE IN MY DASHBOARD! I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT BUT FOUND NOTHING I CAN AFFORD.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/29/2012 - EXPORT, PA
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK BRAND NEW IN DAYTONA BEACH, FL IN 2001. ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO THE DASHBOARD STARTED CRACKING AND PROCEEDED TO GET WORSE. WHEN I WAS DRIVING MONDAY, 11/26/2012 PART OF THE DASH FELL OUT AND NOW THERE IS A BIG HOLE IN MY DASHBOARD! I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT BUT FOUND NOTHING I CAN AFFORD.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/17/2012 - HAMMONTON, NJ
DEVELOPED A CRACK IN THE DASHBOARD ALONG THE EDGE CLOSE TO THE WINDSHIELD. A MONTH OR SO LATER MULTIPLE CRACKS DEVELOPED ALL OVER THE DASH. 2012 CHUNKS OF DASH FALLING IN CAUSED LIGHTS TO FAIL. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO VANN DODGE IN VINELAND, NJ TO BE INSPECTED, GOT RESPONSE FROM DODGE THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THE DASH BOARD ON MY 2001 DODGE RAM, AND THAT BECAUSE OF THE MILEAGE AND YEAR THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE APPROXIMATELY 80K MILES WHEN INSPECTED BY VANN DODGE. WHEN THE CRACKS FIRST STARTED TO DEVELOP I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS BECAUSE OF THE COLD WEATHER, BUT AFTER INVESTIGATING ONLINE I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM EXIST ALL AROUND THE COUNTRY WITH THE 2001 DODGE. IT IS NO LONGER A COSMETIC ISSUE, IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE DO TO THE FACT THAT THE WIRING IS NOW BEING COMPROMISED BY BEING EXPOSED TO EXTREME TEMPERATURES HOT AND COLD!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/29/2012 - CAYUCOS, CA
CRACKS IN PLASTIC OF DASHBOARD,INSTRUMENT PANEL,AND THE GLOVE BOX HINGES, STARTED DEVELOPING AS SOON AS I BOUGHT IT. I GOT A DASH COVER TO TRY TO HELP BUT IT DIDN'T. IT IS NOW 90PER CENT SHATTERED AND IN PIECES LAYING ON THE ELECTRICAL PARTS INSIDE THE DASH. IF I GET IN A CRASH THESE SHARP PIECES WILL GO FLYING. WILL THE AIRBAG DEPLOY BECAUSE OF BAD PLASTIC?

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/28/2012 - RAWLINS, WY
SINCE APPROXIMATELY, NOV 2009, THE ENTIRE DASH OF THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN SLOWLY CRACKING AND DETERIORATING, SEVERAL PIECES HAVE FALLEN INSIDE THE DASH WHICH MAKE RETRIEVEING THE BROKEN PIECES IMPOSSIBLE. THERE ARE HOLES IN THE DASH AS WELL AS NUMEROUS CRACKS, MY CONCERN IS THIS ONGOING ISSUE WILL LEAD TO A MAJOR COLLAPSE OF THE DASH DRIVING DOWN A ROAD, AND OR THE UNRETRIEVABLE PIECES RUBBING ON WIRES AND CAUSING A SHORT RESULTING IN A FIRE. I HAVE TRIED TO REASON WITH DAIMLER CHRYSLER CORP, BUT ALL I GET IS THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO. I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A ISSUE WITH THE DASH CRACKING AND DETERIORATING THAT THIS IS A CONCERN AS WELL AS A SAFETY HAZARD FOR MYSELF AS WELL AS OTHER DODGE OWNERS. (THE AREA I AM TRYING TO DESCRIBE IS FROM THE TOP OF THE DASHBOARD CLEAR TO THE WINDSHIELD ) ALL I WOULD LIKE TO DO IS GET THE DASH REPLACED, SO I CAN PASS THIS VEHICLE ON TO ONE OF MY KIDS WITHOUT WORRIES OF ANY FURTHER INCIDENTS THANKS FOR YOUR TIME, I LOOK FORWARD TO DISCUSSING THIS MATTER WITH YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/24/2012 - TAYLORVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED INTO SEVERAL PIECES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY REPLACED THE DASHBOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED A FEW YEARS LATER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds